DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 02/17/2026. The previous objections to the drawings, specification, and claims have been withdrawn. Furthermore, the previous 35 USC 112 rejections have also been withdrawn. Claims 12-23 remain pending for consideration.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“cooling fluid supply” in claims 12 and 14.
“a filling level sensor” in claim 19.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
“cooling fluid supply” corresponds to a duct as described on page 3 lines 11-16 of the specification.
“a filling level sensor” comprises “a floating element 23, which is equipped with a magnetic element and floats on the surface of the liquid in the pre-reservoir 20” and “at least one detection unit 24, which is preferably a Hall sensor or a Hall switch” as described in page 12 lines 1-11 of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13, 15, 20, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “liquid from the reservoir” in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “liquid from the reservoir” will be interpreted as -- the liquid from the reservoir --
Claim 15 recites the limitation “a liquid” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “wherein a liquid from the at least one liquid reservoir” will be interpreted as -- wherein the liquid from the at least one liquid reservoir --
Regarding claim 20, the claim recites “the ice maker further comprising at least one holder … wherein the at least one holder is connected to at least one counter-holder of the retainer” which renders the claim indefinite. It is not entirely clear which structures the disclosed “holder” and “counter-holder” are referring to. More clarity is requested.
For examination purposes, the term “holder” will be interpreted as holding element 15 which is understood to be a groove, and the term “counter-holder” will be interpreted as counter holding element 16 which is understood to be a protrusion.
Claim 23 recites the limitation “the ice maker” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “a household appliance comprising an ice maker” will be interpreted as -- a household appliance comprising the ice maker --
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sawada (WO2023189914A1).
Regarding claim 12, Sawada teaches an ice maker (ice maker 1 Fig. 1) comprising: at least one mould (ice making molds 6 Fig. 4) for moulding an ice piece (disclosed “transparent ice” in paragraph [62]), the mould being arranged along a height axis (Fig. 8 where ice making molds 6 are arranged in the upper section of ice maker 1 above lower space S2); a liquid supply (water passage P1 and lower space S2 Fig. 8) fluidly connected to the at least one mould (paragraph [54]), the liquid supply comprising at least one liquid reservoir (lower space S2 Fig. 8 and paragraph [54]), arranged along the height axis under the at least one mould (Fig. 8), through which liquid (disclosed “water” in paragraph [54]) is supplied to fill the mould (paragraph [54]); a cooling fluid supply (see below annotated Fig. 9 of Sawada) that cools an upper area of the at least one mould (paragraph [97]) such that freezing takes place in the mould along the height axis from top to bottom (paragraph [97]).
Regarding claim 13, Sawada teaches further comprising a connector (see below annotated Fig. 9 of Sawada) that fluidly connects the reservoir to the mould (Fig. 9) and directs the liquid from the reservoir into the mould to fill the mould before freezing (paragraph [97]), wherein the top to bottom freezing of the liquid in the mould displaces cloud forming gases (disclosed “cloudy elements” in paragraph [97]) in the liquid into unfrozen residual liquid (disclosed “unfrozen water” in paragraph [97]) below the forming ice piece (paragraph [97]), and wherein the residual liquid containing the cloud forming gases is eventually displaced back through the connector into the at least one liquid reservoir when the ice piece is formed (paragraph [97] where it is disclosed that the unfrozen water is pushed out to lower space S2).
Regarding claim 14, Sawada teaches further comprising a retainer (inner tray 8 Fig. 4), wherein the at least one mould is arranged in the retainer (Fig. 4), and wherein the cooling fluid supply is integrated into the retainer (the cooling fluid supply of Sawada is formed by the upper surface of ice making molds 6 and inner tray 8 see Fig. 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawada and in view of Lee et al. (US 20210389034 A1, herein after referred to as Lee).
Regarding claim 15, Sawada teaches wherein the at least one mould comprises an upper opening (discharge port 36 Fig. 9) along the height axis (Fig. 9) and a lower inlet (water supply port 34 Fig. 9), wherein the connector is arranged between the at least one liquid reservoir and the at least one mould (Fig. 9), wherein the liquid from the at least one liquid reservoir passes through the connector and enters the at least one mould through the lower inlet opening (paragraph [97]), wherein the upper opening and the lower inlet opening are diametrically opposed (Fig. 9).
