Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 13 recites a “second shaft”, however, claim 13 and claim 1 do not recite a “first shaft”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 8-10, 12, 13, 16, 21, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bach, Joseph et al. (US 20040082251 A1). Bach teaches a showerhead (3+5; Figure 3A,3B,4,8,11-Applicant’s 200; Figure 7) provided on a process chamber (6; Figure 8; [0047]), the showerhead (3+5; Figure 3A,3B,4,8,11-Applicant’s 200; Figure 7) comprising: a body (5; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 210; Figure 7); an inlet space (2a; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 210a; Figure 7) in which a fluid is configured to flow through; and a plurality of spray holes (3a-c, 5a-c; Figure 4,11) provided on a lower surface of the body (5; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 210; Figure 7) and convnfigured to spray the fluid toward a substrate (21; Figure 8; [0047]), wherein the plurality of spray holes (3a-c, 5a-c; Figure 4,11) are inclined at an angle (Figure 11, <90º in 5, 90º in 3) with respect to the lower surface of the body (5; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 210; Figure 7), as claimed by claim 1
Bach further teaches:
The showerhead (3+5; Figure 3A,3B,4,8,11-Applicant’s 200; Figure 7) of claim 1, wherein the plurality of spray holes (3a-c, 5a-c; Figure 4,11) comprises: a plurality of first spray holes (first 3a-c, 5a-c; Figure 4,11) with an inclination angle (Figure 11, <90º in 5, 90º in 3) in a first direction, and a plurality of second spray holes (second 3a-c, 5a-c; Figure 4,11) with an inclination angle (Figure 11, <90º in 5, 90º in 3) in a second direction different from the first direction, and wherein the body (5; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 210; Figure 7) comprises a valve (3; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 220; Figure 7) configured to selectively open and close a flow of fluid through the plurality of first spray holes (first 3a-c, 5a-c; Figure 4,11) and the plurality of second spray holes (second 3a-c, 5a-c; Figure 4,11), as claimed by claim 7
The showerhead (3+5; Figure 3A,3B,4,8,11-Applicant’s 200; Figure 7) of claim 7, wherein the valve (3; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 220; Figure 7) comprises: a plate (3; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 221; Figure 7) comprising a plurality of openings (holes in 3; Figure 11) corresponding with the plurality of first spray holes (first 3a-c, 5a-c; Figure 4,11) and the plurality of second spray holes (second 3a-c, 5a-c; Figure 4,11), the plate (3; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 221; Figure 7) configured to rotate (70, 140; Figure 8; [0047]) and selectively align the plurality of openings (holes in 3; Figure 11) with the plurality of first spray holes (first 3a-c, 5a-c; Figure 4,11) or the plurality of second spray holes (second 3a-c, 5a-c; Figure 4,11) within the inlet space (2a; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 210a; Figure 7); and a shaft (2; Figure 8; [0047]) configured to rotate (70, 140; Figure 8; [0047]) the plate (3; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 221; Figure 7) between an opened state and a closed state, as claimed by claim 8
The showerhead (3+5; Figure 3A,3B,4,8,11-Applicant’s 200; Figure 7) of claim 8, wherein the plurality of first spray holes (first 3a-c, 5a-c; Figure 4,11) are provided in one or more first straight lines (Figures 5A-C) passing through a center of the lower surface of the body (5; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 210; Figure 7), wherein the plurality of second spray holes (second 3a-c, 5a-c; Figure 4,11) are provided in one or more second straight lines (Figures 5A-C) passing through the center of the lower surface of the body (5; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 210; Figure 7), and wherein the one or more first straight lines (Figures 5A-C) alternate with the one or more second straight lines (Figures 5A-C) about the center of the lower surface of the body (5; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 210; Figure 7), as claimed by claim 9
The showerhead (3+5; Figure 3A,3B,4,8,11-Applicant’s 200; Figure 7) of claim 9, wherein the plurality of openings (holes in 3; Figure 11) on the plate (3; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 221; Figure 7) are provided in a plurality of straight lines corresponding to the plurality of first spray holes (first 3a-c, 5a-c; Figure 4,11) and the plurality of second spray holes (second 3a-c, 5a-c; Figure 4,11), and wherein, in the opened state, the plurality of openings (holes in 3; Figure 11) are aligned with either the plurality of first spray holes (first 3a-c, 5a-c; Figure 4,11) or the plurality of second spray holes (second 3a-c, 5a-c; Figure 4,11), as claimed by claim 10
