DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending and under consideration on the merits.
Examiner Note
It is noted that all references hereinafter to Applicant’s Specification are to the published application US 2024/0283109 A1, unless stated otherwise. Further, it is noted that italicized text in parentheses recited in any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 35 U.S.C. 103 indicates the element of the claimed invention to which the preceding prior art element corresponds. Additionally, any italicized text utilized hereinafter is to be interpreted as emphasis placed thereupon.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “7b” in FIG. 5 has been used to designate both 7b and 7a-7c, support for this objection can be seen in at least ¶0138 of Applicant’s Specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, “the first surface” (recited twice), “the second surface”, and “the third surface” each render the claim indefinite. Claim 3, of which claim 4 directly depends upon, recites each species in plural, therefore, it is unclear which first surface, second surface, and third surface, respectively, is intended to be limited. For the purposes of examination, claim 4 is interpreted as instead reciting “at least one of the first surfaces” (recited twice), “at least one of the second surfaces”, and “at least one of the third surfaces.”
Regarding claim 6, “the first surface” renders the claim indefinite. Claim 3, of which claim 6 directly depends upon, recites the species in plural, therefore, it is unclear which first surface is intended to be limited. For the purposes of examination, claim 6 is interpreted as instead reciting “at least one of the first surfaces.”
Claims 7-13 are indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as they are directly or ultimately dependent upon claim 6 and therefore include, and do not remedy the aforementioned deficiencies.
Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jiang et al. (CN 110021721 A, herein English machine translation is utilized for all citations; “Jiang”). Hu et al. (WO 2019134697 A1, herein English machine translation is utilized for all citations; “Hu”) is relied upon as an evidentiary reference in support of the rejection.
Regarding claim 1, Jiang discloses a battery unit/cell (a battery cell) [element 2, 0019, 0032, 0041-0043, 0048, 0054, FIG. 3] comprising a module body (a housing) [element 1, 0042, 0052]. The module body includes at least one recessed terminal post mounting area (an outer surface of the housing is provided with a recess) [0042, FIGs. 1-6]. Electrodes are accommodated within the module body, as evidenced by Hu [Hu, 0005, 0043]. A terminal post is at least partially located in the recessed terminal post mounting area (an electrode terminal at least partially accommodated within the recess) [element 3, 0042-0043, FIGs. 1-6 and 8]. The terminal post includes one or more terminal posts [0052], e.g. a positive terminal and a negative terminal [0048], wherein the terminal posts may be connected in series or in parallel to form a unified power supply for multiple battery units [0052], and may be electrically connected to external electrical equipment [0045, 0052], therefore, the terminal posts are necessarily configured to be electrically connected to the electrodes/electrode component to export electric energy of the electrodes/electrode component (see MPEP 2112(V); MPEP 2112.01(I) and (II)).
The recessed terminal post mounting area accommodates at least a part of a connecting plate (a busbar of a battery) [element 5, 0012, 0046, 0052, FIGs. 1-6], to electrically connect multiple battery units in series or in parallel (configured to connect electrode terminals of a plurality of battery cells to electrically connect the plurality of battery cells) [0052].
Regarding claim 2, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, Jiang further discloses that a part of the terminal post positioned outside of the module body is completely accommodated within the recessed terminal post mounting area [0042-0043, FIGs. 3-4].
Regarding claim 3, in view of the rejection of claim 1 above, Jiang further discloses that the module body comprises two first surfaces oppositely arranged along a first direction, two second surfaces oppositely arranged along a second direction, and two third surfaces oppositely arranged along a third direction [FIGs. 3-4 and 8] (see below for Figure 1. Annotated FIGs. 3 and 8 of Jiang).
Figure 1. Annotated FIGs. 3 and 8 of Jiang
Regarding claim 4, in view of the rejection of claim 3 above, Jiang further discloses that an area of the first surfaces is greater than an area of the second surfaces, and the area of the first surfaces is greater than an area of the third surfaces [FIGs. 3-4 and 8] (see below for Figure 1. Annotated FIGs. 3 and 8 of Jiang).
Regarding claim 5, in view of the rejection of claim 3 above, Jiang further discloses that the second direction and the third direction are perpendicular to each other [FIGs. 3-4 and 8].
