DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5, 7-15, and 17-20 are pending in this application.
Claims 6 and 16 are cancelled.
Claims 1 and 11 are amended.
Claims 1-5, 7-15, and 17-20 are presented for examination.
Response to Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuse (US Patent 5,179,328 A1) in view of Pohl et al. (US Publication 2024/0424958 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Furuse teaches a seat control apparatus comprising: an input part disposed in one area of a seat (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58; front-side manual switch); a driving part configured to control at least one of a reclining angle, a slide location, or a cushion angle of the seat, or any combination thereof (Furuse: Col. 2 Line 62 - Col. 3 Line 12; a slide-motor for sliding a seat in a front or rear direction, a lift-motor for driving the seat up or down, a recliner-motor for adjusting a reclining angle of a seat back of the seat); a memory configured to store one or more instructions; and a controller operatively connected to the input part, the driving part, and the memory, wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller (Furuse: Col. 3 Lines 54-61; a preset memory means for storing operating data of the respective motors in response to a preset operation of a memory switch on a switch board) cause the seat control apparatus to receive a switch input regarding a target mode (Furuse: Col. 5 Lines 20-24, Fig. 3A ; auto-positioning operation of the memory switch is done), wherein the switch input is provided by a user through the input part (Furuse: Col. 5 Lines 37-40, Fig. 3A ; when the seat is judged not to be in the memorized seat position (NO), the motor is driven by the memory drive means at succeeding step 206), ……. ; and store the renewed operation mode in the memory (Furuse: Col. 2 Line 62 - Col. 3 Line 12; a preset memory means for storing operation data of said respective motors in response to a preset operation).
Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach identify a previous operation mode of the seat, determine, based on the previous operation mode, one of the target mode and a restoring mode as a specific operation mode, wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the seat control apparatus to, based on the determining that the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode when the switch input is received, control a location of the seat by using the driving part such that the location of the seat corresponds to the specific operation mode , wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the seat control apparatus to, based on the determining that the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode, stop an operation of the seat, renew an operation mode of the seat to the specific operation mode, wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the seat control apparatus to, based on determining that the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode, renew the operation mode of the seat to a stop mode when the seat is stopped.
However Pohl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches identify a previous operation mode of the seat, determine, based on the previous operation mode, one of the target mode and a restoring mode as a specific operation mode, wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the seat control apparatus to, based on the determining that the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode when the switch input is received (Pohl: Para. 75, 51; an adjustment mode can be activated, depending on at least one trigger criterion, in order to transfer the vehicle seat into the easy-entry position or to bring it back out of the easy-entry position into a normal use position), control a location of the seat by using the driving part such that the location of the seat corresponds to the specific operation mode , wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the seat control apparatus to, based on the determining that the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode, stop an operation of the seat (Pohl: Para. 44, 48; the stop button has been pressed; in the case of such a “precrash” warning, the drive apparatus is currently in the adjustment mode, then the adjustment mode can be deactivated and the interior assembly can be locked in the position it has currently assumed), renew an operation mode of the seat to the specific operation mode, wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the seat control apparatus to, based on determining that the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode, renew the operation mode of the seat to a stop mode when the seat is stopped (Pohl: Para. 48, 50-51; in the case of such a “precrash” warning, the drive apparatus is currently in the adjustment mode, then the adjustment mode can be deactivated and the interior assembly can be locked in the position it has currently assumed; when a trigger criterion is no longer present; after an adjustment has taken place).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the memorizing of a driver’s preferred seat position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58) with the autonomous movement between an easy-entry position and a normal use position (Pohl: Para. 75) with a reasonable expectation of success because when the driver arranges adjustable vehicle seats and consoles the interior of the vehicle there is improved comfort for the vehicle’s occupants (Pohl: Para. 1, 3).
Regarding claim 2, Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the target mode includes at least one of a tip and slide mode, a walk-in slide mode, a backrest folding mode, a double folding mode, a stand-up mode, or a dive and go move, or any combination thereof.
