DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the present application, with claims 1, 9, and 16 being independent.
Response to Amendments / Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 7-11, filed 05/07/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art.
Regarding the remaining arguments: Applicant argues with respect to the amended claim language, which is fully addressed in the prior art rejections set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kouzelis et. al. Synthesizing play-ready VR scenes with natural language prompts through GPT API. InInternational Symposium on Visual Computing 2023 Oct 16 (pp. 15-26). Cham: Springer Nature Switzerland, hereinafter referred to as “Kouzelis”.
Regarding claim 1, Kouzelis discloses a computer-implemented method, the method comprising:
initializing a large language model with an initialization prompt that includes instructions to the large language model to generate a virtual experience based on one or more subsequent prompts (Fig. 2 and Pg. 18, Section 3; Our methodology employs a streamlined process using an advanced language model for selecting and positioning 3D objects in Unity3D scenes. Utilizing the GPTAPI, this approach simplifies and improves virtual 3D object manipulation. Figure 2 outlines the method, which we detail here, focusing on the generation and interpretation of spatial and object data), wherein the instructions in the initialization prompt specify that overlap is impermissible when placing objects in the virtual experience (Pg. 19, Section 3.1; real-time parsing and prompt generating…extracting real-time dimensions for each furniture item from their mesh renderer component's bounds. This prevents object overlap by recording width, depth, and height. Fig. 3; You must take into account the dimensions of the furniture and the area, ensuring items do not overlap or float, and that they are oriented in a realistic manner…The furniture must be correctly positioned on the floor, not floating or overlapping…Be mindful of the furniture sizes so as they do not overlap…The door is at (12, 49, 0, 4) and should not be obstructed…));
receiving a user prompt, the user prompt comprising text criteria that specify criteria for generation or modification of the virtual experience, wherein the user prompt includes at least one of text data in natural language (Pg. 15-16, Section 1; we leverage the power of natural language processing (NLP) via a widely adopted large language model (LLM) which is the PGT API…translates simple natural language text into 3D scenes, as shown in Fig. 1), audio data, or video data (Fig. 3 and Pg. 20-21, Section 3.1; User input, shown in red, is brief but triggers extensive operations, as seen in the example "Create a living room". This blend of pre-determined, hard-coded elements, and adaptable components generated in real-time, facilitates the seamless adaptability to changes in the scene);
identifying one or more objects in the virtual experience having one or more attributes that correspond to the text criteria, the one or more objects being identified by a large language model (Fig. 4 and Pg. 21-22, Section 3.2; This object contains an array of furniture data, where each entry corresponds to an individual piece. The "object_name" field acts as a key to access the corresponding prefab from our object data);
determining spatial placement information in the virtual experience for the one or more objects using the large language model to interpret the text criteria to determine locations for the one or more objects in the virtual experience (Fig. 4 and Pg. 21, Section 3.2; Once retrieved, the prefab is instantiated within the Unity scene at the position specified by the X, Y, and Z values. Section 4.3; "A coffee table is in front of a sofa. A TV stand is opposite the coffee table"…"A dressing table is in front of a chair. A bed is next to the dressing table"…), wherein the large language model determines the locations based on the user prompt and the initialization prompt such that overlap between the one or more objects is avoided (Fig. 3 and Pg. 21-22, Section 3.2; Leveraging the information derived from the spatial layout and orientation of existing furniture within a scene, our system forms a comprehensive request to the GPT API, incorporating new elements…parses all objects present in the Unity3D scene, collecting their positions and orientations…); and
placing the one or more objects in the virtual experience based on the spatial placement information (Pg. 22-25; Case Study 1-4 and Fig. 5-7).
Regarding claim 2, Kouzelis discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, and further discloses further comprising modifying the virtual experience by changing an attribute of a specified object of the one or more objects in the virtual experience based on the text criteria, wherein the attribute comprises at least one of an appearance, a behavior, an orientation (Fig. 4 and Pg. 21, Section 3.2; In terms of object orientation in the JSON code, we used the "facing" key from the GPT API output. The facing direction of each object is determined by the vector between a _FRONT component and its position relative to the object pivot…if the GPT model's output indicates that a given furniture item should face another object, our system orients the object appropriately by rotating them based on this direction vector…Pg. 22, Section 3.2; parses all objects present in the Unity3D scene, collecting their positions and orientations…), a style, a material, a texture, a cost, a property, or another modifiable aspect of the specified object.
