DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 8-9, 11-13, 15-16, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over YENCHO (US 20090084734 A1) in view of TIPTON (US 20070247080 A1).
Regarding claim 1, YENCHO discloses a liquid treatment system using high intensity broad-spectrum pulsed light [0269] to reduce physical, chemical, organic, inorganic, biological, or microbiological contaminants (abstract), the system comprising:
a reactor having a shell (40), a liquid inlet (at 28) and a liquid outlet (at 31) on the shell, one or more tubes (quartz tubes 24-1), and one or more light sources (UV lamps 20-1) provided between the liquid inlet and the liquid outlet,
wherein each of the one or more light sources (20-1) is respectively contained within the one or more tubes (24-1);
at least one power supply (inherent, associated with 36), treat the physical, chemical, organic, inorganic, biological, or microbiological contaminants (abstract),
wherein the one or more light sources (20-1) is provided in the shell (40) such that an internal space is formed between the shell and the one or more tubes (24-1) such that liquid passes through the internal space in a circular motion (figs. 16; arrows 267-1 to 267-6) (fig. 18; arrows 268-1 to 268-3) between the shell and the one or more tubes and between the one or more tubes from the liquid inlet to the liquid outlet (31) ,
wherein a portion of the shell (40) that is configured to receive the liquid at the liquid inlet (28) is curved (see figs. 3 and 16, 40) and configured to create turbulence of liquid flow in the circular motion (figs. 16; arrows 267-1 to 267-6) (fig. 18; arrows 268-1 to 268-3) between the shell and the one or more tubes (24-1).
(fig.3, shells 40-1/40-2; UV lamp 20, in tube (un labeled));
(fig. 33. Shell 40 is curved/rounded at both inlet and outlet and at ends)
(fig. 46, reactor shell 40 containing UV lamps 20-1, in quartz tubes 24-1)
[0190] .
But YENCHO fails to disclose an ionized wire wrapped outside each of the one or more light sources of the reactor; and a pulse generator to power the one or more light sources to strobe pulsed light.
TIPTON, however, discloses a sterilizer [0002] with
an ionized wire (fig. 1. 103) wrapped outside each of the one or more light sources (100) of the reactor; and
pulse generator (106) and power supply (105) to power the one or more light sources to strobe pulsed light (fig. 3, 301) [0017-0019]..
(fig. 1, xenon flash lamp 100 in lamp tube 104, ionized wire 103 wrapped around lamp tube 104, pulse generator 106)
[0017-0019].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of YENCHO, with an ionized wire (fig. 1. 103) wrapped outside each of the one or more light sources as a light source type and a pulse generator for pulsed operation, as taught by TIPTON, to use as a substitution of one known light source type and power generation controller (i.e. an ionized /wrapped wire and pulse generator) for another to obtain predictable light generation results.
Regarding claim 18, YENCHO discloses a method of reducing physical, chemical, organic, inorganic, biological, and microbiological contaminants [0269] (abstract), the method comprising:
powering by at least one power supply (inherent, associated with 36),
wherein the reactor includes a shell (40) , a liquid inlet (at 28) , a liquid outlet (at 31), one or more tubes (24-1),
wherein each of the one or more light sources (20-1)
creating turbulence of liquid flow in a circular motion (figs. 16; arrows 267-1 to 267-6) (fig. 18; arrows 268-1 to 268-3) between the shell (40) and the one or more tubes (24-1) and between the one or more tubes from the liquid inlet (28) to the liquid outlet (31) ,
wherein a portion of the shell that is configured to receive the liquid at the liquid inlet (28) is curved (see figs. 3 and 16; 40) and configured to create the turbulence of liquid flow in the circular motion (figs. 16; arrows 267-1 to 267-6) (fig. 18; arrows 268-1 to 268-3) between the shell (40) and the one or more tubes (24-1), and
controlling, by a controller [0293], the one or more light sources (20-1) to strobe pulsed light [0269] with a predetermined fluence [0024] to reduce physical, chemical, organic, inorganic, biological, or microbiological contaminants at a molecular level (abstract).
(fig.3, shells 40-1/40-2; UV lamp 20, in tube (un labeled));
(fig. 33. Shell 40 is curved/rounded at both inlet and outlet and at ends)
(fig. 46, reactor shell 40 containing UV lamps 20-1, in quartz tubes 24-1)
[0190] .
But YENCHO fails to disclose an ionized wire wrapped outside each of the one or more light sources of the reactor; and
pulse generator to power the one or more light sources to strobe pulsed light.
TIPTON, however, discloses a liquid sterilizer [0002] with
an ionized wire (fig. 1. 103) wrapped outside each of the one or more light sources (100) of the reactor; and
pulse generator (106) and power supply (105) to power the one or more light sources to strobe pulsed light (fig. 3, 301) [0017-0019]..