However Pohl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the target mode includes at least one of a tip and slide mode, a walk-in slide mode, a backrest folding mode, a double folding mode, a stand-up mode, or a dive and go move, or any combination thereof (Pohl: Para. 75; easy-entry position).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the memorizing of a driver’s preferred seat position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58) with the autonomous movement between an easy-entry position and a normal use position (Pohl: Para. 75) with a reasonable expectation of success because when the driver arranges adjustable vehicle seats and consoles the interior of the vehicle there is improved comfort for the vehicle’s occupants (Pohl: Para. 1, 3).
Regarding claim 3, Furuse teaches the seat control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the seat control apparatus to: determine the target mode as the specific operation mode when the identified previous operation mode is the restoring mode (Furuse: Col. 1, Col. 5 Lines 31-40; when the seat is judged not to be in the memorized seat position (NO), the motor is driven by the memory drive means; drive the slide-motor automatically by the one-touch operation of the switch board until the seat arrives to the seat position memorized); control the location of the seat such that the location of the seat corresponds to the target mode; renew the operation mode of the seat to the target mode (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 65-68; drive the slide-motor automatically by the one-touch operation of the switch board until the seat arrives to the seat position memorized by the microcomputer); and store the renewed operation mode in the memory (Furuse: Col. 2 Line 62 - Col. 3 Line 12; a preset memory means for storing operation data of said respective motors in response to a preset operation).
Regarding claim 4, Furuse teaches the seat control apparatus of claim 1, …….. ; and store the renewed operation mode in the memory (Furuse: Col. 2 Line 62 - Col. 3 Line 12; a preset memory means for storing operation data of said respective motors in response to a preset operation).
Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the seat control apparatus to: determine the restoring mode as the specific operation mode when the identified previous operation mode is the target mode; control the location of the seat such that the location of the seat corresponds to the restoring mode; renew the operation mode of the seat to the restoring mode.
However Pohl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the seat control apparatus to: determine the restoring mode as the specific operation mode when the identified previous operation mode is the target mode; control the location of the seat such that the location of the seat corresponds to the restoring mode; renew the operation mode of the seat to the restoring mode (Pohl: Para. 75; an adjustment mode can be activated, depending on at least one trigger criterion; to bring it back out of the easy-entry position into a normal use position).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the memorizing of a driver’s preferred seat position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58) with the autonomous movement between an easy-entry position and a normal use position (Pohl: Para. 75) with a reasonable expectation of success because when the driver arranges adjustable vehicle seats and consoles the interior of the vehicle there is improved comfort for the vehicle’s occupants (Pohl: Para. 1, 3).
Regarding claim 5, Furuse teaches the seat control apparatus of claim 1, …….. ; and store the renewed operation mode in the memory (Furuse: Col. 2 Line 62 - Col. 3 Line 12; a preset memory means for storing operation data of said respective motors in response to a preset operation).
Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach ii) the switch input is received when the seat is in a stop state and the identified previous operation mode is the stop mode when the switch input is received; control the location of the seat such that the location of the seat corresponds to the reference operation mode; renew the operation mode of the seat to the reference operation mode.
However, Furuse is deemed to disclose an equivalent teaching. Furuse teaches a front-side manual switch and a rear side manual switch that is activated by the driver and moves the seat (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58). Therefore, if the driver pressed motor button, the seat will move in that direction. When the vehicle is in a stop state, the seat motor buttons work.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to allow the seat’s motor buttons to move the seat in a stop mode through Furuse’s motor buttons with a reasonable expectation of success because motor buttons that move a vehicle seat allow a driver to move the seat for their comfort or to set a driver profile position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58).
Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, further cause the seat control apparatus to: identify a reference operation mode corresponding to a case in which i) the previous operation mode is set to a stop mode.
However Pohl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, further cause the seat control apparatus to: identify a reference operation mode corresponding to a case in which i) the previous operation mode is set to a stop mode (Pohl: Para. 44; adjustment mode can be ended when an electrical adjustment is introduced, for example at the push of a button in automatic operation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the memorizing of a driver’s preferred seat position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58) with the autonomous movement between an easy-entry position and a normal use position (Pohl: Para. 75) with a reasonable expectation of success because when the driver arranges adjustable vehicle seats and consoles the interior of the vehicle there is improved comfort for the vehicle’s occupants (Pohl: Para. 1, 3).
