DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. In the event that the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shelnutt et al. US2017/0181328 in view of Williams et al. US2007/0270735.
Per claim 1 Shelnutt et al. teaches a liquid cooling system (1172, see fig.12A) comprising: an inlet cooling manifold (1230, see fig.12A) for disturbing liquid coolant to a plurality of liquid cooled information handling systems housed in a data center facility (1150a-d, see fig.12A; [0099]); a temperature sensor (1184b, see fig.12A) in the inlet cooling manifold and configured to generate a temperature signal representing a temperature of the liquid coolant; a pressure sensor (184c, see fig.12A) in the inlet cooling manifold and configured to generate a pressure signal representing a pressure of the liquid coolant; and a flow meter (1182) in the inlet cooling manifold and configured to generate a flow rate signal representing a flow rate of the liquid coolant (see fig.12A; [0112]-[0113]).
Shelnutt et al. does not explicitly teach a temperature sensor, pressure sensor, and flow meter embedded in the inlet cooling manifold.
Williams et al. however discloses sensors embedded in a cooling manifold ([0022]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to embedded the temperature, pressure and flow meter sensors on the cooling manifold because it ensures that the temperature, pressure and flow meter sensors work efficiently to sense the required parameters.
Per claim 2 Shelnutt et al. in view of Williams et al. teaches the liquid cooling system of Claim 1, further comprising a data acquisition device configured to convert the temperature signal, the pressure signal, and the flow meter signal into digital data ([0112]-[0113]).
Per claim 3 Shelnutt et al. in view of Williams et al. teaches the liquid cooling system of Claim 2, wherein the digital data is transmitted to a building management system ([0113], “IT manager or system administrator”).
Per claim 4 Shelnutt et al. in view of Williams et al. teaches the liquid cooling system of Claim 2, wherein the digital data is transmitted to a power distribution unit ([0007]).
Per claim 5 Shelnutt et al. in view of Williams et al. teaches the liquid cooling system of Claim 4, wherein the digital data is transmitted to a building management system ([0113], “IT manager or system administrator”).
Per claim 6 Shelnutt et al. in view of Williams et al. teaches the liquid cooling system of Claim 1, further comprising a leak detector embedded in the inlet cooling manifold and configurated to generate a leak alert signal in the event of a leak in the cooling manifold ([0112]-[0113]).
Per claim 7 Shelnutt et al. in view of Williams et al. teaches the liquid cooling system of Claim 6, further comprising a data acquisition device configured to convert the temperature signal, the pressure signal, the flow meter signal, and the leak alert signal into digital data ([0112]-[0114]).
Per claim 8 Shelnutt et al. in view of Williams et al. teaches the liquid cooling system of Claim 7, wherein the digital data is transmitted to a building management system ([0113], “IT manager or system administrator”). .
Per claim 9 Shelnutt et al. in view of Williams et al. teaches the liquid cooling system of Claim 7, wherein the digital data is transmitted to a power distribution unit ([0007]).
Per claim 10 Shelnutt et al. in view of Williams et al. teaches the liquid cooling system of Claim 9, wherein the digital data is transmitted to a building management system ([0113], “IT manager or system administrator”).
Per claim 11 Shelnutt et al. teaches an information handling system support rack comprising: a plurality of liquid cooled information handling systems (1150a-d, see fig.3-5; [0099]); a power distribution unit for managing power for the plurality of information handling systems ([0007]); and an inlet cooling manifold (1230; [0109]) for distributing liquid coolant to each of the information handling systems ([0109]), the manifold comprising: a temperature sensor (1184b) in the inlet cooling manifold and configured to generate a temperature signal representing a temperature of the liquid coolant; a pressure sensor cin the inlet cooling manifold and configured to generate a pressure signal representing a temperature of the liquid coolant; and a flow meter in the inlet cooling manifold and configured to generate a flow rate signal representing a flow rate of the liquid coolant ([0112]-[0113]).
Shelnutt et al. does not explicitly teach a temperature sensor, pressure sensor, and flow meter embedded in the inlet cooling manifold.
Williams et al. however discloses sensors embedded in a cooling manifold ([0022]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to embedded the temperature, pressure and flow meter sensors on the cooling manifold because it ensures that the temperature, pressure and flow meter sensors work efficiently to sense the required parameters.
Per claim 12 Shelnutt et al. in view of Williams et al. teaches the information handling system support rack of Claim 11, further comprising a data acquisition device configured to convert the temperature signal, the pressure signal, and the flow meter signal into digital data ([0112]-[0113]).
Per claim 13 Shelnutt et al. in view of Williams et al. teaches the information handling system support rack of Claim 12, wherein the digital data is transmitted to the power distribution unit ([0007]).
Per claim 14 Shelnutt et al. in view of Williams et al. teaches the cooling manifold of Claim 13, wherein the digital data is transmitted to the building management system ([0113], “IT manager or system administrator”).
Per claim 15 Shelnutt et al. in view of Williams et al. teaches the cooling manifold of Claim 12, wherein the inlet cooling manifold further comprises a leak detector embedded in the inlet cooling manifold and configured to generate a leak alert signal in the event of a leak in the cooling manifold; and wherein the data acquisition device is further configured to convert the leak alert signal into digital data; and wherein the digital data is transmitted to the building management system via one of the power distribution unit, an information handling system, and a network switch ([0055], [0112]-[0114]).
Per claim 16 Shelnutt et al. teaches a method for cooling a plurality of liquid cooled information handling systems ([0012], [0057], [0094], [0112]-[0113]) comprising the steps of: associating an inlet cooling manifold with the plurality of information handling systems, the manifold configured to distribute liquid coolant to each of the plurality of information handling systems ([0012], [0057], [0094], [0112]-[0113]) and comprising a plurality of sensors, each of the plurality of sensors in the inlet cooling manifold and configured to generate a signal representing one of coolant temperature, coolant pressure, and coolant flow rate; and generating the signal representing one of coolant temperature, coolant pressure, and coolant flow rate ([0112]-[0113]).
Shelnutt et al. does not explicitly teach sensors embedded in the inlet cooling manifold.
Williams et al. however discloses sensors embedded in a cooling manifold ([0022]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to embedded the temperature, pressure and flow meter sensors on the cooling manifold because it ensures that the temperature, pressure and flow meter sensors work efficiently to sense the required parameters.
Per claim 17 Shelnutt et al. in view of Williams et al. teaches the method of Claim 16, further comprising: converting the signal to a digital data signal; and transmitting the digital data signal to a management system ([0112]-[0113]).
Per claim 18 Shelnutt et al. in view of Williams et al. teaches the teaches the method of Claim 17,
Shelnutt does not explicitly teach further comprising: throttling performance of the information handling systems based upon the digital data signal.
Official notice is taken that throttling the performance of an information handling system based upon digital data signal is well known in the art.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to throttle the performance of the information handling system because it enables control of the information handling system as needed.
Per claim 19 Shelnutt et al. in view of Williams et al. teaches the method of Claim 17, further comprising: shutting down the information handling systems based upon the digital data signal ([0084]-[0085]).
Per claim 20 Shelnutt et al. in view of Williams et al. teaches the method of Claim 17, wherein the inlet cooling manifold is configured with at least one leak detector, and further comprising the steps of: upon encountering a leak, generating a signal indicative of the leak; converting the signal indicative of the leak to a digital signal; and transmitting the digital signal to the management system ([0084]-[0085], [0112]-[0113]).
Email Communication
2. Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.05.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 11 & 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
4. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL A MATEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835