Status of Claims
The following is a non-final, first office action in response to the communication filed 05/01/2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/01/2024, and 08/14/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6-8, 11, 12, 14, 15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US-20220308189-A1; hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses A device for determining an intensity of a target, comprising: one or more single photon avalanche diodes (SPADs); (see at least [0004]; "The SPAD pixels in a traditional DTOF-based LiDAR system generate a large amount of data, and a large memory or a large counter depth on a chip may be needed to form full histograms for a traditional DTOF-based LiDAR system.") a timestamp circuitry coupled to the one or more SPADs and configured to output a timestamp in response to receiving an avalanche pulse from the one or more SPADs; (see at least [0007]; "The first gated time-to-digital converter circuit may be configured to generate first timestamp information relating to detection of the first reflection signal in which the first gated time-to-digital converter circuit may be gated to generate the first timestamp information based on the first disparity location." and see at least [0003]; "DTOF-based LiDAR systems measure distance of an object by sending multiple short laser pulses toward that object (interrogation) and measuring the TOF of the returned pulses. Single Photo Avalanche Diode (SPAD) pixels in a DTOF sensor capture impinging photons and generate digital time codes representing TOF information of a photon.") an inter-arrival time (IAT) circuitry coupled to the timestamp circuitry, wherein the IAT circuitry is configured to determine a time difference between successive photons detected by the one or more SPADs based on successive timestamps received from the timestamp circuitry; and (see at least [0037]; "At the receiver RX, a lens 104 may focus one or more return beams 105 that have been reflected from an object 106 onto one or more image sensors 107 may capture an intensity image and three-dimensional (3D) TOF information. The one or more image sensors 107 may include a two-dimensional (2D) CMOS image sensor, a DTOF sensor that operates in a Time- Correlated Single-Photon Counting) (TCSPC) mode, and/or a hybrid 2D/3D sensor. In one embodiment, the circuitry used for calculating TOF information and for forming a histogram may be on-chip with an image sensor 107. A triangulation technique may be used to limit histogram range, and intensity information may be used to cancel background noise caused by ambient light." and see at least [0005]; "One embodiment may include a histogram circuit in which an average ambient light level is subtracted from each bin of a histogram generated by the histogram circuit.") an averaging circuitry coupled with the IAT circuitry, wherein the averaging circuitry is configured to perform a statistical analysis of a plurality of determined time differences from the IAT circuitry to determine an indication of the intensity of the target. (see at least [0005]; "One embodiment may include a histogram circuit in which an average ambient light level is subtracted from each bin of a histogram generated by the histogram circuit." and see at least Fig. 5 and [0006]; "The selector circuit may be coupled to the sensor array and may output a first output of the first group of pixels and a first clock signal corresponding to the first disparity location based on an intensity of the first group of pixels may be greater than an intensity of the second group of pixels, and may output a second output of the second group of pixels and a second clock signal corresponding to the second disparity location based on the intensity of the second group of pixels being greater than the intensity of the second group of pixels. The gated time-to-digital converter circuit may be coupled to the output of the selector circuit, and may be configured to generate first timestamp information for the first output of the first group of pixels using the first clock signal based on the selector circuit outputting the first output of the first group of pixels and the first clock signal, and may be configured to generate second timestamp information for the second output of the second group of pixels using the second clock signal based on the selector circuit outputting the second output of the second group of pixels and the second clock signal...In yet another embodiment, the time-of-flight sensor may further include a histogram circuit that generates a histogram comprising bins that correspond to the first and second disparity locations.").
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses The device of claim 1, further comprising a readout processor coupled to the IAT circuitry, wherein: the timestamp circuitry comprises a time-to-digital (TDC) converter; and the readout processor implements the averaging circuitry. (see at least FIG. 15 and [0068]; "FIG. 15 depicts an electronic device 1500 that includes a TOF LiDAR system according to the subject matter disclosed herein. The electronic device 1500 may include a controller (or CPU) 1510, an input/output device 1520 such as, but not limited to, a keypad, a keyboard, a display, a touch-screen display, a camera, and/or an image sensor, a memory 1530, an interface 1540, a GPU 1550, an imaging-processing unit 1560, a neural processing unit 1570, a TOF processing unit 1580 that are coupled to each other through a bus 1590. The controller 1510 may include, for example, at least one microprocessor, at least one digital signal processor, at least one microcontroller, or the like. The memory 1530 may be configured to store a command code to be used by the controller 1510 or a user data. The TOF processing unit 1580 may be configured based on one or more of the example embodiments described in connection with FIGS. 1-14 herein." and see at least [0005]; "One embodiment may include a histogram circuit in which an average ambient light level is subtracted from each bin of a histogram generated by the histogram circuit." and see at least Fig. 5 and [0006]; "The selector circuit may be coupled to the sensor array and may output a first output of the first group of pixels and a first clock signal corresponding to the first disparity location based on an intensity of the first group of pixels may be greater than an intensity of the second group of pixels, and may output a second output of the second group of pixels and a second clock signal corresponding to the second disparity location based on the intensity of the second group of pixels being greater than the intensity of the second group of pixels. The gated time-to-digital converter circuit may be coupled to the output of the selector circuit, and may be configured to generate first timestamp information for the first output of the first group of pixels using the first clock signal based on the selector circuit outputting the first output of the first group of pixels and the first clock signal, and may be configured to generate second timestamp information for the second output of the second group of pixels using the second clock signal based on the selector circuit outputting the second output of the second group of pixels and the second clock signal...In yet another embodiment, the time-of-flight sensor may further include a histogram circuit that generates a histogram comprising bins that correspond to the first and second disparity locations.").
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses The device of claim 1, wherein the device comprises a SPAD imager, and wherein: the SPAD imager is configured to operate in an intensity mode and a time-of-flight (ToF) mode; the SPAD imager is operable, in the intensity mode, to: determine the plurality of time differences during an integration period; and determine the indication of the intensity of the target; and (see at least [0037]; "At the receiver RX, a lens 104 may focus one or more return beams 105 that have been reflected from an object 106 onto one or more image sensors 107 may capture an intensity image and three-dimensional (3D) TOF information. The one or more image sensors 107 may include a two-dimensional (2D) CMOS image sensor, a DTOF sensor that operates in a Time- Correlated Single-Photon Counting) (TCSPC) mode, and/or a hybrid 2D/3D sensor. In one embodiment, the circuitry used for calculating TOF information and for forming a histogram may be on-chip with an image sensor 107. A triangulation technique may be used to limit histogram range, and intensity information may be used to cancel background noise caused by ambient light. A reduced-bin histogram technique may be used to minimize histogram block size. Intensity information around a coarse peak may be used to improve depth accuracy." and see at least [0062]; "A pixel in FOI may be operated in a photon-counting mode with no laser pulses being transmitted to measure an ambient light level. The same gated windows and the measurement period may be used as when laser pulses are transmitted (activated). The total number of photons triggering a pixel within the gated window of all cycles may be counted, and an average photon count PBIN AVE may be determined for each histogram bin within the gated window.") the SPAD imager is operable, in the ToF mode, to determine a distance to the target. (see at least [0062]; "The laser may then be activated for a range measurement. The corresponding average PBIN AVE may be subtracted from each respective bin prior to, during or after the histogram is formed. At the end of the laser activation cycles, the background (ambient) noise has been cancelled from the measurement and histogram bins having positive counts may be considered for the most likely peak detections.").
