CTNF 18/652,502 CTNF 100437 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-36 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(d): (d) REFERENCE IN DEPENDENT FORMS.—Subject to subsection (e), a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, fourth paragraph: Subject to the following paragraph [i.e., the fifth paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112], a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers. Claims 4, 8, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. In the purpose of compact prosecution , claim 4 has been interpretated as dependent of claim 3. In the purpose of compact prosecution , claim 8 has been interpretated as dependent of claim 7. In the purpose of compact prosecution , claim 14 has been interpretated as dependent of claim 1. In the purpose of compact prosecution , claim 15 has been interpretated as dependent of claim 14. In the purpose of compact prosecution , claim 16 has been interpretated as dependent of claim 14. In the purpose of compact prosecution , claim 17 has been interpretated as dependent of claim 14. In the purpose of compact prosecution , claim 18 has been interpretated as dependent of claim 1. In the purpose of compact prosecution , claim 19 has been interpretated as dependent of claim 18. In the purpose of compact prosecution , claim 20 has been interpretated as dependent of claim 19. The balance of claims are rejected for being dependent upon an already rejected claim. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kitagawa et al. (US20220157930A1-Kitagawa30) . Regarding claim 1, Kitagawa30 discloses a capacitance device (Title), comprising: a substrate (Substrate 20-Examiner's annotated Fig 1B); a bottom-plate coupled to the substrate (Bottom plate 21 coupled to substrate 20-Examiner's annotated Fig 1B); an insulator coupled to the bottom-plate (Insulator 22/25 coupled to Bottom plate 21-Examiner's annotated Fig 1B); and a top-plate coupled to the insulator (Top plate 23 coupled to Insulator 22); wherein the top-plate includes a flat portion (Flat portion of Top plate 23 as shown in a dashed line rectangle-Examiner's annotated Fig 1B) and a curved portion (Curved portion of Top plate 23 as shown in a dashed line rectangle-Examiner's annotated Fig 1B). PNG media_image1.png 785 1259 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 2, Kitagawa30 discloses all the elements of claim 1, as noted above. Kitagawa30 further discloses a capacitance device wherein the substrate is a semiconductor or an insulator (substrate 20 having insulating properties so being an insulator-[0034] L5, [0038]; Substrate 20 being a silicon substrate so being a semiconductor-[0039] L1-2). Regarding claim 3, Kitagawa30 discloses all the elements of claim 1, as noted above. Kitagawa30 further discloses a capacitance device wherein the curved portion of the top-plate is at a first end of the flat portion of the top-plate (Curved portion of Top plate 23 being at the first end of Flat portion of Top plate 23-Examiner's annotated Fig 1B). Regarding claim 4, Kitagawa30 discloses all the elements of claim 3, as noted above. Kitagawa30 further discloses a capacitance device wherein the curved portion of the top-plate is also at a second end of the flat portion of the top-plate (Curved portion of Top plate 23 being at the second end of Flat portion of Top plate 23-Examiner's annotated Fig 1B). Regarding claim 5, Kitagawa30 discloses all the elements of claim 1, as noted above. Kitagawa30 further discloses a capacitance device wherein the curved portion of the top-plate surrounds the flat portion of the top-plate (Curved portion of Top plate 23 surrounding Flat portion of Top plate 23-Examiner's annotated Fig 1A). PNG media_image2.png 493 731 media_image2.png Greyscale Regarding claim 6, Kitagawa30 discloses all the elements of claim 1, as noted above. Kitagawa30 further discloses a capacitance device wherein the flat portion of the top-plate starts at a center of the top-plate and ends at the curved portion of the top-plate (Flat portion of Top plate 23 starting at the center of the top plate and ending at the curved portion of the top plate 23-Examiner's annotated Fig 1B). Regarding claim 7, Kitagawa30 discloses all the elements of claim 1, as noted above. Kitagawa30 further discloses a capacitance device wherein the curved portion of the top-plate includes an upwards curved portion (Curved portion of Top plate 23 including an upward portion-Examiner's annotated Fig 1B). Regarding claim 8, Kitagawa30 discloses all the elements of claim 7, as noted above. Kitagawa30 further discloses a capacitance device wherein the upwards curved portion is at a predetermined distance from the center of the top-plate (The upward curved portion of top plate 23 extending flat along the cavity 25A bottom from the center of the flat portion, and then up along the trench sidewalls, the predetermined size