Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 7/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argued that Kim did not disclose “the CTE adjustment structure includes a material different from the core material”.
In response, the Examiner takes the position that the core 304a and 304b may be made from fiberglass, and/or epoxy. The CTE material (the material of the core 308 and 309) may be ceramic or silicon; paragraph 76.
The Applicant argued that Kim did not disclose “the CTE adjustment structure directly contacting at least one peripheral surface of the core material”. Sugiyama discloses metal core substrate 11 having individual pieces 110-113. Each of these substrate pieces 110-113 have protruding portions, including protruding portions 121-128 and 151-156 for piece 110, that are used to “connect the sides adjacent to each other of the individual pieces (11, 113, etc.) adjacent to each other. Stated differently, Sugiyama’s protrusion 121-128 are tabs shaped from a common integral material to overlap tabs of other panels so as to joined together, which is not the claimed CTE adjustment structure and the core material that have different materials and directly contacting each other at peripheral surface of the core material.
In response, the Examiner takes position that the CTE material (308, Fig. 3) positioned next to the core material (304a) with a gap in between. That was why the Office Action stated that Kim did not explicitly disclose the CTE material is in contact with the core material, there was a gap in between. Sugiyama teaches that it is known in the art that this gap may be eliminated, and all the parts in the substrate are in contact to each other (Sugiyama’s Fig. 2). Therefore, it is known in the art that CTE material is in contact with the core material by the peripheral surfaces or the side surfaces.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 0 4, 6 – 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20140356635), in view of Sugiyama (US 20180310401).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses an electronic device (200, Fig. 2; 300, Fig. 3) comprising:
a printed circuit board (the circuit board with layers and components, Fig. 3) including a plurality of layers (layers 306, 310, 312, 314, 304),
wherein the plurality of layers includes at least one metal layer (trace layer 314), and at least one core layer (the core layer 304),
wherein the at least one core layer includes core material (the first and second core 304a, 304b) and a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) adjustment structure (the first and second inorganic core layers 308, 309) extending along a first lateral direction and between the core material, and
wherein the CTE adjustment structure includes a material different from the core material (the core 304a and 304b may be made from glass, resin, fiberglass, and/or epoxy) and configured to reduce an overall CTE of the printed circuit board (the material of the core 308 and 309 may be ceramic, glass or silicon; paragraph 76);
one or more components (components 302) mounted on the printed circuit board.\
Kim does not explicitly disclose the CTE adjustment structure directly contacting at least one peripheral surface of the core material.
Sugiyama suggests all the elements inside the core substrate (11, Fig. 2) are directly contacting each other by the peripheral surfaces.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to arrange the components in the circuit board in order to fit all the components in the limited space of the circuit substrate.
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Kim further suggests the CTE adjustment structure has a CTE value below 5 ppm/° C. (the properties of ceramic or silicon material made of the cores 308 & 309 are around this value; i.e., Silicon nitride 3.7 ppm/° C; silicon 2.6 ppm/° C), and wherein the plurality of layers includes at least one prepreg layer (paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Kim further suggests the CTE adjustment structure includes a first linear portion (308) extending along the first lateral direction and a second linear portion (309) extending along a second lateral direction of the printed circuit board; and is configured to reduce warpage caused by thermal energy generated from one or more components during operation; the core material and the CTE adjustment structure have matching lengths along the first lateral direction (the length of the component matched each other to form a complete unity unit); and , wherein a first dimension of the printed circuit board in the first lateral direction is greater than a second dimension of the printed circuit board in the second lateral direction (since that Applicant did not provide the detail of which direction is a lateral direction, the Examiner assuming the first lateral direction is from left side to the right side, and the second lateral direction is from the top side to the bottom side) by a factor of 3 or greater (the length from left side to right side is at least 3 times greater than the length from the top side to the bottom side; Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Kim suggests the CTE adjustment structure is a first CTE adjustment structure (308); and the printed circuit board includes in the at least one core layer a second CTE adjustment structure (309) separate from the first CTE adjustment structure, wherein a combination of the first and second CTE adjustment structures are for having the overall CTE below a CTE threshold value (the CTE of 308 and 309 is less than 5 ppm/° C).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1.
Kim does not explicitly disclose the length of the CTE adjustment structure is at least half of a total length of the printed circuit board.
Kim suggests the size of the structure (208, 308, 309) may be adjusted (Figs. 2 – 68E).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the size of a components on the substrate in order to form a functional circuit board.
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Kim further suggests the CTE adjustment structure includes silicon or ceramic (paragraph 76).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Kim further suggests the CTE adjustment structure is located below the one or more components (308 and 309 are below the component 302, Fig. 3) or adjacent to a footprint of the one or more components for reducing a mismatch or a difference in the overall CTE for the printed circuit board and the one or more components.
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 8. Kim further suggests the CTE adjustment structure has a CTE value (silicon nitride 3.0 ppm/° C) that is between a CTE value of the one or more components (silicon 2.6 ppm/° C) and a CTE value of the core material (glass 5.5 ppm/° C) and/or closer to the CTE value of the one or more components than the CTE value of the core material.
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 8. Kim further suggests the one or more components include a memory, a processor, or both (integrated circuit die; paragraph 5); at least a portion of the CTE adjustment structure located below or adjacent to the footprint of the memory, the processor, or both.
