CTNF 18/653,139 CTNF 87837 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Specification 07-29 AIA The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Page 11, paragraph 31, line 14: Change 130 to 140. Compare with page 6, paragraph 19, line 9 . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 14 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 14, line 2: Change “second interlayer insulating layer” to second interlayer insulating layers”. Claim 18, line 14: Change “layer” to “layers” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-9, 12-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2022/0209103, Figures 1, 2, and 5, and further in view of Kang, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2020/0203361, Figures 3-6C . PNG media_image1.png 378 368 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 263 452 media_image2.png Greyscale PNG media_image3.png 270 451 media_image3.png Greyscale PNG media_image4.png 245 382 media_image4.png Greyscale PNG media_image5.png 402 340 media_image5.png Greyscale PNG media_image6.png 1000 666 media_image6.png Greyscale Regarding claim 1: Ahn Figures 1 and 5, which is a variation of Ahn Figure 2, disclose a semiconductor device (100), comprising: first conductive lines (110) extending in a first direction (D1) on a substrate (102); second conductive lines (180) extending in a second direction (D2) on the first conductive lines (110), the second direction (D2) is perpendicular to the first direction (D1); cell structures (MC) respectively disposed between the first conductive lines (110) and the second conductive lines (180), each of the cell structures (MC) including a first electrode (125), a selector layer (135) including a chalcogenide material, and a second electrode (165), that are sequentially stacked; first capping layers (175) covering side surfaces of the first conductive lines (110) and first side surfaces of the cell structures (MC) in the second direction (D2); first interlayer insulating layers (ILD1) filling spaces between the first conductive lines (110) and between the cell structures (MC) in the second direction (D2) and directly contacting the first capping layers (175); second capping layers (176) covering second side surfaces of the cell structures (MC) in the first direction (D1) and side surfaces of the second conductive lines (180); and second interlayer insulating layers (ILD2) filling spaces between the cell structures (MC) and between the second conductive lines (180) in the first direction (D1) and directly contacting the second capping layers (176), wherein the first interlayer insulating layers (ILD1) and the second interlayer insulating layers (ILD2) may be silicon oxide. Ahn specification ¶¶ 60-72, 23-49. Ahn is silent as to whether the first and second interlayer insulating layers have different carbon contents from each other. Kang Figures 3-6C, directed to similar subject matter, disclose first and second interlayer insulating layers (141P, 145P) in the same position as the Ahn first and second interlayer insulating layers (ILD1, ILD2), wherein the Kang first interlayer insulating layers (141P) and the second interlayer insulating layers (145P) have different carbon contents from each other. Kang specification ¶ 81; see generally Kang specification ¶¶ 43-94. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify Ahn to include the Kang design because the Kang design reduces parasitic capacitance. Id. ¶ 81. Regarding claim 2, which depends from claim 1: The combination discloses any one of the first interlayer insulating layers and the second interlayer insulating layers comprise a low-κ material having a carbon content in a range of about 15% to about 25%. Id. Regarding claim 3, which depends from claim 2: The combination discloses a remaining one of the first interlayer insulating layers and the second interlayer insulating layers comprises silicon nitride or silicon oxide. See id. ¶ 76 (describing an interlayer insulating pattern (143P) that may include silicon oxide, which second insulating patterns (145P) include), 82. Regarding claim 4, which depends from claim 2: The combination discloses wherein the low-κ material comprises SiOC. Id. ¶¶ 76, 81. Regarding claim 5, which depends from claim 4: The combination discloses the SiOC has a lower carbon content than a silicon content and an oxygen content. See id. Also, if first insulating pattern (141P) has a carbon content of 15-20wt% and second insulating pattern (145P) has a carbon content of 20-25%, both of which ranges falls within the claimed range of 15-25%, then the Kang SiOC would be expected to have a lower carbon content that a silicon content and an oxygen content. Regarding claim 6, which depends from claim 1: The combination discloses that levels of upper ends of the first capping layers (175) are different from levels of upper ends of the second capping layers (176); and levels of lower ends of the first capping layers (175) are different from levels of lower ends of the second capping layers (176). See Ahn Figure 5. Regarding claim 7, which depends from claim 1: The combination discloses each of the first capping layers (175) and the second capping layers (176) is composed of a single material. See Ahn specification ¶¶ 39, 70. Regarding claim 8, which depends from claim 1: The combination discloses the first capping layers (175) and the second capping layers (176) comprise silicon nitride. Id. Regarding claim 9, which depends from claim 1: The combination discloses that the selector layer (135) comprises at least one compound selected