Regarding claim 6, in view of the rejection of claim 3 above, Jiang further discloses that the recessed terminal post mounting area is recessed relative to the first surfaces [0041-0043, 0056, FIGs. 1-6], and the terminal posts include a positive and negative terminal (the electrode terminal comprises a first electrode terminal and a second electrode terminal having opposite polarities) [0048]. At least a part of the positive terminal and at least a part of the negative terminal are accommodated within the recessed terminal post mounting areas [0042-0043, 0048, 0056, FIGs. 1-6].
Regarding claim 9, in view of the rejection of claim 6 above, Jiang further discloses that the recessed terminal post mounting area comprises two recessed terminal post mounting areas (a first recess and a second recess) [FIG. 3] that are spaced apart from each other and extend to a second surface [FIG. 3], at least a part of one of the terminals is accommodated within one recessed terminal post mounting area and at least a part of the other terminal is accommodated within the other recessed terminal post mounting area (the first electrode terminal is accommodated within the first recess, and at least a part of the second electrode terminal is accommodated within the second recess) [FIG. 3].
Regarding claim 18, Jiang discloses a battery module (a battery) [0021, 0032, 0043, 0052, 0054, FIGs. 1-7] comprising multiple battery units/cells (a plurality of battery cells) [element 2, 0019, 0032, 0041-0043, 0048, 0054, FIG. 3], each being the battery cell set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above. The battery module further comprises a connecting plate (a busbar) [element 5, 0012, 0046, 0052, FIGs. 3-6], to electrically connect adjacent terminals [0046, FIGs. 3-6], and further, to electrically connect multiple battery units in series or in parallel (configured to connect electrode terminals of the plurality of battery cells to electrically connect the plurality of battery cells) [0052]. At least part of the connecting plate is accommodated within the recessed terminal post mounting areas (the recess of each of the plurality of battery cells is configured to accommodate at least a part of the busbar) [0046, 0052, FIGs. 3-6].
Regarding claim 19, in view of the rejection of claim 18 above, Jiang further discloses that the connecting plate is integrally accommodated in a space formed by the recessed terminal post mounting areas of the multiple battery units [FIGs. 3-6].
Regarding claim 20, Jiang discloses an automobile (an electrical apparatus) [0004, 0020, 0055] comprising the battery cell set forth above in the rejection of claim 1 above. The battery cell is electrically connected in series or in parallel with multiple battery cells, of which together are configured to provide a unified power supply (the battery cell is configured to provide electric energy) [0007, 0046, 0052, FIGs. 3-7].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8, 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang, evidenced by Hu, as applied to claims 1, 3, 6, and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) above, in view of Oechsle (DE 102013203097 A1, herein English machine translation is utilized for all citations; “Oechsle”).
Regarding claim 7, Jiang discloses the battery cell set forth above in the rejection of claim 6.
Jiang remains silent regarding the first electrode terminal and the second electrode terminal are correspondingly arranged along the second direction.
Oechsle is directed towards a lithium-ion battery cell with a housing, a battery module, and a motor vehicle [0001, 0011, 0027]. Oechsle teaches that the battery cell includes positive and negative terminals arranged on two opposing side surfaces along a second direction [0010, 0016-0017, FIGs. 4-8] (see, for example, Figure 2. Annotated FIGs. 4 and 6 of Oechsle, below), wherein the terminals are accommodated within contact surfaces that are recessed into the housing [FIGs. 4-8], and are designed either as a plug-in element or as a receptacle or only as a receptacle into which an intermediate element can be inserted to form a plug-in element [0010].
Jiang and Oechsle each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – ------a battery cell comprising a housing wherein an outer surface of the housing is provided with a recess. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery unit of Jiang so that the positive and negative terminals are arranged on two opposing side surfaces along a second direction, like that of Oechsle, in order to be able to connect the battery units in series or in parallel, and to obtain cell stacks that can save as much space as possible [Oechsle, 0012, 0041, 0043, 0045].
In accordance with the aforesaid modifications, the battery unit of modified Jiang would have the positive and negative terminals arranged on two opposing side surfaces along a second direction (the first electrode terminal and the second electrode terminal are correspondingly arranged along the second direction), see below for Figure 3. Annotated FIG. 6 of Jiang Depicting Modified Jiang.
Figure 2. Annotated FIGs. 4 and 6 of Oechsle
Figure 3. Annotated FIG. 6 of Jiang Depicting Modified Jiang
Regarding claim 8, in view of the rejection of claim 7 above, modified Jiang discloses that one end of the recessed terminal post mounting area along the third direction extends to one of the third surfaces [Jian, FIGs. 3-4 and 6].