Regarding claim 7, Furuse teaches the seat control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, further cause the seat control apparatus to: identify an operation state of the seat and a state of a host vehicle when the switch input is received (Furuse: Col. 5 Lines 31-40; whether the seat is in the seat position memorized by the preset memory means or not); …… , and store the renewed operation mode in the memory (Furuse: Col. 2 Line 62 - Col. 3 Line 12; a preset memory means for storing operation data of said respective motors in response to a preset operation).
Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach identify whether the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode when the operation state of the seat satisfies a first condition and the state of the host vehicle satisfies a second condition; and when the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode stop an operation of the seat, renew the operation mode of the seat to a stop mode when the seat is stopped.
However Pohl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches identify whether the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode when the operation state of the seat satisfies a first condition and the state of the host vehicle satisfies a second condition (Pohl: Para. 48, 50-51; adjustment mode can be prohibited in a situation-dependent manner, for example depending on the travel speed of the vehicle; combination of trigger criteria: actuating a button on the seat); and when the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode stop an operation of the seat, renew the operation mode of the seat to a stop mode when the seat is stopped (Pohl: Para. 44; adjustment mode can be ended when an electrical adjustment is introduced, for example at the push of a button in automatic operation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the memorizing of a driver’s preferred seat position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58) with the autonomous movement between an easy-entry position and a normal use position (Pohl: Para. 75) with a reasonable expectation of success because when the driver arranges adjustable vehicle seats and consoles the interior of the vehicle there is improved comfort for the vehicle’s occupants (Pohl: Para. 1, 3).
Regarding claim 8, Furuse teaches the seat control apparatus of claim 7, ….. ; control the location of the seat such that the location of the seat corresponds to the specific operation mode; renew the operation mode of the seat to the specific operation mode (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 65-68; drive the slide-motor automatically by the one-touch operation of the switch board until the seat arrives to the seat position memorized by the microcomputer); and store the renewed operation mode in the memory (Furuse: Col. 2 Line 62 - Col. 3 Line 12; a preset memory means for storing operation data of said respective motors in response to a preset operation).
Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach determine one of the target mode and the restoring mode as the specific operation mode based on the previous operation mode when the seat is operated in a post-emptive operation mode of the target mode and the restoring mode or is not operated.
However, Furuse is deemed to disclose an equivalent teaching. Furuse teaches a front-side manual switch and a rear side manual switch that is activated by the driver and moves the seat (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58). Therefore, if the driver pressed motor button, the seat will move in that direction. When the vehicle is in a stop state, the seat motor buttons work.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to allow the seat’s motor buttons to move the seat in a stop mode through Furuse’s motor buttons with a reasonable expectation of success because motor buttons that move a vehicle seat allow a driver to move the seat for their comfort or to set a driver profile position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58).
Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, further cause the seat control apparatus to: identify whether the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode when the operation state of the seat satisfies the first condition and the state of the host vehicle satisfies the second condition.
However Pohl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, further cause the seat control apparatus to: identify whether the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode when the operation state of the seat satisfies the first condition and the state of the host vehicle satisfies the second condition (Pohl: Para. 48, 50-51; adjustment mode can be prohibited in a situation-dependent manner, for example depending on the travel speed of the vehicle; combination of trigger criteria: actuating a button on the seat).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the memorizing of a driver’s preferred seat position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58) with the autonomous movement between an easy-entry position and a normal use position (Pohl: Para. 75) with a reasonable expectation of success because when the driver arranges adjustable vehicle seats and consoles the interior of the vehicle there is improved comfort for the vehicle’s occupants (Pohl: Para. 1, 3).
Regarding claim 9, Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the seat control apparatus to: determine that the operation mode of the seat does not satisfy the first condition when the seat is operated in a pre-emptive operation mode of the target mode and the restoring mode; and control the location of the seat continuously in the pre-emptive operation mode while neglecting the switch input.
However Pohl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the seat control apparatus to: determine that the operation mode of the seat does not satisfy the first condition when the seat is operated in a pre-emptive operation mode of the target mode and the restoring mode; and control the location of the seat continuously in the pre-emptive operation mode while neglecting the switch input (Pohl: Para. 48, 50-51; adjustment mode can be prohibited in a situation-dependent manner, for example depending on the travel speed of the vehicle; combination of trigger criteria: actuating a button on the seat).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the memorizing of a driver’s preferred seat position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58) with the autonomous movement between an easy-entry position and a normal use position (Pohl: Para. 75) with a reasonable expectation of success because when the driver arranges adjustable vehicle seats and consoles the interior of the vehicle there is improved comfort for the vehicle’s occupants (Pohl: Para. 1, 3).