Sawada teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the upper opening is designed such that the ice piece can be removed from the at least one mould”.
However, Lee teaches wherein an upper opening (the upper opening of second tray 380 Fig. 25 corresponds to the upper opening of Sawada) is designed such that an ice piece (the disclosed “ice” in paragraph [0368] correspond to the ice piece of Sawada) can be removed from at least one mould (paragraph [0368] where second tray 380 corresponds to the mold of Sawada).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Sawada to include “wherein the upper opening is designed such that the ice piece can be removed from the at least one mould” in view of the teachings of Lee to efficiently remove the ice from the mold.
Regarding claim 21, Sawada teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “further comprising at least one second heater for heating the at least one mould”.
However, Lee teaches further comprising at least one second heater (second heater 430 Fig. 27) for heating at least one mould (paragraph [0351] and Fig. 27 where second tray 380 corresponds to the mould of Sawada) to maintain a predetermined ice making rate (paragraph [0141]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Sawada to include “further comprising at least one second heater for heating the at least one mould” in view of the teachings of Lee to maintain a predetermined ice making rate.
Regarding claim 22, Sawada teaches wherein the retainer comprises two sections (first tray 9a and second tray 9b Fig. 4) movable relative to each other (Fig. 4), a first section (first tray 9a Fig. 4) and a second section (second tray 9b Fig. 4).
Sawada teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein a movement of the second section towards the first section deforms the at least one mould, whereby the at least one ice piece is ejected from the at least one mould”.
However, Lee teaches wherein a movement of a second section (Figs. 15 and 26 where first portion 382 corresponds to the second portion of Sawada) towards a first section (Figs. 15 and 26 where second portion 383 corresponds to the first portion of Sawada) deforms at least one mould (Fig. 26 where second tray 380 corresponds to the mould of Sawada), whereby at least one ice piece (Fig. 22) is ejected from the at least one mould (Fig. 22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Sawada to include “wherein a movement of the second section towards the first section deforms the at least one mould, whereby the at least one ice piece is ejected from the at least one mould” in view of the teachings of Lee to improve the efficiency of the ice removal process.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the first section is arranged along the height axis below the second section”.
However, Applicant has not disclosed that having “wherein the first section is arranged along the height axis below the second section” does anything more than produce the predictable result of providing an ice maker with two distinct sections where one section is movable relative to the other. Since it has been held that mere rearrangement of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 VI. C, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings and meet the claimed limitations in order to provide the predictable results of providing an ice maker with two distinct sections where one section is movable relative to the other.
Regarding claim 23, Sawada teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “a household appliance comprising the ice maker”.
However, Lee teaches a household appliance (refrigerator Fig. 1) comprising an ice maker (Fig. 1b where ice maker 200 corresponds to the ice maker of Sawada) to provide a storage chamber for food (paragraph [0174]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Sawada to include “a household appliance comprising the ice maker” in view of the teachings of Lee to provide a storage chamber for food.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawada and in view of Ryu (US 20250035358 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Sawada teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “further comprising a first heater that heats the liquid intended to enter the at least one mould, wherein the first heater is arranged at least partially in the at least one liquid reservoir or on a wall of the at least one liquid reservoir”.
However, Ryu teaches further comprising a first heater (heater 318 Fig. 6) that heats a liquid (the disclosed “water” in paragraph [0036] corresponds to the liquid of Sawada) intended to enter at least one mould (paragraph [0036] and Fig. 6 where compartment 224 corresponds to the mould of Sawada), wherein the first heater is arranged at least partially in at least one liquid reservoir (Fig. 6 where water tank 310 corresponds to the liquid reservoir of Sawada) or on a wall of the at least one liquid reservoir (Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Sawada to include “further comprising a first heater that heats the liquid intended to enter the at least one mould, wherein the first heater is arranged at least partially in the at least one liquid reservoir or on a wall of the at least one liquid reservoir” in view of the teachings of Ryu to prevent the water from freezing before being supplied to the ice maker.
