DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mortun (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0112154).
Regarding claim 1, in Figures 4A – 4B, Mortun discloses an apparatus comprising: a base (142) comprising a keeper (207; Figures 5, 6A, 6B); a lid (155) attached to the base via a hinge (156; Figure 4A) wherein the lid comprises a tang (205; Figures 4B, 6A) wherein the lid is operative to hingedly close on the base, wherein, when the lid is closed on the base, the keeper is operative to retain the tang (Figures 4A, 6B); and a tension element (208; Figures 6A, 6B) disposed between the base and the lid wherein the lid is operative to slide relative to the base to compress the tension element wherein when the tension element is at a first compression level, the keeper retains the tang (lid 155, via striker 204 (which includes cavity 205), contacts protrusion 207 and causes protrusion 207 to retract into wall surface 212, against the bias of the spring mechanism 208. As the lid 155 continues to close, protrusion 207 eventually becomes aligned with cavity 205 on striker 204 and the spring mechanism 208 forces the protrusion 207 into the cavity 205 of striker 204, thereby securing the lid 155 in the closed position, paragraph [0032]; Figure 6B, lid 155 is fully closed. In this position, spring 208 is extended (i.e., first compression level), paragraph [0033]) and when the tension element is at a second compression level greater than the first compression level, the keeper does not retain the tang (when lid 155 is opened, protrusion 207 moves out of cavity 205 of striker 204 and allows lid 155 to open. In this position, spring 208 is compressed and protrusion 207 is retracted into wall 212; paragraphs [0032] – [0033], Figure 6A).
Regarding claim 2, Mortun discloses wherein the tension element comprises a spring (paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 3, Mortun discloses wherein the base further comprises a first locking tab (200, 202; paragraph [0031], Figure 4B).
Regarding claim 4, Mortun discloses wherein the lid further comprises a second locking tab (204, Figure 4B).
Regarding claim 5, Mortun discloses wherein a first locking tab hole in the first locking tab aligns with a second locking tab hole in the second locking tab when the tension element is at the first compression level (paragraph [0031], Figure 4B).
Regarding claim 6, Mortun discloses wherein a first locking tab hole in the first locking tab does not align with a second locking tab hole in the second locking tab when the tension element is at the second compression level (paragraph [0031], Figure 4B).
Regarding claim 7, Mortun discloses wherein a first locking tab hole in the first locking tab and a second locking tab hole in the second locking tab are operative to receive a locking device when the tension element is at the first compression level (paragraph [0031], Figure 4B).
Regarding claim 8, Mortun discloses wherein the locking device comprises a padlock (Figure 4B).
Regarding claim 9, Mortun discloses wherein the hinge comprises: a first hinge pin disposed on the base inserted in a first hinge hole disposed on the lid; and a second hinge pin disposed on the base inserted in a second hinge hole disposed on the lid (Figure 6A).
Regarding claim 10, Mortun discloses wherein the tension element is disposed between the first hinge pin and the first hinge hole (Figures 6A, 6B).
Regarding claim 11, Mortun discloses wherein the tension element comprises a folded spring (Figures 6A, 6B).
Regarding claim 12, in Figures 4A – 4B, Mortun discloses an apparatus comprising: a base (142) comprising a keeper (207; Figures 5, 6A, 6B); a lid (155) attached to the base via a hinge (156; Figure 4A) wherein the lid comprises a tang (205; Figures 4B, 6A) wherein the lid is operative to hingedly close on the base, wherein, when the lid is closed on the base, the keeper is operative to retain the tang (Figures 4A, 6B), wherein the hinge comprises: a first hinge pin disposed on the base inserted in a first hinge hole disposed on the lid, and a second hinge pin disposed on the base inserted in a second hinge hole disposed on the lid (Figures 6A, 6B); and a tension element (208; Figures 6A, 6B) disposed between the base and the lid wherein the lid is operative to slide relative to the base to compress the tension element wherein when the tension element is at a first compression level, the keeper retains the tang (lid 155, via striker 204 (which includes cavity 205), contacts protrusion 207 and causes protrusion 207 to retract into wall surface 212, against the bias of the spring mechanism 208. As the lid 155 continues to close, protrusion 207 eventually becomes aligned with cavity 205 on striker 204 and the spring mechanism 208 forces the protrusion 207 into the cavity 205 of striker 204, thereby securing the lid 155 in the closed position, paragraph [0032]; Figure 6B, lid 155 is fully closed. In this position, spring 208 is extended (i.e., first compression level), paragraph [0033]) and when the tension element is at a second compression level greater than the first compression level, the keeper does not retain the tang (when lid 155 is opened, protrusion 207 moves out of cavity 205 of striker 204 and allows lid 155 to open. In this position, spring 208 is compressed and protrusion 207 is retracted into wall 212; paragraphs [0032] – [0033], Figure 6A).