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses The device of claim 6, wherein the SPAD imager is operable to alternate between the intensity mode and (see at least [0037]; "At the receiver RX, a lens 104 may focus one or more return beams 105 that have been reflected from an object 106 onto one or more image sensors 107 may capture an intensity image and three-dimensional (3D) TOF information. The one or more image sensors 107 may include a two-dimensional (2D) CMOS image sensor, a DTOF sensor that operates in a Time- Correlated Single-Photon Counting) (TCSPC) mode, and/or a hybrid 2D/3D sensor. In one embodiment, the circuitry used for calculating TOF information and for forming a histogram may be on-chip with an image sensor 107. A triangulation technique may be used to limit histogram range, and intensity information may be used to cancel background noise caused by ambient light. A reduced-bin histogram technique may be used to minimize histogram block size. Intensity information around a coarse peak may be used to improve depth accuracy." and see at least [0062]; "A pixel in FOI may be operated in a photon-counting mode with no laser pulses being transmitted to measure an ambient light level. The same gated windows and the measurement period may be used as when laser pulses are transmitted (activated). The total number of photons triggering a pixel within the gated window of all cycles may be counted, and an average photon count PBIN AVE may be determined for each histogram bin within the gated window.") the ToF mode. (see at least [0062]; "The laser may then be activated for a range measurement. The corresponding average PBIN AVE may be subtracted from each respective bin prior to, during or after the histogram is formed. At the end of the laser activation cycles, the background (ambient) noise has been cancelled from the measurement and histogram bins having positive counts may be considered for the most likely peak detections.").
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses A method of operating a single photon avalanche diode (SPAD) device, the method comprising: receiving, from a timestamp circuitry of the SPAD device, a plurality of successive timestamps in response to a plurality of successive photons detected by the SPAD device; (see at least [0004]; "The SPAD pixels in a traditional DTOF-based LiDAR system generate a large amount of data, and a large memory or a large counter depth on a chip may be needed to form full histograms for a traditional DTOF-based LiDAR system.") determining, by an inter-arrival time (IAT) circuitry and based on the plurality of successive timestamps, a plurality of inter-arrival times, wherein each inter-arrival time represents a time difference between photons successively detected by the SPAD device; (see at least [0007]; "The first gated time-to-digital converter circuit may be configured to generate first timestamp information relating to detection of the first reflection signal in which the first gated time-to-digital converter circuit may be gated to generate the first timestamp information based on the first disparity location." and see at least [0003]; "DTOF-based LiDAR systems measure distance of an object by sending multiple short laser pulses toward that object (interrogation) and measuring the TOF of the returned pulses. Single Photo Avalanche Diode (SPAD) pixels in a DTOF sensor capture impinging photons and generate digital time codes representing TOF information of a photon.") performing, using an averaging circuitry, a statistical analysis of the plurality of inter-arrival times; and (see at least [0037]; "At the receiver RX, a lens 104 may focus one or more return beams 105 that have been reflected from an object 106 onto one or more image sensors 107 may capture an intensity image and three-dimensional (3D) TOF information. The one or more image sensors 107 may include a two-dimensional (2D) CMOS image sensor, a DTOF sensor that operates in a Time- Correlated Single-Photon Counting) (TCSPC) mode, and/or a hybrid 2D/3D sensor. In one embodiment, the circuitry used for calculating TOF information and for forming a histogram may be on-chip with an image sensor 107. A triangulation technique may be used to limit histogram range, and intensity information may be used to cancel background noise caused by ambient light." and see at least [0005]; "One embodiment may include a histogram circuit in which an average ambient light level is subtracted from each bin of a histogram generated by the histogram circuit.") determining an indication of an intensity of a target of the SPAD device based on the statistical analysis. (see at least [0005]; "One embodiment may include a histogram circuit in which an average ambient light level is subtracted from each bin of a histogram generated by the histogram circuit." and see at least Fig. 5 and [0006]; "The selector circuit may be coupled to the sensor array and may output a first output of the first group of pixels and a first clock signal corresponding to the first disparity location based on an intensity of the first group of pixels may be greater than an intensity of the second group of pixels, and may output a second output of the second group of pixels and a second clock signal corresponding to the second disparity location based on the intensity of the second group of pixels being greater than the intensity of the second group of pixels. The gated time-to-digital converter circuit may be coupled to the output of the selector circuit, and may be configured to generate first timestamp information for the first output of the first group of pixels using the first clock signal based on the selector circuit outputting the first output of the first group of pixels and the first clock signal, and may be configured to generate second timestamp information for the second output of the second group of pixels using the second clock signal based on the selector circuit outputting the second output of the second group of pixels and the second clock signal...In yet another embodiment, the time-of-flight sensor may further include a histogram circuit that generates a histogram comprising bins that correspond to the first and second disparity locations.").
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses The method of claim 8, wherein performing the statistical analysis using the averaging circuitry comprises performing the statistical analysis using a readout processor of the SPAD device. (see at least FIG. 15 and [0068]; "FIG. 15 depicts an electronic device 1500 that includes a TOF LiDAR system according to the subject matter disclosed herein. The electronic device 1500 may include a controller (or CPU) 1510, an input/output device 1520 such as, but not limited to, a keypad, a keyboard, a display, a touch-screen display, a camera, and/or an image sensor, a memory 1530, an interface 1540, a GPU 1550, an imaging-processing unit 1560, a neural processing unit 1570, a TOF processing unit 1580 that are coupled to each other through a bus 1590. The controller 1510 may include, for example, at least one microprocessor, at least one digital signal processor, at least one microcontroller, or the like. The memory 1530 may be configured to store a command code to be used by the controller 1510 or a user data. The TOF processing unit 1580 may be configured based on one or more of the example embodiments described in connection with FIGS. 1-14 herein." and see at least [0005]; "One embodiment may include a histogram circuit in which an average ambient light level is subtracted from each bin of a histogram generated by the histogram circuit." and see at least Fig. 5 and [0006]; "The selector circuit may be coupled to the sensor array and may output a first output of the first group of pixels and a first clock signal corresponding to the first disparity location based on an intensity of the first group of pixels may be greater than an intensity of the second group of pixels, and may output a second output of the second group of pixels and a second clock signal corresponding to the second disparity location based on the intensity of the second group of pixels being greater than the intensity of the second group of pixels. The gated time-to-digital converter circuit may be coupled to the output of the selector circuit, and may be configured to generate first timestamp information for the first output of the first group of pixels using the first clock signal based on the selector circuit outputting the first output of the first group of pixels and the first clock signal, and may be configured to generate second timestamp information for the second output of the second group of pixels using the second clock signal based on the selector circuit outputting the second output of the second group of pixels and the second clock signal...In yet another embodiment, the time-of-flight sensor may further include a histogram circuit that generates a histogram comprising bins that correspond to the first and second disparity locations.").
