Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by YANAGIDA (2020027383).
Regarding claim 1, YANAGIDA teaches a manufacturing method for a semiconductor device comprising:
a step of preparing a wafer source (fig. 5: 800) that has a first main surface on one side and a second main surface on the other side (please see par. 84 and fig. 5 surfaces 801 and 802);
a step of forming a main surface electrode (fig. 9: 890b) on the first main surface;
a step of forming a terminal electrode (fig. 10: 8951) on the main surface electrode (please see fig. 10);
a step of forming a sealing insulator (fig. 14: 822) that covers a periphery of the terminal electrode on the first main surface such as to expose a part of the terminal electrode (please see fig. 14); and
a step of cutting the wafer source in a horizontal direction along the first main surface from an intermediate portion of a thickness range of the wafer source (par. 100 teaches cutting the sealed package), and
separating the wafer source into a sealed wafer on the sealing insulator side and an unsealed wafer on the second surface side (please see fig. 17-20).
Regarding claim 2, YANAGIDA teaches a manufacturing method for the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the separating step of the wafer source includes a step of cutting out the sealed wafer that is thinner than the sealing insulator (please see fig. 17).
Regarding claim 3, YANAGIDA teaches a manufacturing method for the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the separating step of the wafer source includes a step of cutting out the unsealed wafer that is thicker than the sealed wafer (please see fig. 17).
Regarding claim 10, YANAGIDA teaches a manufacturing method for the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the wafer source includes a monocrystal of a wide bandgap semiconductor (par. 84).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11-20 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: prior art fails to teach, at least, the temporal ordering of method steps outlined in claim 11. Claims 12-20 are objected to based on their dependency of claim 11.
Conclusion
/CALEB E HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818