Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 – 14, 27 - 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 12 & 27, line 2 recites “IC sensors”. It is not clear the meaning of “IC sensor”. The Examiner suggests adding the description for the “IC sensors” to clarify the claim.
Regarding claim 13, 14, 28, 29, these are rejected for the same reason as in claim 12 and 27.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 - 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wissmar (US 20140078694).
Regarding claim 1, Wissmar discloses an elongated device, comprising:
a plurality of serially connected links (the links 2, Fig. 4a), forming a bendable section (the bending structure in Fig. 4); and
a flexible printed circuit (flexible circuit board 3 or 3b in Fig. 12a) having at least one sensor (sensor 29, Fig. 11 and other sensors 32, 33) attached therein, the FPC is assembled on the links across the bendable section.
Regarding claim 2, Wissmar discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Wissmar further discloses the links include a window (the opening for inserting the sensor 29 into the links) to allow the sensor to be inserted inwardly into a corresponding link.
Regarding claim 3, Wissmar discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Wissmar further discloses the links are serially connected by hinges (the metallic pins 2a connecting the links, Fig. 5c).
Regarding claim 4, Wissmar discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Wissmar further suggests the FPC is wrapped on the bendable section so that the at least one sensor is positioned on a corresponding link (the flexible circuit board 3 wraps around the links and exposed the sensor 29).
Regarding claim 5, Wissmar discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Wissmar further suggests the FPC include a plurality of sensors (29, 32, 33) along the FPC, and the FPC is installed on the bendable section so that the plurality of sensors are aligned on a straight line (when the locking mechanism 35 is unlocked, as in Fig. 1, the whole structure may lay flat on a straight line).
Regarding claim 6, Wissmar discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Wissmar further suggests the FPC include a plurality of sensors (29, 32, 33) along the FPC, and the FPC is installed on the bendable section so that the plurality of sensors are inserted to windows (the space on the links to accommodate the sensors) in corresponding links of the bendable section.
Regarding claim 7, Wissmar discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Wissmar further suggests the links of the bendable section are formed by removing material from a tube (this is the product claim. The claimed product is the link which is already formed. How the link was formed is irrelevant in the product claim).
Regarding claim 8, Wissmar discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Wissmar further suggests a pitch of winding of the FPC is a link length or a multiple of a link length (the length of the link is approximate to the length of the flexible circuit board; therefore, the pitch of winding of the FPC is a multiple of the link length).
Regarding claim 9, Wissmar discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Wissmar further suggests the FPC comprises conductors that pass over hinges between the links (as the flexible circuit board 3 is passing over the hinges between the links, the internal conductors 3a, Fig 16b, also passing over the hinges between the links).
Regarding claim 10, Wissmar discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Wissmar further suggests the FPC has a plurality of sensors (29, 32, 33) that are positioned in an offset from a plain of hinges between the links (the sensor 29 protruding away from the link 2, Fig. 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 – 25, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wissmar (US 20140078694), in view of Bailey (US 11921471).
Regarding claim 15, Wissmar discloses an elongated device, comprising:
a standalone subassembly (Fig. 9) comprising:
a bendable section (the bottom side of the structure in Fig. 11);
a flexible printed circuit (the flexible circuit 3) having at least one sensor (sensors 29, 32, 33) attached therein, the FPC is assembled across the bendable section.
Wissmar does not explicitly disclose an outer tube in which the standalone subassembly is threaded.
Bailey suggests the housing surrounding the flexible circuit board (122, Fig. 1) similar to a tube.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide a housing around the circuit board in order to protect the circuit board from the environment.
Regarding claim 16, Wissmar, in view of Bailey, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 15. Wissmar suggests the bendable section includes a window (the space in the link 2 to accommodate the sensor; or the space in Bailey’s housing to accommodate the sensor 110) to allow the sensor to be inserted inwardly into the bendable section.
Regarding claim 17, Wissmar, in view of Bailey, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 15. Wissmar suggests the bendable section includes serially connected links (links 2), wherein the FPC is assembled on the links across the bendable section (Fig. 4a).
Regarding claim 18, Wissmar, in view of Bailey, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 17. Wissmar suggests the bendable section consists of links serially connected by hinges (the metallic pins 2a connecting the links, Fig. 5c).
Regarding claim 19, Wissmar, in view of Bailey, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 17. Wissmar suggests the FPC is wrapped on the bendable section so that the at least one sensor is positioned on a corresponding link (the sensor 29 is positioned on the link 2, Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 20, Wissmar, in view of Bailey, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 15. Wissmar suggests the FPC include a plurality of sensors (29, 32, 33) along the FPC, and the FPC is installed on the bendable section so that the plurality of sensors are aligned on a straight line (when the locking mechanism 35 is unlocked, as in Fig. 1, the whole structure may lay flat on a straight line).
Regarding claim 21, Wissmar, in view of Bailey, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 15. Wissmar further suggests the FPC include a plurality of sensors (29, 32, 33) along the FPC, and the FPC is installed on the bendable section so that the plurality of sensors are inserted to windows (the sensors are in the accommodation space of the links) in of the bendable section.
Regarding claim 22, , Wissmar, in view of Bailey, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 15. Wissmar further suggests the links of the bendable section are formed by removing material from a tube (this is the product claim. The claimed product is the link which is already formed. How the link was formed is irrelevant in the product claim).
Regarding claim 23, , Wissmar, in view of Bailey, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 17. Wissmar further suggests a pitch of winding of the FPC is a link length or a multiple of a link length (the length of the link is approximate to the length of the flexible circuit board; therefore, the pitch of winding of the FPC is a multiple of the link length).
Regarding claim 24, Wissmar discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 17. Wissmar further suggests the FPC comprises conductors that pass over hinges between the links (as the flexible circuit board 3 is passing over the hinges between the links, the internal conductors 3a, Fig 16b, also passing over the hinges between the links).
Regarding claim 25, Wissmar discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 17. Wissmar further suggests the FPC has a plurality of sensors (29, 32, 33) that are positioned in an offset from a plain of hinges between the links (the sensor 29 protruding away from the link 2, Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 30, Wissmar discloses a method for assembling an elongated device, comprising:
making a standalone subassembly (Fig. 1) by assembling across a bendable section a FPC (a flexible circuit board 3) having at least one sensor (sensors 29, 32, 33) attached therein.
Wissmar does not explicitly disclose threading the standalone subassembly in an outer tube.
Bailey suggests the housing surrounding the flexible circuit board (122, Fig. 1) similar to a tube.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide a housing around the circuit board in order to protect the circuit board from the environment.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 11, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that hinges between the links alternate between perpendicular plains. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 26, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 17, a combination of limitations that hinges between the links alternate between perpendicular plains. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Daniel (US 7618260) discloses a flexible circuit board with several different modules built on, Fig. 1a – 1c.
/BINH B TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848