Regarding claim 12, Wang discloses The method of claim 8, further comprising alternatingly operating the SPAD device in an intensity mode and (see at least [0037]; "At the receiver RX, a lens 104 may focus one or more return beams 105 that have been reflected from an object 106 onto one or more image sensors 107 may capture an intensity image and three-dimensional (3D) TOF information. The one or more image sensors 107 may include a two-dimensional (2D) CMOS image sensor, a DTOF sensor that operates in a Time- Correlated Single-Photon Counting) (TCSPC) mode, and/or a hybrid 2D/3D sensor. In one embodiment, the circuitry used for calculating TOF information and for forming a histogram may be on-chip with an image sensor 107. A triangulation technique may be used to limit histogram range, and intensity information may be used to cancel background noise caused by ambient light. A reduced-bin histogram technique may be used to minimize histogram block size. Intensity information around a coarse peak may be used to improve depth accuracy." and see at least [0062]; "A pixel in FOI may be operated in a photon-counting mode with no laser pulses being transmitted to measure an ambient light level. The same gated windows and the measurement period may be used as when laser pulses are transmitted (activated). The total number of photons triggering a pixel within the gated window of all cycles may be counted, and an average photon count PBIN AVE may be determined for each histogram bin within the gated window.") a time-of-flight (ToF) mode, (see at least [0062]; "The laser may then be activated for a range measurement. The corresponding average PBIN AVE may be subtracted from each respective bin prior to, during or after the histogram is formed. At the end of the laser activation cycles, the background (ambient) noise has been cancelled from the measurement and histogram bins having positive counts may be considered for the most likely peak detections.") wherein: the intensity mode comprises performing the steps of receiving the plurality of successive timestamps, determining the plurality of inter-arrival times, performing the statistical analysis, and determining the indication of the intensity; and (see at least [0007]; "The first gated time-to-digital converter circuit may be configured to generate first timestamp information relating to detection of the first reflection signal in which the first gated time-to-digital converter circuit may be gated to generate the first timestamp information based on the first disparity location." and see at least [0003]; "DTOF-based LiDAR systems measure distance of an object by sending multiple short laser pulses toward that object (interrogation) and measuring the TOF of the returned pulses. Single Photo Avalanche Diode (SPAD) pixels in a DTOF sensor capture impinging photons and generate digital time codes representing TOF information of a photon.") the ToF mode comprises determining, based on a timestamp from the timestamp circuitry, a distance to the target. (see at least [0037]; "At the receiver RX, a lens 104 may focus one or more return beams 105 that have been reflected from an object 106 onto one or more image sensors 107 may capture an intensity image and three-dimensional (3D) TOF information. The one or more image sensors 107 may include a two-dimensional (2D) CMOS image sensor, a DTOF sensor that operates in a Time- Correlated Single-Photon Counting) (TCSPC) mode, and/or a hybrid 2D/3D sensor. In one embodiment, the circuitry used for calculating TOF information and for forming a histogram may be on-chip with an image sensor 107. A triangulation technique may be used to limit histogram range, and intensity information may be used to cancel background noise caused by ambient light." and see at least [0005]; "One embodiment may include a histogram circuit in which an average ambient light level is subtracted from each bin of a histogram generated by the histogram circuit.").
Regarding claim 14, Wang discloses The method of claim 8, wherein the plurality of successive timestamps are received during an integration period. (see at least [0037]; "At the receiver RX, a lens 104 may focus one or more return beams 105 that have been reflected from an object 106 onto one or more image sensors 107 may capture an intensity image and three-dimensional (3D) TOF information. The one or more image sensors 107 may include a two-dimensional (2D) CMOS image sensor, a DTOF sensor that operates in a Time- Correlated Single-Photon Counting) (TCSPC) mode, and/or a hybrid 2D/3D sensor. In one embodiment, the circuitry used for calculating TOF information and for forming a histogram may be on-chip with an image sensor 107. A triangulation technique may be used to limit histogram range, and intensity information may be used to cancel background noise caused by ambient light." and see at least [0005]; "One embodiment may include a histogram circuit in which an average ambient light level is subtracted from each bin of a histogram generated by the histogram circuit." and see at least Fig. 5 and [0006]; "The selector circuit may be coupled to the sensor array and may output a first output of the first group of pixels and a first clock signal corresponding to the first disparity location based on an intensity of the first group of pixels may be greater than an intensity of the second group of pixels, and may output a second output of the second group of pixels and a second clock signal corresponding to the second disparity location based on the intensity of the second group of pixels being greater than the intensity of the second group of pixels. The gated time-to-digital converter circuit may be coupled to the output of the selector circuit, and may be configured to generate first timestamp information for the first output of the first group of pixels using the first clock signal based on the selector circuit outputting the first output of the first group of pixels and the first clock signal, and may be configured to generate second timestamp information for the second output of the second group of pixels using the second clock signal based on the selector circuit outputting the second output of the second group of pixels and the second clock signal...In yet another embodiment, the time-of-flight sensor may further include a histogram circuit that generates a histogram comprising bins that correspond to the first and second disparity locations.").
