DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 04/30/2024.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 04/30/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
In the instant case, claims 1, 10 and 18 are directed to a system, method, and non-transitory computer-readable recording medium.
Abstract ideas are in bold below, and represents a Managing ATM’s which falls under fundamental economic practice and commercial interaction.
monitoring, by a computing system based on communications with a plurality of Automated Teller Machines (ATMs), a first plurality of interactions with the plurality of ATMs;
detecting, by the computing system subsequent to monitoring the first plurality of interactions with the plurality of ATMs, a change from a first status of a first ATM of the plurality of ATMs to a second status of the first ATM;
retrieving, by the computing system from a database, responsive to detecting the change from the first status to the second status, information corresponding to a second plurality of interactions with the first ATM;
identifying, by the computing system responsive to retrieval of the information, one or more profiles associated with respective interactions of the second plurality of interactions;
determining, by the computing system based at least one the one or more profiles, a plurality of user devices enrolled in a subscription to receive status updates regarding the first ATM; and
transmitting, by the computing system responsive to determination of the plurality of user devices, a signal to the plurality of user devices to cause the plurality of user devices to display a user interface to identify the second status of the first ATM.
The additional elements of claim 1 such as “…by a computing system based on communications with a plurality of Automated Teller Machines (ATMs),…”, “…by the computing system subsequent to monitoring the first plurality of interactions with the plurality of ATMs…”, “ retrieving, by the computing system from a database, responsive to detecting the change from the first status to the second status, information corresponding to a second plurality of interactions with the first ATM;”, “…by the computing system responsive to retrieval of the information…”, “…by the computing system based at least one the one or more profiles…”, “transmitting, by the computing system responsive to determination of the plurality of user devices, a signal to the plurality of user devices to cause the plurality of user devices to display a user interface to identify the second status of the first ATM.” represent the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and/or does no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Furthermore, “retrieving, by the computing system from a database, responsive to detecting the change from the first status to the second status, information corresponding to a second plurality of interactions with the first ATM” and “transmitting, by the computing system responsive to determination of the plurality of user devices, a signal to the plurality of user devices to cause the plurality of user devices to display a user interface to identify the second status of the first ATM” represent the use of computer functions to perform an economic task of “Managing ATM’s” (MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)). Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as they do no more than represent a computer performing functions that correspond to (i.e., automate) the acts of banknote suspension and reinstatement.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of using generic computer components. The claim elements when considered separately and in an ordered combination, do not add significantly more than implementing the abstract idea of Managing ATM’s.
Hence, claim 1, 10 and 18 are not patent eligible.
Claims 2, 11 and 19 recites the additional elements of “identify, according to a geographical region that includes the first ATM, one or more second ATMs of the plurality of ATMs located within a predetermined proximity of the first ATM”, and “transmit, responsive to determination of the statuses of the one or more second ATMs, a second signal to cause the user interface to identify the statuses of the one or more second ATMs” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claims 3, and 12 recites the additional elements of “detect, based on second information provided by the first ATM, a presence of a user proximate to the first ATM”, “transmit, responsive to detection of the presence, a second signal to the first ATM to cause the first ATM to display the user interface to identify: the second status of the first ATM; and the one or more features available from the first ATM” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claims 4 and 13 recites the additional elements of “prompt, via the user interface, the plurality of user devices to identify subsequent interactions; receive, via the user interface from a first user device of the plurality of user devices, an indication of a first subsequent interaction; identify, based at least one the first subsequent interaction, one or more second ATMs of the plurality of ATMs to perform the first subsequent interaction; and transmit a second signal to the first user device to cause the first user device to update the user interface to: identify locations of the one or more second ATMs; and include a list of features available from the one or more second ATMs” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claims 5 and 14 recites the additional elements of “identify, based at least one the second status of the first ATM and a geographical region that includes the first ATM, a set of second ATMs of the plurality of ATMs within a predetermined proximity to the first ATM; transmitting one or more second signals to one or more first user devices of the plurality of user devices to cause the user interface to identify locations of a first subset of the set of second ATMs; and transmitting one or more third signals to one or more second user devices of the plurality of user devices to update the user interface to identify locations of a second subset of the set of second ATMs” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 6 and 15 recites the additional elements of “identify, based on a geographical region that includes the first ATM, one or more second ATMs of the plurality of ATMs proximate to the first ATM” and “transmit a second signal to the plurality of user devices to cause the user interface to identify the predicted amounts of time to interact with the one or more second ATMs” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 7 and 16 recites the additional elements of “retrieve, from the database, second information that identifies a plurality of authentication devices of the first ATM, the plurality of authentication devices including the first authentication device; query the first ATM to provide third information corresponding to the plurality of authentication devices; … and cause, responsive to detection of the one or more second authentication devices, the first ATM to display a second user interface to identify the one or more second authentication devices.” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 8, 17, and 20 recites the additional elements of “a detection of a fault in an authentication device of the first ATM” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
Claim 9 recites the additional elements of “receive, from a user device proximate to the first ATM, an indication of the second status of the first ATM, wherein the indication is received responsive to an interaction with a mobile application stored in memory of the user device; and detect, responsive to receipt of the indication of the second status of the first ATM, the change from the first status of the first ATM to the second status of the first ATM.” does no more than use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. Therefore, as it is no more than apply it does not improve the functioning of a computer, or improve other technology or technical field.