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses a printed circuit board comprising:
at least one metal layer (trace layer 314, 316; Fig. 3); and
at least one core layer (the core layer 304) attached to the at least one metal layer and including (1) core material (the core 304a and 304b may be made from glass, resin, fiberglass, and/or epoxy) and (2) at least one coefficient of thermal expansion (308, 309, Fig. 3) adjustment structure extending along a first lateral direction and between the core material, wherein the CTE adjustment structure includes a material different from the core material (the material of the core 308 and 309 may be ceramic, glass or silicon; paragraph 76) and configured to reduce an overall CTE of the printed circuit board, and wherein a length, a width, a location, or a combination thereof of the CTE adjustment structure is based on one or more planned locations for mounting components on the printed circuit board (the structure 308 is planned to be below the component 302).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the CTE adjustment structure directly contacting at least one peripheral surface of the core material.
Sugiyama suggests all the elements inside the core substrate (11, Fig. 2) are directly contacting each other by the peripheral surfaces.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to arrange the components in the circuit board in order to fit all the components in the limited space of the circuit substrate.
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 11. Kim further suggests at least a portion of the CTE adjustment structure is overlapped by or is within a predetermined distance from the one or more planned mounting locations (the structure 308 is overlapped component 302), and wherein the printed circuit board includes at least one prepreg layer (paragraph 5) attached to the at least one metal layer.
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 11. Kim further suggests the at least one core layer includes: a first layer (layer 306) having the core material and the at least one CTE adjustment structure (308, 309) arranged coplanar with each other, wherein the core material comprises a first core material (the core 304a and 304b may be made from glass, resin, fiberglass, and/or epoxy) and the at least one CTE adjustment structure comprises a first CTE adjustment structure (308); and a second layer (bottom side of 306) having a second core material (material of 306) and a second CTE adjustment structure (309) arranged coplanar to each other and over the first layer, wherein the second CTE adjustment structure overlaps the first core material (looking from the side, 309 is overlapping 304a and 308), the first CTE adjustment structure, or both for providing a targeted CTE level at one or more overlapping portions.
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 11. Kim further suggests the CTE adjustment structure includes silicon or ceramic (the material of the core 308 and 309 may be ceramic, glass or silicon; paragraph 76) for offsetting a CTE of the core material (glass) and produce the overall CTE to be closer to a CTE of silicon-based components (silicon material of 308 is closer to silicon-based component than glass).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses a method for controlling a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) of a printed circuit board, the method comprising:
determining a set of dimensions for the printed circuit board (set dimension for the circuit board 300, Fig. 3); and
determining an arrangement of core material (core 304) and one or more CTE adjustment structures (308, 309) in a core layer,
wherein the one or more CTE adjustment structures is adjacent to and coplanar with the core material (Fig. 3),
wherein the CTE adjustment structure includes material different from the core material (the core 304a and 304b may be made from glass, resin, fiberglass, and/or epoxy) and configured to reduce the CTE of the printed circuit board (low CTE of glass, resin, fiberglass and epoxy), and
wherein determining the arrangement includes deriving a shape, a set of dimensions, and a position for each of the one or more CTE adjustment structures (determine the size and shape of 308) according to a targeted CTE for the printed circuit board or portions thereof (position the components as shown in Fig. 3).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the CTE adjustment structure directly contacting the core material.
Sugiyama suggests all the elements inside the core substrate (11, Fig. 2) are directly contacting each other by the peripheral surfaces.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to arrange the components in the circuit board in order to fit all the components in the limited space of the circuit substrate.
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 15. Kim further suggests determining component (302) locations on the printed circuit board, the component locations configured to receive one or more components (302), wherein the shape, the set of dimensions, and the position for each of the one or more CTE adjustment structures is derived based on the component locations (determine the size, shape and location of components 302).
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 16. Kim further suggests wherein the shape, the set of dimensions, and the position for each of the one or more CTE adjustment structures (determine size, shape and location of 308) are derived based on iteratively: adjusting at least one of the shape, the set of dimensions, and the position; calculating an estimated CTE or a corresponding warpage measure for the printed circuit board or a portion thereof; and evaluating the estimated CTE based on a predetermined acceptance threshold (evaluate the position of 308).
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 16. Kim further suggests determining the arrangement includes: identifying a location for a visa (determine the location for the vias 326) associated with the determined component locations; and locating the one or more CTE adjustment structures to avoid overlapping with the via location (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 19, Kim discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 15. Kim further suggests manufacturing the printed circuit board based on: arranging the core material (the core 304a and 304b may be made from glass, resin, fiberglass, and/or epoxy) and the one or more CTE adjustment structures (308, 309) according to the determined arrangement; attaching a metal layer (314, 316) to the core material and the one or more CTE adjustment structures; and forming a prepreg layer (paragraph 5) over the metal layer.
Regarding claim 20, Kim discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 15. Kim further suggests the shape, the set of dimensions, and the position for each of the one or more CTE adjustment structures is identified using a computing model configured to estimate a warpage measure associated with component locations and the arrangement based on at least one dataset representative of previous warpage results associated with previously determined shapes, dimensions, and positions CTE adjustment structures (determine the size, shape and location of 308 to avoid warpage of the components by having material around 308 to keep 308 in place).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that the core material includes core strips extending along the longitudinal direction; and the CTE adjustment structure includes CTE adjustment strips extending along the longitudinal direction and configured to reduce warpage caused by thermal energy generated from the one or more components during operation, wherein the CTE adjustment strips are arranged in an alternating pattern with the core strips along a traverse direction orthogonal to the longitudinal direction. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wu (US 20200137871) discloses a circuit board, core layer and a structure inside the core layer, Fig. 1G.
/BINH B TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847