Regarding claim 17, Sawada teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “further comprising at least one temperature sensor for determining a temperature of the liquid, and at least one controller connected to the temperature sensor, wherein the at least one controller controls the first heater to maintain the liquid entering the at least one mould at a temperature greater than
0
0
C”.
However, Ryu teaches further comprising at least one temperature sensor (temperature sensor 314 Fig. 6) for determining a temperature of a liquid (corresponds to the disclosed “temperature” of the water in paragraph [0036]), and at least one controller (controller 207 Fig. 5) connected to the temperature sensor (paragraph [0036]), wherein the at least one controller controls a first heater (heater 318 Fig. 6) to maintain the liquid entering at least one mould (compartment 224 Fig. 6 corresponds to the moulding element of Sawada) at a temperature greater than
0
0
C (paragraph [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Sawada to include “further comprising at least one temperature sensor for determining a temperature of the liquid, and at least one controller connected to the temperature sensor, wherein the at least one controller controls the first heater to maintain the liquid entering the at least one mould at a temperature greater than
0
0
C” in view of the teachings of Ryu to provide water to the ice maker at a predetermined temperature.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawada and Ryu as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Yoshida et al. (JP2007255804A, herein after referred to as Yoshida).
Regarding claim 18, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the temperature sensor is arranged between the at least one liquid reservoir and the at least one mould, the temperature sensor being arranged at least partially in the connector”.
However, Yoshida teaches wherein a temperature sensor (pipe sensor 46 Fig. 2 corresponds to the temperature sensor of Ryu) is arranged between at least one liquid reservoir (Fig. 2 where water supply tank 41 corresponds to the liquid reservoir of Sawada) and at least one mould (Fig. 2 where ice making tray 52 corresponds to the mold of Sawada), the temperature sensor being arranged at least partially in a connector (Fig. 7 where water supply pipe 43 corresponds to the connector of Sawada) to prevent the connector from freezing (paragraph [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the temperature sensor is arranged between the at least one liquid reservoir and the at least one mould, the temperature sensor being arranged at least partially in the connector” in view of the teachings of Yoshida to prevent the connector from freezing.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawada and in view of Foster et al. (US 20250052467 A1, herein after referred to as Foster).
Regarding claim 19, Sawada teaches wherein the liquid supply further comprises a pre-reservoir (water passage P1 Fig. 8) fluidically connected to the at least one liquid reservoir (paragraph [97]).
Sawada teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the pre-reservoir comprises a filling level sensor”.
However, Foster teaches wherein a pre-reservoir (reservoir 138 Fig. 3 corresponds to the pre-reservoir of Sawada) comprises a filling level sensor (liquid level sensor 136 Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Sawada to include “wherein the pre-reservoir comprises a filling level sensor” in view of the teachings of Foster to monitor the amount of water stored in the pre-reservoir therefore avoiding water overflowing.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawada and in view of Jeong et al. (US 20210148623 A1, herein after referred to as Jeong).
Regarding claim 20, Sawada teaches wherein the at least one mould comprises an elastic material (disclosed “silicone” in paragraph [32]).
Sawada teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the ice maker further comprising at least one holder arranged on the at least one mould or formed by a wall of the at least one mould, wherein the at least one holder is connected to at least one counter-holder of the retainer”.
However, Jeong teaches an ice maker (ice maker 100 Fig. 7 corresponds to the ice maker of Sawada) further comprising at least one holder (tray coupling hole 116a Fig. 7) arranged on at least one mould (Fig. 7 where ice-making tray 110 corresponds to the mould of Sawada) or formed by a wall of the at least one mould (Fig. 7), wherein the at least one holder is connected to at least one counter-holder of a retainer (coupling portion 122 Fig. 7 and paragraph [0086] where cold air guide 120 corresponds to the retainer of Sawada) to provide a snap fit coupling method (paragraph [0086]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Sawada to include “the ice maker further comprising at least one holder arranged on the at least one mould or formed by a wall of the at least one mould, wherein the at least one holder is connected to at least one counter-holder of the retainer” in view of the teachings of Jeong to provide a snap fit coupling method.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMBA NMN GAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763