Regarding claim 10, Jiang discloses the battery cell set forth above in the rejection of claim 9.
Jiang remains silent regarding the first recess and the second recess are correspondingly arranged along the second direction.
Oechsle is directed towards a lithium-ion battery cell with a housing, a battery module, and a motor vehicle [0001, 0011, 0027]. Oechsle teaches that the battery cell includes positive and negative terminals arranged on two opposing side surfaces [0010, 0016-0017, FIGs. 4-8] (see for example Figure 2. Annotated FIG. 4 of Oechsle, below), wherein the terminals are accommodated within contact surfaces that are recessed into the housing along a second direction and extending to respective second surfaces [FIGs. 4-8], and are designed either as a plug-in element or as a receptacle or only as a receptacle into which an intermediate element can be inserted to form a plug-in element [0010].
Jiang and Oechsle each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – ------a battery cell comprising a housing wherein an outer surface of the housing is provided with a recess. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery unit of Jiang so that the recessed terminal post mounting areas that correspond to positive and negative terminals are arranged on two opposing side surfaces along a second direction, and extend to respective second surfaces, like that of Oechsle, in order to be able to connect the battery units in series or in parallel, and to obtain cell stacks that can save as much space as possible [Oechsle, 0012, 0041, 0043, 0045].
In accordance with the aforesaid modifications, the battery unit of modified Jiang would have the recessed terminal post mounting areas that correspond to positive and negative terminals arranged on two opposing side surfaces along a second direction (the first recess and the second recess are correspondingly arranged along the second direction), wherein each recessed terminal post mounting area extends to their respective second surface, see below for Figure 4. Annotated FIG. 6 of Jiang Depicting Modified Jiang.
Figure 4. Annotated FIG. 6 of Jiang Depicting Modified Jiang
Regarding claim 11, in view of the rejection of claim 10 above, modified Jiang discloses that one end of one of the recessed terminal post mounting areas away from the other recessed terminal post mounting area extends to one of the second surfaces, and one end of the other recessed terminal post mounting area away from the one of the recessed terminal post mounting areas extends to the other of the second surfaces (one end of the first recess away from the second recess extends to one of the second surfaces, and one end of the second recess away from the first recess extends to the other of the second surfaces), see in particular ¶39 above.
Regarding claim 12, Jiang discloses the battery cell set forth above in the rejection of claim 9. Jiang further discloses that the recessed terminal post mounting areas and module body all project in the first direction [FIGs. 3-6].
Jiang remains silent regarding a projection of the first recess along the first direction and a projection of the second recess along the first direction are arranged along a diagonal direction of a projection of the housing along the first direction.
Oechsle is directed towards a lithium-ion battery cell with a housing, a battery module, and a motor vehicle [0001, 0011, 0027]. Oechsle teaches that the battery cell includes positive and negative terminals arranged on two opposing side surfaces along a diagonal direction and extending to respective second surfaces [0010, 0016-0017, FIGs. 4-8] (see for example Figure 2. Annotated FIG. 4 of Oechsle, below), wherein the terminals are accommodated within contact surfaces that are recessed into the housing along a first direction [FIGs. 4-8], and are designed either as a plug-in element or as a receptacle or only as a receptacle into which an intermediate element can be inserted to form a plug-in element [0010].
Jiang and Oechsle each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – ------a battery cell comprising a housing wherein an outer surface of the housing is provided with a recess. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery unit of Jiang so that the recessed terminal post mounting areas that correspond to positive and negative terminals project along the first direction and are arranged on two opposing side surfaces along a diagonal direction and extending to respective second surfaces, like that of Oechsle, in order to be able to connect the battery units in series or in parallel, and to obtain cell stacks that can save as much space as possible [Oechsle, 0012, 0041, 0043, 0045].
In accordance with the aforesaid modifications, the battery unit of modified Jiang would have the recessed terminal post mounting areas that correspond to positive and negative terminals project along the first direction and arranged on two opposing side surfaces along a diagonal direction and extending to respective second surfaces, along with the module body projecting along the first direction still (a projection of the first recess along the first direction and a projection of the second recess along the first direction are arranged along a diagonal direction of a projection of the housing along the first direction).