Regarding claim 10, Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the seat control apparatus to: determine that the state of the host vehicle does not satisfy the second condition when a door corresponding to the seat is closed, a safety belt of the seat is in a fastened state, a passenger is seated on the seat, a gearshift of the host vehicle is not set to stage “P”, or a travel speed of the host vehicle is more than a specific speed; and neglect the switch input and stop controlling the location of the seat.
However Pohl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the seat control apparatus to: determine that the state of the host vehicle does not satisfy the second condition when a door corresponding to the seat is closed, a safety belt of the seat is in a fastened state, a passenger is seated on the seat, a gearshift of the host vehicle is not set to stage “P”, or a travel speed of the host vehicle is more than a specific speed (Pohl: Para. 48; adjustment mode can be prohibited in a situation-dependent manner, for example depending on the travel speed of the vehicle); and neglect the switch input and stop controlling the location of the seat (Pohl: Para. 48, 50-51; adjustment mode can be prohibited in a situation-dependent manner, for example depending on the travel speed of the vehicle; combination of trigger criteria: actuating a button on the seat).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the memorizing of a driver’s preferred seat position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58) with the autonomous movement between an easy-entry position and a normal use position (Pohl: Para. 75) with a reasonable expectation of success because when the driver arranges adjustable vehicle seats and consoles the interior of the vehicle there is improved comfort for the vehicle’s occupants (Pohl: Para. 1, 3).
Regarding claim 11, Furuse teaches a seat control method comprising: receiving, by a controller, a switch input regarding a target mode (Furuse: Col. 5 Lines 20-24, Fig. 3A ; auto-positioning operation of the memory switch is done), wherein the switch input is provided by a user through an input part (Furuse: Col. 5 Lines 37-40, Fig. 3A ; when the seat is judged not to be in the memorized seat position (NO), the motor is driven by the memory drive means at succeeding step 206); …… ; and storing, by the controller, the renewed operation mode in a memory (Furuse: Col. 2 Line 62 - Col. 3 Line 12; a preset memory means for storing operation data of said respective motors in response to a preset operation).
Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach identifying, by the controller, a previous operation mode of a seat; determining, by the controller based on the previous operation mode, one of the target mode and a restoring mode as a specific operation mode; controlling, by the controller, a location of the seat by using a driving part such that the location of the seat corresponds to the specific operation mode.
However Pohl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches identifying, by the controller, a previous operation mode of a seat; determine, by the controller based on the previous operation mode, one of the target mode and a restoring mode as a specific operation mode, including determining whether the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode when the switch input is received (Pohl: Para. 75, 51; an adjustment mode can be activated, depending on at least one trigger criterion, in order to transfer the vehicle seat into the easy-entry position or to bring it back out of the easy-entry position into a normal use position), controlling, by the controller, a location of the seat by using the driving part such that the location of the seat corresponds to the specific operation mode, including, based on determining that the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode, stopping an operation of the seat (Pohl: Para. 44, 48; the stop button has been pressed; in the case of such a “precrash” warning, the drive apparatus is currently in the adjustment mode, then the adjustment mode can be deactivated and the interior assembly can be locked in the position it has currently assumed), renewing, by the controller, an operation mode of the seat to the specific operation mode, including based on determining that the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode, renewing the operation mode of the seat to a stop mode when the seat is stopped (Pohl: Para. 48, 50-51; in the case of such a “precrash” warning, the drive apparatus is currently in the adjustment mode, then the adjustment mode can be deactivated and the interior assembly can be locked in the position it has currently assumed; when a trigger criterion is no longer present; after an adjustment has taken place).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the memorizing of a driver’s preferred seat position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58) with the autonomous movement between an easy-entry position and a normal use position (Pohl: Para. 75) with a reasonable expectation of success because when the driver arranges adjustable vehicle seats and consoles the interior of the vehicle there is improved comfort for the vehicle’s occupants (Pohl: Para. 1, 3).
