DETAILED ACTION
Contents
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 2
Allowable Subject Matter 12
Conclusion 12
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-18, in the reply filed on 4/22/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Claims 19-20 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 13-16, 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam (US 2017/0330312 A1) in view of Mertens et al (US 2019/0052908 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nam teaches an image display apparatus comprising: a display (see abstract); and a signal processing device to output an image signal to the display (see abstract); wherein, in response to an input peak luminance of an input image being equal to or lower than a reference peak luminance (see 0100-0103), the signal processing device is configured to perform third tone mapping (see 0058, 0095). Nam does not teach expressly based on a combination of first tone mapping corresponding to the input peak luminance and second tone mapping corresponding to the reference peak luminance, and output a signal corresponding to the third tone mapping.
Mertens, in the same field of endeavor, teaches based on a combination of first tone mapping corresponding to the input peak luminance and second tone mapping corresponding to the reference peak luminance (see 0089, 0111-0115), and output a signal corresponding to the third tone mapping (see 0115).
It would have been obvious (before the effective filing date of the claimed invention) or (at the time the invention was made) to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nam to utilize the cited limitations as suggested by Mertens. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enable practical and quick generation of a good looking HDR gradings for various displays (see abstract). Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Nam, while the teaching of Mertens continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Regarding claims 2-3, 6-11, 13, Nam with Mertens teaches all elements as mentioned above in claim 1. Nam with Mertens does not teach expressly combining together the first tone mapping and the second tone mapping, the signal processing device is configured to increase the ratio of the first tone mapping to the second tone mapping as the gray level of the input image increases;
in response to the gray level of the input image being equal to or lower than a first gray level, the signal processing device is configured to perform the third tone mapping based on the second tone mapping, and wherein, in response to the gray level of the input image being between the first gray level and the input peak luminance, the signal processing device is configured to perform the third tone mapping based on a combination of the first tone mapping and the second tone mapping;
change the reference peak based on a set input;
increase the amount of luminance change for the third tone mapping as the difference between the input peak luminance and the reference peak luminance increases or the input peak luminance decreases in a state in which the input peak luminance of the input image is equal to or lower than the reference peak luminance;
in response to the gray level of the input image being equal to or lower than a first gray level, the signal processing device is configured to perform the third tone mapping based on the second tone mapping, and wherein, in response to the gray level of the input image being between the first gray level and the input peak luminance, the signal processing device is configured to perform the third tone mapping based on a combination of the first tone mapping and the second tone mapping, and increase the amount of luminance change for the third tone mapping as the difference between the input peak luminance and the reference peak luminance increases or the input peak luminance decreases;
in response to the input peak luminance of the input image being higher than a second reference peak luminance, the signal processing device is configured to perform sixth tone mapping based on a combination of fourth tone mapping corresponding to the input peak luminance and fifth tone mapping corresponding to the second reference peak luminance, and output signal corresponding to the sixth tone mapping;
when combining together the fourth tone mapping and the fifth tone mapping, the signal processing device is configured to increase the ratio of the fourth tone mapping to the fifth tone mapping as the gray level of the input image increases;
in response to the gray level of the input image being equal to or lower than a second gray level, the signal processing device is configured to perform the sixth tone mapping based on the fifth tone mapping, and wherein, in response to the gray level of the input image being between the second gray level and the input peak luminance, the signal processing device is configured to perform the sixth tone mapping based a combination of the fourth tone mapping and the fifth tone mapping;
in response to the gray level of the input image being equal to or lower than a second gray level, the signal processing device is configured to perform the sixth tone mapping based on the fifth tone mapping, and wherein, in response to the gray level of the input image being between the second gray level and the input peak luminance, the signal processing device is configured to perform the sixth tone mapping based on a combination of the fourth tone mapping and the fifth tone mapping, and decrease the amount of luminance change for the sixth tone mapping as the difference between the input peak luminance and the second reference peak luminance increases or the input peak luminance increases.