Regarding claim 15, Wang discloses A light detection and ranging system, comprising: a laser; (see at least [0004]; "The SPAD pixels in a traditional DTOF-based LiDAR system generate a large amount of data, and a large memory or a large counter depth on a chip may be needed to form full histograms for a traditional DTOF-based LiDAR system.") a single photon avalanche diode (SPAD) imager configured to, in an intensity mode: measure a plurality of inter-arrival times (IAT), wherein each IAT represents a time difference between successive photons detected by the SPAD imager; (see at least [0005]; "Another embodiment may include a histogram circuit that may be coupled to the first time-to-digital converter circuit and the second time-to-digital converter circuit, and the histogram circuit may generate a histogram based on first and second timestamp information in which a detection event may be added to a number of bins that correspond to a pulse width of a transmitted pulse that may be detected as a reflection signal by the sensor array." and see at least [0041]; "The receiver 300 may include a pixel 301 that includes a SPAD 302, a quenching device 303, a sensing circuit 304 and a selector switch 305 connected as shown in FIG. 3A." and see at least [0042]; "The selector switch 305 may be controlled by a SEL signal to allow the waveform 307 to be output from the pixel 301 as a PIXOUT output signal line that may be shared with other pixels (not shown)." and see at least [0007]; "The first gated time-to-digital converter circuit may be configured to generate first timestamp information relating to detection of the first reflection signal in which the first gated time-to-digital converter circuit may be gated to generate the first timestamp information based on the first disparity location." and see at least [0003]; "DTOF-based LiDAR systems measure distance of an object by sending multiple short laser pulses toward that object (interrogation) and measuring the TOF of the returned pulses. Single Photo Avalanche Diode (SPAD) pixels in a DTOF sensor capture impinging photons and generate digital time codes representing TOF information of a photon.") perform a statistical analysis of the plurality of IATs; and (see at least [0037]; "At the receiver RX, a lens 104 may focus one or more return beams 105 that have been reflected from an object 106 onto one or more image sensors 107 may capture an intensity image and three-dimensional (3D) TOF information. The one or more image sensors 107 may include a two-dimensional (2D) CMOS image sensor, a DTOF sensor that operates in a Time- Correlated Single-Photon Counting) (TCSPC) mode, and/or a hybrid 2D/3D sensor. In one embodiment, the circuitry used for calculating TOF information and for forming a histogram may be on-chip with an image sensor 107. A triangulation technique may be used to limit histogram range, and intensity information may be used to cancel background noise caused by ambient light." and see at least [0005]; "One embodiment may include a histogram circuit in which an average ambient light level is subtracted from each bin of a histogram generated by the histogram circuit.") determine an indicator of an intensity of a target based on the statistical analysis; and (see at least [0005]; "One embodiment may include a histogram circuit in which an average ambient light level is subtracted from each bin of a histogram generated by the histogram circuit." and see at least Fig. 5 and [0006]; "The selector circuit may be coupled to the sensor array and may output a first output of the first group of pixels and a first clock signal corresponding to the first disparity location based on an intensity of the first group of pixels may be greater than an intensity of the second group of pixels, and may output a second output of the second group of pixels and a second clock signal corresponding to the second disparity location based on the intensity of the second group of pixels being greater than the intensity of the second group of pixels. The gated time-to-digital converter circuit may be coupled to the output of the selector circuit, and may be configured to generate first timestamp information for the first output of the first group of pixels using the first clock signal based on the selector circuit outputting the first output of the first group of pixels and the first clock signal, and may be configured to generate second timestamp information for the second output of the second group of pixels using the second clock signal based on the selector circuit outputting the second output of the second group of pixels and the second clock signal...In yet another embodiment, the time-of-flight sensor may further include a histogram circuit that generates a histogram comprising bins that correspond to the first and second disparity locations.") an optical device operable to direct a laser pulse from the laser toward the target and to direct one or more photons from the target to the SPAD imager. (see at least [0004]; "The SPAD pixels in a traditional DTOF-based LiDAR system generate a large amount of data, and a large memory or a large counter depth on a chip may be needed to form full histograms for a traditional DTOF-based LiDAR system.").
Regarding claim 18, Wang discloses The light detection and ranging system of claim 15, wherein the SPAD imager is further configured to, in a time-of-flight (ToF) mode: determine a timestamp for a detection of the one or more photons directed to the SPAD imager by the optical device; and (see at least [0005]; "Another embodiment may include a histogram circuit that may be coupled to the first time-to-digital converter circuit and the second time-to-digital converter circuit, and the histogram circuit may generate a histogram based on first and second timestamp information in which a detection event may be added to a number of bins that correspond to a pulse width of a transmitted pulse that may be detected as a reflection signal by the sensor array." and see at least [0041]; "The receiver 300 may include a pixel 301 that includes a SPAD 302, a quenching device 303, a sensing circuit 304 and a selector switch 305 connected as shown in FIG. 3A." and see at least [0042]; "The selector switch 305 may be controlled by a SEL signal to allow the waveform 307 to be output from the pixel 301 as a PIXOUT output signal line that may be shared with other pixels (not shown)." and see at least [0007]; "The first gated time-to-digital converter circuit may be configured to generate first timestamp information relating to detection of the first reflection signal in which the first gated time-to-digital converter circuit may be gated to generate the first timestamp information based on the first disparity location." and see at least [0003]; "DTOF-based LiDAR systems measure distance of an object by sending multiple short laser pulses toward that object (interrogation) and measuring the TOF of the returned pulses. Single Photo Avalanche Diode (SPAD) pixels in a DTOF sensor capture impinging photons and generate digital time codes representing TOF information of a photon.") determine a distance to the target based on the determined timestamp. (see at least [0037]; "At the receiver RX, a lens 104 may focus one or more return beams 105 that have been reflected from an object 106 onto one or more image sensors 107 may capture an intensity image and three-dimensional (3D) TOF information. The one or more image sensors 107 may include a two-dimensional (2D) CMOS image sensor, a DTOF sensor that operates in a Time- Correlated Single-Photon Counting) (TCSPC) mode, and/or a hybrid 2D/3D sensor. In one embodiment, the circuitry used for calculating TOF information and for forming a histogram may be on-chip with an image sensor 107. A triangulation technique may be used to limit histogram range, and intensity information may be used to cancel background noise caused by ambient light. A reduced-bin histogram technique may be used to minimize histogram block size. Intensity information around a coarse peak may be used to improve depth accuracy.").
Regarding claim 19, Wang discloses The light detection and ranging system of claim 18, wherein the SPAD imager is further configured to alternatingly operate in the ToF mode and the intensity mode. (see at least [0062]; "A pixel in FOI may be operated in a photon-counting mode with no laser pulses being transmitted to measure an ambient light level. The same gated windows and the measurement period may be used as when laser pulses are transmitted (activated). The total number of photons triggering a pixel within the gated window of all cycles may be counted, and an average photon count PBIN AVE may be determined for each histogram bin within the gated window. The laser may then be activated for a range measurement. The corresponding average PBIN AVE may be subtracted from each respective bin prior to, during or after the histogram is formed. At the end of the laser activation cycles, the background (ambient) noise has been cancelled from the measurement and histogram bins having positive counts may be considered for the most likely peak detections.").