from sulfur (S), selenium (Se), tellurium (Te), silicon (Si), germanium (Ge), arsenic (As), and antimony (Sb). Id. ¶ 32 (all listed materials). Regarding claim 12, which depends from claim 1: Ahn Figures 1 and 5, which is a variation of Ahn Figure 2, discloses a semiconductor device (100), comprising: first conductive lines (110) extending in a first (D1) direction on a substrate (102); second conductive lines (180) extending in a second direction (D2) on the first conductive lines (110), the second direction (D2) intersecting the first direction (D1), cell structures (MC) respectively disposed between the first conductive lines (110) and the second conductive lines (180), each of the cell structures (MC) including a first electrode (125), a selector layer (135) including a chalcogenide material, and a second electrode (165), that are sequentially stacked; capping layers (170/175; 171/176) covering side surfaces of the cell structures (MC), the capping layers (170/175; 171/176) including nitride; first interlayer insulating layers (ILD1) filling spaces between the first conductive lines (110) and between the cell structures (MC) in the second direction (D2); and second interlayer insulating layers (ILD2) filling spaces between the cell structures (MC) and between the second conductive lines (180) in the first direction (D1), and the first interlayer insulating layers (ILD1) and the second interlayer insulating layers (ILD2) directly contact the capping layers (170/175; 171/176). Ahn specification ¶¶ 60-72, 23-49. Ahn is silent as to whether at least one of the first interlayer insulating layers and the second interlayer insulating layers includes a low-κ material having a carbon content in a range of about 15% to about 25%. Kang Figures 3-6C, directed to similar subject matter, disclose first and second interlayer insulating layers (141P, 145P) in the same position as the Ahn first and second interlayer insulating layers (ILD1, ILD2), wherein at least one of the first interlayer insulating layers (141P) and the second interlayer insulating layers (145P) includes a low-κ material having a carbon content in a range of about 15% to about 25%. Kang specification ¶¶ 81, 82 (for an example where the dielectric constant, κ, of interlayer insulating layers with and without carbon content are compared); see generally Kang specification ¶¶ 43-94. Because the material is the same as that disclosed by applicants, the Kang material would also be low-κ. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify Ahn to include the Kang design because the Kang design reduces parasitic capacitance. Id. ¶ 81. Regarding claim 13, which depends from claim 12: The combination discloses the first interlayer insulating layers (141P) and the second interlayer insulating layers (145P) have different dielectric constants from each other. Because the first interlayer insulating layers (141P) have a carbon content of 20-25% and the second interlayer insulating layers (145P) have a carbon content of 15-20%, Kang specification ¶ 81, the first and second interlayer insulating layers will have different dielectric constants from each other. See also id. ¶ 82 (for an example where the dielectric constant, κ, of interlayer insulating layers with and without carbon content are compared). Regarding claim 14, which depends from claim 12: The combination discloses any one of the first interlayer insulating layers (141P) and the second interlayer insulating layer[s] (145P) comprises the low-κ material; and a remaining one of the first interlayer insulating layers (141P) and the second interlayer insulating layers (145P) includes a material having a carbon content, lower than a carbon of the low-κ material, or does not include carbon. Id. ¶¶ 81 (first interlayer insulating layer (141P) has a higher carbon content that the carbon content of second interlayer insulating layer (145P), 82 (first interlayer insulating layer (141P) has a carbon content while second interlayer insulating layer (145P) does not include carbon). Regarding claim 15, which depends from claim 12: The combination discloses that the capping layers (170/175; 171/176) comprises: first capping layers (170/175; 171/176) covering side surfaces of the first conductive lines (110) and first side surfaces of the cell structures (MC) in the second direction (D2); and second capping layers (170/175; 171/176) covering second side surfaces of the cell structures (MC) in the first direction (D1) and side surfaces of the second conductive lines (180). Regarding claim 17, which depends from claim 12: The combination discloses that a threshold voltage of the selector layer (135) is changed according to a direction of a write operation. See Ahn specification ¶ (ovonic threshold switch material of the chalcogenide series); Kang specification ¶ 88 (chalcogenide-base Ovonic Threshold Switching material). Regarding claim 18: Ahn Figures 1 and 5, which is a variation of Ahn Figure 2, discloses a semiconductor device (100), comprising first conductive lines (110) extending in a first direction (D1) on a substrate (102); second conductive lines (180) extending in a second direction (D2) on the first conductive lines (110), the second direction (D2) intersecting the first direction (D1); cell structures (MC) respectively disposed between the first conductive lines (110) and the second conductive lines (180), each of the cell structures (MC) including a first electrode (125), a selector layer (135) including a chalcogenide material, and a second electrode (165) that are sequentially stacked; capping