DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 01/20/2026. Claims 1, 3, 5-9, and 11-22 remain pending for consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 12-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son et al. (US20130014536A1, herein after referred to as Son), in view of Song et al. (US20200340726A1, herein after referred to as Song), and in further view of Ji et al. (US20170089629A1, herein after referred to as Ji).
Regarding claim 1, Son teaches an ice maker (ice maker 500 Fig. 24) comprising: a first tray (upper tray 510 Fig. 24) configured to form a first portion (corresponds to the upper portion) of a cell (corresponds to cell formed by upper tray 510 and lower tray 520 Fig. 24), the cell being a space (disclosed “shell” in paragraph [0130]) in which a liquid (disclosed “water” in paragraph [0004]) is phased-changed into ice (paragraph [0004]); a second tray (lower tray 520 Fig. 24) configured to form a second portion of the cell (lower portion of the cell Fig. 24); and a heater (ice separation heater 565 Fig. 24), the heater being positioned outside the cell (Fig. 24).
Son teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the heater is a transparent ice heater configured to supply heat to the cell to make the ice transparent; wherein the transparent ice heater, when supplying the heat to the cell while the ice is being formed, operates to: supply a first amount of heat when the liquid in the space is capable of being phase-changed into the ice in a section of the cell, and supply a second amount of heat, after the first amount of heat is supplied, when the liquid in the space is capable of being phase-changed into the ice in another section of the cell, the second amount of heat being different from the first amount of heat, wherein the transparent ice heater is turned off, after the second amount of heat is supplied, when a turn-off condition of the transparent ice heater is satisfied”.
However, Song teaches a heater (ice making heaters 120 and 130 Fig. 6 correspond to the heater of Son) that is a transparent ice heater (paragraphs [0081] and [0096]) configured to supply heat to a cell (ice making cell 112 Fig. 6 corresponds to the cell of Son) to make the ice transparent (paragraphs [0081] and [0096]); wherein the transparent ice heater, when supplying the heat to the cell while the ice is being formed (Fig. 23), operates to: supply a first amount of heat (corresponds to the amount of heat generated when 6.8v is supplied to the heaters as disclosed in paragraph [0152] and Fig. 23 during the first period) when the liquid in the space is capable of being phase-changed into the ice in a section of the cell (portions of cell 112 where ice is not growing during the first period Fig. 23), and supply a second amount of heat (corresponds to the amount of heat generated when 6.6v is supplied to the heaters as disclosed in paragraph [0154] and Fig. 23 during the third period), after the first amount of heat is supplied (Fig. 23), when the liquid in the space is capable of being phase-changed into the ice in another section of the cell (portions of cell 112 where ice is not growing during the third period Fig. 23), the second amount of heat being different from the first amount of heat (Fig. 23), wherein the transparent ice heater is turned off (Fig. 23), after the second amount of heat is supplied (Fig. 23), when a turn-off condition of the transparent ice heater is satisfied (paragraph [0154] where the turn-off condition corresponds to when the disclosed period of “90-160 minutes” elapses) to generate transparent ice (paragraphs [0081] and [0096]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Son to include “the heater is a transparent ice heater configured to supply heat to the cell to make the ice transparent; wherein the transparent ice heater, when supplying the heat to the cell while the ice is being formed, operates to: supply a first amount of heat when the liquid in the space is capable of being phase-changed into the ice in a section of the cell, and supply a second amount of heat, after the first amount of heat is supplied, when the liquid in the space is capable of being phase-changed into the ice in another section of the cell, the second amount of heat being different from the first amount of heat, wherein the transparent ice heater is turned off, after the second amount of heat is supplied, when a turn-off condition of the transparent ice heater is satisfied” in view of the teachings of Song to generate transparent ice.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the transparent ice heater is turned on again, after the transparent ice heater is turned off, when a turn-on condition of the transparent ice heater is satisfied such that the transparent ice heater may supply an amount of heat to the cell to separate the ice from the cell”.