Regarding claim 20, Wang discloses The light detection and ranging system of claim 15, wherein the SPAD imager is configured to measure the plurality of IATs during an integration period in the intensity mode. (see at least [0037]; "At the receiver RX, a lens 104 may focus one or more return beams 105 that have been reflected from an object 106 onto one or more image sensors 107 may capture an intensity image and three-dimensional (3D) TOF information. The one or more image sensors 107 may include a two-dimensional (2D) CMOS image sensor, a DTOF sensor that operates in a Time- Correlated Single-Photon Counting) (TCSPC) mode, and/or a hybrid 2D/3D sensor. In one embodiment, the circuitry used for calculating TOF information and for forming a histogram may be on-chip with an image sensor 107. A triangulation technique may be used to limit histogram range, and intensity information may be used to cancel background noise caused by ambient light." and see at least [0005]; "One embodiment may include a histogram circuit in which an average ambient light level is subtracted from each bin of a histogram generated by the histogram circuit." and see at least Fig. 5 and [0006]; "The selector circuit may be coupled to the sensor array and may output a first output of the first group of pixels and a first clock signal corresponding to the first disparity location based on an intensity of the first group of pixels may be greater than an intensity of the second group of pixels, and may output a second output of the second group of pixels and a second clock signal corresponding to the second disparity location based on the intensity of the second group of pixels being greater than the intensity of the second group of pixels. The gated time-to-digital converter circuit may be coupled to the output of the selector circuit, and may be configured to generate first timestamp information for the first output of the first group of pixels using the first clock signal based on the selector circuit outputting the first output of the first group of pixels and the first clock signal, and may be configured to generate second timestamp information for the second output of the second group of pixels using the second clock signal based on the selector circuit outputting the second output of the second group of pixels and the second clock signal...In yet another embodiment, the time-of-flight sensor may further include a histogram circuit that generates a histogram comprising bins that correspond to the first and second disparity locations.").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and in view of Yang et al. (US-20240019556-A1; hereinafter Yang).
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses [Note: what Wang fails to disclose is strike-through] The device of claim 1, wherein the IAT circuitry comprises: a timestamp memory operable to store a prior timestamp from the timestamp circuitry; (see at least [0033]; "As used herein, the term "module" refers to any combination of software, firmware and/or hardware configured to provide the functionality described herein in connection with a module. For example, software may be embodied as a software package, code and/or instruction set or instructions, and the term "hardware," as used in any implementation described herein, may include, for example, singly or in any combination, an assembly, hardwired circuitry, programmable circuitry, state machine circuitry, and/or firmware that stores instructions executed by programmable circuitry. The modules may, collectively or individually, be embodied as circuitry that forms part of a larger system, for example, but not limited to, an integrated circuit (IC), system-on-a-chip (SoC), an assembly, and so forth." and see at least [0034]; "The LiDAR system may include a receiver that provides disparity-based pixel grouping, and may use a TDC circuit that generates timestamp information representing the time when a return pulse is detected. The TDC may be gated based on the disparity.") (see at least Fig. 5 and [0006]; "The selector circuit may be coupled to the sensor array and may output a first output of the first group of pixels and a first clock signal corresponding to the first disparity location based on an intensity of the first group of pixels may be greater than an intensity of the second group of pixels, and may output a second output of the second group of pixels and a second clock signal corresponding to the second disparity location based on the intensity of the second group of pixels being greater than the intensity of the second group of pixels. The gated time-to-digital converter circuit may be coupled to the output of the selector circuit, and may be configured to generate first timestamp information for the first output of the first group of pixels using the first clock signal based on the selector circuit outputting the first output of the first group of pixels and the first clock signal, and may be configured to generate second timestamp information for the second output of the second group of pixels using the second clock signal based on the selector circuit outputting the second output of the second group of pixels and the second clock signal...In yet another embodiment, the time-of-flight sensor may further include a histogram circuit that generates a histogram comprising bins that correspond to the first and second disparity locations.").
However, Wang does not explicitly teach subtracting current timestamp data. Instead, Wang teaches storing timestamp data.
Wang discloses a method to record timestamp data and Yang is directed at subtracting timestamps. Yang teaches:
Subtraction circuit (see at least [0078]; "The TDC outputs a time signal t.sub.1a indicating when the SPADs are triggered and a number signal cnt.sub.1a indicating a number of SPADs triggered at the same moment (1a means the first trigger of the a.sup.th sweep), a timestamp.sub.1a (briefly referred to as tp.sub.1a below) of t.sub.1a-t.sub.a is calculated through a subtraction program, and tp.sub.1a and the trigger number cnt.sub.1a signal of the timestamp are transmitted and stored in a memory.").
Both Wang and Yang can utilize timestamp data. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Wang to include programming as taught by Yang. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include the subtraction programming as taught by Yang into the configuration of Wang’s selector circuit. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by including the programming from Yang into the teaching of Wang.
Regarding claim 13, Wang discloses [Note: what Wang fails to disclose is strike-through] The method of claim 8, wherein determining each of the plurality of inter-arrival times comprises: storing, using a timestamp memory, a prior timestamp from the timestamp circuitry; (see at least [0037]; "At the receiver RX, a lens 104 may focus one or more return beams 105 that have been reflected from an object 106 onto one or more image sensors 107 may capture an intensity image and three-dimensional (3D) TOF information. The one or more image sensors 107 may include a two-dimensional (2D) CMOS image sensor, a DTOF sensor that operates in a Time- Correlated Single-Photon Counting) (TCSPC) mode, and/or a hybrid 2D/3D sensor. In one embodiment, the circuitry used for calculating TOF information and for forming a histogram may be on-chip with an image sensor 107. A triangulation technique may be used to limit histogram range, and intensity information may be used to cancel background noise caused by ambient light." and see at least [0005]; "One embodiment may include a histogram circuit in which an average ambient light level is subtracted from each bin of a histogram generated by the histogram circuit." and see at least Fig. 5 and [0006]; "The selector circuit may be coupled to the sensor array and may output a first output of the first group of pixels and a first clock signal corresponding to the first disparity location based on an intensity of the first group of pixels may be greater than an intensity of the second group of pixels, and may output a second output of the second group of pixels and a second clock signal corresponding to the second disparity location based on the intensity of the second group of pixels being greater than the intensity of the second group of pixels. The gated time-to-digital converter circuit may be coupled to the output of the selector circuit, and may be configured to generate first timestamp information for the first output of the first group of pixels using the first clock signal based on the selector circuit outputting the first output of the first group of pixels and the first clock signal, and may be configured to generate second timestamp information for the second output of the second group of pixels using the second clock signal based on the selector circuit outputting the second output of the second group of pixels and the second clock signal...In yet another embodiment, the time-of-flight sensor may further include a histogram circuit that generates a histogram comprising bins that correspond to the first and second disparity locations.") (see at least [0005]; "One embodiment may include a histogram circuit in which an average ambient light level is subtracted from each bin of a histogram generated by the histogram circuit." and see at least Fig. 5 and [0006]; "The selector circuit may be coupled to the sensor array and may output a first output of the first group of pixels and a first clock signal corresponding to the first disparity location based on an intensity of the first group of pixels may be greater than an intensity of the second group of pixels, and may output a second output of the second group of pixels and a second clock signal corresponding to the second disparity location based on the intensity of the second group of pixels being greater than the intensity of the second group of pixels. The gated time-to-digital converter circuit may be coupled to the output of the selector circuit, and may be configured to generate first timestamp information for the first output of the first group of pixels using the first clock signal based on the selector circuit outputting the first output of the first group of pixels and the first clock signal, and may be configured to generate second timestamp information for the second output of the second group of pixels using the second clock signal based on the selector circuit outputting the second output of the second group of pixels and the second clock signal...In yet another embodiment, the time-of-flight sensor may further include a histogram circuit that generates a histogram comprising bins that correspond to the first and second disparity locations.").