The claims as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. This is because the claims do not affect an improvement to another technology or technical field, the claims do not amount to an improvement to the functioning of a computer system itself, and the claims do not move beyond a general link of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
Accordingly, there are no meaningful limitations in the claims that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 10, 17, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ratcliffe Jr. Et al. (US 2024/0330879 A1)
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 18
A computing system, comprising:
at least one processing circuit having at least one processor coupled to at least one memory device, the at least one memory device storing instructions thereon that, when executed by the at least one processing circuit, cause the at least one processing circuit to: (See at least Ratcliff [0036] and [0037]: [0036] The processor 203 can execute one or more operations for implementing some examples. The processor 203 can execute instructions 207 stored in the memory 205 to perform the operations. The processor 203 can include one processing device or multiple processing devices. Non-limiting examples of the processor 203 include a Field-Programmable Gate Array (“FPGA”), an application-specific integrated circuit (“ASIC”), a microprocessor, etc. In some examples, the instructions 207 can include processor-specific instructions generated by a compiler or an interpreter from code written in any suitable computer-programming language, such as C, C++, C#, Python, or Java. [0037] The memory 205 can include one memory or multiple memories. The memory 205 can be non-volatile and may include any type of memory that retains stored information when powered off. Non-limiting examples of the memory 205 include electrically erasable and programmable read-only memory (EEPROM), flash memory, or any other type of non-volatile memory. At least some of the memory 205 can be a non-transitory, computer-readable medium from which the processor 203 can read the instructions 207. A computer-readable medium can include electronic, optical, magnetic, or other storage devices capable of providing the processor 203 with computer-readable instructions or other program code. Non-limiting examples of a computer-readable medium include magnetic disk(s), memory chip(s), ROM, random-access memory (RAM), an ASIC, a configured processor, optical storage, or any other medium from which the processor 203 can read the instructions 207.
monitor, based on communications with a plurality of Automated Teller Machines (ATMs), a first plurality of interactions (reads on interactions, while the ATM is functioning) with the plurality of ATMs (See at least Ratcliff [0027] After detecting that the ATMs 104a-b are sufficiently close to and thereby associated with the user device 130, the alert system 102 may further monitor the accessibility of the ATMs 104a-b. For example, the alert system 102 may detect when one of the ATMs 104a-b is scheduled to be offline, has experienced an unexpected malfunction, or otherwise is or will be unavailable for a period of time. In response, to detecting that one or both of the ATMs 104a-b is or will be inaccessible, the alert system 102 can automatically transmit an alert to the user device 130 that indicates which of the ATMs 104a-b are inaccessible. The alert may also indicate when or how long the ATMs 104a-b are expected to be inaccessible.