Regarding claim 12, Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the target mode includes at least one of a tip and slide mode, a walk-in slide mode, a backrest folding mode, a double folding mode, a stand-up mode, or a dive and go move, or any combination thereof.
However Pohl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the target mode includes at least one of a tip and slide mode, a walk-in slide mode, a backrest folding mode, a double folding mode, a stand-up mode, or a dive and go move, or any combination thereof (Pohl: Para. 75; easy-entry position).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the memorizing of a driver’s preferred seat position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58) with the autonomous movement between an easy-entry position and a normal use position (Pohl: Para. 75) with a reasonable expectation of success because when the driver arranges adjustable vehicle seats and consoles the interior of the vehicle there is improved comfort for the vehicle’s occupants (Pohl: Para. 1, 3).
Regarding claim 13, Furuse teaches the seat control method of claim 11, wherein: determining one of the target mode and the restoring mode as the specific operation mode includes determining the target mode as the specific operation mode when the identified previous operation mode is the restoring mode (Furuse: Col. 1, Col. 5 Lines 31-40; when the seat is judged not to be in the memorized seat position (NO), the motor is driven by the memory drive means; drive the slide-motor automatically by the one-touch operation of the switch board until the seat arrives to the seat position memorized); controlling the location of the seat includes controlling the location of the seat such that the location of the seat corresponds to the target mode (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 65-68; drive the slide-motor automatically by the one-touch operation of the switch board until the seat arrives to the seat position memorized by the microcomputer); and renewing the operation mode of the seat includes renewing the operation mode of the seat to the target mode (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 65-68; drive the slide-motor automatically by the one-touch operation of the switch board until the seat arrives to the seat position memorized by the microcomputer).
Regarding claim 14, Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach wherein, when the identified previous operation mode is the target mode: determining one of the target mode and the restoring mode as the specific operation mode includes determining the restoring mode as the specific operation mode; controlling the location of the seat includes controlling the location of the seat such that the location of the seat corresponds to the restoring mode; and renewing the operation mode of the seat includes renewing the operation mode of the seat to the restoring mode.
However Pohl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein, when the identified previous operation mode is the target mode: determining one of the target mode and the restoring mode as the specific operation mode includes determining the restoring mode as the specific operation mode; controlling the location of the seat includes controlling the location of the seat such that the location of the seat corresponds to the restoring mode; and renewing the operation mode of the seat includes renewing the operation mode of the seat to the restoring mode (Pohl: Para. 75; an adjustment mode can be activated, depending on at least one trigger criterion; to bring it back out of the easy-entry position into a normal use position).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the memorizing of a driver’s preferred seat position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58) with the autonomous movement between an easy-entry position and a normal use position (Pohl: Para. 75) with a reasonable expectation of success because when the driver arranges adjustable vehicle seats and consoles the interior of the vehicle there is improved comfort for the vehicle’s occupants (Pohl: Para. 1, 3).
Regarding claim 15, Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach ii) the switch input is received when the seat is in a stop state and the identified previous operation mode is the stop mode when the switch input is received, wherein controlling the location of the seat includes controlling the location of the seat such that the location of the seat corresponds to the reference operation mode, and renewing the operation mode of the seat includes renewing the operation mode of the seat to the reference operation mode.
However, Furuse is deemed to disclose an equivalent teaching. Furuse teaches a front-side manual switch and a rear side manual switch that is activated by the driver and moves the seat (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58). Therefore, if the driver pressed motor button, the seat will move in that direction. When the vehicle is in a stop state, the seat motor buttons work.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to allow the seat’s motor buttons to move the seat in a stop mode through Furuse’s motor buttons with a reasonable expectation of success because motor buttons that move a vehicle seat allow a driver to move the seat for their comfort or to set a driver profile position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58).
Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach further comprising: identifying, by the controller, a reference operation mode corresponding to a case in which i) the previous operation mode is set to a stop mode.
However Pohl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches further comprising: identifying, by the controller, a reference operation mode corresponding to a case in which i) the previous operation mode is set to a stop mode (Pohl: Para. 44; adjustment mode can be ended when an electrical adjustment is introduced, for example at the push of a button in automatic operation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the memorizing of a driver’s preferred seat position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58) with the autonomous movement between an easy-entry position and a normal use position (Pohl: Para. 75) with a reasonable expectation of success because when the driver arranges adjustable vehicle seats and consoles the interior of the vehicle there is improved comfort for the vehicle’s occupants (Pohl: Para. 1, 3).