Regarding claim 3, Kouzelis discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the identifying of the one or more objects in the virtual experience comprises:
generating one or more keywords using the large language model (Pg. 18, Section 3.1; we create two key data sets: one for the Unity3D scene plane and another for the available 3D objects. These data sets are the backbone of our GPT API-driven method for object selection and placement, ensuring system adaptability across varying scene dimensions and object types...flexible database of prefabs - reusable game objects that include 3D models along with their associated properties and behaviors…Pg. 22, Section 4; The complete list of objects available to the PGT API is the following: Armchair, basket, bed, bookshelf, candles, chair, coffee table, desk lamp, dresser, floor lamp, laptop, nightstand, notepad, office chair, sofa, table, tv, tv stand, vase); and
performing a keyword search based on the keywords (Pg. 20-21, Section 3.2; we dynamically parse the database prefabs…array of furniture data, where each entry corresponds to an individual piece. The "object_name" field acts as a key to access the corresponding prefab from our object database…Pg. 22, Section 4.1; It is evident that the GPT API was able to select multiple pieces of furniture that are appropriate for the living room setup).
Regarding claim 4, Kouzelis discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the placing comprises placing objects such that overlap between the objects is avoided based on using object dimensions (Pg. 19, Section 3.1; real-time parsing and prompt generating…extracting real-time dimensions for each furniture item from their mesh renderer component's bounds. This prevents object overlap by recording width, depth, and height. Fig. 3; Be mindful of the furniture sizes so as they do not overlap…The door is at (12, 49, 0, 4) and should not be obstructed…).
Regarding claim 5, Kouzelis discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the user prompt comprises an updated prompt (Pg. 22-25; Case Study 1. Fig. 5; additional prompt "Try to fit in a dining area". Fig. 6; "Create a bedroom. Also, incorporate an office area". Fig. 7; "Create a living room. A coffee table is in front of a sofa. A TV stand is opposite the coffee table").
Regarding claim 6, Kouzelis discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, and further discloses providing, to a user, at least one of a view of the virtual experience including the one or more objects as placed or a summary of changes made to the virtual experience (Fig. 5-7).
Regarding claim 7, Kouzelis discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the large language model uses at least one of scene context and a history of user prompts to perform at least one of identifying the one or more objects or determining the spatial placement information (Pg. 22, Section 3.2; we input real-time parsed context from the existing scene, eliminating the need to resend past prompts. Section 4.1, Case Study 2; we use an already generated room…the previously generated living room, and parse the existing objects in the scene at runtime…).
Regarding claim 8, Kouzelis discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the large language model uses at least one macro obtained from the user prompt to perform at least one of identifying the one or more objects or determining the spatial placement information (Fig. 2; Inputs. User Prompt: "Create a living room"…Run-time parsing. Request -> GPT API -> Response…Construction. Parse JSON code. Instantiate Prefab armchair at (8.5, 0, 3.8) Make armchair face TV).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kouzelis et. al. Synthesizing play-ready VR scenes with natural language prompts through GPT API. InInternational Symposium on Visual Computing 2023 Oct 16 (pp. 15-26). Cham: Springer Nature Switzerland, hereinafter referred to as “Kouzelis”.