detect, subsequent to monitoring the first plurality of interactions with the plurality of ATMs, a change from a first status (reads on functioning ATM status) of a first ATM of the plurality of ATMs to a second status (reads on malfunctioning AMT status) of the first ATM (See at least Ratcliff [0027] After detecting that the ATMs 104a-b are sufficiently close to and thereby associated with the user device 130, the alert system 102 may further monitor the accessibility of the ATMs 104a-b. For example, the alert system 102 may detect when one of the ATMs 104a-b is scheduled to be offline, has experienced an unexpected malfunction, or otherwise is or will be unavailable for a period of time. In response, to detecting that one or both of the ATMs 104a-b is or will be inaccessible, the alert system 102 can automatically transmit an alert to the user device 130 that indicates which of the ATMs 104a-b are inaccessible. The alert may also indicate when or how long the ATMs 104a-b are expected to be inaccessible.
retrieve, from a database, responsive to detection of the change from the first status to the second status, information corresponding to a second plurality of interactions with the first ATM (See at least Ratcliff [0041] Additionally, the ATMs 104a-b can be associated with the user device 130 based on a distance between the ATMs 104a-b and the location 110 being less than a threshold distance. For example, the processor 203 may determine or receive a default distance 112. Then, the processor 203 may determine that a first distance between a first ATM 104a and the location 110 associated with the user device 130 is less than the default distance 112. Similarly, the processor 203 may determine that a second distance between a second ATM 104b and the location 110 associated with the user device 130 is less than the default distance 112. Thus, the ATMs 104a-b can be associated with the user device 130 based on the first and second distances being less than the default distance 112. [0042] In another example, the processor 203 may receive a set distance 114. The set distance 114 can be set by the user 126 via the user device 130 and can be different than the default distance 112. Thus, the processor 203 may determine that a third distance between the first ATM 104a and the location 110 is less than the set distance 114, and the processor 203 may determine that a fourth distance between the second ATM 104b and the location 110 is less than the set distance 114. Due to the third and fourth distances being less than the set distance 114, the ATMs 104a-b can be associated with the user device 130.
identify, responsive to retrieval of the information, one or more profiles associated with respective interactions of the second plurality of interactions (See at least Ratcliff [0041] Additionally, the ATMs 104a-b can be associated with the user device 130 based on a distance between the ATMs 104a-b and the location 110 being less than a threshold distance. For example, the processor 203 may determine or receive a default distance 112. Then, the processor 203 may determine that a first distance between a first ATM 104a and the location 110 associated with the user device 130 is less than the default distance 112. Similarly, the processor 203 may determine that a second distance between a second ATM 104b and the location 110 associated with the user device 130 is less than the default distance 112. Thus, the ATMs 104a-b can be associated with the user device 130 based on the first and second distances being less than the default distance 112. [0042] In another example, the processor 203 may receive a set distance 114. The set distance 114 can be set by the user 126 via the user device 130 and can be different than the default distance 112. Thus, the processor 203 may determine that a third distance between the first ATM 104a and the location 110 is less than the set distance 114, and the processor 203 may determine that a fourth distance between the second ATM 104b and the location 110 is less than the set distance 114. Due to the third and fourth distances being less than the set distance 114, the ATMs 104a-b can be associated with the user device 130.
determine, based at least one the one or more profiles, a plurality of user devices enrolled in a subscription to receive status updates regarding the first ATM (See at least Ratcliff [0024] The alert system 102 can further include a location subsystem 108 for determining a location 110 associated with the user device 130. In an example, the user 126 associated with the user device 130 can have a user account associated with a service provider (e.g., a bank). The user account can be accessed via the software application 132 or the web interface and can include information relevant to the user 126 such as an address or zip code.
transmit, responsive to determination of the plurality of user devices, a signal to the plurality of user devices to cause the plurality of user devices to display a user interface to identify the second status of the first ATM (See at least Ratcliff [0033] Additionally, in some examples, the alert system 102 may detect that an ATM is available following a subsequent timeframe for which the ATM was unavailable. For example, the alert system 102 may detect when the maintenance has been performed and the first ATM 104a is back online. In response, the alert system 102 may transmit a second alert 128b to the user device 130 indicating that the first ATM 104a is accessible.