(fig. 1, xenon flash lamp 100 in lamp tube 104, ionized wire 103 wrapped around lamp tube 104, pulse generator 106)
[0017-0019].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of YENCHO, with an ionized wire (fig. 1. 103) wrapped outside each of the one or more light sources as a light source type and a pulse generator for pulsed operation, as taught by TIPTON, to use as a substitution of one known light source type and power generation controller (i.e. an ionized /wrapped wire and pulse generator) for another to obtain predictable light generation results.
Regarding claim 4, YENCHO discloses that the reactor further comprises:
an enclosure (10) , the enclosure having a first end and a second end, and a first end cap (50, 14) for enclosing the first end of the enclosure and a second end cap (50, 14) for enclosing the second end of the enclosure,
wherein at least one of the first end cap or the second end cap is configured to be removably attached or detached [0206-0207] to the respective end.
Regarding claim 5, YENCHO discloses that at least one of the first end cap (50, 14) or the second end cap (50, 14) includes a through hole (55, and/or 51) and a threaded connection (51) connectable to the through hole (of 51) for respectively holding an end of the one or more tubes (24-1) [0205-0207] (when 50/51 is secured to 40 and 14 it helps hold tube (24-1).
Regarding claim 8, YENCHO discloses that the one or more light sources (20-1) includes a non-mercury flash lamp [0269] to generate the pulsed light.
Moreover, regarding claim(s) 8, TIPTON discloses one or more light sources (20-1) includes a non-mercury flash lamp (xenon flash lamp 100) [0017-0019].to generate the pulsed light; and is obvious for the reasons discussed supra with reference to claim(s) 1, see previous.
Regarding claim 9, YENCHO discloses that at least one of an inner surface of the shell (40) of the reactor,
Regarding claim 11, YENCHO discloses that the one or more tubes (24-1) are containment quartz tubes [0269] (quartz tubes 24-1) .
Regarding claim 12, YENCHO discloses that the reactor (40) includes
Regarding claim 13, YENCHO discloses that the liquid inlet (28 via filter 29) and the liquid outlet (31) (post filter) [0219] are configured to enable liquid flow regulation (via 42, and/or 32 at least) [0202-0203] [0219-0220] and heat sinking [0203 Note stainless steel inlet and outlet] .
Regarding claim 15, YENCHO discloses that at least one sensor (photodiode 630) [0322] to sense an energy of the pulsed light [0137].
Regarding claim 16, YENCHO discloses a filter [0340] to filter contamination from a liquid flow before the liquid flow enters the liquid inlet (28) [0340] .
Regarding claim 19, YENCHO discloses that the one or more light sources (20-1) include a plurality of light sources (fig. 45-46; 20-1 – 20-3) provided in the shell (40) such that an internal space is formed between the shell (40) and the one or more tubes (24-1 – 24-4) such that the liquid flow passes through the internal space in the circular motion (figs. 16; arrows 267-1 to 267-6) (fig. 18; arrows 268-1 to 268-3) between the shell and the one or more tubes and between the one or more tubes from the liquid inlet (28) to the liquid outlet (31).
2. Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over YENCHO (US 20090084734 A1) in view of TIPTON (US 20070247080 A1); hereinafter “the combined references”, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in light of LIU et al. (CN 1689696 A).
Regarding claim(s) 2, YENCHO disclose the one or more light sources (20-1) includes at least a center light source (20-1) provided along a center axis (20-1) of the reactor and a plurality of light sources (20-1 – 20-3) provided
But the combined references fail to disclose a center light source provided along a center axis of the reactor and a plurality of light sources provided concentrically around the center light source.
LIU, however, discloses UV liquid sterilizer shell (1) with a center light source (5) provided along a center axis of the reactor and a plurality of light sources (5s) provided concentrically around the center light source (FIG. 2, concentric UV lights 5)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine/modify the invention of the combined references, with a center light source provided along a center axis of the reactor and a plurality of light sources provided concentrically around the center light source, as taught by LIU, to use for increased water sterilization.
2. Claim(s) 3, 14, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over YENCHO (US 20090084734 A1) in view of TIPTON (US 20070247080 A1); hereinafter “the combined references”, as applied to claim 1 and/or 18 above, and further in light of (RU 161633 U1).
Regarding claim(s) 3, YENCHO discloses a controller [0293], connected to the at least one power supply or pulse generator, wherein the controller [0293], is configured to control the at least power supply or pulse generator to power the one or more light sources (20-1)
Regarding claim(s) 14, YENCHO discloses wherein the controller [0293], is to increase or decrease
Regarding claim(s) 17, YENCHO discloses a switch controlled by the controller [0293], , wherein the switch is configured to switch between a first configuration and a second configuration, wherein in the first configuration, a
wherein the switch is configured to switch is configured to switch between sterilization, disinfection, and treatment modes.