However, Ji teaches a heater (second heater 122 Fig. 5 corresponds to the transparent ice heater of Song) is turned on again, after the heater is turned off (paragraph [0061] where it is disclosed that second heater 122 is first turned on along with first heater 121 when the approach of the ejector fins 13-2 to the ice is completed, then turned off to rotate ejector fins 13-2, and finally turned back on again when the ejector fins 13-2 arrive at its vicinity), when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied (paragraph [0061] where the turn-on condition is understood to be the situation where the ejector fins 13-2 arrive at the vicinity of second heater 122) such that the heater may supply an amount of heat (corresponds to the amount of heat generated by second heater 122 when turned on) to a cell (paragraph [0061] and where the disclosed “ice making space” in paragraph [0050] corresponds to the cell of Son ) to separate the ice from the cell (paragraph [0061]) to reduce power usage (paragraph [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the transparent ice heater is turned on again, after the transparent ice heater is turned off, when a turn-on condition of the transparent ice heater is satisfied such that the transparent ice heater may supply an amount of heat to the cell to separate the ice from the cell” in view of the teachings of Ji to reduce power usage.
Regarding claim 3, the combined teachings teach wherein the second tray moves relative to the first tray by a driving motor (driving unit 140 Fig. 3 of Son), after the amount of heat is supplied (paragraph [0134] of Son).
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings teach comprising a heater case (rotation shaft 131 Figs. 6-7 of Song) where the transparent ice heater is installed (Figs. 6-7 of Song).
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings teach further comprising a pusher (upper ejecting pin 562 Fig. 24 of Son) configured to separate the ice from the cell (paragraph [0131] of Son), wherein the pusher includes at least one column (body portion of upper ejecting pin 562 Fig. 24 of Son), the column having and end (lower end of upper ejecting pin 562 Fig. 24 of Son) with at least an edge (Fig. 24 of Son).
Regarding claim 12, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising a first tray case integrally formed with a bracket, a portion of the ice maker being provided inside or outside the bracket”.
However, a different embodiment of Son teaches further comprising a first tray case (tray part 112 Fig. 3) integrally formed with a bracket (mounting part 111 Fig. 3), a portion of the ice maker (portion of ice maker 100 Fig. 3) being provided outside the bracket (Fig. 3) to mount the ice maker inside the storage compartment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising a first tray case integrally formed with a bracket, a portion of the ice maker being provided inside or outside the bracket” in view of the teachings of a different embodiment of Son to mount the ice maker inside the storage compartment.
Regarding claim 13, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising a first tray case manufactured as a separate part from a bracket and coupled to the bracket, a portion of the ice maker being provided inside or outside the bracket”.
However, a different embodiment of Son teaches further comprising a first tray case (tray part 112 Fig. 3) and a bracket (mounting part 111 Fig. 3), a portion of the ice maker (portion of ice maker 100 Fig. 3) being provided outside the bracket (Fig. 3) to mount the ice maker inside the storage compartment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising a first tray case and a bracket, a portion of the ice maker being provided inside or outside the bracket” in view of the teachings of a different embodiment of Son to mount the ice maker inside the storage compartment.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the first tray case manufactured as a separate part from the bracket and coupled to the bracket”.
However, Applicant has not disclosed that having “the first tray case manufactured as a separate part from the bracket and coupled to the bracket” does anything more than produce the predictable result of providing means to mount the ice maker. Since it has been held that making separable parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 V. C, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to modify the apparatus of Son and meet the claimed limitations in order to provide the predictable results of providing means to mount the ice maker.
Regarding claim 14, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising a second tray cover formed as a separate component to the second tray and disposed at one side of the second tray”.
