Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cok et al., US 2014/0332256 A1 (hereinafter “Cok”) in view of Clark et al., US 2019/0302936 A1 (hereinafter “Clark”) further in view of Ryu et al., US 2014/0118641 A1 (hereinafter “Ryu”).
Regarding claim 1, Cok discloses a touch display device (FIG. 10 at [0054] and [0059]-[0061] and [0069] microwire structure arranged on subpixels arranged on substrate 35 of a display device, such as for example, OLED, LCD, plasma, LED, displays, etc., [0003] touch screens used with electronic displays commonly known), comprising:
a plurality of light emitting elements (FIG. 10, sub-pixels 25 at [0054] describing various light emission elements further at [0060]-[0061] and [0069]) arranged on a substrate (FIG. 10, display substrate 35 at [0054]);
a layer (FIGS. 1, 4, 7-9, 10, and 11 substrate 30 at [0043], [0047]-[0048] and [0054]) arranged on the light emitting elements (FIG. 10, depicting substrate 30 arranged on the sub-pixels 25 at [0054]);
a plurality of first touch electrodes (FIGS. 1, 4, 7-9, 10, and 11 first electrodes 70 at [0037]-[0042] and [0048], and [0051]-[0054]) arranged on the layer (FIG. 10, electrodes 70 arranged on substrate 30 as depicted and [0054]); and
a plurality of second touch electrodes (FIGS. 1, 4, 7-9, 10, and 11 second electrodes 80 at [0037]-[0042] and [0048], and [0051]-[0054]) arranged on the layer and spaced apart from and adjacent to the plurality of first touch electrodes (FIG. 10, second electrodes 80 arranged on substrate 30 adjacent to first electrodes 79 as depicted and [0054]; and FIGS. 1, 4, 7-9, and 10, gaps between 80 and 70 including gaps 40, 40A and 40B, [0037]-[0042] and [0046]-[0047], and [0051]-[0054])),
wherein at least one of the plurality of first touch electrodes includes a plurality of first protrusions extending in parallel in a first direction (FIGS. 1, 4, 7-9, [0037]-[0041], [0047]-[0048], [0053]-[0054] first electrodes 70 with protrusions extending in the x plane in a rightward direction, see annotated FIG. 1 below), each of the protrusions having an unconnected end (FIGS. 1, 4, 7-9, [0037]-[0041], [0047]-[0048], [0053]-[0054] first electrodes 70 with protrusions extending in the x plane creating gaps 40 between second electrode and first electrode, see annotated FIG. 1 below),
wherein at least one of the plurality of second touch electrodes includes a plurality of second protrusions (FIGS. 1, 4, 7-9, [0037]-[0041], [0047]-[0048], [0053]-[0054] second electrodes 80 with protrusions extending in the x plane creating gaps 40 between second electrode and first electrode, see annotated FIG. 1 below) extending in a second direction opposite the first direction (FIGS. 1, 4, 7-9, [0037]-[0041], [0047]-[0048], [0053]-[0054] second electrodes 80 with protrusions extending in the x plane in a leftward direction opposite to the protrusions of electrodes 70, see annotated FIG. 1 below; e.g., FIGS. 1, 4, 7-9, [0037]-[0041], [0047]-[0048], [0053]-[0054] first electrodes 70 with adjacent protrusions extending in the x plane in a rightward direction having different lengths, see annotated FIG. 1 below).
However, although Cok clearly discloses an intermediary substrate between the light emitting elements and the electrodes, Cok does not explicitly disclose the layer is an encapsulation layer on the light emitting elements, and the first and second electrodes are arranged on the encapsulation layer and does not explicitly disclose wherein the first protrusions have alternating lengths in the first direction between a first length and a second length different from each other so that one of the first protrusions has the first length and two other first protrusions adjacent to the one of the first protrusions have the second length, the one of the first protrusions and the two other first protrusions being parallel with each other and the first direction.
In the same field of endeavor, Clark discloses a touch electrode pattern (FIG. 5D) for a touch display (FIG. 1A, display device including an OLED display panel and touch sensor TS at [0044]) wherein the layer is an encapsulation layer on the light emitting elements (FIG. 1A, ENCAP above OLED subpixels SUB-PIX at [0044]), and the first and second electrodes are arranged on the encapsulation layer (FIGS. 1A and 5D [0044], touch sensors TS arranged and formed above the ENCAP).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch display device of Cok to incorporate the encapsulation layer of Clark because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, touch electrode patterns for display devices. The motivation to combine these references would have been the commonly understood benefit of providing a transparent seal that prevents environment elements from reaching the subpixels while allowing the light emitting layer to emit light (Clark at [0004] and [0033]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
However, Cok in view of Clark does not explicitly disclose wherein the first protrusions have alternating lengths in the first direction between a first length and a second length different from each other so that one of the first protrusions has the first length and two other first protrusions adjacent to the one of the first protrusions have the second length, the one of the first protrusions and the two other first protrusions being parallel with each other and the first direction.