However, Wang does not explicitly teach subtracting current timestamp data. Instead, Wang teaches storing timestamp data.
Wang discloses a method to record timestamp data and Yang is directed at subtracting timestamps. Yang teaches:
Subtraction circuit (see at least [0078]; "The TDC outputs a time signal t.sub.1a indicating when the SPADs are triggered and a number signal cnt.sub.1a indicating a number of SPADs triggered at the same moment (1a means the first trigger of the a.sup.th sweep), a timestamp.sub.1a (briefly referred to as tp.sub.1a below) of t.sub.1a-t.sub.a is calculated through a subtraction program, and tp.sub.1a and the trigger number cnt.sub.1a signal of the timestamp are transmitted and stored in a memory.").
Both Wang and Yang can utilize timestamp data. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Wang to include programming as taught by Yang. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include the subtraction programming as taught by Yang into the configuration of Wang’s selector circuit. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by including the programming from Yang into the teaching of Wang.
Claim 4, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and in view of Ferreira et al. (US-20200284883-A1; hereinafter Ferreira).
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses [Note: what Wang fails to disclose is strike-through] The device of claim 1, wherein the statistical analysis of the averaging circuitry comprises (see at least [0005]; "One embodiment may include a histogram circuit in which an average ambient light level is subtracted from each bin of a histogram generated by the histogram circuit." and see at least Fig. 5 and [0006]; "The selector circuit may be coupled to the sensor array and may output a first output of the first group of pixels and a first clock signal corresponding to the first disparity location based on an intensity of the first group of pixels may be greater than an intensity of the second group of pixels, and may output a second output of the second group of pixels and a second clock signal corresponding to the second disparity location based on the intensity of the second group of pixels being greater than the intensity of the second group of pixels. The gated time-to-digital converter circuit may be coupled to the output of the selector circuit, and may be configured to generate first timestamp information for the first output of the first group of pixels using the first clock signal based on the selector circuit outputting the first output of the first group of pixels and the first clock signal, and may be configured to generate second timestamp information for the second output of the second group of pixels using the second clock signal based on the selector circuit outputting the second output of the second group of pixels and the second clock signal...In yet another embodiment, the time-of-flight sensor may further include a histogram circuit that generates a histogram comprising bins that correspond to the first and second disparity locations."). However, Wang does not explicitly teach determining the mean of time differences. Instead, Wang teaches time differences.
Wang discloses a method to analyze data via a histogram and Ferreira is directed at finding an equivalent average/mean value of time gained/differences. Ferreira teaches:
Mean of the plurality of determined time differences (see at least [2250]; "It can further be advantageous when the Variation Amplitude (as defined before) has a value that is greater than the average (mean) value of the above mentioned own-pulse-correlated or own-pulse-uncorrelated time stamps (or the equivalent of a mean value of the related Fourier transformed frequency). Other advantageous methods use histogram analysis of a series of subsequent pulses and/or of only pulses that are only counted when they exceed a pre-defined or calculated threshold value." and see at least [2251]; "This means that a LIDAR Sensor Systems for object recognition is configured to vary the time difference between subsequent Detection Time Windows (Measurement Windows)." and see at least [2820]; "In such an arrangement, the scene can be scanned by two (or more) laser beams 7606, 7608 simultaneously, which decreases the measurement time of a full scan, which can be either used to increase the frame rate of a LIDAR scan or the precision by using the time gain for additional averaging. For example, in this case, two laser sources 7602, 7604 with 100 kHz repetition rate each can be used in parallel, each covering half of the total FOV 7612. Whereas in a conventional configuration, a single laser had to cover the full FOV 7612 with a certain averaging over each pixel, now half of the FOV 7612 needs to be completed in the same time.").
Both Wang and Ferreira can generate time values depending on input. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Wang to include programming as taught by Ferreira. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include the averaging programming used in Ferreira’s histogram data and apply it to the histogram data taught by Wang allowing mean determination for Wang’s LiDAR data. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by including averaging programming from Ferreira into the program of Wang.
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses [Note: what Wang fails to disclose is strike-through] The method of claim 8, wherein the statistical analysis comprises (see at least [0005]; "One embodiment may include a histogram circuit in which an average ambient light level is subtracted from each bin of a histogram generated by the histogram circuit." and see at least Fig. 5 and [0006]; "The selector circuit may be coupled to the sensor array and may output a first output of the first group of pixels and a first clock signal corresponding to the first disparity location based on an intensity of the first group of pixels may be greater than an intensity of the second group of pixels, and may output a second output of the second group of pixels and a second clock signal corresponding to the second disparity location based on the intensity of the second group of pixels being greater than the intensity of the second group of pixels. The gated time-to-digital converter circuit may be coupled to the output of the selector circuit, and may be configured to generate first timestamp information for the first output of the first group of pixels using the first clock signal based on the selector circuit outputting the first output of the first group of pixels and the first clock signal, and may be configured to generate second timestamp information for the second output of the second group of pixels using the second clock signal based on the selector circuit outputting the second output of the second group of pixels and the second clock signal...In yet another embodiment, the time-of-flight sensor may further include a histogram circuit that generates a histogram comprising bins that correspond to the first and second disparity locations.").
However, Wang does not explicitly teach determining the mean of time differences. Instead, Wang teaches time differences.
Wang discloses a method to analyze data via a histogram and Ferreira is directed at finding an equivalent average/mean value of time gained/differences. Ferreira teaches:
Mean of the plurality of determined time differences (see at least [2250]; "It can further be advantageous when the Variation Amplitude (as defined before) has a value that is greater than the average (mean) value of the above mentioned own-pulse-correlated or own-pulse-uncorrelated time stamps (or the equivalent of a mean value of the related Fourier transformed frequency). Other advantageous methods use histogram analysis of a series of subsequent pulses and/or of only pulses that are only counted when they exceed a pre-defined or calculated threshold value." and see at least [2251]; "This means that a LIDAR Sensor Systems for object recognition is configured to vary the time difference between subsequent Detection Time Windows (Measurement Windows)." and see at least [2820]; "In such an arrangement, the scene can be scanned by two (or more) laser beams 7606, 7608 simultaneously, which decreases the measurement time of a full scan, which can be either used to increase the frame rate of a LIDAR scan or the precision by using the time gain for additional averaging. For example, in this case, two laser sources 7602, 7604 with 100 kHz repetition rate each can be used in parallel, each covering half of the total FOV 7612. Whereas in a conventional configuration, a single laser had to cover the full FOV 7612 with a certain averaging over each pixel, now half of the FOV 7612 needs to be completed in the same time.").