Regarding claims 8, 17 and 20
wherein the second status of the first ATM includes at least one of: an amount of resources falling below a first threshold; a detection of a fault in an authentication device of the first ATM; an amount of time to complete a first number of interactions with the first ATM exceeding a second threshold; or a second number of interactions with the first ATM exceeding a third threshold. (See at least Retcliff [0027] For example, the alert system 102 may detect when one of the ATMs 104a-b is scheduled to be offline, has experienced an unexpected malfunction, or otherwise is or will be unavailable for a period of time.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5-6, 11, 14-15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ratcliffe Jr. Et al. (US 2024/0330879 A1) in view of Connolly (US 2025/0076073 A1)
Regarding claims 2, 11, and 19
Ratcliff does not specifically teach: The computing system of claim 1, wherein the instructions cause the at least one processing circuit to: identify, according to a geographical region that includes the first ATM, one or more second ATMs of the plurality of ATMs located within a predetermined proximity of the first ATM; determine, based at least on one or more interactions of the first plurality of interactions, statuses of the one or more second ATMs; and transmit, responsive to determination of the statuses of the one or more second ATMs, a second signal to cause the user interface to identify the statuses of the one or more second ATMs.
However, Connolly teaches:
The computing system of claim 1, wherein the instructions cause the at least one processing circuit to: identify, according to a geographical region that includes the first ATM, one or more second ATMs of the plurality of ATMs located within a predetermined proximity of the first ATM; (see at least Connolly [0069] As further shown in FIG. 4, process 400 may include searching, based on obtaining the request, first information associated with a set of locations to identify one or more locations that are: one or more physical locations at which the function is performable and that are within a threshold distance from the device location, or one or more digital locations at which the function is performable (block 420). For example, the user device 210 (e.g., using processor 320 and/or memory 330) may search, based on obtaining the request, first information associated with a set of locations to identify one or more locations that are: one or more physical locations at which the function is performable and that are within a threshold distance from the device location, or one or more digital locations at which the function is performable,
determine, based at least on one or more interactions of the first plurality of interactions, statuses of the one or more second ATMs; and (See at least Connolly [0069] one or more digital locations at which the function is performable, as described above in connection with reference numbers 120, 125, 130, and/or 135 of FIG. 1B. As an example, the user device 210 may identify a set of locations that satisfy or meet one or more location-based criteria (e.g., that are within the threshold distance from the device location). The user device 210 may filter the set of locations, to identify a subset of locations, that are associated with a location type at which the function is performable. In some implementations, the user device 210 may determine whether the function is currently performable at each location included in the subset of locations (e.g., based on the first information). The one or more locations may include physical locations and/or digital locations at which the function is currently performable.
transmit, responsive to determination of the statuses of the one or more second ATMs, a second signal to cause the user interface to identify the statuses of the one or more second ATMs. (See at least Connolly [0070] As further shown in FIG. 4, process 400 may include providing, for display, the user interface including the location element depicting second information associated with the one or more locations (block 430). For example, the user device 210 (e.g., using processor 320 and/or memory 330) may provide, for display, the user interface including the location element depicting second information associated with the one or more locations, as described above in connection with reference number 140 of FIG. 1C. As an example, the user device 210 may display an indication of physical locations (e.g., relative to the device location) and/or information for respective locations included in the one or more locations. In some implementations, the user device may display a link for a digital location that is selectable (e.g., by the user) to cause the user device to navigate to the digital location.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Location based proactive alert transmission for automated teller machines of Ratcliffe in view of the location based and function based location filtering as taught by Connolly in order to display, the user interface including the location element depicting second information associated with the one or more locations.. (Connolly (abstract))
Regarding claims 5 and 14
Ratcliff does not specifically teach: wherein the instructions cause the at least one processing circuit to: identify, based at least one the second status of the first ATM and a geographical region that includes the first ATM, a set of second ATMs of the plurality of ATMs within a predetermined proximity to the first ATM; determine, based on previous interactions with the set of second ATMs, statuses of the set of second ATMs; and adjust a demand for the first ATM by: transmitting one or more second signals to one or more first user devices of the plurality of user devices to cause the user interface to identify locations of a first subset of the set of second ATMs; and transmitting one or more third signals to one or more second user devices of the plurality of user devices to update the user interface to identify locations of a second subset of the set of second ATMs.