Regarding claim 17, Furuse teaches the seat control method of claim 11, further comprising: identifying, by the controller, an operation state of the seat and a state of a host vehicle when the switch input is received (Furuse: Col. 5 Lines 31-40; whether the seat is in the seat position memorized by the preset memory means or not); …… , and storing the renewed operation mode in the memory (Furuse: Col. 2 Line 62 - Col. 3 Line 12; a preset memory means for storing operation data of said respective motors in response to a preset operation).
Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach identifying, by the controller, whether the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode when the operation state of the seat satisfies a first condition and the state of the host vehicle satisfies a second condition; and when the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode stopping, by the controller, an operation of the seat, renewing, by the controller, the operation mode of the seat to a stop mode when the seat is stopped.
However Pohl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches identifying, by the controller, whether the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode when the operation state of the seat satisfies a first condition and the state of the host vehicle satisfies a second condition (Pohl: Para. 48, 50-51; adjustment mode can be prohibited in a situation-dependent manner, for example depending on the travel speed of the vehicle; combination of trigger criteria: actuating a button on the seat); and when the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode stopping, by the controller, an operation of the seat, renewing, by the controller, the operation mode of the seat to a stop mode when the seat is stopped (Pohl: Para. 44; adjustment mode can be ended when an electrical adjustment is introduced, for example at the push of a button in automatic operation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the memorizing of a driver’s preferred seat position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58) with the autonomous movement between an easy-entry position and a normal use position (Pohl: Para. 75) with a reasonable expectation of success because when the driver arranges adjustable vehicle seats and consoles the interior of the vehicle there is improved comfort for the vehicle’s occupants (Pohl: Para. 1, 3).
Regarding claim 18, Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach determining, by the controller, one of the target mode and the restoring mode as the specific operation mode based on the previous operation mode when the seat is operated in a post-emptive operation mode of the target mode and the restoring mode or is not operated.
However, Furuse is deemed to disclose an equivalent teaching. Furuse teaches a front-side manual switch and a rear side manual switch that is activated by the driver and moves the seat (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58). Therefore, if the driver pressed motor button, the seat will move in that direction. When the vehicle is in a stop state, the seat motor buttons work.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to allow the seat’s motor buttons to move the seat in a stop mode through Furuse’s motor buttons with a reasonable expectation of success because motor buttons that move a vehicle seat allow a driver to move the seat for their comfort or to set a driver profile position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58).
Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach further comprising: identifying, by the controller, whether the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode when the operation state of the seat satisfies the first condition and the state of the host vehicle satisfies the second condition.
However Pohl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches further comprising: identifying, by the controller, whether the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode when the operation state of the seat satisfies the first condition and the state of the host vehicle satisfies the second condition (Pohl: Para. 48, 50-51; adjustment mode can be prohibited in a situation-dependent manner, for example depending on the travel speed of the vehicle; combination of trigger criteria: actuating a button on the seat).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the memorizing of a driver’s preferred seat position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58) with the autonomous movement between an easy-entry position and a normal use position (Pohl: Para. 75) with a reasonable expectation of success because when the driver arranges adjustable vehicle seats and consoles the interior of the vehicle there is improved comfort for the vehicle’s occupants (Pohl: Para. 1, 3).
Regarding claim 19, Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach further comprising: determining, by the controller, that the operation mode of the seat does not satisfy the first condition when the seat is operated in a pre-emptive operation mode of the target mode and the restoring mode; and controlling, by the controller, the location of the seat continuously in the pre-emptive operation mode while neglecting the switch input.
However Pohl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches further comprising: determining, by the controller, that the operation mode of the seat does not satisfy the first condition when the seat is operated in a pre-emptive operation mode of the target mode and the restoring mode; and controlling, by the controller, the location of the seat continuously in the pre-emptive operation mode while neglecting the switch input (Pohl: Para. 48, 50-51; adjustment mode can be prohibited in a situation-dependent manner, for example depending on the travel speed of the vehicle; combination of trigger criteria: actuating a button on the seat).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the memorizing of a driver’s preferred seat position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58) with the autonomous movement between an easy-entry position and a normal use position (Pohl: Para. 75) with a reasonable expectation of success because when the driver arranges adjustable vehicle seats and consoles the interior of the vehicle there is improved comfort for the vehicle’s occupants (Pohl: Para. 1, 3).