layers (175, 176) covering at least side surfaces of the cell structures (MC); first interlayer insulating layers (ILD1) filling spaces between the first conductive lines (110) and between the cell structures (MC) in the second direction (D2) and directly contacting the capping layers (175, 176); and second interlayer insulating layers (ILD2) filling spaces between the cell structures (MC) and between the second conductive lines (180) in the first direction (D1) and directly contacting the capping layers (175, 176). Ahn specification ¶¶ 60-72, 23-49. Ahn is silent as to whether at least one of the first interlayer insulating layers and the second interlayer insulating layer includes a low-κ material including a carbon content in a range of about 15% to about 25% and having an oxygen content that is higher than the carbon content. Kang Figures 3-6C, directed to similar subject matter, disclose first and second interlayer insulating layers (141P, 145P) in the same position as the Ahn first and second interlayer insulating layers (ILD1, ILD2), at least one of the first interlayer insulating layers (141P) and the second interlayer insulating layer[s] (145P) includes a low-κ material including a carbon content in a range of about 15% to about 25% and having an oxygen content that is higher than the carbon content. Kang specification ¶¶ 81, 82 (for an example where the dielectric constant, κ, of interlayer insulating layers with and without carbon content are compared); see generally Kang specification ¶¶ 43-94. Because the material is the same as that disclosed by applicants, the Kang material would also be low-κ. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify Ahn to include the Kang design because the Kang design reduces parasitic capacitance. Id. ¶ 81. Regarding claim 19, which depends from claim 18: The combination discloses the low-κ material comprises SiOC. Id. ¶¶ 76, 81. Regarding claim 20, which depends from claim 18: The combination discloses the first interlayer insulating layers (141P) comprise a material different from a material of the second interlayer insulating layers (145P). Id. ¶¶ 81, 82 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn and Kang, and further in view of Hwang, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2004/0195604, Figure 3A . PNG media_image7.png 260 443 media_image7.png Greyscale Regarding claim 10, which depends from claim 1: The combination is silent as to whether the first electrode and the second electrode comprise carbon. Hwang, directed to similar subject matter, discloses the first electrode (319) and the second electrode (327) comprise carbon. Hwang specification ¶ 46. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing because the modification would have involved the substitution of an equivalent known for the same purpose . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn and Kang, and further in view of Gilton, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2005/0056910, Figure 3 . PNG media_image8.png 436 673 media_image8.png Greyscale Regarding claim 11, which depends from claim 1: The combination discloses that the first electrode (125) directly contacts the first conductive line (110) and the selector layer (135), and the second electrode (165) directly contacts the second conductive line (180). See Ahn Figure 5. The combination does not disclose that the second electrode directly contacts the selector layer. Gilton Figure 3, directed to similar subject matter, discloses a cell structure in which the first electrode (115) directly contacts the selector layer (117), and the second electrode (119) directly contacts the selector layer (117). Gilton specification ¶¶ 27-34. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify the combination to include the Gilton design because the modification would have involved the substitution of an equivalent known for the same purpose. Regarding claim 16, which depends from claim 12: The combination does not disclose that each of the capping layers is a single nitride layer. Gilton Figure 3, directed to similar subject matter, discloses a cell structure in which each of the sidewall spacers (124), which correspond to the Ahn capping layers (170/175; 171/176) and are in direct contact with the memory cell, is a single nitride layer. Id. ¶ 37. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify the combination to include the Gilton design because the modification would have involved the substitution of an equivalent known for the same purpose. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to VICTORIA KATHLEEN HALL whose telephone number is (571)270-7567. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Fernando Toledo can be reached at 571-272-1867. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Victoria K. Hall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/653,139 Page 2 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/653,139 Page 3 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/653,139 Page 4 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/653,139 Page 5 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/653,139 Page 6 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/653,139 Page 7 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/653,139 Page 8 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/653,139 Page 9 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/653,139 Page 10 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/653,139 Page 11 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/653,139 Page 12 Art Unit: 2897