Regarding claim 9, Kouzelis discloses initializing a large language model with an initialization prompt that includes instructions to the large language model to generate a virtual experience based on one or more subsequent prompts (Fig. 2 and Pg. 18, Section 3; Our methodology employs a streamlined process using an advanced language model for selecting and positioning 3D objects in Unity3D scenes. Utilizing the GPTAPI, this approach simplifies and improves virtual 3D object manipulation. Figure 2 outlines the method, which we detail here, focusing on the generation and interpretation of spatial and object data), wherein the instructions in the initialization prompt specify that overlap is impermissible when placing objects in the virtual experience (Pg. 19, Section 3.1; real-time parsing and prompt generating…extracting real-time dimensions for each furniture item from their mesh renderer component's bounds. This prevents object overlap by recording width, depth, and height. Fig. 3; You must take into account the dimensions of the furniture and the area, ensuring items do not overlap or float, and that they are oriented in a realistic manner…The furniture must be correctly positioned on the floor, not floating or overlapping…Be mindful of the furniture sizes so as they do not overlap…The door is at (12, 49, 0, 4) and should not be obstructed…));
receiving a user prompt, the user prompt comprising text criteria that specify criteria for generation or modification of the virtual experience, wherein the user prompt includes at least one of text data in natural language (Pg. 15-16, Section 1; we leverage the power of natural language processing (NLP) via a widely adopted large language model (LLM) which is the PGT API…translates simple natural language text into 3D scenes, as shown in Fig. 1), audio data, or video data (Fig. 3 and Pg. 20-21, Section 3.1; User input, shown in red, is brief but triggers extensive operations, as seen in the example "Create a living room". This blend of pre-determined, hard-coded elements, and adaptable components generated in real-time, facilitates the seamless adaptability to changes in the scene);
identifying one or more objects in the virtual experience having one or more attributes that correspond to the text criteria, the one or more objects being identified by a large language model (Fig. 4 and Pg. 21-22, Section 3.2; This object contains an array of furniture data, where each entry corresponds to an individual piece. The "object_name" field acts as a key to access the corresponding prefab from our object data);
determining spatial placement information in the virtual experience for the one or more objects using the large language model to interpret the text criteria to determine locations for the one or more objects in the virtual experience (Fig. 4 and Pg. 21, Section 3.2; Once retrieved, the prefab is instantiated within the Unity scene at the position specified by the X, Y, and Z values. Section 4.3; "A coffee table is in front of a sofa. A TV stand is opposite the coffee table"…"A dressing table is in front of a chair. A bed is next to the dressing table"…), wherein the large language model determines the locations based on the user prompt and the initialization prompt such that overlap between the one or more objects is avoided (Fig. 3 and Pg. 21-22, Section 3.2; Leveraging the information derived from the spatial layout and orientation of existing furniture within a scene, our system forms a comprehensive request to the GPT API, incorporating new elements…parses all objects present in the Unity3D scene, collecting their positions and orientations…); and
placing the one or more objects in the virtual experience based on the spatial placement information (Pg. 22-25; Case Study 1-4 and Fig. 5-7).
Kouzelis does not expressly disclose a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, responsive to execution by a processing device, causes the processing device to perform the recited operations.
Official Notice is taken, however, that it is well known and conventional, at the time of the invention, that computer-implemented machine-learning and large language model methods are routinely embodied as computer-executable instructions stored on a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium and executed by one or more processors. Kouzelis further teaches that its disclosed method is implemented using conventional software components executing on standard computer platforms (Pg. 22, Section 4; incorporation of the GPT-4 API into the Unity3D platform (2021.3.8.f1 LTS). The VR avatar used in our case studies was sourced from the UltimateXR toolkit. All 3D models utilized in this study were modeled by the author in Blender 3.20 and textured using Adobe Substance 3D Painter. The complete list of objects available to the GPT API is the following…). Accordingly, such implementation would have been an implied or otherwise obvious computer implementation of the disclosed model operations according to standard programming and machine-learning techniques, yielding predictable result of causing a computer processor to perform the disclosed operations (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,417 (2007)).
Regarding claim 16, Kouzelis discloses initializing a large language model with an initialization prompt that includes instructions to the large language model to generate a virtual experience based on one or more subsequent prompts (Fig. 2 and Pg. 18, Section 3; Our methodology employs a streamlined process using an advanced language model for selecting and positioning 3D objects in Unity3D scenes. Utilizing the GPTAPI, this approach simplifies and improves virtual 3D object manipulation. Figure 2 outlines the method, which we detail here, focusing on the generation and interpretation of spatial and object data), wherein the instructions in the initialization prompt specify that overlap is impermissible when placing objects in the virtual experience (Pg. 19, Section 3.1; real-time parsing and prompt generating…extracting real-time dimensions for each furniture item from their mesh renderer component's bounds. This prevents object overlap by recording width, depth, and height. Fig. 3; You must take into account the dimensions of the furniture and the area, ensuring items do not overlap or float, and that they are oriented in a realistic manner…The furniture must be correctly positioned on the floor, not floating or overlapping…Be mindful of the furniture sizes so as they do not overlap…The door is at (12, 49, 0, 4) and should not be obstructed…));