However, a different embodiment of Son teaches further comprising a second tray cover (tray cover 126 Fig. 3) formed as a separate component to a second tray (Fig. 3 where tray body 123 corresponds to the second tray) and disposed at one side of the second tray (upper side of tray body 123 Fig. 3) to fix and mount the second tray to a case (paragraph [0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising a second tray cover formed as a separate component to the second tray and disposed at one side of the second tray” in view of the teachings of a different embodiment of Son to fix and mount the second tray to a case.
Regarding claim 15, the combined teachings teach a refrigerator (refrigerator 1 Fig. 2 of Son) comprising: a storage chamber (refrigerating compartment 3 Fig. 2 of Son) configured to store food (paragraph [0003] of Son); a door (refrigerating compartment door 5 Fig. 2 of Son) that opens and closes the storage chamber (Figs. 1-2 of Son).
Regarding claim 16, Son teaches an ice maker (ice maker 500 Fig. 24) comprising: a tray (upper tray 510 and lower tray 520 Fig. 24) configured to form a cell (disclosed “shell” in paragraph [0130]), the cell being a space (Fig. 24) in which a liquid (disclosed “water” in paragraph [0004]) is phased-changed into ice (paragraph [0004]); and a heater (ice separation heater 565 Fig. 24), the heater being positioned outside the cell (Fig. 24).
Son teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the heater is a transparent ice heater configured to supply heat to the cell to make the ice transparent; wherein the transparent ice heater, when supplying the heat to the cell while the ice is being formed, operates to: supply a first amount of heat when the liquid in the space is capable of being phase-changed into the ice in a section of the cell, and supply a second amount of heat, after the first amount of heat is supplied, when the liquid in the space is capable of being phase-changed into the ice in another section of the cell, the second amount of heat being different from the first amount of heat”.
However, Song teaches a heater (ice making heaters 120 and 130 Fig. 6 correspond to the heater of Son) that is a transparent ice heater (paragraphs [0081] and [0096]) configured to supply heat to a cell (ice making cell 112 Fig. 6 corresponds to the cell of Son) to make the ice transparent (paragraphs [0081] and [0096]); wherein the ice transparent heater, when supplying the heat to the cell while the ice is being formed (Fig. 23), operates to: supply a first amount of heat (corresponds to the amount of heat generated when 6.8v is supplied to the heaters as disclosed in paragraph [0152] and Fig. 23 during the first period) when the liquid in the space is capable of being phase-changed into the ice in a section of the cell (portions of cell 112 where ice is not growing during the first period Fig. 23), and supply a second amount of heat (corresponds to the amount of heat generated when 6.6v is supplied to the heaters as disclosed in paragraph [0154] and Fig. 23 during the third period), after the first amount of heat is supplied (Fig. 23), when the liquid in the space is capable of being phase-changed into the ice in another section of the cell (portions of cell 112 where ice is not growing during the third period Fig. 23), the second amount of heat being different from the first amount of heat (Fig. 23) to generate transparent ice.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Son to include “the heater is a transparent ice heater configured to supply heat to the cell to make the ice transparent; wherein the transparent ice heater, when supplying the heat to the cell while the ice is being formed, operates to: supply a first amount of heat when the liquid in the space is capable of being phase-changed into the ice in a section of the cell, and supply a second amount of heat, after the first amount of heat is supplied, when the liquid in the space is capable of being phase-changed into the ice in another section of the cell, the second amount of heat being different from the first amount of heat” in view of the teachings of Song to generate transparent ice.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the transparent ice heater supplies heat to the cell to separate the ice from the cell, after the second amount of heat is supplied”.
However, Ji teaches wherein a heater (second heater 122 Fig. 5 corresponds to the transparent ice heater of Song) supplies heat to a cell (paragraph [0061] and the disclosed “ice making space” in paragraph [0050] corresponds to the cell of Son) to separate the ice from the cell (paragraph [0061]), after a second amount of heat (paragraph [0061] where the second amount of heat corresponds to when second heater 122 is reenergized for the second time) is supplied to reduce power usage (paragraph [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the transparent ice heater supplies heat to the cell to separate the ice from the cell, after the second amount of heat is supplied” in view of the teachings of Ji to reduce power usage.