Both Wang and Ferreira can generate time values depending on input. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Wang to include programming as taught by Ferreira. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include the averaging programming used in Ferreira’s histogram data and apply it to the histogram data taught by Wang allowing mean determination for Wang’s LiDAR data. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by including averaging programming from Ferreira into the program of Wang.
Regarding claim 16, Wang discloses [Note: what Wang fails to disclose is strike-through] The light detection and ranging system of claim 15, wherein the statistical analysis comprises (see at least [0005]; "One embodiment may include a histogram circuit in which an average ambient light level is subtracted from each bin of a histogram generated by the histogram circuit." and see at least Fig. 5 and [0006]; "The selector circuit may be coupled to the sensor array and may output a first output of the first group of pixels and a first clock signal corresponding to the first disparity location based on an intensity of the first group of pixels may be greater than an intensity of the second group of pixels, and may output a second output of the second group of pixels and a second clock signal corresponding to the second disparity location based on the intensity of the second group of pixels being greater than the intensity of the second group of pixels. The gated time-to-digital converter circuit may be coupled to the output of the selector circuit, and may be configured to generate first timestamp information for the first output of the first group of pixels using the first clock signal based on the selector circuit outputting the first output of the first group of pixels and the first clock signal, and may be configured to generate second timestamp information for the second output of the second group of pixels using the second clock signal based on the selector circuit outputting the second output of the second group of pixels and the second clock signal...In yet another embodiment, the time-of-flight sensor may further include a histogram circuit that generates a histogram comprising bins that correspond to the first and second disparity locations.").
However, Wang does not explicitly teach determining the mean of time differences. Instead, Wang teaches time differences.
Wang discloses a method to analyze data via a histogram and Ferreira is directed at finding an equivalent average/mean value of time gained/differences. Ferreira teaches:
Mean of the plurality of determined time differences (see at least [2250]; "It can further be advantageous when the Variation Amplitude (as defined before) has a value that is greater than the average (mean) value of the above mentioned own-pulse-correlated or own-pulse-uncorrelated time stamps (or the equivalent of a mean value of the related Fourier transformed frequency). Other advantageous methods use histogram analysis of a series of subsequent pulses and/or of only pulses that are only counted when they exceed a pre-defined or calculated threshold value." and see at least [2251]; "This means that a LIDAR Sensor Systems for object recognition is configured to vary the time difference between subsequent Detection Time Windows (Measurement Windows)." and see at least [2820]; "In such an arrangement, the scene can be scanned by two (or more) laser beams 7606, 7608 simultaneously, which decreases the measurement time of a full scan, which can be either used to increase the frame rate of a LIDAR scan or the precision by using the time gain for additional averaging. For example, in this case, two laser sources 7602, 7604 with 100 kHz repetition rate each can be used in parallel, each covering half of the total FOV 7612. Whereas in a conventional configuration, a single laser had to cover the full FOV 7612 with a certain averaging over each pixel, now half of the FOV 7612 needs to be completed in the same time.").
Both Wang and Ferreira can generate time values depending on input. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method used in Wang to include programming as taught by Ferreira. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include the averaging programming used in Ferreira’s histogram data and apply it to the histogram data taught by Wang allowing mean determination for Wang’s LiDAR data. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by including averaging programming from Ferreira into the program of Wang.
Claim 5, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, Ferreira, and in view of Michallek et al. (US-20190164304-A1; hereinafter Michallek).
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses [Note: what Wang fails to disclose is strike-through] The device of claim 4, wherein the indication of the intensity of the target comprises "evaluating between groups of pixels of varying intensity." (Wang teaches see at least [0005]; "One embodiment may include a histogram circuit in which an average ambient light level is subtracted from each bin of a histogram generated by the histogram circuit." and Wang teaches see at least Fig. 5 and [0006]; "The selector circuit may be coupled to the sensor array and may output a first output of the first group of pixels and a first clock signal corresponding to the first disparity location based on an intensity of the first group of pixels may be greater than an intensity of the second group of pixels, and may output a second output of the second group of pixels and a second clock signal corresponding to the second disparity location based on the intensity of the second group of pixels being greater than the intensity of the second group of pixels. The gated time-to-digital converter circuit may be coupled to the output of the selector circuit, and may be configured to generate first timestamp information for the first output of the first group of pixels using the first clock signal based on the selector circuit outputting the first output of the first group of pixels and the first clock signal, and may be configured to generate second timestamp information for the second output of the second group of pixels using the second clock signal based on the selector circuit outputting the second output of the second group of pixels and the second clock signal...In yet another embodiment, the time-of-flight sensor may further include a histogram circuit that generates a histogram comprising bins that correspond to the first and second disparity locations." and Ferreira teaches see at least [2820]; "In such an arrangement, the scene can be scanned by two (or more) laser beams 7606, 7608 simultaneously, which decreases the measurement time of a full scan, which can be either used to increase the frame rate of a LIDAR scan or the precision by using the time gain for additional averaging. For example, in this case, two laser sources 7602, 7604 with 100 kHz repetition rate each can be used in parallel, each covering half of the total FOV 7612. Whereas in a conventional configuration, a single laser had to cover the full FOV 7612 with a certain averaging over each pixel, now half of the FOV 7612 needs to be completed in the same time." and Ferreira teaches see at least [4327]; "Thresholds may not only be quantitative values but may also comprise qualitative properties, like only transmitting information if a second object is moving. The thresholds may also consider reciprocal relationships, e.g. if a second object is moving in a direction x with a velocity y, a position signal is transmitted to the first object, when the measured distance falls below z. As another example considering basic principles, an information is not transmitted by the second emission unit if a velocity of the first object is below a certain threshold. However, the second emission unit may still transmit other information signals not depending on thresholds. Further, the detected information signals may also be prioritized. Accordingly, the second emission unit may only emit one information representing highest risk based on a defined ranking or underlying algorithm.").
However, Wang and Ferreira together do not explicitly teach determining reciprocal of determined mean. Instead, Wang and Ferreira teach light intensity.
Together Wang and Ferreira disclose a method to evaluate data gathered and Michallek is directed at getting reciprocal data from processed data. Michallek teaches:
Reciprocal of the determined mean (see at least [0076]; "Finally, each pixel's processed value is increased by one and its reciprocal is taken yielding new pseudo-intensities that are thus standardized according to myocardial baseline mean intensity and first-pass peak intensity and follow an asymptotic decreasing relationship.").
Collectively, Wang, Ferreira, and Michallek can evaluate data. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods used in Wang and Ferreira to include programming as taught by Michallek. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include the processing program for pixels from Michallek to the programming of Wang’s selector circuit which in turn would offer a reciprocal data point being generated from Wang’s processed values and further generate a reciprocal of the determined mean. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by including the pixel processing programming from Michallek into the program of Wang.
