Double Patenting Rejection
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. (11,992,170) to Thackery et al. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the present application in particular independent claims 1, 10 and 17 are encompassed by claims 1, 10 and 17 (‘170).
Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1)
Claims 1-4, 9, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication (2017/0007085) to Tahara.
Regarding independent claim 1, Tahara discloses a housing (11) supporting a suction motor assembly (23); and a collection bin (30) configured to attach to the housing below the suction motor assembly (23) and configured to receive debris separated from a working airflow when attached to the housing (11) (See paragraph [0011]),
the collection bin (30) including a top portion (near numeral 62 in FIG. 11) and a bottom portion (near numeral 162 in FIG. 11) opposite the top portion (near numeral 62 in FIG. 11) (See paragraph [0053] and FIG. 10),
the top portion (near numeral 62 in FIG. 11) located above the bottom portion (near numeral 162 in FIG. 11) when the collection bin (30) is in an upright and vertical orientation, an opening (10) adjacent the bottom portion of the collection bin, and a lid (13) moveable relative to the collection bin (10) to selectively cover the opening in a closed position and uncover the opening in an open position to empty contents of the collection bin (30) through the opening while the collection bin remains attached to the housing (11) (See paragraph [0053]-[0056]).
Regarding claim 2, Tahara discloses a latch (14) configured to secure the collection bin (30) to the housing (11) (See paragraph [0056]).
Regarding claim 3, Tahara discloses that the collection bin (30) is configured to separate from the housing (11) with that the lid (13) is movable to the open position to empty contents of the collection bin (30) through the opening while the collection bin (30) is separate from the housing (11) (See paragraph [0056]).
Regarding claim 4, Tahara discloses a battery receptacle (35) supported by the housing (11), the battery receptacle (35) configured to receive a rechargeable battery (90) for powering the suction motor assembly (23) (See paragraph [0064]).
Regarding claim 9, Tahara discloses the collection bin includes a bagless dirt cup (See paragraph [0053], uses centrifugal force to separate dust) and/or a cyclonic separator.
Regarding independent claim 17, Tahara discloses a housing (11) supporting a suction motor assembly (23); and a collection bin (30) configured to attach to the housing (11) below the suction motor assembly (23) and configured to receive debris separated from a working airflow when attached to the housing (11) (See paragraph [0011]),
the collection bin (30) including a top portion (near numeral 62 in FIG. 11) and a bottom portion (near numeral 162 in FIG. 11) (near numeral 62 in FIG. 11) (See paragraph [0053] and FIG. 10), the top portion (near numeral 62 in FIG. 11) located above the bottom portion when the collection bin (30) is in an upright and vertical orientation, an opening (10) adjacent the bottom portion (near numeral 162 in FIG. 11) of the collection bin (30) such that the collection bin (30) is positioned between the suction motor assembly (23) and the opening (10),
and a lid (13) moveable relative to the collection bin (30) to selectively cover the opening (10) in a closed position and uncover the opening (10) in an open position to empty contents of the collection bin (30) through the opening (10) while the collection bin (30) remains attached to the housing (11),
and a battery receptacle (35) located either (a) above at least a portion of the collection bin such that the suction motor assembly is located between the battery receptacle and the collection bin or (b) below at least a portion of the collection bin (30) such that at least a portion of the collection bin is located between the suction motor (23) assembly and the battery receptacle (35).
Regarding claim 19, Tahara discloses a harness (60) configured to support the wearable vacuum cleaner on a user’s back, wherein the battery receptacle (35) is disposed nearer than the lid to the user’s back while the wearable vacuum cleaner (10) is being worn by the user (See paragraph [0052]).
Regarding claim 20, Tahara discloses the collection bin includes a bagless dirt cup (See paragraph [0053], uses centrifugal force to separate dust) and/or a cyclonic separator.
Conclusion
MICHAEL DEANGILO. JENNINGS
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MICHAEL D JENNINGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723