Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Berke (U.S2016/0081231 A1).
In regards to Claim 1, Berke discloses a circuit board (Fig.3, #22) comprising: a computer-based component (Fig.3, #14); a heat sink (Fig.3, #20) having a specification (Fig.3, #20 has a specification (i.e., height, material, thickness, etc.), the heat sink associated with the computer-based component (Fig.3), the heat sink comprising a unique key (Fig.3, #46/48) representative of the heat sink specification (Fig.3 and paragraph [0024]); and a key reading device (Fig.3 and paragraph [0024], which discloses a key reading device can be integrated with the circuit board and/or optical reader) configured to interact with the unique key and detect the heat sink specification (Paragraph [0024]).
In regards to Claim 2, Berke discloses the circuit board of Claim 1, wherein the unique key is one of a mechanical key (Fig.3, contact pins of #20) and an electronic key (Fig.3, #46/48 are interpreted as the electronic key).
In regards to Claim 3, Berke discloses the circuit board of Claim 2, wherein the unique key is an electronic key comprising a scannable code (Fig.3, #48, which can be scanned by an optical code reader) and the key reading device is an optical scanner (Paragraph [0024], optical reader).
In regards to Claim 4, Berke discloses the circuit board of Claim 2, wherein the unique key is an electronic key comprising a resistance value where the resistance value is indicative of the heat sink specification (Paragraph [0024], discloses when the heat sink is placed on board #22 the contact pins will pull up resistors on the contact pad of #22, therefore setting a resistance valve which is indicative of #20).
In regards to Claim 5, Berke discloses the circuit board of Claim 2, wherein unique key is a mechanical key comprising one or more fingers, wherein the number and position of the one or more fingers represents the heat sink specification (Fig.3 and paragraph [0024], discloses contact pins (one or more fingers) which are numbered and positioned to represent the heat sink #20 specification).
In regards to Claim 6, Berke discloses the circuit board of Claim 5, wherein the key reading device comprises an array of contact pads (Fig.3, #22 includes an array of contact openings) and wherein combinations of contact pads correspond to the heat sink specification (Fig.3 and paragraph [0024], when the one or more fingers contact the contact pads, a set of resistors are pulled by the system, which can analyze the correct heat sink #20 was used).
In regards to Claim 7, Berke discloses a method for ensuring a heat sink of proper specification is associated with a computer-based component associated with a circuit board (Fig.3, #20 associated with #14 on #22), the method comprising the steps of: associating a unique key (Fig.2, #46/48) with a heat sink (Fig.3, #20), the heat sink having a specification (Fig.3, #20 has a specification (i.e., height, material, thickness, etc.), the unique key being representative of the heat sink specification (Paragraph [0024]); associating a key reading device with a circuit board, the key reading device configured to interact with the unique key and detect the heat sink specification (Fig.3 and paragraph [0024], which discloses a key reading device can be integrated with the circuit board and/or optical reader).
In regards to Claim 8, Berke discloses the method of Claim 7, wherein the key reading device is configured to transmit a signal indicative of the heat sink specification (Paragraph [0024], which relays information based on the unique key to BMC #38).
In regards to Claim 9, Berke discloses the method of Claim 8, further comprising the step of transmitting the signal to a board management controller (Fig.3 and paragraph [0024], #38 received signal via #22).
In regards to Claim 10, Berke discloses the method of Claim 7, wherein the unique key is one of a mechanical key and an electronic key (Fig,3m #46/48 as electronic key and contact pins (as mechanical key)).
In regards to Claim 11, Berke discloses the method of Claim 10, wherein the unique key is an electronic key comprising a scannable code and the key reading device is an optical scanner (Paragraph [0024], Fig.3, #48 can be ready by a optical reader).
In regards to Claim 12, Berke discloses the method of Claim 10, wherein the unique key is an electronic key comprising a resistance value where the resistance value is indicative of the heat sink specification (Paragraph [0024], discloses when the heat sink is placed on board #22 the contact pins will pull up resistors on the contact pad of #22 therefore setting a resistance valve which is indicative of #20).
