DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In [0056], the Examiner assumes that “two components, 318 and 320” should actually be --two components, 320 and 322--. Likewise, the other disclosures of component 318, in [0056-0057], should be replaced to indicate component 322.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
On Line 2, the Examiner assumes that “optically identical..” should actually be --optically identical.--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9, 11-15, 19, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Safrani (US 2020/0011654), hereinafter Safrani.
Claim 1: Safrani discloses an apparatus (100, Fig. 1A) comprising:
a first interferometer (108a) [0030];
a second interferometer (108b) [0030];
an illuminator (102) that provides coherent light to the first interferometer (108a) and to the second interferometer (108b) [0029]; and
an imager (124) (“In one embodiment, the one or more processors 124 may consist of a[n]… image computer” [0034]) that simultaneously captures a first set of interferograms of a target object (110) and a reference object (112) from the first interferometer (108a) and a second set of interferograms of the target object (110) and the reference object (112) from the second interferometer (108b) [0031],
wherein the first set of interferograms and the second set of interferograms each encode phase information from the target object (110), the reference object (112), and noise sources (inherent, claim 14), and
wherein encoded noise data from the first set of interferograms and the second set of interferograms is differentially minimized to yield substantially noise-free phase information from the target object (110) [0026].
Claim 2: Safrani further discloses wherein the first interferometer (108a) and the second interferometer (108b) are optically identical (evident from Fig. 1A, “the use of two interferometers to simultaneously generate interferograms between opposing sides of test and reference samples provides excellent synchronization between the two interferograms” [0025]).
Claim 3: Safrani further discloses wherein the first interferometer (108a) and the second interferometer (108b) share a common reference object (112) [0031].
Claim 4: Safrani further discloses wherein the first interferometer (108a) and the second interferometer (108b) are positioned at substantially equal distances from the target object (110) (evident from Fig. 1A and inherent in “dual-interferometer sample thickness gauge 100” [0028]).
Claim 5: Safrani further discloses wherein the first interferometer (108a) and the second interferometer (108b) are symmetrically positioned around the imager (124) (evident from Fig. 1A).
Claim 9: Safrani further discloses wherein the noise sources comprise at least one of thermal variations, air turbulence, micro-scatterers, external light sources, mechanical vibrations, and electromagnetic interference (“system-generated noise” [0026]).
Claim 11: Safrani discloses a method (using thickness gauge 100, Fig. 1A), comprising:
producing a first set of interferograms of a target object (110) and a reference object (112) using a first interferometer (108a) [0031];
simultaneously producing a second set of interferograms of the target object (110) and the reference object (112) using a second interferometer (108b) [0031],
wherein the first set of interferograms and the second set of interferograms each encode phase information from the target object (110), the reference object (112), and noise sources (inherent, claim 14); and
differentially minimizing encoded noise data from the first set of interferograms and from the second set of interferograms to yield substantially noise-free phase information from the target object (110) [0026].
Claim 12: Safrani further discloses wherein the first interferometer (108a) and the second interferometer (108b) are optically identical (evident from Fig. 1A, “the use of two interferometers to simultaneously generate interferograms between opposing sides of test and reference samples provides excellent synchronization between the two interferograms” [0025]).
Claim 13: Safrani further discloses wherein the first interferometer (108a) and the second interferometer (108b) share a common reference object (112) [0031].
Claim 14: Safrani further discloses wherein the first interferometer (108a) and the second interferometer (108b) are positioned at substantially equal distances from the target object (110) (evident from Fig. 1A and inherent in “dual-interferometer sample thickness gauge 100” [0028]).
Claim 15: Safrani further discloses wherein the first interferometer (108a) and the second interferometer (108b) are symmetrically positioned around the imager (124) (evident from Fig. 1A).
Claim 19: Safrani further discloses wherein the noise sources comprise at least one of thermal variations, air turbulence, micro-scatterers, external light sources, mechanical vibrations, and electromagnetic interference (“system-generated noise” [0026]).
Claim 21: Safrani discloses a system (100, Fig. 1A), comprising:
means for producing a first set of interferograms of a target object (110) and a reference object (112) using a first interferometer (108a) [0031];
means for simultaneously producing a second set of interferograms of the target object (110) and the reference object (112) using a second interferometer [0031],
wherein the first set of interferograms and the second set of interferograms each encode phase information from the target object (110), the reference object (112), and noise sources (inherent, claim 14); and
means for differentially minimizing encoded noise data from the first set of interferograms and from the second set of interferograms to yield substantially noise-free phase information from the target object (110) [0026].