However, Connolly teaches:
The computing system of claim 1, wherein the instructions cause the at least one processing circuit to: identify, based at least one the second status of the first ATM and a geographical region that includes the first ATM, a set of second ATMs of the plurality of ATMs within a predetermined proximity to the first ATM; (See at least Connolly [0069] As further shown in FIG. 4, process 400 may include searching, based on obtaining the request, first information associated with a set of locations to identify one or more locations that are: one or more physical locations at which the function is performable and that are within a threshold distance from the device location, or one or more digital locations at which the function is performable (block 420). For example, the user device 210 (e.g., using processor 320 and/or memory 330) may search, based on obtaining the request, first information associated with a set of locations to identify one or more locations that are: one or more physical locations at which the function is performable and that are within a threshold distance from the device location,
determine, based on previous interactions with the set of second ATMs, statuses of the set of second ATMs; and (See at least Connolly [0069] one or more digital locations at which the function is performable, as described above in connection with reference numbers 120, 125, 130, and/or 135 of FIG. 1B. As an example, the user device 210 may identify a set of locations that satisfy or meet one or more location-based criteria (e.g., that are within the threshold distance from the device location). The user device 210 may filter the set of locations, to identify a subset of locations, that are associated with a location type at which the function is performable. In some implementations, the user device 210 may determine whether the function is currently performable at each location included in the subset of locations (e.g., based on the first information). The one or more locations may include physical locations and/or digital locations at which the function is currently performable.
adjust a demand for the first ATM by: transmitting one or more second signals to one or more first user devices of the plurality of user devices to cause the user interface to identify locations of a first subset of the set of second ATMs; and (See at least Connolly [0033] As shown by reference number 130, the user device may filter the set of locations by one or more location types that support the function to obtain a subset of locations. For example, the user device may filter, to obtain the subset of locations, the set of locations by one or more location types that are associated with supporting the function. For example, as described elsewhere herein, a database (e.g., a location database) may include indications of location types associated with respective locations. Additionally, the user device may store, or access, an indication of one or more functions associated with respective location types.
transmitting one or more third signals to one or more second user devices of the plurality of user devices to update the user interface to identify locations of a second subset of the set of second ATMs. (See at least Connolly [0035] As shown by reference number 135, the user device may determine whether the function is currently performable at each location included in the subset of locations to obtain one or more filtered locations. For example, the user device may determine whether the function is currently performable at each location included in the subset of locations. For example, the user device may analyze information associated with each location included in the subset locations to determine whether each location currently supports or offers the function. By filtering the set of locations by the location type(s) that support the function, the user device may conserve processing resources, computing resources, memory resources, and/or power resources, among other examples, that would have otherwise been used to analyze information associated with each location included in the set of locations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Location based proactive alert transmission for automated teller machines of Ratcliffe in view of the location based and function based location filtering as taught by Connolly in order to display, the user interface including the location element depicting second information associated with the one or more locations.. (Connolly (abstract))
Regarding claims 6 and 15
The computing system of claim 1, wherein the instructions cause the at least one processing circuit to: identify, based on a geographical region that includes the first ATM, one or more second ATMs of the plurality of ATMs proximate to the first ATM; (See at least Retcliff [0024] The alert system 102 can further include a location subsystem 108 for determining a location 110 associated with the user device 130. In an example, the user 126 associated with the user device 130 can have a user account associated with a service provider (e.g., a bank). The user account can be accessed via the software application 132 or the web interface and can include information relevant to the user 126 such as an address or zip code. The location subsystem 108 may be provided the information or may be permitted to retrieve the information. Thus, the location 110 associated with the user device 130 can be the address or the zip code. In another example, the location subsystem 108 can be permitted to access a geolocation device included in or otherwise associated with the user device 130 or location services of the user device 130. As a result, the location subsystem 108 can determine a physical, real-time location of the user device 130, which can be used for the location 110.
determine, based on previous interactions with the one or more second ATMs, statuses of the one or more second ATMs, the statuses of the one or more second ATMs including predicted amounts of time to interact with the one or more second ATMs; and (See at least Retcliff [0034] Additionally, a second ML model 120b can be trained to predict when an ATM may be inaccessible based on historical data related to ATM maintenance, malfunctions, etc. Thus, in an example, the alert system 102 may input the third data 116c associated with previous inaccessibility of the ATMs 104a-b or of ATMs of a similar type, version, etc. to the ATMs 104a-b into the second ML model 120b. In response, the second ML model 120b can output one or more predicted timeframes 124 for when the ATMs 104a-b may be inaccessible based on the third data 116c. The alert system 102 may transmit alerts based on the predicted timeframes 124. For example, the alert system 102 may compare the predicted timeframes 124 to the predicted dates 118 of the first ML model 120a and may transmit an alert based on a particular predicted timeframe corresponding to a particular predicted date.