In regards to Claim 13, Berke discloses the method of Claim 10, wherein unique key is a mechanical key comprising one or more fingers, wherein the number and position of the one or more fingers represents the heat sink specification.
In regards to Claim 14, Berke discloses the method of Claim 13, wherein the key reading device comprises an array of contact pads and wherein combinations of contact pads correspond to the heat sink specification (Fig.3, #22 includes an array of contact pads configured to correspond with the contact pins (one or more fingers) of #20 to indicate the heat sink specification, see paragraph [0024]).
In regards to Claim 15, Berke discloses the method of Claim 14, wherein the key reading device is configured to transmit a signal indicative of the heat sink specification (Paragraph [0024], discloses a key reading device reading RFID #46 and communicate (send signal) to BMC #38).
In regards to Claim 16, Berke discloses the method of Claim 15, further comprising the step of transmitting the signal to a board management controller (Paragraph [0024], discloses a key reading device reading RFID #46 and communicate (send signal) to BMC #38).
In regards to Claim 17, Berke discloses an apparatus, comprising: a heat sink (Fig.3, #20) having one or more finger features extending downward toward a circuit board (Fig.3 and paragraph [0024], which discloses the heat sink #20 includes contact pins (one or more fingers)), wherein a number and configuration of the one or more finger features provides information about the heat sink (Paragraph [0024]); and one or more pads mounted on a surface of the circuit board, the pads positioned to contact the one or more finger features (Fig.2, #22 include contact pads for the one or more contact pins to determine the type of heat sink used, see paragraph [0024]).
In regards to Claim 18, Berke discloses the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the one or more finger features are electrically conductive and complete a circuit when in contact with the one or more pads (Fig.3, paragraph [0024], which discloses when the one or more fingers (contact pins) are inserted into the openings of #22, said fingers causes the resisters to be pulled high, thus completing a circuit).
In regards to Claim 19, Berke discloses the apparatus of claim 18, each of the one or more pads have a unique resistor value and are connected to a voltage (Paragraph [0024], which disclose each contact pad includes a resistor which are connected to a voltage and are pulled high when in contact with the one or more fingers).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berke (U.S 2016/0081231 A1) in view of Sun (U.S 2023/0062807 A1).
In regards to Claim 20, Berke discloses the apparatus of claim 17, Wherein the one or more finger features comprise a pin element configured to contact the one or more pads (Fig.3, #20 includes pins to connect to the one or more pads on motherboard #22, see paragraph [0024]).
Berke fails to disclose: Wherein the one or more finger features comprise a spring-loaded moveable pin element
However, Sun discloses: Wherein the one or more finger features comprise a spring-loaded moveable pin element (Fig.3, #23 are spring loaded moveable pins contacting multiple pads on a circuit board #1, as such the office notes that with the combination of Berke in view of Sun, the one or more electrical contact pins (as taught by Berke) would be replaced with spring loaded moveable pins (as taught by Sun) to electrical connect to the one or more pads on the circuit board).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the one or more electrical contact pins (as taught by Berke) to be replaced with spring loaded moveable pins (as taught by Sun) to electrical connect to the one or more pads on the circuit board. By utilizing spring loaded pins, would ease insertion and reduce labor cost and error rate (Sun, Paragraph [0023]).
Additionally, MPEP 2143.02 (I) notes that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention could have combined and/or modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination and/or modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. As such, by modifying one type of electrical connection (pin) with a spring loaded pin would be within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed as Berke discloses a plurality of conductive pins connected to a contact pads of the mother. By including movable pins, would allow for easier placement and provide reliable performance due to the spring applying constant pressure to ensure electrical conductivity (See MPEP 2143.02, citing, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cameron (U.S Patent 6,685,094) – Discloses using electronic unique codes on elements to disclose information regarding said elements.
/MANDEEP S BUTTAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835