DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a gripping assembly”, “a conduit tension sensing assembly”, and “a conduit angle sensing assembly” in claims 1 and 11, “gripping members” in claim 9, and “gripping devices” in claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is unclear what the scope of “a conduit tension sensing assembly” in claims 1 and 11 encompasses. Paragraph [0022] describes structure including an elongate member, a support member, and a sensor that measures an angle. It is unclear how measuring an angle is used to calculate a tension.
Then paragraph [0023] describes how the gripping devices bias slack in the conduit to assist in obtaining a tension measurement. It is unclear if the function of sensing conduit tension is a calculation based off a measured angle sensor as implied in paragraph [0022] or is measured by sensor 206 as described in paragraph [0023] and is calculated with respect to a target set point with the reel speed adjusted if the sensor is outside a range. It is further unclear if the gripping devices should be part of the structure performing the function of sensing conduit tension.
It is noted that claims 2 and 3 (as well as claims 12 and 13) contain the same language except claim 2 (and 12) recite “the conduit tension assembly” whereas claim 3 (and 13) recite “the conduit angle sensing assembly. It is unclear how the exact same recited structure in claims 2 and 3 perform the different functions sensing the conduit angle and sensing the conduit tension. It is also noted that claims 2 and 10 (and 12 and 20) recite “the conduit tension assembly” which lacks proper antecedent basis as claims 1 and 11 recite “a conduit tension sensing assembly”.
So, it is unclear what the corresponding structure is for “a conduit tension sensing assembly” and what would constitute equivalents thereof.
Claim 12 recites “the frame” in line 2. It is unclear if this refers to the vehicle frame or the support frame previously recited in claim 11.
Claim 18 recites “the traverser” in line 1. This term lacks proper antecedent basis in the claims and it is unclear what previously recited structure is being referred to. Noted, claim 18 is dependent on claim 16.
Claim 20 recites “the frame” twice in line 2. It is unclear if this refers to the vehicle frame or the support frame previously recited in claim 11.
In light of the above, prior art will be applied to the claims as the claims can be reasonably construed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 (as understood) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frazier (US Patent Number 3,753,409) in view of KR20190106898A, hereinafter “LG”.
Re claim 1, Frazier discloses a conduit control assembly in an irrigation vehicle (see the title and Fig. 1) having a reel (207, 208, 209, see especially Fig. 9) supporting a flexible conduit (210) such that the conduit can be extended from or retracted onto said reel, the conduit control assembly, comprising: a frame (including 203, 225, 226) supporting a gripping assembly (including rollers 230; note the applicant describes rollers as an example of a gripping device in paragraph [0020] of the specification). While the reeling and unreeling of the conduit results in tension in the conduit, it is unclear if this would constitute a conduit tension sensing assembly coupled with the frame; and there does not appear to be a conduit angle sensing assembly coupled with the frame.
LG discloses a similar hose reel (130) vehicle (110, 111, see Fig. 1) with conduit (140). LG also discloses a conduit tension sensing assembly (see line 3 of the claims and the portions of the translated description below); and a conduit angle sensing assembly (including first and second angle sensors, see lines 13-17 of the claims and the portions of the translated description below). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have added the conduit tension sensing assembly and conduit angle sensing assembly of LG and coupled them with the frame of Frazier in order to sense the tension in the conduit and sense the angle of the conduit as taught by LG.
Re claim 2, the modified Frazier discloses the conduit control assembly of claim 1, wherein the conduit tension assembly includes an elongate member (part of boom support 250 in Frazier) extending from the frame, a support member (including rollers 251, 252 in Frazier) connected with the elongate member and a sensor (the tension sensor and/or one or both the angle sensors in LG), the sensor configured to calculate an angle of the elongate member about an axis with respect to the frame.
Re claim 3, the modified Frazier discloses the conduit control assembly of claim 1, wherein the conduit angle sensing assembly includes an elongate member (part of boom support 250 in Frazier) extending from the frame, a support member (including rollers 251, 252 in Frazier) connected with the elongate member and a sensor (the tension sensor and/or one or both the angle sensors in LG), the sensor configured to calculate an angle of the elongate member about an axis with respect to the frame.
Re claims 4 and 5, the modified Frazier discloses the conduit control assembly of claim 3, wherein the axis is horizontal or vertical depending on the desired angle(s) to be measured.
Re claim 6, the modified Frazier discloses the conduit control assembly of claim 1, wherein the conduit angle sensing assembly includes an elongate member extending from the frame (part of boom support 250 in Frazier), a support member (including rollers 251, 252 in Frazier) connected with the elongate member, a first sensor and a second sensor (the angle sensors in LG), the first sensor configured to calculate a first angle of the elongate member about a first axis with respect to the frame and the second sensor configured to calculate a second angle of the elongate member about a second axis with respect to the frame, the second axis orthogonal to the first axis. The measured angles with respect to various axis are considered obvious variations depending on the desired angle(s) to be measured.