In the same field of endeavor, Ryu discloses wherein the first protrusions have alternating lengths in the first direction between a first length and a second length different from each other (FIG. 4 annotated below, and [0086]-[0088] with table therein, sensing unit 110 and similarly sensing unit 110’ having alternating short and long edges) so that one of the first protrusions has the first length and two other first protrusions adjacent to the one of the first protrusions have the second length (FIG. 4 annotated below, and [0086]-[0088] with table therein, sensing unit 110 and similarly sensing unit 110’ having alternating short and long lengths) the one of the first protrusions and the two other first protrusions being parallel with each other and the first direction (FIG. 4 annotated below, and [0086]-[0088] with table therein, sensing unit 110 and similarly sensing unit 110’ all short and long protrusions being parallel as depicted).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch electrode pattern of Cok in view of Clark to incorporate the pattern of Ryu because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, touch electrode patterns. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve display by reducing visibility of the sensing patterns while maintaining accurate touch sensing (Ryu at [0001]-[0009]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, Cok in view of Clark further in view of Ryu discloses the touch display device of claim 1 (see above), wherein one of the second protrusions and another of the second protrusions adjacent to the one of the second protrusions have different lengths from each other in the first direction (see Cok, FIGS. 1, 4, 7-9, [0037]-[0041], [0047]-[0048], [0053]-[0054], annotated above in FIG. 1, the second protrusions and the another second protrusions have different lengths, measurable from the end of the protrusion to the interior of the electrode 80 in the first direction).
Regarding claim 3, Cok in view of Clark further in view of Ryu discloses the touch display device of claim 2 (see above), wherein the first protrusions and the second protrusions face each other, respectively (see Cok, FIGS. 1, 4, 7-9, [0037]-[0041], [0047]-[0048], [0053]-[0054], specifically, FIG. 1 annotated above, with first protrusion end facing the second protrusion end, therefore, facing each other).
Regarding claim 4, Cok in view of Clark further in view of Ryu discloses the touch display device of claim 2 (see above), wherein the one of the first protrusions and the one of the second protrusions face each other (see Cok, FIGS. 1, 4, 7-9, [0037]-[0041], [0047]-[0048], [0053]-[0054], specifically, FIG. 1 annotated above, with first protrusion end facing the second protrusion end, therefore, facing each other), and wherein the one of the second protrusions has a length different from the first length in the first direction (see Cok, FIGS. 1, 4, 7-9, [0037]-[0041], [0047]-[0048], [0053]-[0054], specifically, FIG. 1 annotated above, with first protrusion having a length different from the second protrusion).
Regarding claim 5, Cok in view of Clark further in view of Ryu discloses the touch display device of claim 2 (see above), wherein one of the two other first protrusions and the one other of the second protrusions face each other (see Cok, FIGS. 1, 4, 7-9, [0037]-[0041], [0047]-[0048], [0053]-[0054], specifically, FIG. 1 annotated above, with another first protrusion end facing the another second protrusion end, therefore, facing each other), and wherein the one other of the second protrusions has a length different from the second length in the first direction (see Cok, FIGS. 1, 4, 7-9, [0037]-[0041], [0047]-[0048], [0053]-[0054], specifically, FIG. 1 annotated above, with another first protrusion having a length different from the another second protrusion).
Regarding claim 6, Cok in view of Clark further in view of Ryu discloses the touch display device of claim 2 (see above), wherein the one of the second protrusions and the other of the second protrusions are arranged alternately (see Cok, FIGS. 1, 4, 7-9, [0037]-[0041], [0047]-[0048], [0053]-[0054], specifically, FIG. 1 annotated above, with second protrusion and another (other) second protrusion being alternate to one another in a grouping of two; further see, Clark at FIGS. 5A-5D; see FIG. 5D below, illustrating alternating pattern to the electrode protrusions with a consistent distance between opposite first and second electrodes; it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to combine length variation of two adjacent electrode protrusion as disclosed by Cok to form an alternating pattern as disclosed by Clark for the commonly understood benefit of producing a consistent pitch and thereby improving touch resolution while reducing the parasitic capacitance depending on the size of the area covered (See Clark at [0037]-[0042]).
Regarding claim 7, Cok in view of Clark further in view of Ryu discloses the touch display device of claim 1 (see above), wherein the second touch electrodes are floating dummy electrodes (see Cok at FIG. 7 and [0051], with dummy wires 60 as the second touch electrodes (substituted for the electrodes 80)).