Regarding claim 20, Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach further comprising: determining, by the controller, that the state of the host vehicle does not satisfy the second condition when a door corresponding to the seat is closed, a safety belt of the seat is in a fastened state, a passenger is seated on the seat, a gearshift of the host vehicle is not set to stage “P”, or a travel speed of the host vehicle is more than a specific speed; and neglecting, by the controller, the switch input and stopping controlling the location of the seat.
However Pohl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches further comprising: determining, by the controller, that the state of the host vehicle does not satisfy the second condition when a door corresponding to the seat is closed, a safety belt of the seat is in a fastened state, a passenger is seated on the seat, a gearshift of the host vehicle is not set to stage “P”, or a travel speed of the host vehicle is more than a specific speed (Pohl: Para. 48; adjustment mode can be prohibited in a situation-dependent manner, for example depending on the travel speed of the vehicle); and neglecting, by the controller, the switch input and stopping controlling the location of the seat (Pohl: Para. 48, 50-51; adjustment mode can be prohibited in a situation-dependent manner, for example depending on the travel speed of the vehicle; combination of trigger criteria: actuating a button on the seat).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the memorizing of a driver’s preferred seat position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58) with the autonomous movement between an easy-entry position and a normal use position (Pohl: Para. 75) with a reasonable expectation of success because when the driver arranges adjustable vehicle seats and consoles the interior of the vehicle there is improved comfort for the vehicle’s occupants (Pohl: Para. 1, 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 7 July 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
The applicant’s attorney argues that claim 1’s “determine whether the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode when the switch input is received”, “based on determining that the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode, stop an operation of the seat”, and “renew the operation mode of the seat to a stop mode when the seat is stopped” are not taught by the prior art Pohl.
In response to the applicant’s argument above, the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation of the claim limitations is a vehicle seat adjustment system that knows whether it is moving to the target mode position or the restoring mode position when the movement is stopped in between the two positions in order for the system to finish the movement when the stop order is replaced by a renew order.
Pohl teaches a vehicle with an automatic seat movement between an easy-entry position ad a normal user position (Pohl: Para. 75). Pohl teaches an adjustment mode between the two positions can be stopped in neither stored position (Pohl: Para. 44). Pohl teaches this stop can happen based on the press of a button (Pohl: Para. 44). Pohl teaches another example where the vehicle is traveling, and the vehicle’s system sends a precrash warning causing the vehicle’s seat to immediately stop and lock in its current location in order to safely absorb the crash (Pohl: Para. 48). Either stop action, button or pre-crash warning, is a trigger criterion. Pohl teaches when the trigger criterion is no longer in place, the seat continues movement to finish the adjustment mode (Pohl: Para. 50-51). Pohl’s system has to know what movement the seat was doing before the trigger criterion in order to finish the movement after the trigger criterion is no longer present. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the movement mode must be determined or known in order for that movement to be finished after a triggered pause event.
The applicant next argues that claim 11 is similarly amended to claim 1 and the arguments would similarly apply.
In response to the applicant’s argument above, the examiner has addressed the arguments to claim 1 above. Those responses would similarly apply to claim 11.
The applicant next argues that claims 2-5 and 7-10 depend on claim 1, and are allowable at least based on their dependencies.
In response to the argument above, claim 1 is rejected. Dependent claims 2-5 and 7-10 are rejected at least based on their dependencies.
The applicant next argues that claims 12-15 and 17-20 depend on claim 11, and are allowable at least based on their dependencies.
In response to the argument above, claim 11 is rejected. Dependent claims 12-15 and 17-20 are rejected at least based on their dependencies.
The applicant’s arguments have failed to point out the distinguishing characteristics of the amended claim language over the prior art. For the above reasons, Furuse’s power seat apparatus in view of Pohl’s pausing trigger criterion reads on applicant’s seat control apparatus and method. The rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.E.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ADAM D TISSOT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663