Re claim 7, the modified Frazier discloses the conduit control assembly of claim 1, further comprising a traverser (including 235, 236, 237, 238, 239 in Frazier), the traverser including an actuator (sprockets 236, 237 and chain 235) configured to position the frame (225, 226) laterally with respect to the vehicle.
Re claim 8, the modified Frazier discloses the conduit control assembly of claim 7, wherein the traverser includes linkage arms (read as 238, 239) rotatably pivotable with respect to a bracket.
Re claim 9, the modified Frazier discloses the conduit control assembly of claim 1, wherein the gripping assembly includes first and second gripping members (including rollers 230; note the applicant describes rollers as an example of a gripping device in paragraph [0020] of the specification) supported by the frame.
Re claim 10, the modified Frazier discloses the conduit control assembly of claim 1, wherein the conduit tension assembly is positioned on a first side of the frame and the conduit angle sensing assembly is positioned on a second side of the frame, opposite the first side. It is unclear what the scope of the assemblies encompass. However, it would have been obvious to placed them on opposite sides of the frame for balance.
Re claim 11, Frazier discloses a crop input application vehicle (see the title and Fig. 1), comprising: a vehicle frame (including 201) having a reel (207, 208, 209, see especially Fig. 9) supporting a flexible conduit (210) such that the conduit can be extended from or retracted onto said reel; a conduit control assembly, comprising a support frame (including 203, 225, 226) supporting a gripping assembly (including rollers 230; note the applicant describes rollers as an example of a gripping device in paragraph [0020] of the specification).
While the reeling and unreeling of the conduit results in tension in the conduit, it is unclear if this would constitute a conduit tension sensing assembly coupled with the support frame; and there does not appear to be a conduit angle sensing assembly coupled with the support frame.
LG discloses a similar hose reel (130) vehicle (110, 111, see Fig. 1) with conduit (140). LG also discloses a conduit tension sensing assembly (see line 3 of the claims and the portions of the translated description below); and a conduit angle sensing assembly (including first and second angle sensors, see lines 13-17 of the claims and the portions of the translated description below). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have added the conduit tension sensing assembly and conduit angle sensing assembly of LG and coupled them with the support frame of Frazier in order to sense the tension in the conduit and sense the angle of the conduit as taught by LG.
Re claim 12, the modified Frazier discloses the vehicle of claim 11, wherein the conduit tension assembly includes an elongate member (part of boom support 250 in Frazier) extending from the frame, a support member (including rollers 251, 252 in Frazier) connected with the elongate member and a sensor (the tension sensor and/or one or both the angle sensors in LG), the sensor configured to calculate an angle of the elongate member about an axis with respect to the support frame.
Re claim 13, the modified Frazier discloses the vehicle of claim 11, wherein the conduit angle sensing assembly includes an elongate member (part of boom support 250 in Frazier) extending from the frame, a support member (including rollers 251, 252 in Frazier) connected with the elongate member and a sensor (the tension sensor and/or one or both the angle sensors in LG), the sensor configured to calculate an angle of the elongate member about an axis with respect to the frame.
Re claims 14 and 15, the modified Frazier discloses the vehicle of claim 12, wherein the axis is horizontal or vertical depending on the desired angle(s) to be measured.
Re claim 16, the modified Frazier discloses the vehicle of claim 11, wherein the conduit angle sensing assembly includes an elongate member extending from the support frame (part of boom support 250 in Frazier), a support member (including rollers 251, 252 in Frazier) connected with the elongate member, a first sensor and a second sensor (the angle sensors in LG), the first sensor configured to calculate a first angle of the elongate member about a first axis with respect to the support frame and the second sensor configured to calculate a second angle of the elongate member about a second axis with respect to the support frame, the second axis orthogonal to the first axis. The measured angles with respect to various axis are considered obvious variations depending on the desired angle(s) to be measured.
Re claim 17, the modified Frazier discloses the vehicle of claim 11, further comprising a traverser (including 235, 236, 237, 238, 239 in Frazier), the traverser including an actuator (sprockets 236, 237 and chain 235) configured to position the support frame (225, 226) laterally with respect to the vehicle frame.
Re claim 18, the modified Frazier discloses the vehicle of claim 16, wherein the traverser includes linkage arms (read as 238, 239) rotatably pivotable with respect to a bracket.
Re claim 19, the modified Frazier discloses the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the gripping assembly includes first and second gripping devices (including rollers 230; note the applicant describes rollers as an example of a gripping device in paragraph [0020] of the specification) having the conduit positioned therebetween.
Re claim 20, the modified Frazier discloses the vehicle of claim 11, wherein the conduit tension assembly is positioned on a first side of the frame and the conduit angle sensing assembly is positioned on a second side of the frame, opposite the first side. It is unclear what the scope of the assemblies encompass. However, it would have been obvious to placed them on opposite sides of the frame for balance.
Conclusion
/ERIC KEASEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753