Regarding claim 8, Cok in view of Clark further in view of Ryu discloses the touch display device of claim 2 (see above), wherein the one of the second protrusions has the second length (lengths as defined and illustrated by Kim annotated above, applicable to Cok in view of Clark in the annotated FIGS. above), and the one other of the second protrusions has the first length in the first direction (Cok FIG. 1, annotated above, producing the first and second lengths for the second protrusions since the distance would be equal between each protrusion in view of Clark FIG. 5D above).
Regarding claim 9, Cok in view of Clark further in view of Ryu discloses the touch display device of claim 8 (see above), wherein the one of the second protrusions is aligned with the one of the first protrusions (Cok FIG. 1, annotated above, as alignment is illustrated with electrodes aligned and equidistant in view of Clark FIG. 5D above), and the one other of the second protrusions is aligned with one of the two other first protrusions in the first direction (Cok FIG. 1, annotated above, as alignment is illustrated with electrodes aligned and equidistant in view of Clark FIG. 5D above).
Regarding claim 10, Cok discloses a touch display device (FIG. 10 at [0054] and [0059]-[0061] and [0069] microwire structure arranged on subpixels arranged on substrate 35 of a display device, such as for example, OLED, LCD, plasma, LED, displays, etc., [0003] touch screens used with electronic displays commonly known), comprising:
a plurality of light emitting elements (FIG. 10, sub-pixels 25 at [0054] describing various light emission elements further at [0060]-[0061] and [0069])arranged on a substrate (FIG. 10, display substrate 35 at [0054]);
a layer (FIGS. 1, 4, 7-9, 10, and 11 substrate 30 at [0043], [0047]-[0048] and [0054])arranged on the light emitting elements (FIG. 10, depicting substrate 30 arranged on the sub-pixels 25 at [0054]);
a first touch electrode (FIGS. 1, 4, 7-9, 10, and 11 first electrodes 70 at [0037]-[0042] and [0048], and [0051]-[0054]) arranged on the layer (FIG. 10, electrodes 70 arranged on substrate 30 as depicted and [0054]) and including a plurality of first protrusions extending in parallel in a first direction (FIGS. 1, 4, 7-9, [0037]-[0041], [0047]-[0048], [0053]-[0054] first electrodes 70 with protrusions extending in the x plane in a rightward direction, see annotated FIG. 1 above), each of the first protrusions having an unconnected end (FIGS. 1, 4, 7-9, [0037]-[0041], [0047]-[0048], [0053]-[0054] first electrodes 70 with protrusions extending in the x plane creating gaps 40 between second electrode and first electrode, see annotated FIG. 1 above); and
a second touch electrode (FIGS. 1, 4, 7-9, 10, and 11 second electrodes 80 at [0037]-[0042] and [0048], and [0051]-[0054]) arranged on the layer and spaced apart from and adjacent to the first touch electrode (FIG. 10, second electrodes 80 arranged on substrate 30 adjacent to first electrodes 79 as depicted and [0054]; and FIGS. 1, 4, 7-9, and 10, gaps between 80 and 70 including gaps 40, 40A and 40B, [0037]-[0042] and [0046]-[0047], and [0051]-[0054])), second touch electrode including a plurality of second protrusions parallel with the first protrusions (FIGS. 1, 4, 7-9, [0037]-[0041], [0047]-[0048], [0053]-[0054] second electrodes 80 with protrusions extending in the x plane creating gaps 40 between second electrode and first electrode, see annotated FIG. 1 above) and respectively extending toward the first protrusions (FIGS. 1, 4, 7-9, [0037]-[0041], [0047]-[0048], [0053]-[0054] second electrodes 80 with protrusions extending in the x plane in a leftward direction opposite to the protrusions of electrodes 70, see annotated FIG. 1 below; e.g., FIGS. 1, 4, 7-9, [0037]-[0041], [0047]-[0048], [0053]-[0054] first electrodes 70 with adjacent protrusions extending in the x plane in a rightward direction having different lengths, see annotated FIG. 1 below), and
wherein one of the second protrusions is aligned with the one of the first protrusions (FIGS. 1, 4, 7-9, [0037]-[0041], [0047]-[0048], [0053]-[0054] second electrodes 80 with protrusions extending in the x plane creating gaps 40 between second electrode and first electrode, these electrodes being aligned, see annotated FIG. 1 above).
However, although Cok clearly discloses an intermediary substrate between the light emitting elements and the electrodes, Cok does not explicitly disclose the layer is an encapsulation layer on the light emitting elements, and the first and second electrodes are arranged on the encapsulation layer and does not explicitly disclose and wherein one of the first protrusions has a first length in the first direction, and one other of the first protrusions adjacent to the one of the first protrusions has a second length in the first direction different from the first length, and the second protrusion has the second length in the first direction, the one of the first protrusions and the two other first protrusions being parallel with each other and the first direction.