The showerhead (3+5; Figure 3A,3B,4,8,11-Applicant’s 200; Figure 7) of claim 10, wherein the valve (3; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 220; Figure 7) further comprises a first motor (70; Figure 8-”servo or stepper”; [0047]) connected to the shaft (2; Figure 8; [0047]) and configured to rotate (70, 140; Figure 8; [0047]) the plate (3; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 221; Figure 7) between the opened state and the closed state, and wherein the first motor (70; Figure 8-”servo or stepper”; [0047]) is a step motor configured to rotate (70, 140; Figure 8; [0047]) the plate (3; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 221; Figure 7) at a preset angle (Figure 5) in predetermined time intervals (Figure 12) and alternately align the plurality of openings (holes in 3; Figure 11) with the plurality of first spray holes (first 3a-c, 5a-c; Figure 4,11) and the plurality of second spray holes (second 3a-c, 5a-c; Figure 4,11) at each predetermined time interval (Figure 12), as claimed by claim 12
The showerhead (3+5; Figure 3A,3B,4,8,11-Applicant’s 200; Figure 7) of claim 1, further comprising a second shaft (between 71 and 70; Figure 8; [0047]) configured to rotate (70, 140; Figure 8; [0047]) the body (5; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 210; Figure 7) of the showerhead (3+5; Figure 3A,3B,4,8,11-Applicant’s 200; Figure 7), as claimed by claim 13
A substrate (21; Figure 8; [0047]) treatment apparatus comprising: a process chamber (6; Figure 8; [0047]) comprising a substrate (21; Figure 8; [0047]) treatment space and a disk (7; Figure 8) on which a substrate (21; Figure 8; [0047]) is seated; and the showerhead (3+5; Figure 3A,3B,4,8,11-Applicant’s 200; Figure 7) of claim 1 provided on an upper side of the disk (7; Figure 8) in the process chamber (6; Figure 8; [0047]) and configured to spray a fluid toward the substrate (21; Figure 8; [0047]) seated on the disk (7; Figure 8), as claimed by claim 16
A showerhead (3+5; Figure 3A,3B,4,8,11-Applicant’s 200; Figure 7) provided on a process chamber (6; Figure 8; [0047]), the showerhead (3+5; Figure 3A,3B,4,8,11-Applicant’s 200; Figure 7) comprising: a body (5; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 210; Figure 7); a pipe (1; Figure 8) protruding from the body (5; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 210; Figure 7) and connected to a fluid supply (160; Figure 8); an inlet space (2a; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 210a; Figure 7) configured to accommodate a fluid from the fluid supply (160; Figure 8); a plurality of spray holes (3a-c, 5a-c; Figure 4,11) provided on a lower surface of the body (5; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 210; Figure 7) and configured to spray the fluid toward a substrate (21; Figure 8; [0047]); and a valve (3; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 220; Figure 7) configured to selectively open and close a flow of fluid through the plurality of spray holes (3a-c, 5a-c; Figure 4,11), wherein the plurality of spray holes (3a-c, 5a-c; Figure 4,11) are inclined at an angle (Figure 11, <90º in 5, 90º in 3) with respect to the lower surface of the body (5; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 210; Figure 7), as claimed by claim 21
The showerhead (3+5; Figure 3A,3B,4,8,11-Applicant’s 200; Figure 7) according to claim 21, further comprising a second shaft (between 71 and 70; Figure 8; [0047]) configured to rotate (70, 140; Figure 8; [0047]) the body (5; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 210; Figure 7) of the showerhead (3+5; Figure 3A,3B,4,8,11-Applicant’s 200; Figure 7), wherein the valve (3; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 220; Figure 7) comprises: a plate (3; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 221; Figure 7) comprising a plurality of openings (holes in 3; Figure 11) corresponding with the plurality of spray holes (3a-c, 5a-c; Figure 4,11), the plate (3; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 221; Figure 7) configured to rotate (70, 140; Figure 8; [0047]) and selectively align the plurality of openings (holes in 3; Figure 11) with a number of the plurality of spray holes (3a-c, 5a-c; Figure 4,11); a shaft (2; Figure 8; [0047]) configured to rotate (70, 140; Figure 8; [0047]) the plate (3; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 221; Figure 7) between an opened state and a closed state, as claimed by claim 22
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 3, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Bach, Joseph et al. (US 20040082251 A1) in view of, if necessary, Nguyen; Andrew et al. (US 20140272211 A1). Bach is discussed above. Bach’s Figure 11 appears to show Bach’s inclination angle (Figure 11, <90º in 5, 90º in 3) within the claimed range. However, Bach does not quantify Back’s angle as being an inclination angle (Figure 11, <90º in 5, 90º in 3) of Back’s plurality of spray holes (3a-c, 5a-c; Figure 4,11) with respect to Back’s lower surface of Back’s body (5; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 210; Figure 7) is from 30° to 60° as claimed by claim 3 and 20.