Claim 22: Safrani discloses a computer program product (124) comprising a non-transitory computer-readable medium with computer-executable instructions tangibly embodied thereon that, when executed by a processor (“In one embodiment, the one or more processors 124 may consist of… any other computer system (e.g., networked computer) configured to execute a program configured to operate the sample thickness gauge 100” [0034]), perform operations comprising:
producing a first set of interferograms of a target object (110) and a reference object (112) using a first interferometer (108a) [0031];
simultaneously producing a second set of interferograms of the target object (110) and the reference object (112) using a second interferometer (108b) [0031],
wherein the first set of interferograms and the second set of interferograms each encode phase information from the target object (110), the reference object (112), and noise sources (inherent, claim 14); and
differentially minimizing encoded noise data from the first set of interferograms and from the second set of interferograms to yield substantially noise-free phase information from the target object (110) [0026].
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Safrani, in evidence of Sprague (US 3,804,521), hereinafter Sprague.
Claims 6,16: Safrani does not explicitly disclose wherein the coherent light used by the first interferometer and the second interferometer comprises diffraction fringes.
However, as evidenced by Sprague, a light source inherently has two measures of coherence, one of which is the spatial coherence, which is defined by diffraction fringes (Col. 3, Lines 36-40).
Therefore, it is evident that Safrani’s coherent light comprises diffraction fringes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Safrani as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Göhnermeier (DE 102022102572), hereinafter Göhnermeier (citations use the attached English translation).
Claims 7,17: Safrani discloses coherent light emitted by the first interferometer and the second interferometer, but is silent with respect a compensator optical element.
Göhnermeier, however, in the same field of endeavor of optical interferometry, discloses an apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising:
an illuminator (26) that provides coherent light [0050],
wherein the coherent light emitted passes through a compensator optical element (32) [0050].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Safrani’s apparatus with a compensator optical element for the purpose of adjusting the path length of the reference or measurement beam, as desired (Göhnermeier [0050]).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Safrani.
Claims 8,18: Safrani does not explicitly disclose wherein coherent light used by the first interferometer and the second interferometer has a wavelength selected to provide a specific amount of intrinsic scattering within the target object.
However, this wavelength selection amounts to no more than routine experimentation to optimize of the apparatus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Safrani’s coherent light to have a wavelength that yields a desired amount of intrinsic scattering in the target object for the purpose of accurately characterizing the target object. In addition, the selection of a wavelength is obvious because it is a matter of determining optimum process conditions by routine experimentation with a limited number of species of result effective variables. These claims are prima facie obvious without showing that the claimed ranges achieve unexpected results relative to the prior art range. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See also In re Huang, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996) (claimed ranges or a result effective variable, which do not overlap the prior art ranges, are unpatentable unless they produce a new and unexpected result which is different in kind and not merely in degree from the results of the prior art). See also In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA) (discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill or art) and In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1995) (selection of optimum ranges within prior art general conditions is obvious).
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Safrani as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Lampert et al. (US 2016/0003610), hereinafter Lampert.
Claim 10: Safrani is silent with respect to the target object comprising one of a region of dental anatomy and a geographic region.
Lampert, however, in the same field of endeavor of optical apparatus, discloses an apparatus (20, Fig. 1A) that makes measurements of a target object, wherein the target object comprises a region of dental anatomy (26) [0041]. Furthermore, language in an apparatus or product claim directed to the function, operation, intended use, and materials upon which the components of the structure work that does not structurally limit the components or patentably differentiate the claimed apparatus or product from an otherwise identical prior art structure will not support patentability. See, e.g., In re Rishoi, 197 F.2d 342, 344-45 (CCPA 1952); In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 939-40 (CCPA 1963); In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 663-64 (CCPA 1971); In re Yanush, 477 F.2d 958, 959 (CCPA 1973).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Safrani’s target object to be a region of dental anatomy for the purpose of “subsequent use in design and/or manufacture of prosthesis for the patient (e.g., a crown or a bridge)” (Lampert [0041]).
Claim 20: Safrani is silent with respect to the target object comprising one of a region of dental anatomy and a geographic region.
Lampert, however, in the same field of endeavor of optical apparatus, discloses a method (using apparatus 20, Fig. 1A) of making measurements of a target object, wherein the target object comprises a region of dental anatomy (26) [0041].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Safrani’s target object to be a region of dental anatomy for the purpose of “subsequent use in design and/or manufacture of prosthesis for the patient (e.g., a crown or a bridge)” (Lampert [0041]).
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Tarifur Chowdhury can be reached on 571-272-2287. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Hina F Ayub/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2877