In the same field of endeavor, Clark discloses a touch electrode pattern (FIG. 5D) for a touch display (FIG. 1A, display device including an OLED display panel and touch sensor TS at [0044]) wherein the layer is an encapsulation layer on the light emitting elements (FIG. 1A, ENCAP above OLED subpixels SUB-PIX at [0044]), and the first and second electrodes are arranged on the encapsulation layer (FIGS. 1A and 5D [0044], touch sensors TS arranged and formed above the ENCAP) and the second protrusion has the second length in the first direction (see annotation FIG. 5D above with reference to claim 6, second protrusions of a second length).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch display device of Cok to incorporate the encapsulation layer of Clark because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, touch electrode patterns for display devices. The motivation to combine these references would have been the commonly understood benefit of providing a transparent seal that prevents environment elements from reaching the subpixels while allowing the light emitting layer to emit light (Clark at [0004] and [0033]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
However, Cok in view of Clark does not explicitly disclose wherein one of the first protrusions has a first length in the first direction, and one other of the first protrusions adjacent to the one of the first protrusions has a second length in the first direction different from the first length, and the second protrusion has the second length in the first direction the one of the first protrusions and the two other first protrusions being parallel with each other and the first direction.
In the same field of endeavor, Ryu discloses wherein one of the first protrusions has a first length in the first direction (FIG. 4 annotated above with claim 1, and [0086]-[0088] with table therein, sensing unit 110 and similarly sensing unit 110’ having alternating short and long edges), and one other of the first protrusions adjacent to the one of the first protrusions has a second length in the first direction different from the first length (FIG. 4 annotated above with claim 1, and [0086]-[0088] with table therein, sensing unit 110 and similarly sensing unit 110’ having alternating short and long edges), and the second protrusion has the second length in the first direction (FIG. 4 annotated above with claim 1, and [0086]-[0088] alternating lengths accordingly) the one of the first protrusions and the two other first protrusions being parallel with each other and the first direction (FIG. 4 annotated above with claim 1, and [0086]-[0088] with table therein, sensing unit 110 and similarly sensing unit 110’ all short and long protrusions being parallel as depicted).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the touch electrode pattern of Cok in view of Clark to incorporate the pattern of Ryu because the references are within the same field of endeavor, namely, touch electrode patterns. The motivation to combine these references would have been to improve display by reducing visibility of the sensing patterns while maintaining accurate touch sensing (Ryu at [0001]-[0009]). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 11, Cok in view of Clark further in view of Ryu discloses the touch display device of claim 10 (see above), wherein the first protrusions have alternating lengths in the first direction between the first length and the second length (noting the repeating pattern of Clark at FIG. 5D in view of Kim disclosing alternating lengths of FIG. 10 and repeating pattern of FIG. 11).
Regarding claim 12, Cok in view of Clark further in view of Ryu discloses the touch display device of claim 10 (see above), wherein one other of the second protrusions adjacent to the one of the second protrusions is aligned with the one other of the first protrusions and has the first length in the first direction (alignment as shown in both Cok FIG. 1 and Clark FIG. 5D and lengths differential replicable in view of Kim FIG. 10 [0111]-[0115]).
Regarding claim 13, Cok in view of Clark further in view of Ryu discloses the touch display device of claim 10 (see above), wherein:
the first protrusions have alternating lengths in the first direction between the first length and the second length (see Cok, FIG. 1, with first protrusions, and the lengths being alternating in Kim at FIG. 10, [0111]-[0115]); and
the second protrusions have alternating lengths in the first direction between the second length and the first length (see Cok, FIG. 1, with second protrusions, and the lengths being alternating in Kim at FIG. 10, [0111]-[0115] and repeated at FIGS. 11-12, lengths in directions of Clark at FIG. 5D).
Regarding claim 14, Cok in view of Clark further in view of Ryu discloses the touch display device of claim 13 (see above), wherein:
the first protrusions having the first length are respectively aligned in the first direction with the second protrusions having the second length (see Cok, FIG. 1, with first protrusions, Clark FIG. 5D with alternating or differing lengths; and the lengths being alternating in Kim at FIG. 10, [0111]-[0115]); and
the first protrusions having the second length are respectively aligned in the first direction with the second protrusions having the first length (see Cok, FIG. 1, with first protrusions, Clark FIG. 5D with alternating or differing lengths; and the lengths alternating in Kim at FIG. 10, [0111]-[0115]).
Regarding claim 15, it is similar in scope to claim 7 above; therefore, claim 15 is similarly analyzed and rejected as claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al., US 10,852,897 B2;
Kim et al., US 10,037,114 B2;
Kim et al., US 2013/0341070 A1;
/SARVESH J NADKARNI/Examiner, Art Unit 2621