receiving a user prompt, the user prompt comprising text criteria that specify criteria for generation or modification of the virtual experience, wherein the user prompt includes at least one of text data in natural language (Pg. 15-16, Section 1; we leverage the power of natural language processing (NLP) via a widely adopted large language model (LLM) which is the PGT API…translates simple natural language text into 3D scenes, as shown in Fig. 1), audio data, or video data (Fig. 3 and Pg. 20-21, Section 3.1; User input, shown in red, is brief but triggers extensive operations, as seen in the example "Create a living room". This blend of pre-determined, hard-coded elements, and adaptable components generated in real-time, facilitates the seamless adaptability to changes in the scene);
identifying one or more objects in the virtual experience having one or more attributes that correspond to the text criteria, the one or more objects being identified by a large language model (Fig. 4 and Pg. 21-22, Section 3.2; This object contains an array of furniture data, where each entry corresponds to an individual piece. The "object_name" field acts as a key to access the corresponding prefab from our object data);
determining spatial placement information in the virtual experience for the one or more objects using the large language model to interpret the text criteria to determine locations for the one or more objects in the virtual experience (Fig. 4 and Pg. 21, Section 3.2; Once retrieved, the prefab is instantiated within the Unity scene at the position specified by the X, Y, and Z values. Section 4.3; "A coffee table is in front of a sofa. A TV stand is opposite the coffee table"…"A dressing table is in front of a chair. A bed is next to the dressing table"…), wherein the large language model determines the locations based on the user prompt and the initialization prompt such that overlap between the one or more objects is avoided (Fig. 3 and Pg. 21-22, Section 3.2; Leveraging the information derived from the spatial layout and orientation of existing furniture within a scene, our system forms a comprehensive request to the GPT API, incorporating new elements…parses all objects present in the Unity3D scene, collecting their positions and orientations…); and
placing the one or more objects in the virtual experience based on the spatial placement information (Pg. 22-25; Case Study 1-4 and Fig. 5-7).
Kouzelis does not expressly disclose a system comprising a memory with instructions stored thereon, and a processing device coupled to the memory, the processing device configured to access the memory and execute the instructions, wherein the instructions cause the processing device to perform the recited operations.
Official Notice is taken, however, that it is well known, at the time of the invention, that computer-implemented machine-learning are conventionally executed by processors accessing instructions stored in memory. Kouzelis further describes implementation of its disclosed techniques using conventional computing software (Pg. 22, Section 4; incorporation of the GPT-4 API into the Unity3D platform (2021.3.8.f1 LTS). The VR avatar used in our case studies was sourced from the UltimateXR toolkit. All 3D models utilized in this study were modeled by the author in Blender 3.20 and textured using Adobe Substance 3D Painter. The complete list of objects available to the GPT API is the following…), evidencing execution on ordinary computer hardware rather than any specialized architecture. Accordingly, such implementation would have been an implied or otherwise obvious computer implementation of the disclosed model operations according to standard programming and machine-learning techniques, yielding predictable result of causing a computer processor to perform the disclosed operations (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,417 (2007)).
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 has similar limitations as of claim 2, except it is a CRM claim (see Official Notice above), therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2.
Regarding claims 11 and 18, claims 11 and 18 has similar limitations as of claim 3, except claim 11 is the CRM claim and claim 18 is the system claim (see Official Notice above), therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3.
Regarding claims 12, claims 12 has similar limitations as of claim 4, except claim 12 is the CRM claim (see Official Notice above), therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 4.
Regarding claims 14 and 20, claims 14 and 20 has similar limitations as of claim 6, except claim 14 is the CRM claim and claim 20 is the system claim (see Official Notice above), therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 6.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 has similar limitations as of claim 7, except it is a CRM claim (see Official Notice above), therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 7.
Regarding claims 13 and 17, claims 13 and 17 has similar limitations as of claim 8, except claim 13 is the CRM claim and claim 17 is the system claim (see Official Notice above), therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 8.
Regarding claim 19, Kouzelis discloses the system of claim 16, and further discloses wherein the placing comprises placing objects such that overlap between the objects is avoided by detecting whether any of the placed objects would overlap, and correcting object placement if potential overlap would occur, in response to receiving a supplemental prompt comprising instructions to remove the potential overlap (Pg. 19, Section 3.1; real-time parsing and prompt generating…extracting real-time dimensions for each furniture item from their mesh renderer component's bounds. This prevents object overlap by recording width, depth, and height. Fig. 3; You must take into account the dimensions of the furniture and the area, ensuring items do not overlap or float, and that they are oriented in a realistic manner…The furniture must be correctly positioned on the floor, not floating or overlapping…Be mindful of the furniture sizes so as they do not overlap…The door is at (12, 49, 0, 4) and should not be obstructed…))
Conclusion
/JENNY N TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2615
/ALICIA M HARRINGTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2615