However Ratcliff does not specifically teach: transmit a second signal to the plurality of user devices to cause the user interface to identify the predicted amounts of time to interact with the one or more second ATMs.
However Connolly teaches at least at: ([0036] For example, the user device may receive the information associated with the subset of locations from the server device. For example, the server device may transmit, and the user device may receive, a database including functionality information associated with multiple locations. The functionality information may indicate specific functions and include an indication of whether each function is currently performable at the given location. Additionally, the functionality information may include time windows during which the location is accessible (e.g., may include an indication of operating hours associated with the location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Location based proactive alert transmission for automated teller machines of Ratcliffe in view of the location based and function based location filtering as taught by Connolly in order to display, the user interface including the location element depicting second information associated with the one or more locations. (Connolly (abstract))
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ratcliffe Jr. Et al. (US 2024/0330879 A1) in view of Johnson et al. (US 2015/0127484 A1)
Regarding claims 3 and 12
The computing system of claim 1, wherein the instructions cause the at least one processing circuit to: determine, based on first information provided by the first ATM, one or more features available from the first ATM; (See at least Ratcliff [0020] Additionally, for an inaccessible ATM, the software application or web interface may not indicate how long the ATM may be inaccessible or which functions (e.g., depositing funds, withdrawing funds, transferring funds, accessing account details, etc.) of the ATM are inaccessible.
detect, based on second information provided by the first ATM, a presence of a user proximate to the first ATM; (See at least Ratcliff [0014] The location subsystem may further include a default distance. The location subsystem may detect the one or more ATMs associated with the user device by determining that distances between the one or more ATMs and the location associated with the user device are less than the default distance.
However, Ratcliff does not specifically teach: transmit, responsive to detection of the presence, a second signal to the first ATM to cause the first ATM to display the user interface to identify: the second status of the first ATM; and the one or more features available from the first ATM.
However Johnson teaches at least at [0031] For example, some transaction centers may be ATMs, ATAs, and/or other automated transaction centers or computing devices that may be configured to periodically report information about the current availability status of the various services that they may be able to provide and/or offer to the locator system 200, and locator system 200 may be configured to receive these periodic reports (e.g., hourly, daily, weekly, monthly, and so on) and store the information as transaction center status information (which may, e.g., enable decision engine 205 to respond to location information requests received from various user devices using relatively up-to-date transaction center status information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Location based proactive alert transmission for automated teller machines of Ratcliffe in view of the enhanced transaction center locator as taught by Johnson in order for transaction centers, ATAs, to periodically report information about the services that they provide to the locator system. (Johnson [0030])
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ratcliffe Jr. Et al. (US 2024/0330879 A1) in view of Connolly (US 205/0076073 A1) and Phillips (US 2019/0147421 A1)
Regarding claims 4 and 13
Ratcliff does not specifically teach: prompt, via the user interface, the plurality of user devices to identify subsequent interactions; receive, via the user interface from a first user device of the plurality of user devices, an indication of a first subsequent interaction; identify, based at least one the first subsequent interaction, one or more second ATMs of the plurality of ATMs to perform the first subsequent interaction; and transmit a second signal to the first user device to cause the first user device to update the user interface to: identify locations of the one or more second ATMs; and include a list of features available from the one or more second ATMs.