Mertens, in the same field of endeavor, teaches combining together the first tone mapping and the second tone mapping, the signal processing device is configured to increase the ratio of the first tone mapping to the second tone mapping as the gray level of the input image increases (see 0111-0115));
in response to the gray level of the input image being equal to or lower than a first gray level, the signal processing device is configured to perform the third tone mapping based on the second tone mapping, and wherein, in response to the gray level of the input image being between the first gray level and the input peak luminance, the signal processing device is configured to perform the third tone mapping based on a combination of the first tone mapping and the second tone mapping (see 0118);
change the reference peak based on a set input (see 0109);
increase the amount of luminance change for the third tone mapping as the difference between the input peak luminance and the reference peak luminance increases or the input peak luminance decreases in a state in which the input peak luminance of the input image is equal to or lower than the reference peak luminance (see 0112-0115);
in response to the gray level of the input image being equal to or lower than a first gray level, the signal processing device is configured to perform the third tone mapping based on the second tone mapping, and wherein, in response to the gray level of the input image being between the first gray level and the input peak luminance, the signal processing device is configured to perform the third tone mapping based on a combination of the first tone mapping and the second tone mapping, and increase the amount of luminance change for the third tone mapping as the difference between the input peak luminance and the reference peak luminance increases or the input peak luminance decreases (see 0113-0118);
in response to the input peak luminance of the input image being higher than a second reference peak luminance, the signal processing device is configured to perform sixth tone mapping based on a combination of fourth tone mapping corresponding to the input peak luminance and fifth tone mapping corresponding to the second reference peak luminance, and output signal corresponding to the sixth tone mapping (see 0111-0115);
when combining together the fourth tone mapping and the fifth tone mapping, the signal processing device is configured to increase the ratio of the fourth tone mapping to the fifth tone mapping as the gray level of the input image increases (see 0111-0118);
in response to the gray level of the input image being equal to or lower than a second gray level, the signal processing device is configured to perform the sixth tone mapping based on the fifth tone mapping, and wherein, in response to the gray level of the input image being between the second gray level and the input peak luminance, the signal processing device is configured to perform the sixth tone mapping based a combination of the fourth tone mapping and the fifth tone mapping (see 0118);
in response to the gray level of the input image being equal to or lower than a second gray level, the signal processing device is configured to perform the sixth tone mapping based on the fifth tone mapping, and wherein, in response to the gray level of the input image being between the second gray level and the input peak luminance, the signal processing device is configured to perform the sixth tone mapping based on a combination of the fourth tone mapping and the fifth tone mapping, and decrease the amount of luminance change for the sixth tone mapping as the difference between the input peak luminance and the second reference peak luminance increases or the input peak luminance increases (see 0113-0118).
It would have been obvious (before the effective filing date of the claimed invention) or (at the time the invention was made) to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nam with Mertens to utilize the cited limitations as suggested by Mertens. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enable practical and quick generation of a good looking HDR gradings for various displays (see abstract). Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Nam with Mertens, while the teaching of Mertens continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Regarding claim 4, 14, Nam teaches in response to the gray level of the input image being the input peak luminance, the signal processing device is configured to change the gray level into a set gray level (see 0103, 0109);
in response to receiving a first input image corresponding to a first input peak, the signal processing device is configured to perform the third tone mapping to output the first input image after converting the first input peak into a set luminance, and wherein, in response to receiving a second input image corresponding to a second input peak higher than the first input peak, the signal processing device is configured to perform the third tone mapping to convert the second input peak into a set luminance and output the second input image after converting the first input peak into a first luminance lower than the set luminance (see 0101-0109,).
Regarding claim 5, Nam with Mertens teaches all elements as mentioned above in claim 4. Nam with Mertens does not teach expressly change the set gray level based on a set input.
Mertens, in the same field of endeavor, teaches change the set gray level based on a set input (see 0109).
