CTNF 18/653,329 CTNF 90717 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-10, 13-15, 27-29, 31, 32, 34, 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura(USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2007/0063946, hereinafter Nakamura) in view of Yu (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2019/0355792, hereinafter Yu) and Shimizu (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2011/0096530, hereinafter Shimizu) . Re claim 1 Nakamura discloses a device comprising: an emissive surface having a plurality of pixels(plurality of pixels)[0085], wherein each pixel of the plurality of pixels(plurality of pixels)[0085] has three or more sub-pixels(subpixels)[0086], Nakamura does not disclose wherein at least one sub-pixel of the three or more sub-pixels(subpixels)[0086] is disposed over at least one other sub-pixel of the three or more sub-pixels(subpixels)[0086], and wherein each pixel of the plurality of pixels(plurality of pixels)[0085] is configured to render a color gamut of at least 85% of a color space. Yu disclose in Fig 5/10 wherein at least one sub-pixel of the three or more sub-pixels(subpixels)[0068] is disposed over at least one other sub-pixel of the three or more sub-pixels(subpixels)[0068], It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Yu to the teachings of Nakamura in order to achieving a better display effect [0003, Yu]. Nakamura and Yu does not disclose wherein each pixel of the plurality of pixels(plurality of pixels)[0085] is configured to render a color gamut of at least 85% of a color space. Shimuzu disclose wherein each pixel of the plurality of pixels is configured to render a color gamut of at least 85% of a color space[0055 of Shimuzu]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Yu to the teachings of Nakamura in order to improve color reproducibility of the display apparatus [0002, Shimuzu]. Re claim 2 Nakamura, Yu and Shimuzu disclose the device of claim 1, wherein the device comprises a display, wherein the at least one sub-pixel and the at least one other sub-pixel of the three or more sub-pixels(subpixels)[0086] are configured to output different emission[0076 of Yu] spectra at a face of the display. Re claim 3 Nakamura, Yu and Shimuzu disclose the device of claim 1, wherein the at least one sub-pixel and the at least one other sub-pixel of the three or more sub-pixels(subpixels)[0086] include at least three externally addressable electrodes[0188]. Re claim 4 Nakamura, Yu and Shimuzu disclose the device of claim 3, wherein the at least one sub-pixel and the at least one other sub-pixel of the three or more sub-pixels(subpixels)[0086] share one of the at least three externally addressable electrodes[0188]. Re claim 5 Nakamura, Yu and Shimuzu disclose the device of claim 4, wherein the shared one of the least three externally addressable electrodes[0188] is at least 50% transparent[0186]. Re claim 6 Nakamura, Yu and Shimuzu disclose the device of claim 1, wherein the color space [0055 of Shimuzu] comprises at least one selected from a group consisting of: a DCI-P3 color space, a BT.2020 color space, and an AdobeTM RGB color space[0055 of Shimuzu]. Re claim 7 Nakamura, Yu and Shimuzu disclose the device of claim 1, wherein each pixel of the plurality of pixels(plurality of pixels)[0085] is configured to render a color gamut of at least 90% of the color space[0055 of Shimuzu]. Re claim 8 Nakamura, Yu and Shimuzu disclose the device of claim 1, wherein each pixel of the plurality of pixels(plurality of pixels)[0085] is configured to render a color gamut of at least 95% of the color space[0055 of Shimuzu]. Re claim 9 Nakamura, Yu and Shimuzu disclose the device of claim 1, wherein each pixel of the plurality of pixels(plurality of pixels)[0085] is configured to render a color gamut of at least 100% of the color space[0055 of Shimuzu]. Re claim 10 Nakamura, Yu and Shimuzu disclose the device of claim 1, wherein each pixel of the plurality of pixels(plurality of pixels)[0085] is configured to render a color gamut of greater than 100% of the color space[0055 of Shimuzu]. Re claim 13 Nakamura, Yu and Shimuzu disclose the device of claim 1, wherein at least one of the three or more sub-pixels(subpixels)[0086] comprises one or more color altering layers. Re claim 14 Nakamura, Yu and Shimuzu disclose the device of claim 1, wherein the three or more sub-pixels(subpixels)[0086] of each pixel includes four or more sub-pixels(subpixels)[0086]. Re claim 15 Nakamura, Yu and Shimuzu disclose the device of claim 14, wherein a color gamut of the device having the fourth or more sub-pixels(subpixels)[0086] is greater than the color gamut of the device having three sub-pixels(subpixels)[0086]. Re claim 27 Nakamura, Yu and Shimuzu disclose the device of claim 14, wherein the four or more sub-pixels(subpixels)[0086] comprise three stacked sub-pixels(subpixels)[0086], and a non-stacked sub-pixel. Re claim 28 Nakamura, Yu and Shimuzu disclose the device of claim 27, wherein the three stacked sub-pixels(subpixels)[0086] share two of at least four externally addressable electrodes[0188]. Re claim 29 Nakamura, Yu and Shimuzu disclose the device of claim 28, wherein the shared two of the at least four externally addressable electrodes[0188] are at least 50% transparent[0186]. Re claim 31 Nakamura, Yu and Shimuzu disclose the device of claim 1, wherein the device comprises a display, wherein the at least one sub-pixel and the at least one other sub-pixel of the three or more sub-pixels(subpixels)[0086] are configured to output different emission[0076 of Yu] spectra at a face of the display, and wherein the at least one sub-pixel and the at least one other sub-pixel of the three or more sub-pixels(subpixels)[0086] include at least three externally addressable electrodes[0188]. Re claim 32 Nakamura, Yu and Shimuzu disclose the device of claim 31, wherein one of the three externally addressable electrodes[0188] is shared, and wherein the shared electrode is at least 50% transparent[0186]. Re claim 34 Nakamura, Yu and Shimuzu disclose the device of claim 1, wherein the emissive surface is part of at least one selected from the group consisting of: an organic light emitting device (OLED[0002 OF YU]), an inorganic light emitting device (LED), and a quantum dot light emitting device (QLED). Re claim 36 Nakamura, Yu and Shimuzu disclose a consumer electronic device comprising the device of claim 1, wherein the device is at least one type selected from the group consisting of: a flat panel display, a curved display, a computer monitor, a medical monitor, a television, a billboard, a light for interior or exterior illumination and/or signaling, a heads-up display, a fully or partially transparent[0186] display, a flexible display, a rollable display, a foldable display, a stretchable display, a laser printer, a telephone, a cell phone[0002 of Yu], tablet, a phablet, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a wearable device, a laptop computer, a digital camera, a camcorder, a viewfinder, a micro-display that is less than 2 inches diagonal, a 3-D display, a virtual reality or augmented reality display, a vehicle, a video walls comprising multiple displays tiled together, a theater or stadium screen, and a sign. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PATRICIA D VALENZUELA whose telephone number is (571)272-9242. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 10am-6pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, William Partridge can be reached at 571-270-1402. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PATRICIA D VALENZUELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/653,329 Page 2 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/653,329 Page 3 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/653,329 Page 4 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/653,329 Page 5 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/653,329 Page 6 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/653,329 Page 7 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/653,329 Page 8 Art Unit: 2812