Regarding claim(s) 20, YENCHO discloses increasing or decreasing, by the controller [0293], , the
But the combined references fail to disclose
pulse generator to power the one or more light sources to strobe the pulsed light with the predetermined fluence to treat the contaminants; or
increase or decrease the pulse rate based on an increased or decreased liquid flow rate; or
a pulse rate of the pulsed light is increased and in the second configuration, the pulse rate of the pulsed light is decreased; or
increasing or decreasing, the pulse rate based on an increased or decreased liquid flow rate.
(RU 161633 U1), however, discloses UV water sterilization and
pulse generator (pg. 5) to power the one or more light sources to strobe the pulsed light with the predetermined fluence to treat the contaminants (pg. 5 Note pulse repetition rates of maximum, intermediate) ;
a pulse rate of the pulsed light is increased (pg. 5) and in the second configuration, the pulse rate of the pulsed light is decreased (pg. 5); and
increasing or decreasing, the UV pulse rate based on an increased or decreased liquid flow rate (pg. 5)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine/modify the invention of the combined references, with increasing or decreasing, the UV pulse rate based on an increased or decreased liquid flow rate, as taught by (RU 161633 U1), to track UV pulse rate to water flow rate for optimal sterilization (pg. 5).
2. Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over YENCHO (US 20090084734 A1) in view of TIPTON (US 20070247080 A1); hereinafter “the combined references”, as applied to claim 4 above, and further in light of Ropic et al. (US 20170121188 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 5, YENCHO discloses wherein at least one of the first end cap (50, 14) or the second end cap (50, 14) includes a through hole (55, and/or 51) and a threaded connection (51) connectable to the through hole (of 51) for respectively holding an end of the one or more tubes (24-1) [0205-0207] (when 50/51 is secured to 40 and 14 it helps hold tube (24-1).
Regarding claim(s) 6, YENCHO discloses wherein the at least one of the first end cap (50, 14) or the second end cap (50, 14) is configured to be removably attached or detached [0206-0207] to the respective end by including one or more
Regarding claim(s) 7, YENCHO discloses wherein both of the first end cap (50, 14) and the second end cap (50, 14) are configured to be removably attached or detached [0206-0207] to the respective end by including one or more
But the combined references fail to disclose at least one/both of the first end cap or the second end cap is configured to be removably attached or detached to the respective end by including one or more pivoted hooking portions for locking the first end cap or the second end cap to the shell of the reactor
Ropic, however, discloses regarding claim(s) 5, wherein at least one of the first end cap (45) or the second end cap (45) includes a through hole (in 35, 40, 45) and a threaded connection (at 50, at 126, at 128) connectable to the through hole for respectively holding an end of the one or more tubes (20 via 50).
Regarding claim(s) 6, Ropic discloses wherein the at least one of the first end cap (45) or the second end cap (45) is configured to be removably attached or detached to the respective end by including one or more pivoted hooking portions (of 45) for locking the first end cap or the second end cap to the shell (fig. 2, 26 via 40, 35) of the reactor.
Regarding claim(s) 7, Ropic discloses wherein both of the first end cap (45) and the second end cap (45) are configured to be removably attached or detached to the respective end by including one or more pivoted hooking portions (of 45) for locking the first end cap and the second end cap to the shell (fig. 2, 26 via 40, 35) of the reactor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine/modify the invention of the combined references, with end cap configured to be removably attached or detached to the respective end by including one or more pivoted hooking portions, as taught by Ropic, to use as a substitution of one known locking configuration (i.e. pivoted hooking portion) for another to obtain predictable securing results.
2. Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over YENCHO (US 20090084734 A1) in view of TIPTON (US 20070247080 A1); hereinafter “the combined references”, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in light of YAMAKOSHI et al. (JP 2018099652 A).
Regarding claim(s) 10, the combined references disclose the shell is a stainless steel shell (40) to provide passive cooling and is
But the combined references fail to disclose stainless steel shell to provide passive cooling and is electropolished on an inner surface to provide reflection
YAMAKOSHI , however, discloses UV liquid sterilization in a stainless steal container that is electropolished on an inner surface to provide reflection (pg. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine/modify the invention of the combined references, with a stainless steal container that is electropolished on an inner surface to provide reflection, as taught by YAMAKOSHI , to increase UV light reflectance for increasing UV light path length for increased UV irradiation and sterilization (pg. 2).
Conclusion
/ANDREW SMYTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878