It would have been obvious (before the effective filing date of the claimed invention) or (at the time the invention was made) to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nam with Mertens to utilize the cited limitations as suggested by Mertens. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enable practical and quick generation of a good looking HDR gradings for various displays (see abstract). Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Nam with Mertens, while the teaching of Mertens continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Regarding claim 15, Nam with Mertens teaches all elements as mentioned above in claim 14. Nam with Mertens does not teach expressly in response to receiving a first input image corresponding to a first input peak, the signal processing device is configured to perform the third tone mapping to output the first input image after converting the first input peak into a set luminance, and wherein, in response to receiving a second input image corresponding to a second input peak higher than the first input peak, the signal processing device is configured to perform the third tone mapping to convert the second input peak into a set luminance and output the second input image after converting the first input peak into a first luminance lower than the set luminance.
Mertens, in the same field of endeavor, teaches in response to receiving a first input image corresponding to a first input peak, the signal processing device is configured to perform the third tone mapping to output the first input image after converting the first input peak into a set luminance, and wherein, in response to receiving a second input image corresponding to a second input peak higher than the first input peak, the signal processing device is configured to perform the third tone mapping to convert the second input peak into a set luminance and output the second input image after converting the first input peak into a first luminance lower than the set luminance (see 0111-0115).
It would have been obvious (before the effective filing date of the claimed invention) or (at the time the invention was made) to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nam with Mertens to utilize the cited limitations as suggested by Mertens. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enable practical and quick generation of a good looking HDR gradings for various displays (see abstract). Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Nam with Mertens, while the teaching of Mertens continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Regarding claim 16, Nam teaches in response to receiving a fourth input image corresponding to a fourth input peak, the signal processing device is configured to perform the sixth tone mapping to output the fourth input image after converting the fourth input peak into a set luminance, and wherein, in response to receiving a fifth input image corresponding to a fifth input peak higher than the fourth input peak, the signal processing device is configured to perform the sixth tone mapping to convert the fifth input peak into a set luminance and output the fifth input image after converting the fourth input peak into a third luminance lower than the set luminance (see 0100, 0103, 0105-0107).
Regarding claim 18, Nam teaches an image display apparatus comprising: a display (see abstract); and a signal processing device to output an image signal to the display (see abstract), wherein, in response to an input peak luminance of an input image being higher than a reference peak luminance (see 0100, 0105-0107), the signal processing device is configured to perform third tone mapping (see 0058, 0095). Nam does not teach expressly based on a combination of first tone mapping corresponding to the input peak luminance and second tone mapping corresponding to the reference peak luminance, and output a signal corresponding to the third tone mapping.
Mertens, in the same field of endeavor, teaches based on a combination of first tone mapping corresponding to the input peak luminance and second tone mapping corresponding to the reference peak luminance (see 0089, 0111-0115), and output a signal corresponding to the third tone mapping (see 0115).
It would have been obvious (before the effective filing date of the claimed invention) or (at the time the invention was made) to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Nam to utilize the cited limitations as suggested by Mertens. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to enable practical and quick generation of a good looking HDR gradings for various displays (see abstract). Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in the manner explained above using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a “fundamental” operating principle of Nam, while the teaching of Mertens continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12, 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 12, none of the references of record alone or in combination suggest or fairly teach wherein the signal processing device is configured to decrease the amount of luminance change for the sixth tone mapping as the difference between the input peak luminance and the second reference peak luminance increases or the input peak luminance increases in a state in which the input peak luminance of the input image is higher than the reference peak luminance.
Regarding claim 17, none of the references of record alone or in combination suggest or fairly teach wherein, in response to receiving a sixth input image corresponding to a sixth input peak higher than the fifth input peak, the signal processing device is configured to perform the sixth tone mapping to convert the sixth input peak into the set luminance and output the sixth input image after converting the fourth input peak into a fourth luminance lower than the third luminance.
Conclusion
Telephone: (571)270-1576 | Fax: 571.270.2576 | Edward.Park@uspto.gov
For email communications, please notate MPEP 502.03, which outlines procedures pertaining to communications via the internet and authorization. A sample authorization form is cited within MPEP 502.03, section II.
The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9-6 CST.
/EDWARD PARK/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2666