Regarding claim 13, Mortun discloses wherein the tension element is disposed between the first hinge pin and the first hinge hole (Figures 6A, 6B).
Regarding claim 14, Mortun discloses wherein the tension element is disposed between the second hinge pin and the second hinge hole (Figures 6A, 6B).
Regarding claim 15, Mortun discloses wherein the tension element comprises a spring (paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 16, in Figures 4A – 4B, Mortun discloses an apparatus comprising: a base (142) comprising a keeper (207; Figures 5, 6A, 6B), wherein the base further comprises a first locking tab (200, 202; paragraph [0031], Figure 4B); a lid (155) attached to the base via a hinge (156; Figure 4A) wherein the lid comprises a tang (205; Figures 4B, 6A) wherein the lid is operative to hingedly close on the base, wherein, when the lid is closed on the base, the keeper is operative to retain the tang (Figures 4A, 6B), wherein the lid further comprises a second locking tab (204, Figure 4B); and a tension element (208; Figures 6A, 6B) disposed between the base and the lid wherein the lid is operative to slide relative to the base to compress the tension element wherein when the tension element is at a first compression level, the keeper retains the tang (lid 155, via striker 204 (which includes cavity 205), contacts protrusion 207 and causes protrusion 207 to retract into wall surface 212, against the bias of the spring mechanism 208. As the lid 155 continues to close, protrusion 207 eventually becomes aligned with cavity 205 on striker 204 and the spring mechanism 208 forces the protrusion 207 into the cavity 205 of striker 204, thereby securing the lid 155 in the closed position, paragraph [0032]; Figure 6B, lid 155 is fully closed. In this position, spring 208 is extended (i.e., first compression level), paragraph [0033]) and when the tension element is at a second compression level greater than the first compression level, the keeper does not retain the tang (when lid 155 is opened, protrusion 207 moves out of cavity 205 of striker 204 and allows lid 155 to open. In this position, spring 208 is compressed and protrusion 207 is retracted into wall 212; paragraphs [0032] – [0033], Figure 6A) wherein a first locking tab hole in the first locking tab aligns with a second locking tab hole in the second locking tab when the tension element is at the first compression level and wherein the first locking tab hole in the first locking tab does not align with the second locking tab hole in the second locking tab when the tension element is at the second compression level (Figures 6A, 6B).
Regarding claim 17, Mortun discloses wherein the first locking tab hole in the first locking tab and the second locking tab hole in the second locking tab are operative to receive a locking device when the tension element is at the first compression level (paragraph [0031], Figure 4B).
Regarding claim 18, Mortun discloses wherein the hinge comprises: a first hinge pin disposed on the base inserted in a first hinge hole disposed on the lid; and a second hinge pin disposed on the base inserted in a second hinge hole disposed on the lid (Figure 6A).
Regarding claim 19, Mortun discloses wherein the tension element is disposed between the first hinge pin and the first hinge hole (Figures 6A, 6B).
Regarding claim 20, Mortun discloses wherein the tension element comprises a folded spring (Figures 6A, 6B).
Conclusion
TREMESHA W. BURNS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/TREMESHA W BURNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847