If the Examiner’s grounds of anticipation are not accepted, then, Nguyen also teaches relatively positioned plates (210,220; Figure 2A-2D) with through holes and “acute” angle (theta; Figure 2A-[0048], [0051]) gas injeciton holes (212, 222; Figure 1,2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Bach to optimize Bach’s inclination angle (Figure 11, <90º in 5, 90º in 3) as taught by Nguyen.
Motivation for Bach to optimize Bach’s inclination angle (Figure 11, <90º in 5, 90º in 3) as taught by Nguyen is for “reducing lines of site” as taught by Nguyen ([0051]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bach, Joseph et al. (US 20040082251 A1) in view of Kulshreshtha; Prashant Kumar et al. (US 20160099147 A1). Bach is discussed above. Bach does not teach:
The showerhead (3+5; Figure 3A,3B,4,8,11-Applicant’s 200; Figure 7) of claim 1, wherein a separation of the plurality of spray holes (3a-c, 5a-c; Figure 4,11) increases from a center of the lower surface of the body (5; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 210; Figure 7) to an edge of the lower surface of the body (5; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 210; Figure 7), as claimed by claim 2
The substrate (21; Figure 8; [0047]) treatment apparatus of claim 16, wherein a separation of the plurality of spray holes (3a-c, 5a-c; Figure 4,11) of the showerhead (3+5; Figure 3A,3B,4,8,11-Applicant’s 200; Figure 7) increases from a center of the lower surface of the body (5; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 210; Figure 7) to an edge of the lower surface of the body (5; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 210; Figure 7), as claimed by claim 19
Kulshreshtha also teaches a wafer processing system (Figure 3) including a separation (522; 524; Figure 5A) of the plurality of spray holes (520; Figure 5A) of the showerhead (346; Figure 5A-Applicant’s 200; Figure 7) increases from a center of the lower surface of the body (346; Figure 5A-Applicant’s 210; Figure 7) to an edge of the lower surface of the body (346; Figure 5A-Applicant’s 210; Figure 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Bach to optimize Bach’s spray hole distribution as taught by Kulshreshtha.
Motivation for Bach to optimize Bach’s spray hole distribution as taught by Kulshreshtha is for “gas flow modulation” to impart control over “local stress and overlay error of one or more patterned films” as taught by Kulshreshtha ([0049]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Bach, Joseph et al. (US 20040082251 A1) in view of Nguyen; Andrew et al. (US 20140272211 A1). Bach does not teach Bach’s showerhead (3+5; Figure 3A,3B,4,8,11-Applicant’s 200; Figure 7) according to claim 21, wherein Bach’s inclination angle (Figure 11, <90º in 5, 90º in 3) of a number of Bach’s spray holes (3a-c, 5a-c; Figure 4,11) at an edge of Bach’s lower surface of Bach’s body (5; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 210; Figure 7) is larger than an inclination angle (Figure 11, <90º in 5, 90º in 3) of a number of Bach’s spray holes (3a-c, 5a-c; Figure 4,11) in a center of Bach’s lower surface of Bach’s body (5; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 210; Figure 7).
Nguyen is discussed above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Bach to optimize Bach’s inclination angle (Figure 11, <90º in 5, 90º in 3) as taught by Nguyen.
Motivation for Bach to optimize Bach’s inclination angle (Figure 11, <90º in 5, 90º in 3) as taught by Nguyen is for “reducing lines of site” as taught by Nguyen ([0051]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Bach, Joseph et al. (US 20040082251 A1) in view of Lee; Sang-Gon (US 7381274 B2). Bach is discussed above. Bach further teaches:
The showerhead (3+5; Figure 3A,3B,4,8,11-Applicant’s 200; Figure 7) of claim 8, wherein the valve (3; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 220; Figure 7) further comprises: a first motor (70; Figure 8-”servo or stepper”; [0047]) configured to rotate (70, 140; Figure 8; [0047]) the plate (3; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 221; Figure 7) between the opened state and the closed state, and a seal (18; Figure 8) providing a seal between Bach’s shaft (2; Figure 8; [0047]) and Bach’s process chamber (6; Figure 8; [0047]) – claim 11
Bach does not teach Bach’s seal (18; Figure 8) is a magnetic fluid seal – claim 11.
Lee also teaches a wafer processing apparatus (Figure 2) gas injection column (1; Figure 2, 5) that rotates relative to a stationary gas plenum (2; Figure 2). Lee’s injected gas is sealed from the rotating shaft by magnetic fluid o-ring pairs (10-12; Figure 2; column 4; line 61-column 5; line 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Bach to use Lee’s magnetic fluid o-ring pairs as taught by Lee.