However Connolly teaches:
prompt, via the user interface, the plurality of user devices to identify subsequent interactions; (See at least Connolly [0021] For example, the user interface information may include one or more databases associated with identifying information for respective locations. As an example, the one or more databases may indicate location types of respective locations. Additionally, the one or more databases may indicate one or more functions or services supported by respective locations. In some implementations, the user device may directly access and/or search the one or more databases. In other implementations, the user device may communicate with the server device (or another server device), and the server device may access and/or search the one or more databases (e.g., in response to a request from the user device).
receive, via the user interface from a first user device of the plurality of user devices, an indication of a first subsequent interaction; (See at least Connolly [0029] As shown in FIG. 1B, and by reference number 115, the user device may obtain a user input selecting a function filter chip. For example, the user may provide a gestural interaction (e.g., a tap, a swipe, a pinch, or another gestural interaction) to select the function filter chip. The user device may detect the gestural interaction and determine that the function filter chip has been selected by the user. The function filter chip may be associated with a function (e.g., “Function 1” as shown in FIG. 1B). For example, the user device may obtain, via the selection of the function filter chip of the user interface, a request to filter the location element by the function (e.g., the function filter chip may indicate the function). Obtaining the user input selecting the function filter chip may cause the user device to filter location-based search results by the function associated with the function filter chip, as described in more detail elsewhere herein.
identify, based at least one the first subsequent interaction, one or more second ATMs of the plurality of ATMs to perform the first subsequent interaction; and (See at least Connolly [0031] The set of locations may include one or more physical locations that satisfy or meet a location-based search criteria. For example, the location-based search criteria may include the distance threshold described above. In other words, the set of locations may include one or more physical locations that are near the user device location. For example, as shown by reference number 125, the user device may filter (or search) by the user device location to obtain the set of locations. In other words, the user device may identify one or more physical locations for which a distance between a location and the user device location satisfies the distance threshold. Additionally, the set of location may include one or more digital locations. The one or more digital locations may be digital locations associated with the entity that is associated with the user interface.
transmit a second signal to the first user device to cause the first user device to update the user interface to: identify locations of the one or more second ATMs; and (See at least Connolly [0069] As further shown in FIG. 4, process 400 may include searching, based on obtaining the request, first information associated with a set of locations to identify one or more locations that are: one or more physical locations at which the function is performable and that are within a threshold distance from the device location, or one or more digital locations at which the function is performable (block 420). For example, the user device 210 (e.g., using processor 320 and/or memory 330) may search, based on obtaining the request, first information associated with a set of locations to identify one or more locations that are: one or more physical locations at which the function is performable and that are within a threshold distance from the device location,
include a list of features available from the one or more second ATMs. (See at least Connolly [0069] one or more digital locations at which the function is performable, as described above in connection with reference numbers 120, 125, 130, and/or 135 of FIG. 1B. As an example, the user device 210 may identify a set of locations that satisfy or meet one or more location-based criteria (e.g., that are within the threshold distance from the device location). The user device 210 may filter the set of locations, to identify a subset of locations, that are associated with a location type at which the function is performable. In some implementations, the user device 210 may determine whether the function is currently performable at each location included in the subset of locations (e.g., based on the first information). The one or more locations may include physical locations and/or digital locations at which the function is currently performable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Location based proactive alert transmission for automated teller machines of Ratcliffe in view of the location based and function based location filtering as taught by Connolly in order to display, the user interface including the location element depicting second information associated with the one or more locations.. (Connolly (abstract))
Connolly does not specifically teach: wherein the second status of the first ATM includes a number of interactions with the first ATM exceeding a threshold, and wherein the instructions cause the at least one processing circuit to:
However [0058] Phillips teaches: In some implementations, ATM recommendation platform 230 may determine a likelihood that an individual may have to wait to use a particular ATM device 220. For example, ATM recommendation platform 230 may use historical data and/or real-time (or near real-time) data of a particular ATM device 220 to determine whether the particular ATM device 220 is in use, has historically experienced a threshold amount of use at a time of day or on a day of the week (e.g., the same time of day or day of the week that an individual wants to use the particular ATM device 220), and/or the like. In some implementations, ATM recommendation platform 230 may provide, for display via user device 210, information that identifies a likelihood, or an amount of time, that an individual may have to wait to use a particular ATM device 220.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Location based proactive alert transmission for automated teller machines of Ratcliffe in view of the aggregation of automated teller machine information and factor based selection of an atm device as taught by Phillips in order to determine scores for the ATM devices based on the information related to the capability of the one of the ATM devices or the fee to be charged by the one of the ATM devices. (Phillips (abstract))
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ratcliffe Jr. Et al. (US 2024/0330879 A1) in view of McGraw et al. (US 2011/0231705 A1)
Regarding claims 7 and 16
Ratcliff does not specifically teach: wherein the second status of the first ATM is a detection of a fault in a first authentication device of the first ATM, and wherein the instructions cause the at least one processing circuit to: retrieve, from the database, second information that identifies a plurality of authentication devices of the first ATM, the plurality of authentication devices including the first authentication device; query the first ATM to provide third information corresponding to the plurality of authentication devices; detect, based at least one the third information, one or more second authentication devices of the plurality of authentication devices available to authenticate one or more subsequent interactions; and cause, responsive to detection of the one or more second authentication devices, the first ATM to display a second user interface to identify the one or more second authentication devices.
