CTNF 18/653,680 CTNF 94263 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 2 May 2024 is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-103 AIA The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuse (US Patent 5,179,328 A1) in view of Pohl et al. (US Publication 2024/0424958 A1) . Regarding claim 1 , Furuse teaches a seat control apparatus comprising: an input part disposed in one area of a seat (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58; front-side manual switch) ; a driving part configured to control at least one of a reclining angle, a slide location, or a cushion angle of the seat, or any combination thereof (Furuse: Col. 2 Line 62 - Col. 3 Line 12; a slide-motor for sliding a seat in a front or rear direction, a lift-motor for driving the seat up or down, a recliner-motor for adjusting a reclining angle of a seat back of the seat) ; a memory configured to store one or more instructions; and a controller operatively connected to the input part, the driving part, and the memory, wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller (Furuse: Col. 3 Lines 54-61; a preset memory means for storing operating data of the respective motors in response to a preset operation of a memory switch on a switch board) cause the seat control apparatus to receive a switch input regarding a target mode (Furuse: Col. 5 Lines 20-24, Fig. 3A ; auto-positioning operation of the memory switch is done) , wherein the switch input is provided by a user through the input part (Furuse: Col. 5 Lines 37-40, Fig. 3A ; when the seat is judged not to be in the memorized seat position (NO), the motor is driven by the memory drive means at succeeding step 206) , ……. , renew an operation mode of the seat to the specific operation mode (Furuse: Col. 1, Col. 5 Lines 31-40; when the seat is judged not to be in the memorized seat position (NO), the motor is driven by the memory drive means; drive the slide-motor automatically by the one-touch operation of the switch board until the seat arrives to the seat position memorized) , and store the renewed operation mode in the memory (Furuse: Col. 2 Line 62 - Col. 3 Line 12; a preset memory means for storing operation data of said respective motors in response to a preset operation). Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach identify a previous operation mode of the seat, determine, based on the previous operation mode, one of the target mode and a restoring mode as a specific operation mode, control a location of the seat by using the driving part such that the location of the seat corresponds to the specific operation mode . However Pohl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches identify a previous operation mode of the seat, determine, based on the previous operation mode, one of the target mode and a restoring mode as a specific operation mode, control a location of the seat by using the driving part such that the location of the seat corresponds to the specific operation mode (Pohl: Para. 75; an adjustment mode can be activated, depending on at least one trigger criterion; to bring it back out of the easy-entry position into a normal use position). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the memorizing of a driver’s preferred seat position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58) with the autonomous movement between an easy-entry position and a normal use position (Pohl: Para. 75) with a reasonable expectation of success because when the driver arranges adjustable vehicle seats and consoles the interior of the vehicle there is improved comfort for the vehicle’s occupants (Pohl: Para. 1, 3). Regarding claim 2 , Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the target mode includes at least one of a tip and slide mode, a walk-in slide mode, a backrest folding mode, a double folding mode, a stand-up mode, or a dive and go move, or any combination thereof . However Pohl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the target mode includes at least one of a tip and slide mode, a walk-in slide mode, a backrest folding mode, a double folding mode, a stand-up mode, or a dive and go move, or any combination thereof (Pohl: Para. 75; easy-entry position). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the memorizing of a driver’s preferred seat position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58) with the autonomous movement between an easy-entry position and a normal use position (Pohl: Para. 75) with a reasonable expectation of success because when the driver arranges adjustable vehicle seats and consoles the interior of the vehicle there is improved comfort for the vehicle’s occupants (Pohl: Para. 1, 3). Regarding claim 3 , Furuse teaches the seat control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the seat control apparatus to: determine the target mode as the specific operation mode when the identified previous operation mode is the restoring mode (Furuse: Col. 1, Col. 5 Lines 31-40; when the seat is judged not to be in the memorized seat position (NO), the motor is driven by the memory drive means; drive the slide-motor automatically by the one-touch operation of the switch board until the seat arrives to the seat position memorized) ; control the location of the seat such that the location of the seat corresponds to the target mode; renew the operation mode of the seat to the target mode (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 65-68; drive the slide-motor automatically by the one-touch operation of the switch board until the seat arrives to the seat position memorized by the microcomputer) ; and store the renewed operation mode in the memory (Furuse: Col. 2 Line 62 - Col. 3 Line 12; a preset memory means for storing operation data of said respective motors in response to a preset operation). Regarding claim 4 , Furuse teaches the seat control apparatus of claim 1, …….. ; and store the renewed operation mode in the memory (Furuse: Col. 2 Line 62 - Col. 3 Line 12; a preset memory means for storing operation data of said respective motors in response to a preset operation). Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the seat control apparatus to: determine the restoring mode as the specific operation mode when the identified previous operation mode is the target mode; control the location of the seat such that the location of the seat corresponds to the restoring mode; renew the operation mode of the seat to the restoring mode . However Pohl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the seat control apparatus to: determine the restoring mode as the specific operation mode when the identified previous operation mode is the target mode; control the location of the seat such that the location of the seat corresponds to the restoring mode; renew the operation mode of the seat to the restoring mode (Pohl: Para. 75; an adjustment mode can be activated, depending on at least one trigger criterion; to bring it back out of the easy-entry position into a normal use position). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the memorizing of a driver’s preferred seat position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58) with the autonomous movement between an easy-entry position and a normal use position (Pohl: Para. 75) with a reasonable expectation of success because when the driver arranges adjustable vehicle seats and consoles the interior of the vehicle there is improved comfort for the vehicle’s occupants (Pohl: Para. 1, 3). Regarding claim 5 , Furuse teaches the seat control apparatus of claim 1, …….. ; and store the renewed operation mode in the memory (Furuse: Col. 2 Line 62 - Col. 3 Line 12; a preset memory means for storing operation data of said respective motors in response to a preset operation). Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach ii) the switch input is received when the seat is in a stop state and the identified previous operation mode is the stop mode when the switch input is received; control the location of the seat such that the location of the seat corresponds to the reference operation mode; renew the operation mode of the seat to the reference operation mode . However, Furuse is deemed to disclose an equivalent teaching. Furuse teaches a front-side manual switch and a rear side manual switch that is activated by the driver and moves the seat (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58). Therefore, if the driver pressed motor button, the seat will move in that direction. When the vehicle is in a stop state, the seat motor buttons work. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to allow the seat’s motor buttons to move the seat in a stop mode through Furuse’s motor buttons with a reasonable expectation of success because motor buttons that move a vehicle seat allow a driver to move the seat for their comfort or to set a driver profile position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58). Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, further cause the seat control apparatus to: identify a reference operation mode corresponding to a case in which i) the previous operation mode is set to a stop mode . However Pohl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, further cause the seat control apparatus to: identify a reference operation mode corresponding to a case in which i) the previous operation mode is set to a stop mode (Pohl: Para. 44; adjustment mode can be ended when an electrical adjustment is introduced, for example at the push of a button in automatic operation). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the memorizing of a driver’s preferred seat position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58) with the autonomous movement between an easy-entry position and a normal use position (Pohl: Para. 75) with a reasonable expectation of success because when the driver arranges adjustable vehicle seats and consoles the interior of the vehicle there is improved comfort for the vehicle’s occupants (Pohl: Para. 1, 3). Regarding claim 6 , Furuse teaches the seat control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, further cause the seat control apparatus to: identify whether the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode when the switch input is received (Furuse: Col. 5 Lines 31-40; whether the seat is in the seat position memorized by the preset memory means or not) ; and …… store the renewed operation mode in the memory (Furuse: Col. 2 Line 62 - Col. 3 Line 12; a preset memory means for storing operation data of said respective motors in response to a preset operation). Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach when the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode stop an operation of the seat, renew the operation mode of the seat to a stop mode when the seat is stopped . However Pohl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches when the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode stop an operation of the seat, renew the operation mode of the seat to a stop mode when the seat is stopped (Pohl: Para. 44; adjustment mode can be ended when an electrical adjustment is introduced, for example at the push of a button in automatic operation). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the memorizing of a driver’s preferred seat position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58) with the autonomous movement between an easy-entry position and a normal use position (Pohl: Para. 75) with a reasonable expectation of success because when the driver arranges adjustable vehicle seats and consoles the interior of the vehicle there is improved comfort for the vehicle’s occupants (Pohl: Para. 1, 3). Regarding claim 7 , Furuse teaches the seat control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, further cause the seat control apparatus to: identify an operation state of the seat and a state of a host vehicle when the switch input is received (Furuse: Col. 5 Lines 31-40; whether the seat is in the seat position memorized by the preset memory means or not) ; …… , and store the renewed operation mode in the memory (Furuse: Col. 2 Line 62 - Col. 3 Line 12; a preset memory means for storing operation data of said respective motors in response to a preset operation). Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach identify whether the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode when the operation state of the seat satisfies a first condition and the state of the host vehicle satisfies a second condition; and when the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode stop an operation of the seat, renew the operation mode of the seat to a stop mode when the seat is stopped . However Pohl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches identify whether the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode when the operation state of the seat satisfies a first condition and the state of the host vehicle satisfies a second condition (Pohl: Para. 48, 50-51; adjustment mode can be prohibited in a situation-dependent manner, for example depending on the travel speed of the vehicle; combination of trigger criteria: actuating a button on the seat) ; and when the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode stop an operation of the seat, renew the operation mode of the seat to a stop mode when the seat is stopped (Pohl: Para. 44; adjustment mode can be ended when an electrical adjustment is introduced, for example at the push of a button in automatic operation). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the memorizing of a driver’s preferred seat position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58) with the autonomous movement between an easy-entry position and a normal use position (Pohl: Para. 75) with a reasonable expectation of success because when the driver arranges adjustable vehicle seats and consoles the interior of the vehicle there is improved comfort for the vehicle’s occupants (Pohl: Para. 1, 3). Regarding claim 8 , Furuse teaches the seat control apparatus of claim 7, ….. ; control the location of the seat such that the location of the seat corresponds to the specific operation mode; renew the operation mode of the seat to the specific operation mode (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 65-68; drive the slide-motor automatically by the one-touch operation of the switch board until the seat arrives to the seat position memorized by the microcomputer) ; and store the renewed operation mode in the memory (Furuse: Col. 2 Line 62 - Col. 3 Line 12; a preset memory means for storing operation data of said respective motors in response to a preset operation). Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach determine one of the target mode and the restoring mode as the specific operation mode based on the previous operation mode when the seat is operated in a post-emptive operation mode of the target mode and the restoring mode or is not operated . However, Furuse is deemed to disclose an equivalent teaching. Furuse teaches a front-side manual switch and a rear side manual switch that is activated by the driver and moves the seat (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58). Therefore, if the driver pressed motor button, the seat will move in that direction. When the vehicle is in a stop state, the seat motor buttons work. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to allow the seat’s motor buttons to move the seat in a stop mode through Furuse’s motor buttons with a reasonable expectation of success because motor buttons that move a vehicle seat allow a driver to move the seat for their comfort or to set a driver profile position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58). Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, further cause the seat control apparatus to: identify whether the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode when the operation state of the seat satisfies the first condition and the state of the host vehicle satisfies the second condition. However Pohl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, further cause the seat control apparatus to: identify whether the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode when the operation state of the seat satisfies the first condition and the state of the host vehicle satisfies the second condition (Pohl: Para. 48, 50-51; adjustment mode can be prohibited in a situation-dependent manner, for example depending on the travel speed of the vehicle; combination of trigger criteria: actuating a button on the seat). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the memorizing of a driver’s preferred seat position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58) with the autonomous movement between an easy-entry position and a normal use position (Pohl: Para. 75) with a reasonable expectation of success because when the driver arranges adjustable vehicle seats and consoles the interior of the vehicle there is improved comfort for the vehicle’s occupants (Pohl: Para. 1, 3). Regarding claim 9 , Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the seat control apparatus to: determine that the operation mode of the seat does not satisfy the first condition when the seat is operated in a pre-emptive operation mode of the target mode and the restoring mode; and control the location of the seat continuously in the pre-emptive operation mode while neglecting the switch input . However Pohl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the seat control apparatus to: determine that the operation mode of the seat does not satisfy the first condition when the seat is operated in a pre-emptive operation mode of the target mode and the restoring mode; and control the location of the seat continuously in the pre-emptive operation mode while neglecting the switch input (Pohl: Para. 48, 50-51; adjustment mode can be prohibited in a situation-dependent manner, for example depending on the travel speed of the vehicle; combination of trigger criteria: actuating a button on the seat). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the memorizing of a driver’s preferred seat position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58) with the autonomous movement between an easy-entry position and a normal use position (Pohl: Para. 75) with a reasonable expectation of success because when the driver arranges adjustable vehicle seats and consoles the interior of the vehicle there is improved comfort for the vehicle’s occupants (Pohl: Para. 1, 3). Regarding claim 10 , Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the seat control apparatus to: determine that the state of the host vehicle does not satisfy the second condition when a door corresponding to the seat is closed, a safety belt of the seat is in a fastened state, a passenger is seated on the seat, a gearshift of the host vehicle is not set to stage “P”, or a travel speed of the host vehicle is more than a specific speed; and neglect the switch input and stop controlling the location of the seat . However Pohl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the seat control apparatus to: determine that the state of the host vehicle does not satisfy the second condition when a door corresponding to the seat is closed, a safety belt of the seat is in a fastened state, a passenger is seated on the seat, a gearshift of the host vehicle is not set to stage “P”, or a travel speed of the host vehicle is more than a specific speed (Pohl: Para. 48; adjustment mode can be prohibited in a situation-dependent manner, for example depending on the travel speed of the vehicle) ; and neglect the switch input and stop controlling the location of the seat (Pohl: Para. 48, 50-51; adjustment mode can be prohibited in a situation-dependent manner, for example depending on the travel speed of the vehicle; combination of trigger criteria: actuating a button on the seat). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the memorizing of a driver’s preferred seat position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58) with the autonomous movement between an easy-entry position and a normal use position (Pohl: Para. 75) with a reasonable expectation of success because when the driver arranges adjustable vehicle seats and consoles the interior of the vehicle there is improved comfort for the vehicle’s occupants (Pohl: Para. 1, 3). Regarding claim 11 , Furuse teaches a seat control method comprising: receiving, by a controller, a switch input regarding a target mode (Furuse: Col. 5 Lines 20-24, Fig. 3A ; auto-positioning operation of the memory switch is done) , wherein the switch input is provided by a user through an input part (Furuse: Col. 5 Lines 37-40, Fig. 3A ; when the seat is judged not to be in the memorized seat position (NO), the motor is driven by the memory drive means at succeeding step 206) ; …… ; renewing, by the controller, an operation mode of the seat to the specific operation mode (Furuse: Col. 1, Col. 5 Lines 31-40; when the seat is judged not to be in the memorized seat position (NO), the motor is driven by the memory drive means; drive the slide-motor automatically by the one-touch operation of the switch board until the seat arrives to the seat position memorized) ; and storing, by the controller, the renewed operation mode in a memory (Furuse: Col. 2 Line 62 - Col. 3 Line 12; a preset memory means for storing operation data of said respective motors in response to a preset operation). Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach identifying, by the controller, a previous operation mode of a seat; determining, by the controller based on the previous operation mode, one of the target mode and a restoring mode as a specific operation mode; controlling, by the controller, a location of the seat by using a driving part such that the location of the seat corresponds to the specific operation mode . However Pohl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches identifying, by the controller, a previous operation mode of a seat; determining, by the controller based on the previous operation mode, one of the target mode and a restoring mode as a specific operation mode; controlling, by the controller, a location of the seat by using a driving part such that the location of the seat corresponds to the specific operation mode (Pohl: Para. 75; an adjustment mode can be activated, depending on at least one trigger criterion; to bring it back out of the easy-entry position into a normal use position). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the memorizing of a driver’s preferred seat position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58) with the autonomous movement between an easy-entry position and a normal use position (Pohl: Para. 75) with a reasonable expectation of success because when the driver arranges adjustable vehicle seats and consoles the interior of the vehicle there is improved comfort for the vehicle’s occupants (Pohl: Para. 1, 3). Regarding claim 12 , Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the target mode includes at least one of a tip and slide mode, a walk-in slide mode, a backrest folding mode, a double folding mode, a stand-up mode, or a dive and go move, or any combination thereof . However Pohl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the target mode includes at least one of a tip and slide mode, a walk-in slide mode, a backrest folding mode, a double folding mode, a stand-up mode, or a dive and go move, or any combination thereof (Pohl: Para. 75; easy-entry position). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the memorizing of a driver’s preferred seat position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58) with the autonomous movement between an easy-entry position and a normal use position (Pohl: Para. 75) with a reasonable expectation of success because when the driver arranges adjustable vehicle seats and consoles the interior of the vehicle there is improved comfort for the vehicle’s occupants (Pohl: Para. 1, 3). Regarding claim 13 , Furuse teaches the seat control method of claim 11, wherein: determining one of the target mode and the restoring mode as the specific operation mode includes determining the target mode as the specific operation mode when the identified previous operation mode is the restoring mode (Furuse: Col. 1, Col. 5 Lines 31-40; when the seat is judged not to be in the memorized seat position (NO), the motor is driven by the memory drive means; drive the slide-motor automatically by the one-touch operation of the switch board until the seat arrives to the seat position memorized) ; controlling the location of the seat includes controlling the location of the seat such that the location of the seat corresponds to the target mode (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 65-68; drive the slide-motor automatically by the one-touch operation of the switch board until the seat arrives to the seat position memorized by the microcomputer) ; and renewing the operation mode of the seat includes renewing the operation mode of the seat to the target mode (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 65-68; drive the slide-motor automatically by the one-touch operation of the switch board until the seat arrives to the seat position memorized by the microcomputer). Regarding claim 14 , Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach wherein, when the identified previous operation mode is the target mode: determining one of the target mode and the restoring mode as the specific operation mode includes determining the restoring mode as the specific operation mode; controlling the location of the seat includes controlling the location of the seat such that the location of the seat corresponds to the restoring mode; and renewing the operation mode of the seat includes renewing the operation mode of the seat to the restoring mode . However Pohl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein, when the identified previous operation mode is the target mode: determining one of the target mode and the restoring mode as the specific operation mode includes determining the restoring mode as the specific operation mode; controlling the location of the seat includes controlling the location of the seat such that the location of the seat corresponds to the restoring mode; and renewing the operation mode of the seat includes renewing the operation mode of the seat to the restoring mode (Pohl: Para. 75; an adjustment mode can be activated, depending on at least one trigger criterion; to bring it back out of the easy-entry position into a normal use position). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the memorizing of a driver’s preferred seat position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58) with the autonomous movement between an easy-entry position and a normal use position (Pohl: Para. 75) with a reasonable expectation of success because when the driver arranges adjustable vehicle seats and consoles the interior of the vehicle there is improved comfort for the vehicle’s occupants (Pohl: Para. 1, 3). Regarding claim 15 , Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach ii) the switch input is received when the seat is in a stop state and the identified previous operation mode is the stop mode when the switch input is received, wherein controlling the location of the seat includes controlling the location of the seat such that the location of the seat corresponds to the reference operation mode, and renewing the operation mode of the seat includes renewing the operation mode of the seat to the reference operation mode . However, Furuse is deemed to disclose an equivalent teaching. Furuse teaches a front-side manual switch and a rear side manual switch that is activated by the driver and moves the seat (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58). Therefore, if the driver pressed motor button, the seat will move in that direction. When the vehicle is in a stop state, the seat motor buttons work. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to allow the seat’s motor buttons to move the seat in a stop mode through Furuse’s motor buttons with a reasonable expectation of success because motor buttons that move a vehicle seat allow a driver to move the seat for their comfort or to set a driver profile position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58). Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach further comprising: identifying, by the controller, a reference operation mode corresponding to a case in which i) the previous operation mode is set to a stop mode . However Pohl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches further comprising: identifying, by the controller, a reference operation mode corresponding to a case in which i) the previous operation mode is set to a stop mode (Pohl: Para. 44; adjustment mode can be ended when an electrical adjustment is introduced, for example at the push of a button in automatic operation). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the memorizing of a driver’s preferred seat position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58) with the autonomous movement between an easy-entry position and a normal use position (Pohl: Para. 75) with a reasonable expectation of success because when the driver arranges adjustable vehicle seats and consoles the interior of the vehicle there is improved comfort for the vehicle’s occupants (Pohl: Para. 1, 3). Regarding claim 16 , Furuse teaches the seat control method of claim 11, further comprising: identifying, by the controller, whether the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode when the switch input is received (Furuse: Col. 5 Lines 31-40; whether the seat is in the seat position memorized by the preset memory means or not) ; and …….. , and storing, by the controller, the renewed operation mode in the memory (Furuse: Col. 2 Line 62 - Col. 3 Line 12; a preset memory means for storing operation data of said respective motors in response to a preset operation). Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach when the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode stopping, by the controller, an operation of the seat, renewing, by the controller, the operation mode of the seat to a stop mode when the seat is stopped . However Pohl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches when the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode stopping, by the controller, an operation of the seat, renewing, by the controller, the operation mode of the seat to a stop mode when the seat is stopped (Pohl: Para. 44; adjustment mode can be ended when an electrical adjustment is introduced, for example at the push of a button in automatic operation). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the memorizing of a driver’s preferred seat position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58) with the autonomous movement between an easy-entry position and a normal use position (Pohl: Para. 75) with a reasonable expectation of success because when the driver arranges adjustable vehicle seats and consoles the interior of the vehicle there is improved comfort for the vehicle’s occupants (Pohl: Para. 1, 3). Regarding claim 17 , Furuse teaches the seat control method of claim 11, further comprising: identifying, by the controller, an operation state of the seat and a state of a host vehicle when the switch input is received (Furuse: Col. 5 Lines 31-40; whether the seat is in the seat position memorized by the preset memory means or not) ; …… , and storing the renewed operation mode in the memory (Furuse: Col. 2 Line 62 - Col. 3 Line 12; a preset memory means for storing operation data of said respective motors in response to a preset operation). Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach identifying, by the controller, whether the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode when the operation state of the seat satisfies a first condition and the state of the host vehicle satisfies a second condition; and when the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode stopping, by the controller, an operation of the seat, renewing, by the controller, the operation mode of the seat to a stop mode when the seat is stopped . However Pohl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches identifying, by the controller, whether the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode when the operation state of the seat satisfies a first condition and the state of the host vehicle satisfies a second condition (Pohl: Para. 48, 50-51; adjustment mode can be prohibited in a situation-dependent manner, for example depending on the travel speed of the vehicle; combination of trigger criteria: actuating a button on the seat) ; and when the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode stopping, by the controller, an operation of the seat, renewing, by the controller, the operation mode of the seat to a stop mode when the seat is stopped (Pohl: Para. 44; adjustment mode can be ended when an electrical adjustment is introduced, for example at the push of a button in automatic operation). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the memorizing of a driver’s preferred seat position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58) with the autonomous movement between an easy-entry position and a normal use position (Pohl: Para. 75) with a reasonable expectation of success because when the driver arranges adjustable vehicle seats and consoles the interior of the vehicle there is improved comfort for the vehicle’s occupants (Pohl: Para. 1, 3). Regarding claim 18 , Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach determining, by the controller, one of the target mode and the restoring mode as the specific operation mode based on the previous operation mode when the seat is operated in a post-emptive operation mode of the target mode and the restoring mode or is not operated . However, Furuse is deemed to disclose an equivalent teaching. Furuse teaches a front-side manual switch and a rear side manual switch that is activated by the driver and moves the seat (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58). Therefore, if the driver pressed motor button, the seat will move in that direction. When the vehicle is in a stop state, the seat motor buttons work. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to allow the seat’s motor buttons to move the seat in a stop mode through Furuse’s motor buttons with a reasonable expectation of success because motor buttons that move a vehicle seat allow a driver to move the seat for their comfort or to set a driver profile position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58). Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach further comprising: identifying, by the controller, whether the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode when the operation state of the seat satisfies the first condition and the state of the host vehicle satisfies the second condition . However Pohl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches further comprising: identifying, by the controller, whether the seat is operated in the target mode or the restoring mode when the operation state of the seat satisfies the first condition and the state of the host vehicle satisfies the second condition (Pohl: Para. 48, 50-51; adjustment mode can be prohibited in a situation-dependent manner, for example depending on the travel speed of the vehicle; combination of trigger criteria: actuating a button on the seat). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the memorizing of a driver’s preferred seat position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58) with the autonomous movement between an easy-entry position and a normal use position (Pohl: Para. 75) with a reasonable expectation of success because when the driver arranges adjustable vehicle seats and consoles the interior of the vehicle there is improved comfort for the vehicle’s occupants (Pohl: Para. 1, 3). Regarding claim 19 , Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach further comprising: determining, by the controller, that the operation mode of the seat does not satisfy the first condition when the seat is operated in a pre-emptive operation mode of the target mode and the restoring mode; and controlling, by the controller, the location of the seat continuously in the pre-emptive operation mode while neglecting the switch input . However Pohl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches further comprising: determining, by the controller, that the operation mode of the seat does not satisfy the first condition when the seat is operated in a pre-emptive operation mode of the target mode and the restoring mode; and controlling, by the controller, the location of the seat continuously in the pre-emptive operation mode while neglecting the switch input (Pohl: Para. 48, 50-51; adjustment mode can be prohibited in a situation-dependent manner, for example depending on the travel speed of the vehicle; combination of trigger criteria: actuating a button on the seat). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the memorizing of a driver’s preferred seat position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58) with the autonomous movement between an easy-entry position and a normal use position (Pohl: Para. 75) with a reasonable expectation of success because when the driver arranges adjustable vehicle seats and consoles the interior of the vehicle there is improved comfort for the vehicle’s occupants (Pohl: Para. 1, 3). Regarding claim 20 , Furuse doesn’t explicitly teach further comprising: determining, by the controller, that the state of the host vehicle does not satisfy the second condition when a door corresponding to the seat is closed, a safety belt of the seat is in a fastened state, a passenger is seated on the seat, a gearshift of the host vehicle is not set to stage “P”, or a travel speed of the host vehicle is more than a specific speed; and neglecting, by the controller, the switch input and stopping controlling the location of the seat . However Pohl, in the same field of endeavor, teaches further comprising: determining, by the controller, that the state of the host vehicle does not satisfy the second condition when a door corresponding to the seat is closed, a safety belt of the seat is in a fastened state, a passenger is seated on the seat, a gearshift of the host vehicle is not set to stage “P”, or a travel speed of the host vehicle is more than a specific speed (Pohl: Para. 48; adjustment mode can be prohibited in a situation-dependent manner, for example depending on the travel speed of the vehicle) ; and neglecting, by the controller, the switch input and stopping controlling the location of the seat (Pohl: Para. 48, 50-51; adjustment mode can be prohibited in a situation-dependent manner, for example depending on the travel speed of the vehicle; combination of trigger criteria: actuating a button on the seat). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the memorizing of a driver’s preferred seat position (Furuse: Col. 1 Lines 53-58) with the autonomous movement between an easy-entry position and a normal use position (Pohl: Para. 75) with a reasonable expectation of success because when the driver arranges adjustable vehicle seats and consoles the interior of the vehicle there is improved comfort for the vehicle’s occupants (Pohl: Para. 1, 3). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LAURA E LINHARDT whose telephone number is (571) 272-8325. The examiner can normally be reached on M-TR, M-F: 8am-4pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Angela Ortiz can be reached on (571) 272-1206. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at (866) 217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call (800) 786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or (571) 272-1000. /L.E.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3663 /ADAM D TISSOT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663 Application/Control Number: 18/653,680 Page 2 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 18/653,680 Page 3 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 18/653,680 Page 5 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 18/653,680 Page 6 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 18/653,680 Page 7 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 18/653,680 Page 8 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 18/653,680 Page 9 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 18/653,680 Page 10 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 18/653,680 Page 11 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 18/653,680 Page 12 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 18/653,680 Page 13 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 18/653,680 Page 14 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 18/653,680 Page 15 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 18/653,680 Page 16 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 18/653,680 Page 17 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 18/653,680 Page 18 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 18/653,680 Page 19 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 18/653,680 Page 20 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 18/653,680 Page 21 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 18/653,680 Page 22 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 18/653,680 Page 23 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 18/653,680 Page 24 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 18/653,680 Page 25 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 18/653,680 Page 26 Art Unit: 3663 Application/Control Number: 18/653,680 Page 27 Art Unit: 3663