Regarding claim 17, the combined teachings teach the tray moves by a driving motor (driving unit 140 Fig. 3 of Son), after the transparent heater supplies heat to the cell to separate the ice from the cell (paragraph [0134] of Son).
Regarding claim 20, the combined teachings teach a refrigerator (refrigerator 1 Fig. 2 of Son) comprising: a storage chamber (refrigerating compartment 3 Fig. 2 of Son) configured to store food (paragraph [0003] of Son); a door (refrigerating compartment door 5 Fig. 2 of Son) that opens and closes the storage chamber (Figs. 1-2 of Son).
Claims 7, 9, 11, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son, Song, and Ji as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Boarman (US 20140165598 A1, herein after referred to as Boarman).
Regarding claim 7, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising a tray case formed as a separate component to the first tray and disposed at one side of the first tray, wherein the pusher is connected to the tray case and a portion of the pusher passes through the tray case to separate the ice from the cell”.
However, Boarman teaches further comprising a tray case (outer shell 500 Fig. 29) formed as a separate component to a first tray (Fig. 29 and paragraph [00119] where chill ring 508 corresponds to the first tray of Son) and disposed at one side of the first tray (upper side of chill ring 508 Figs. 29 and 35), wherein a pusher (ejector pin 475 Figs. 29-30 corresponds to the pusher of Son) is connected to the tray case (Figs. 29-30) and a portion of the pusher (lower portion of ejector pin 475 Figs. 29-30) passes through the tray case to separate ice from a cell (Figs. 26 and 29-30 where unitary mold cavity 440 corresponds to the cell of Son).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising a tray case formed as a separate component to the first tray and disposed at one side of the first tray, wherein the pusher is connected to the tray case and a portion of the pusher passes through the tray case to separate the ice from the cell” in view of the teachings of Boarman to protect the tray from any accidental damage.
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising a first tray cover formed as a separate component to the first tray and disposed at one side of the first tray, wherein the first tray includes a contact surface in contact with the second tray and the first tray cover includes an opening formed to correspond to a shape of the cell of the first tray”.
However, Boarman teaches further comprising a first tray cover (chill ring cover 504 Fig. 35) formed as a separate component to a first tray (Fig. 35 where chill ring 508 corresponds to the first tray of Son) and disposed at one side of the first tray (upper side of chill ring 508 Fig. 35), wherein the first tray includes a contact surface (see below annotated Fig. 26 of Boarman) in contact with a second tray (see below annotated Fig. 26 of Boarman) and the first tray cover includes an opening (dome-shaped forms 530 Fig. 35) formed to correspond to a shape of a cell (Figs. 26 and 35 with paragraph [0122] where unitary mold cavity 440 corresponds to the cell of Son) of the first tray to protect and insulate the first tray (paragraphs [0119] and [0122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising a first tray cover formed as a separate component to the first tray and disposed at one side of the first tray, wherein the first tray includes a contact surface in contact with the second tray and the first tray cover includes an opening formed to correspond to a shape of the cell of the first tray” in view of the teachings of Boarman to protect and insulate the first tray.
Regarding claim 11, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising a first tray case formed as a separate component to the first tray and disposed at one side of the first tray”.
However, Boarman teaches further comprising a first tray case (outer shell 500 Fig. 29) formed as a separate component to a first tray (Fig. 29 and paragraph [00119] where chill ring 508 corresponds to the first tray of Son) and disposed at one side of the first tray (upper side of chill ring 508 Figs. 29 and 35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising a first tray case formed as a separate component to the first tray and disposed at one side of the first tray” in view of the teachings of Boarman to protect the tray from any accidental damage.