However McGraw teaches:
The computing system of claim 1, wherein the second status of the first ATM is a detection of a fault in a first authentication device of the first ATM, and wherein the instructions cause the at least one processing circuit to: retrieve, from the database, second information that identifies a plurality of authentication devices of the first ATM, the plurality of authentication devices including the first authentication device; (See at least McGraw [0060] Step 910 shows detection of an ATM failure. Step 920 shows assessment of the system-level ramifications of the ATM failure--e.g., which components are implicated by the failure. Step 930 shows determination of which of the possible actions listed above in Table 3, for example, may be available.
query the first ATM to provide third information corresponding to the plurality of authentication devices; (See at least McGraw [0059] Following detection of an ATM failure, a module within circuit board 340, 440A and/or 440B may be dedicated to assessing the non-failed aspects of the ATM.
detect, based at least one the third information, one or more second authentication devices of the plurality of authentication devices available to authenticate one or more subsequent interactions; and (See at least McGraw [0029] Accordingly, a "key component failure" mode, which for the purposes of this application, may be considered one of many different types of thin-client modes, may include offering various, preferably user-selectable, services that remain viable independent of the key component failure.
cause, responsive to detection of the one or more second authentication devices, the first ATM to display a second user interface to identify the one or more second authentication devices. (See at least McGraw [0026] A "thin-client mode" enabled ATM according to the invention may launch a web page served by a web server remote from the upon detection of the out of service condition. This web page may be displayed on the ATM display. Such information may include providing an accessible on-line portal for allowing a user to access his or her on-line banking portal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Location based proactive alert transmission for automated teller machines of Ratcliffe in view of the adaptive diagnostics for implementation of automated teller machine this client mode as taught by McGraw in order to assess a plurality of system-level ramifications of the fault-related event and determine continued viability of a plurality of ATM services (McGraw (abstract))
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ratcliffe Jr. Et al. (US 2024/0330879 A1) in view of Wilson (US 11,176,785 B1)
Regarding claim 9
detect, responsive to receipt of the indication of the second status of the first ATM, the change from the first status of the first ATM to the second status of the first ATM. (See at least Ratcliff [0016] The alert system can further be configured to detect that an ATM associated with the user device is scheduled for maintenance, scheduled to be offline, experiencing a malfunction, or otherwise inaccessible for a subsequent timeframe.
Ratcliff does not specifically teach: wherein the instructions cause the at least one processing circuit to: receive, from a user device proximate to the first ATM, an indication of the second status of the first ATM, wherein the indication is received responsive to an interaction with a mobile application stored in memory of the user device; and
However Wilson teaches at least at: (col 5 lines 24-32) When user 108 reports an error with the function of ATM 102, the user receipt may include an error report identifier 208 so that user 108 may track the progress of the investigation into the error reported by user 108. The status of the investigation may include information on both the dispensing error experienced at the ATM 102 and information on whether any adjustments will be made to the balance of the account involved in the transaction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Location based proactive alert transmission for automated teller machines of Ratcliffe in view of the detection of dispensing errors in automated teller machines as taught by Wilson in order to generate an error report that includes the information indicated by the signals, a report identifier, and a user identifier. (Wilson (abstract))
Prior Art of Record not relied upon
Bhuvad et al. (US 10,825,307 B1) Teaches: Transaction plan management.
Benkreira et al. (US 2021/081913 A1) Teaches: Method to predict ATM locations for users.
Chebrole et al. (US 2018/0190082 A1) Teaches: Electronic method for ATM cash management
Conclusion
/GREGORY M JAMES/Examiner, Art Unit 3692 /RYAN D DONLON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3692 March 26, 2026