DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant's claim for domestic priority benefit of Provisional Application no 63/593173, filed 10/25/23, is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
In the instant application, claim(s) 1- is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Step 1:
Claim(s) 1-15, 17-20 is/are drawn to at least one of the four statutory categories of invention (i.e. process, machine, manufacture, or composition).
Step 2A:
However, claim(s) 1-15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
For instance, regarding independent claim(s) 1, 19, 20,
Prong 1 analysis:
The limitations of “activate a reserve skill of a character involved in a player-versus-player (PVP) match; presents a set of elements corresponding to the PVP match; and an action associated with the reserve skill of the character” (claim 1), “applying the reserve skill of the character in at least one of: a defensive context intended to prolong a duration of survival for a player side of the PVP match that involves the character; or an offensive context intended to reduce a duration of survival for an opponent side of the PVP match that does not directly involve the character” (claims 19, 20), are considered to fall within the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping (managing personal behavior, rules). The mere nominal recitation of generic computer elements does not take the claim out of the methods of organizing human activity grouping. Thus, the claim(s) recites an abstract idea.
Furthermore, dependent claims 2-15, 17-18 merely include limitations that either further define the abstract idea (and thus don’t make the abstract idea any less abstract) or amount to no more than generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use because they are merely incidental or token additions to the claims that do not alter or affect how the process steps are performed.
Prong 2 analysis:
The above-identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application under the 2019 PEG because the additional elements “a system, a computer, a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising: circuitry, a graphics processing unit (GPU), one or more computer-executable instructions that, when executed by at least one hardware processor of a computing device, ”, are generically recited computer elements that do not improve the functioning of a computer, or any other technology or technical field. Nor do these additional elements serve to apply the above-identified abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine, effect a transformation or apply or use the above-identified abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use thereof to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Furthermore, the above-identified generically recited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. For at least these reasons, the abstract idea identified above is not integrated into a practical application under the 2019 PEG.
Moreover, the above-identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application under the 2019 PEG because the claimed method and system merely implements the above-identified abstract idea using rules (e.g., computer instructions) executed by a computer. The claimed elements are recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering and data transmission, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Each of the additional limitations are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. As such, the claim is directed to the abstract idea.
Step 2B:
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Furthermore, in view of Berkheimer, the recited additional elements are considered as conventional activity. For instance, Dong (2018/029620) teaches the recited additional elements (Fig 4, 6, ¶¶0053-0058).
In addition, with regards to dependent claims, the courts have recognized the computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional activities when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
For instance, regarding claims 1-15, 17-20, each claim describes physical or software elements that provide a generic environment in which to carry out the abstract idea, which is similar to the conventional activity or as insignificant extra-solution activity of selecting information, based on types of information, for collection, analysis and display in EPG, gathering, receiving and transmitting data in Symantec, TLI, OIP Techs., buySAFE, and rules in In re Smith.
Therefore, claim(s) 1-15, 17-20 is/are therefore not drawn to eligible subject matter as they are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9, 11, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Busey et al. (2009/0149248).
Re Claim 1,
Busey discloses a system comprising: circuitry configured to activate a reserve skill of a character involved in a player-versus-player match of a video game; and a graphics processing unit (¶¶0002, 0024-0025, 0039, 0091) configured to:
render a user interface that presents a set of digital elements corresponding to the PVP match; and render, in the user interface, a graphical representation of an action associated with the reserve skill of the character (Fig 2, 4, 6-7, ¶¶0002, 0042-0043, 0046-0047, 0050-0051, 0055-0058, 0061, 0068-0071; a character viewing pane displays the various combinations of equipment and actions selected by a user, wherein the selected equipment or ability is used for specific challenge with another player, further, the game play animation plays out each of the opponent's loadouts and assigns outcomes as a function of preprogrammed criteria).
Re Claim 2,
Busey discloses applying the reserve skill of the character in the PVP match based at least in part on input received from a player controlling the character (¶¶0002, 0042-0043, 0046-0047, 0050-0051, 0055-0058, 0061, 0068-0071).