Motivation for Bach to use Lee’s magnetic fluid o-ring pairs as taught by Lee is for “excellent sealing property” as taught by Lee (column 4; line 61-column 5; line 5).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Bach, Joseph et al. (US 20040082251 A1) in view of Kim; Do-Hyeong (US 20060102286 A1). Bach is discussed above. Bach further teaches the showerhead (3+5; Figure 3A,3B,4,8,11-Applicant’s 200; Figure 7) of claim 13, further comprising a pipe (1; Figure 8) protruding from the body (5; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 210; Figure 7) and connected to a fluid supply (160; Figure 8) and configured to supply the fluid into the inlet space (2a; Figure 8; [0047]-Applicant’s 210a; Figure 7), wherein the pipe (1; Figure 8) comprises: a fixed pipe (1; Figure 8) fixed to the process chamber (6; Figure 8; [0047]); and a rotating pipe (2; Figure 8) rotatably coupled to the fixed pipe (1; Figure 8) about an axial direction – claim 14
However, Bach does not teach wherein Bach’s second shaft (between 71 and 70; Figure 8; [0047]) comprises: a second motor; and a transmission connected to the second motor and configured to transmit a rotational force to Bach’s rotating pipe (2; Figure 8) – claim 14
Kim also teaches a wafer processing apparatus (Figure 1) including gas injection plates (131, 134; Figure 1,2) that have relative rotational movement restricting flow between perforations (132, 135; Figure 2) using two motors (142, 143; Figure 2; [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Bach to add an plural motors and transmission as taught by Kim.
Motivation for Bach to add an plural motors and transmission as taught by Kim is for independent movement as taught by Kim ([0034]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Bach, Joseph et al. (US 20040082251 A1) and Kim; Do-Hyeong (US 20060102286 A1) in view of Lee; Sang-Gon (US 7381274 B2). Bach is discussed above. Bach does not teach Bach’s showerhead (3+5; Figure 3A,3B,4,8,11-Applicant’s 200; Figure 7) of claim 14, wherein the second motor is provided on an upper portion of Bach’s process chamber (6; Figure 8; [0047]), wherein Bach’s second shaft (between 71 and 70; Figure 8; [0047]) is provided through a surface of Bach’s process chamber (6; Figure 8; [0047]), and wherein a magnetic fluid seal is provided between Bach’s second shaft (between 71 and 70; Figure 8; [0047]) and Bach’s process chamber (6; Figure 8; [0047]), as claimed by claim 15
Kim and Lee are discussed above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Bach to use Lee’s magnetic fluid o-ring pairs as taught by Lee and for Bach to add an plural motors and transmission as taught by Kim.
Motivation for Bach to use Lee’s magnetic fluid o-ring pairs as taught by Lee is for “excellent sealing property” as taught by Lee (column 4; line 61-column 5; line 5).
Motivation for Bach to add an plural motors and transmission as taught by Kim is for independent movement as taught by Kim ([0034]).
Claim 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Bach, Joseph et al. (US 20040082251 A1) in view of Kato; Hitoshi et al. (US 20160138159 A1). Bach os discussed above. Bach does not teach:
Bach’s substrate (21; Figure 8; [0047]) treatment apparatus of claim 16, wherein Bach’s disk (7; Figure 8) is provided with a plurality of pockets onto which Bach’s substrate (21; Figure 8; [0047]) is seated, and the plurality of pockets are configured to rotate on a plane by a first rotating assembly, as claimed by claim 17
Bach’s substrate (21; Figure 8; [0047]) treatment apparatus of claim 17, wherein Bach’s disk (7; Figure 8) is provided on an bottom surface of Bach’s process chamber (6; Figure 8; [0047]) and configured to rotate by a second rotating assembly, as claimed by claim 18
Kato teaches a planetary rotation substrate disk (Figure 3, 5, 6) with the claimed mechanics.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Bach to replace Bach’s disk with Kato’s disk.
Motivation for Bach to replace Bach’s disk with Kato’s disk is for “…, uniformity of the thickness of the SiO.sub.2 film in the circumferential direction of the wafer W can be improved.” as taught by kato ([0059]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Overlapping plates with relative motion include US 20100024727 A1; US 6872258 B2; US 11227747 B2; US 20170283948 A1; US 10533252 B2; US 6162323 A; US 20130098293 A1; US 20190148116 A1
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Examiner Rudy Zervigon whose telephone number is (571) 272- 1442. The examiner can normally be reached on a Monday through Thursday schedule from 8am through 6pm EST. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Any Inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Chemical and Materials Engineering art unit receptionist at (571) 272-1700. If the examiner cannot be reached please contact the examiner's supervisor, Parviz Hassanzadeh, at (571) 272- 1435.
/Rudy Zervigon/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716