of the cavity 25A making the sidewalls at a predetermined distance from the center of the bottom flat portion-Fig 1B). Regarding claim 9, Kitagawa30 discloses all the elements of claim 8, as noted above. Kitagawa30 further discloses a capacitance device wherein the upwards curved portion defines a bend in the top-plate (transition between the bottom flat portion of top plate 23 and the rising sidewalls of cavity 25A defining a bend in the top-plate 23-Fig 1B, [0052]). PNG media_image1.png 785 1259 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 10, Kitagawa30 discloses all the elements of claim 1, as noted above. Kitagawa30 further discloses a capacitance device wherein the flat portion of the top-plate is at a first distance from the bottom-plate (Flat portion of Top plate 23 starting at the center of the top plate and ending at the curved portion of the top plate 23 at a first distance from the center indicated by the vertical dashed line-Examiner's annotated Fig 1B); and wherein the curved portion of the top-plate is at a second distance from the bottom-plate (Curved portion of Top plate 23 being at the second end of Flat portion of Top plate 23 including an upward portion at a second predetermined distance from the center of the top plate 23-Examiner's annotated Fig 1B). Regarding claim 11, Kitagawa30 discloses all the elements of claim 12, as noted above. Kitagawa30 further discloses a capacitance device wherein the second distance is greater than the first distance (Curved portion of Top plate 23 being at the second end of Flat portion of Top plate 23 including an upward portion at a second predetermined distance from the center of the top plate 23 greater than the first distance-Examiner's annotated Fig 1B). Regarding claim 12, Kitagawa30 discloses all the elements of claim 1, as noted above. Kitagawa30 further discloses a capacitance device wherein the insulator has, a first thickness under the flat portion of the top-plate (Insulator 22 of insulator 22/25 has a first thickness under the flat portion of top-plate 23-Examiner's annotated Fig 1B) ; and a second thickness under the curved portion of the top-plate (Insulator 22/25 coupled to Bottom plate 21 having a first thickness corresponding to the thickness of 22 under the flat portion, and a second thickness under the curved portion corresponding to the thickness of 22 and 25-Examiner's annotated Fig 1B). Regarding claim 13, Kitagawa30 discloses all the elements of claim 1, as noted above. Kitagawa30 further discloses a capacitance device wherein the bottom-plate includes a first end, a middle area, and a second end (Bottom plate 21 coupled to substrate 20 including a first/left end on the left side of the middle area and a second/right end at the right of the middle area-Examiner's annotated Fig 1B); and wherein the first end is at one side of the middle area (Bottom plate 21 coupled to substrate 20 including a first/left end on the left side of the middle area and a second/right end at the right of the middle area-Examiner's annotated Fig 1B) and the second end is at another side of the middle area (Bottom plate 21 coupled to substrate 20 including a first/left end on the left side of the middle area and a second/right end at the right of the middle area-Examiner's annotated Fig 1B). PNG media_image1.png 785 1259 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 14, Kitagawa30 discloses all the elements of claim 1, as noted above. Kitagawa30 further discloses a capacitance device wherein the insulator includes a first insulator portion at the first end of the bottom-plate (insulator 22/25 including a first/ Left insulator portion 25 at the first end of the bottom-plate 21-Examiner's annotated Fig 1B); and wherein the insulator also includes a second insulator portion that overlays the first insulator portion, the first end, the middle area, and the second end of the bottom-plate (Insulator 22/25 including second insulator portion 22 overlaying first/ Left insulator portion 25 at the end of Bottom plate 21, the first/ Left end, middle area, and second/ Right end of Bottom plate 21-Examiner's annotated Fig 1B). Regarding claim 15, Kitagawa30 discloses all the elements of claim 14, as noted above. Kitagawa30 further discloses a capacitance device wherein the first insulator portion is also at the second end of the bottom-plate (First insulator portion 25 being also at second/ Right end of Bottom plate 21-Examiner's annotated Fig 1B). Regarding claim 16, Kitagawa30 discloses all the elements of claim 14, as noted above. Kitagawa30 further discloses a capacitance device wherein the first insulator portion only overlays the first end and the second end of the bottom-plate (First insulator portion 25 only overlaying on first/ Left end and second/ Right end of Bottom plate 21-Examiner's annotated Fig 1B). Regarding claim 17, Kitagawa30 discloses all the elements of claim 14, as noted