Re Claim 3,
Busey discloses determining that a metric associated with the character has reached a certain threshold and activating the reserve skill of the character in response to the metric reaching the certain threshold (¶¶0002, 0042-0043, 0046-0047, 0050-0051, 0055-0058, 0061, 0068-0071).
Re Claim 4,
Busey discloses increasing the metric associated with the character based at least in part on: a performance of a player controlling the character; or a passage of time (¶¶0002, 0042-0043, 0046-0047, 0050-0051, 0055-0058, 0061, 0068-0071).
Re Claim 5,
Busey discloses applying the reserve skill of the character in a defensive context intended to prolong a duration of survival for a player side of the PVP match that involves the character (¶¶0002, 0042-0043, 0046-0047, 0050-0051, 0055-0058, 0061, 0068-0071).
Re Claim 7,
Busey discloses applying the reserve skill of the character in an offensive context intended to reduce a duration of survival for an opponent side of the PVP match that does not directly involve the character (¶¶0002, 0042-0043, 0046-0047, 0050-0051, 0055-0058, 0061, 0068-0071).
Re Claim 9,
Busey discloses applying the reserve skill of the character in both: a defensive context intended to prolong a duration of survival for a player side of the PVP match that involves the character; and an offensive context intended to reduce a duration of survival for an opponent side of the PVP match that does not directly involve the character (¶¶0002, 0042-0043, 0046-0047, 0050-0051, 0055-0058, 0061, 0068-0071).
Re Claim 11,
Busey discloses activating an additional reserve skill of an additional character involved in the PVP match; and the GPU is further configured to render, in the user interface, a graphical representation of an additional action associated with the additional reserve skill of the additional character (¶¶0002, 0042-0043, 0046-0047, 0050-0051, 0055-0058, 0061, 0068-0071).
Re Claims 19, 20,
Claim is substantially similar to claim 1 and further adds activating a reserve skill of a character involved in the PVP match and the reserve skill of the character in at least one of a defensive context intended to prolong a duration of survival for a player side of the PVP match that involves the character; or an offensive context intended to reduce a duration of survival for an opponent side of the PVP match that does not directly involve the character; and rendering, in the user interface, a graphical representation of an action associated with the reserve skill of the character (Fig 2, 4, ¶¶0002, 0042-0043, 0046-0047, 0050-0051, 0055-0058, 0061; the equipment and skill are activated based on the player’s level and the player can select different equipment or ability for offensive and defensive actions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 8, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Busey et al. (2009/0149248) in view of Dong (2018/0296920).
Re Claims 6, 8,
Busey discloses all limitations as set forth above including applying loadouts for characters that can be arranged into leaders, players, offensive characters, defensive characters and supporting characters for group competitions but is silent on rendering one or more antagonists that move along a lane on the player side of the PVP match and enabling a player controlling the player side of the PVP match to prolong the duration of survival for the player side. However, Dong teaches one or more antagonists that move along a lane on the player side of the PVP match and enabling a player controlling the player side of the PVP match to prolong the duration of survival for the player side (Fig 2A-2D, ¶¶0035-0043, 0052). Dong further teaches such a configuration allows strategic selection and positioning of defensive elements during the gameplay (¶0002). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Dong into the game of Busey in order to enhance gameplay by allowing strategic selection and positioning of defensive elements.
Re Claim 10,
Busey discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on render one or more antagonists that move along a lane on the player side of the PVP match, and render one or more additional antagonists that move along an additional lane on the opponent side of the PVP match, enabling a player controlling the player side of the PVP match. However, Dong teaches render one or more antagonists that move along a lane on the player side of the PVP match, and render one or more additional antagonists that move along an additional lane on the opponent side of the PVP match, enabling a player controlling the player side of the PVP match (Fig 2A-2D, ¶¶0035-0043, 0052). See claim 6 for motivation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JASON T YEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715