Regarding claim 21, the combined teachings teach comprising a pusher (upper ejecting pin 562 Fig. 24 of Son) configured to separate the ice from the cell (paragraph [0131] of Son), wherein the pusher includes at least one column (body portion of upper ejecting pin 562 Fig. 24 of Son), the column having and end (lower end of upper ejecting pin 562 Fig. 24 of Son) with at least an edge (Fig. 24 of Son).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the heater case is provided with a hole through which the pusher passes”.
However, Boarman teaches wherein a heater case (chill ring cover 504 Fig. 35 corresponds to the heater case of Song) is provided with a hole (water inlet aperture 505 Fig. 35) through which a pusher (ejector pin 475 corresponds to the pusher of Son) passes (Figs. 29-30) to allow for water to flow inside the cell (paragraph [0122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the heater case is provided with a hole through which the pusher passes” in view of the teachings of Boarman to allow for water to flow inside the cell.
Regarding claim 22, the combined teachings teach further comprising a first tray case (outer shell 500 Fig. 29 of Boarman) formed as a separate component to the first tray (Fig. 29 and paragraph [00119] of Boarman) and disposed at one side of the first tray (upper side of chill ring 508 Figs. 29 and 35 of Boarman).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son, Song, and Ji as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Son et al. (US 20130081412 A1, herein after referred to as Son’12).
Regarding claim 8, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising a bracket with a portion of the ice maker is provided inside or outside, wherein the pusher is installed on the bracket”.
However, Son’12 teaches further comprising a bracket (link guides 111 Figs. 2-3) with a portion of an ice maker (portion of ice maker 10 Fig. 1 where ice maker 10 corresponds to the ice maker of Son) is provided outside (Fig. 1), wherein a pusher (ejecting pin 192 Fig. 3 corresponds to the pusher of Son) is installed on the bracket (Figs. 2-3) to provide motion for the pusher (paragraph [0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising a bracket with a portion of the ice maker is provided inside or outside, wherein the pusher is installed on the bracket” in view of the teachings of Son’12 to provide motion for the pusher.
Regarding claim 18, the combined teachings teach further comprising a pusher (upper ejecting pin 562 Fig. 24 of Son) having at least one column (body portion of upper ejecting pin 562 Fig. 24 of Son) and configured to separate the ice from the cell (paragraph [0131] of Son), the column having and end (lower end of upper ejecting pin 562 Fig. 24 of Son) with at least an edge (Fig. 24 of Son).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “a bracket with a portion of the ice maker is provided inside or outside, wherein the pusher is installed on the bracket”.
However, Son’12 teaches a bracket (link guides 111 Figs. 2-3) with a portion of an ice maker (portion of ice maker 10 Fig. 1 where ice maker 10 corresponds to the ice maker of Son) is provided outside (Fig. 1), wherein a pusher (ejecting pin 192 Fig. 3 corresponds to the pusher of Son) is installed on the bracket (Figs. 2-3) to provide motion for the pusher (paragraph [0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “a bracket with a portion of the ice maker is provided inside or outside, wherein the pusher is installed on the bracket” in view of the teachings of Son’12 to provide motion for the pusher.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son, Song, Ji, and Son’12 as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Boarman.
Regarding claim 19, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising an additional pusher having at least one column and configured to separate the ice from the cell, the column having an end with at least an edge, and a tray case coupled to a surface of the tray, wherein the additional pusher is connected to the tray case and the additional pusher passes through the tray case to separate the ice from the cell”.