Regarding claim 13, in view of the rejection of claim 12 above, the battery unit of modified Jiang teaches that the recessed terminal post mounting areas that correspond to positive and negative terminals are arranged on two opposing side surfaces and extend to respective second surfaces (one end of the first recess along the second direction extends to one of the second surfaces, and one end of the second recess along the second direction extends to the other of second surfaces), see in particular ¶45 above.
Regarding claim 14, Jiang discloses the battery cell set forth above in the rejection of claim 3. Jiang further discloses that at least a part of the positive terminal and at least a part of the negative terminal are accommodated within respective recessed terminal post mounting areas (the electrode terminal comprises a first electrode terminal and a second electrode terminal having opposite polarities, wherein at least a part of the first electrode terminal is accommodated within the first recess, and at least a part of the second electrode terminal is accommodated within the second recess) [0042-0043, 0048, 0056, FIGs. 3-6].
Jiang remains silent regarding the recess comprises a first recess and a second recess, the first recess is recessed relative to one of the second surfaces, and the second recess is recessed relative to the other of the second surfaces.
Oechsle is directed towards a lithium-ion battery cell with a housing, a battery module, and a motor vehicle [0001, 0011, 0027]. Oechsle teaches that the battery cell includes positive and negative terminals arranged on two opposing side surfaces along a second direction [0010, 0016-0017, FIGs. 4-8], wherein the two terminals are accommodated within separate contact surfaces that are recessed into the housing relative to respective second surfaces and extend to respective second surfaces [FIGs. 4-8], and additionally are designed either as a plug-in element or as a receptacle or only as a receptacle into which an intermediate element can be inserted to form a plug-in element [0010].
Jiang and Oechsle each constitute prior art which is directly analogous to the claimed invention – ------a battery cell comprising a housing wherein an outer surface of the housing is provided with a recess. In view of the combined teachings of the foregoing prior art, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery unit of Jiang so that the two recessed terminal post mounting areas are recessed into the housing relative to respective second surfaces and along a second direction, like that of Oechsle, in order to be able to connect the battery units in series or in parallel, and to obtain cell stacks that can save as much space as possible [Oechsle, 0012, 0041, 0043, 0045].
In accordance with the aforesaid modifications, the battery unit of modified Jiang would further have the two recessed terminal post mounting areas recessed into the housing relative to respective second surfaces and along a second direction (the recess comprises a first recess and a second recess, the first recess is recessed relative to one of the second surfaces, and the second recess is recessed relative to the other of the second surfaces), see below for Figure 5. Annotated FIG. 6 of Jiang Depicting Modified Jiang.
Figure 5. Annotated FIG. 6 of Jiang Depicting Modified Jiang
Regarding claim 15, in view of the rejection of claim 14 above, modified Jiang teaches that two ends of the two recessed terminal post mounting areas each extend to the two first surfaces respectively (two ends of the first recess along the first direction extend to the two first surfaces respectively, and two ends of the second recess along the first direction extend to the two first surfaces respectively), see in particular ¶51 above.
Regarding claim 16, in view of the rejection of claim 14 above, modified Jiang teaches that the two recessed terminal post mounting areas are correspondingly arranged along the second direction (the first recess and the second recess are correspondingly arranged along the second direction), see in particular ¶51 above.
Regarding claim 17, in view of the rejection of claim 16 above, modified Jiang teaches that one end of each of the two recessed terminal post mounting areas along the third direction extend to a same third surface of the third surfaces (one end of the first recess along the third direction and one end of the second recess along the third direction extend to a same third surface of the third surfaces), see in particular ¶51 above.
Pertinent Prior Art
The following constitutes a list of prior art which are not relied upon herein, but are considered pertinent to the claimed invention and/or written description thereof. The prior art are purposely made of record hereinafter to facilitate compact/expedient prosecution, and consideration thereof is respectfully suggested.
Oh et al., KR 2018/0106073 A – is directed towards a battery cell comprising an extended terrace portion extending from a battery case [English machine translation, 0001], and teaches that the extended terrace portion includes two separate cutout portions, each accommodating an electrode lead [0030, FIGs. 2-5], wherein the two cutout portions may be on opposite sides or the same side [0031-0032, FIGs. 2-5].
Conclusion
/JENNA X. COLTON/Examiner, Art Unit 1782
/AARON AUSTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1782