above. Kitagawa30 further discloses a capacitance device wherein the first insulator portion is fabricated from a first dielectric material (First insulator portion 25 being polyimide, and second dielectric 22 being silicon oxide, so being of different material-[0040]), and the second insulator portion is fabricated from a second dielectric material that is different from the first dielectric material (First insulator portion 25 being polyimide, and second dielectric 22 being silicon oxide, so being of different material-[0040]). Regarding claim 18, Kitagawa30 discloses all the elements of claim 1, as noted above. Kitagawa30 further discloses a capacitance device wherein the insulator includes a first insulator portion that overlays the first end, the middle area, and the second end of the bottom-plate (Insulator 22/25 including first insulator portion 22 overlaying the first/ Left end, middle area, and second/ Right end of Bottom plate 21-Fig 1B); and wherein the insulator also includes a second insulator portion that overlays the first insulator portion and the first end of the bottom-plate (Second insulator portion 25 overlaying first insulator portion and first/ Left end of Bottom plate 21-Examiner’s annotated Fig 1B BIS). PNG media_image3.png 778 1259 media_image3.png Greyscale Regarding claim 19, Kitagawa30 discloses all the elements of claim 18, as noted above. Kitagawa30 further discloses a capacitance device wherein the second insulator portion also overlays the second end of the bottom-plate (Second insulator portion 25 also overlaying second/ Right end of Bottom plate 21- Examiner’s annotated Fig 1B BIS). Regarding claim 20, Kitagawa30 discloses all the elements of claim 19, as noted above. Kitagawa30 further discloses a capacitance device wherein the second insulator portion only overlays the first end and the second end of the bottom-plate (second insulator portion 25 only overlaying the first/ Left end and second/ Right end of Bottom plate 21- Examiner’s annotated Fig 1B BIS). Regarding claim 21, Kitagawa30 discloses all the elements of claim 1, as noted above. Kitagawa30 further discloses a capacitance device wherein all edges of the top plate overhang the bottom plate (Left/ Right edges of Top plate 23 overhanging Bottom plate 21-Examiner's annotated Fig 1B BIS). Regarding claim 22, Kitagawa30 discloses all the elements of claim 1, as noted above. Kitagawa30 further discloses a capacitance device further including an additional dielectric material at both ends of the top-plate, and in contact with the insulator (Insulator 22/25 coupled to Bottom plate 21 further comprising an additional dielectric material 25 at both ends of top plate 23 in contact with insulator 22-Examiner's annotated Fig 1B BIS, [0040]) , Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : Shoji (US20080237794A1-Shoji94) discloses a capacitance device (Title), comprising: a substrate (10-Fig 3); a bottom-plate coupled to the substrate (15); an insulator coupled to the bottom-plate (16); and a top-plate coupled to the insulator(17); wherein the top-plate includes a flat portion (bottom portion of 17-Fig 3) and a curved portion (Side portions of 17-Fig 3). Gu et al. (US20130234288A1-Gu88) discloses a capacitance device (Title), comprising: a substrate ([0033], Fig 2I) ; a bottom-plate coupled to the substrate (202-Fig 2I)); an insulator coupled to the bottom-plate (208); and a top-plate coupled to the insulator (212, 222'); wherein the top-plate includes a flat portion (bottom portion) and a curved portion (Side portions). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NATHALIE R FAYETTE whose telephone number is (571)272-1220. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8:30 am-6pm ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christine Kim can be reached at (571) 272-8458. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. NATHALIE R. FAYETTE Examiner Art Unit 2812 /NATHALIE R FAYETTE/Examiner, Art Unit 2812 05/11/2026 /CHRISTINE S. KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/652,502 Page 2 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/652,502 Page 3 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/652,502 Page 4 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/652,502 Page 5 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/652,502 Page 6 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/652,502 Page 7 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/652,502 Page 8 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/652,502 Page 9 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/652,502 Page 10 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/652,502 Page 11 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/652,502 Page 12 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/652,502 Page 13 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/652,502 Page 14 Art Unit: 2812