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses [Note: what Wang fails to disclose is strike-through] The method of claim 9, wherein determining the indication of the intensity comprises "evaluating between groups of pixels of varying intensity." (Wang teaches see at least [0005]; "One embodiment may include a histogram circuit in which an average ambient light level is subtracted from each bin of a histogram generated by the histogram circuit." and Wang teaches see at least Fig. 5 and [0006]; "The selector circuit may be coupled to the sensor array and may output a first output of the first group of pixels and a first clock signal corresponding to the first disparity location based on an intensity of the first group of pixels may be greater than an intensity of the second group of pixels, and may output a second output of the second group of pixels and a second clock signal corresponding to the second disparity location based on the intensity of the second group of pixels being greater than the intensity of the second group of pixels. The gated time-to-digital converter circuit may be coupled to the output of the selector circuit, and may be configured to generate first timestamp information for the first output of the first group of pixels using the first clock signal based on the selector circuit outputting the first output of the first group of pixels and the first clock signal, and may be configured to generate second timestamp information for the second output of the second group of pixels using the second clock signal based on the selector circuit outputting the second output of the second group of pixels and the second clock signal...In yet another embodiment, the time-of-flight sensor may further include a histogram circuit that generates a histogram comprising bins that correspond to the first and second disparity locations." and Ferreira teaches see at least [2820]; "In such an arrangement, the scene can be scanned by two (or more) laser beams 7606, 7608 simultaneously, which decreases the measurement time of a full scan, which can be either used to increase the frame rate of a LIDAR scan or the precision by using the time gain for additional averaging. For example, in this case, two laser sources 7602, 7604 with 100 kHz repetition rate each can be used in parallel, each covering half of the total FOV 7612. Whereas in a conventional configuration, a single laser had to cover the full FOV 7612 with a certain averaging over each pixel, now half of the FOV 7612 needs to be completed in the same time." and Ferreira teaches see at least [4327]; "Thresholds may not only be quantitative values but may also comprise qualitative properties, like only transmitting information if a second object is moving. The thresholds may also consider reciprocal relationships, e.g. if a second object is moving in a direction x with a velocity y, a position signal is transmitted to the first object, when the measured distance falls below z. As another example considering basic principles, an information is not transmitted by the second emission unit if a velocity of the first object is below a certain threshold. However, the second emission unit may still transmit other information signals not depending on thresholds. Further, the detected information signals may also be prioritized. Accordingly, the second emission unit may only emit one information representing highest risk based on a defined ranking or underlying algorithm.").
However, Wang and Ferreira together do not explicitly teach determining reciprocal of determined mean. Instead, Wang and Ferreira teach light intensity.
Together Wang and Ferreira disclose a method to evaluate data gathered and Michallek is directed at getting reciprocal data from processed data. Michallek teaches:
Reciprocal of the determined mean (see at least [0076]; "Finally, each pixel's processed value is increased by one and its reciprocal is taken yielding new pseudo-intensities that are thus standardized according to myocardial baseline mean intensity and first-pass peak intensity and follow an asymptotic decreasing relationship.").
Collectively, Wang, Ferreira, and Michallek can evaluate data. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods used in Wang and Ferreira to include programming as taught by Michallek. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include the processing program for pixels from Michallek to the programming of Wang’s selector circuit which in turn would offer a reciprocal data point being generated from Wang’s processed values and further generate a reciprocal of the determined mean. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by including the pixel processing programming from Michallek into the program of Wang.
Regarding claim 17, Wang discloses [Note: what Wang fails to disclose is strike-through] The light detection and ranging system of claim 16, wherein determining the indicator of the intensity comprises "evaluating between groups of pixels of varying intensity." (Wang teaches see at least [0005]; "One embodiment may include a histogram circuit in which an average ambient light level is subtracted from each bin of a histogram generated by the histogram circuit." and Wang teaches see at least Fig. 5 and [0006]; "The selector circuit may be coupled to the sensor array and may output a first output of the first group of pixels and a first clock signal corresponding to the first disparity location based on an intensity of the first group of pixels may be greater than an intensity of the second group of pixels, and may output a second output of the second group of pixels and a second clock signal corresponding to the second disparity location based on the intensity of the second group of pixels being greater than the intensity of the second group of pixels. The gated time-to-digital converter circuit may be coupled to the output of the selector circuit, and may be configured to generate first timestamp information for the first output of the first group of pixels using the first clock signal based on the selector circuit outputting the first output of the first group of pixels and the first clock signal, and may be configured to generate second timestamp information for the second output of the second group of pixels using the second clock signal based on the selector circuit outputting the second output of the second group of pixels and the second clock signal...In yet another embodiment, the time-of-flight sensor may further include a histogram circuit that generates a histogram comprising bins that correspond to the first and second disparity locations." and Ferreira teaches see at least [2820]; "In such an arrangement, the scene can be scanned by two (or more) laser beams 7606, 7608 simultaneously, which decreases the measurement time of a full scan, which can be either used to increase the frame rate of a LIDAR scan or the precision by using the time gain for additional averaging. For example, in this case, two laser sources 7602, 7604 with 100 kHz repetition rate each can be used in parallel, each covering half of the total FOV 7612. Whereas in a conventional configuration, a single laser had to cover the full FOV 7612 with a certain averaging over each pixel, now half of the FOV 7612 needs to be completed in the same time." and Ferreira teaches see at least [4327]; "Thresholds may not only be quantitative values but may also comprise qualitative properties, like only transmitting information if a second object is moving. The thresholds may also consider reciprocal relationships, e.g. if a second object is moving in a direction x with a velocity y, a position signal is transmitted to the first object, when the measured distance falls below z. As another example considering basic principles, an information is not transmitted by the second emission unit if a velocity of the first object is below a certain threshold. However, the second emission unit may still transmit other information signals not depending on thresholds. Further, the detected information signals may also be prioritized. Accordingly, the second emission unit may only emit one information representing highest risk based on a defined ranking or underlying algorithm.").
However, Wang and Ferreira together do not explicitly teach determining reciprocal of determined mean. Instead, Wang and Ferreira teach light intensity.
Together Wang and Ferreira disclose a method to evaluate data gathered and Michallek is directed at getting reciprocal data from processed data. Michallek teaches:
Reciprocal of the determined mean (see at least [0076]; "Finally, each pixel's processed value is increased by one and its reciprocal is taken yielding new pseudo-intensities that are thus standardized according to myocardial baseline mean intensity and first-pass peak intensity and follow an asymptotic decreasing relationship.").
Collectively, Wang, Ferreira, and Michallek can evaluate data. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the methods used in Wang and Ferreira to include programming as taught by Michallek. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include the processing program for pixels from Michallek to the programming of Wang’s selector circuit which in turn would offer a reciprocal data point being generated from Wang’s processed values and further generate a reciprocal of the determined mean. Therefore, the claimed invention is reproduced by including the pixel processing programming from Michallek into the program of Wang.
Conclusion
/MARK ANTHONY FLORES/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648