However, Boarman teaches further comprising an additional pusher (ejector pin 475 Figs. 21 and 29-30) having at least one column (main body of ejector pin 475 Figs. 29-30) and configured to separate ice from a cell (Figs. 26 and 29-30 where unitary mold cavity 440 corresponds to the cell of Son), the column having an end (Figs. 29-30) with at least an edge (Figs. 29-30), and a tray case (outer shell 500 Fig. 29) coupled to a surface of a tray (outer shell 500 is coupled to the upper surface of chill ring 508 via chill ring cover 504 Figs. 29-30 where chill ring 508 corresponds to the tray of Son), wherein the additional pusher is connected to the tray case (Figs. 29-30) and the additional pusher passes through the tray case to separate the ice from the cell (Figs. 29-30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising an additional pusher having at least one column and configured to separate the ice from the cell, the column having an end with at least an edge, and a tray case coupled to a surface of the tray, wherein the additional pusher is connected to the tray case and the additional pusher passes through the tray case to separate the ice from the cell” in view of the teachings of Boarman to protect the tray from any accidental damage.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 01/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on pages 19-23, that the applied references do not teach or suggest “wherein the transparent heater, when supplying the heat to the cell while the ice is being formed, operates to: supply a first amount of heat when the liquid in the space is capable of being phase-changed into the ice in a section of the cell, and supply a second amount of heat, after the first amount of heat is supplied, when the liquid in the space is capable of being phase-changed into the ice in another section of the cell, the second amount of heat being different from the first amount of heat, wherein the transparent ice heater is turned off, after the second amount of heat is supplied, when a turn-off condition of the heater is satisfied, and wherein the transparent ice heater heater is turned on again, after the transparent ice heater is turned off, when a turn-on condition of the transparent ice heater is satisfied such that the transparent ice heater may supply an amount of heat to the cell to separate the ice from the cell” as recited by amended claim 1, Examiner disagrees.
Applicant is reminded that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In the case at hand and for clarity purposes, Son (US20130014536A1) teaches an ice maker (ice maker 500 Fig. 24) comprising a heater (ice separation heater 565 Fig. 24).
The apparatus of Son is modified by the teachings of Song (US20200340726A1) to provide a transparent heater (ice making heaters 120 and 130 Fig.) to supply heat to a cell (ice making cell 112 Fig. 6) to make the ice transparent (paragraphs [0081] and [0096]); wherein the transparent ice heater, when supplying the heat to the cell while the ice is being formed (Fig. 23), operates to: supply a first amount of heat (corresponds to the amount of heat generated when 6.8v is supplied to the heaters as disclosed in paragraph [0152] and Fig. 23 during the first period) when the liquid in the space is capable of being phase-changed into the ice in a section of the cell (portions of cell 112 where ice is not growing during the first period Fig. 23), and supply a second amount of heat (corresponds to the amount of heat generated when 6.6v is supplied to the heaters as disclosed in paragraph [0154] and Fig. 23 during the third period), after the first amount of heat is supplied (Fig. 23), when the liquid in the space is capable of being phase-changed into the ice in another section of the cell (portions of cell 112 where ice is not growing during the third period Fig. 23), the second amount of heat being different from the first amount of heat (Fig. 23), wherein the transparent ice heater is turned off (Fig. 23), after the second amount of heat is supplied (Fig. 23), when a turn-off condition of the transparent ice heater is satisfied (paragraph [0154] where the turn-off condition corresponds to when the disclosed period of “90-160 minutes” elapses) to generate transparent ice.
The apparatus of Son is further modified by the teachings of ji (US20170089629A1) to provide a heater (second heater 122 Fig. 5 ) that is turned on again, after the heater is turned off (paragraph [0061] where it is disclosed that second heater 122 is first turned on along with first heater 121 when the approach of the ejector fins 13-2 to the ice is completed, then turned off to rotate ejector fins 13-2, and finally turned back on again when the ejector fins 13-2 arrive at its vicinity), when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied (paragraph [0061] where the turn-on condition is understood to be the situation where the ejector fins 13-2 arrive at the vicinity of second heater 122) such that the heater may supply an amount of heat (corresponds to the amount of heat generated by second heater 122 when turned on) to a cell (paragraph [0061] and where the disclosed “ice making space” in paragraph [0050] corresponds to the cell) to separate the ice from the cell (paragraph [0061]) to reduce power usage.
Therefore, Applicant arguments are not persuasive and the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
/SAMBA NMN GAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763