DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Specifically, representative Claim 8 recites:
A device comprising:
at least one processing device configured to:
receive multiple compression load measurements over a time period from at least one sensor coupled to a rotor stack, the rotor stack tied to a tie-shaft and configured to rotate about an axis with the tie-shaft, the rotor stack comprising multiple rotors, the multiple compression load measurements related to a compression load on the rotor stack, wherein a nut is coupled to the tie-shaft and configured to apply a tension load to the tie-shaft, resulting in the compression load on the rotor stack (Examiner notes that the sensor and rotor stack are not positively recited elements of the claimed device and therefore do not carry patentable weight); and
determine a change in the compression load over the time period based on the received compression load measurements.
The claim limitations in the abstract idea have been highlighted in bold above; the remaining limitations are “additional elements”.
Under the Step 1 of the eligibility analysis, we determine whether the claims are to a statutory category by considering whether the claimed subject matter falls within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. 101: Process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. The above claim is considered to be in a statutory category (machine).
Under the Step 2A, Prong One, we consider whether the claim recites a judicial exception (abstract idea). In the above claim, the highlighted portion constitutes an abstract idea because, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, it recites limitations that fall into/recite an abstract idea exceptions. Specifically, under the 2019 Revised Patent Subject matter Eligibility Guidance, it falls into the grouping of subject matter when recited as such in a claim limitation, that covers mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind including an observation, evaluation, judgement, and/or opinion.
For example, steps of “determine a change in the compression load over the time period based on the received compression load measurements (determination based on data analysis)” are treated by the Examiner as belonging to mental process grouping.
Similar limitations comprise the abstract ideas of Claim 15.
Next, under the Step 2A, Prong Two, we consider whether the claim that recites a judicial exception is integrated into a practical application.
In this step, we evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception.
The above claims comprise the following additional elements:
Claim 9: at least one processing device configured to: receive multiple compression load measurements over a time period from at least one sensor coupled to a rotor stack, the rotor stack tied to a tie-shaft and configured to rotate about an axis with the tie-shaft, the rotor stack comprising multiple rotors, the multiple compression load measurements related to a compression load on the rotor stack, wherein a nut is coupled to the tie-shaft and configured to apply a tension load to the tie-shaft, resulting in the compression load on the rotor stack;
Claim 15: receiving multiple compression load measurements over a time period from at least one sensor coupled to a rotor stack, the rotor stack tied to a tie-shaft and configured to rotate about an axis with the tie-shaft, the rotor stack comprising multiple rotors, the multiple compression load measurements related to a compression load on the rotor stack, wherein a nut is coupled to the tie-shaft and configured to apply a tension load to the tie-shaft, resulting in the compression load on the rotor stack.
The additional element of “receiving multiple compression load measurements over a time period from at least one sensor coupled to a rotor stack, the rotor stack tied to a tie-shaft and configured to rotate about an axis with the tie-shaft, the rotor stack comprising multiple rotors, the multiple compression load measurements related to a compression load on the rotor stack, wherein a nut is coupled to the tie-shaft and configured to apply a tension load to the tie-shaft, resulting in the compression load on the rotor stack” represents a mere data gathering step and only adds an insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. The Examiner notes that as a whole, the claim only requires receiving gathered compression load data and analyzing its changes over time, and that the source of the data for the relevant claims does not significantly change how the data is received, nor how the determination analysis is performed. At least one processing device (generic processor) is generally recited and not qualified as a particular machine.
In conclusion, the above additional elements, considered individually and in combination with the other claim elements do not reflect an improvement to other technology or technical field, and, therefore, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Therefore, the claims are directed to a judicial exception and require further analysis under the Step 2B.
However, the above claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (Step 2B analysis).
The claims, therefore, are not patent eligible.
With regards to the dependent claims, claims 9-14, and 16-20 provide additional features/steps which are part of an expanded algorithm, so these limitations should be considered part of an expanded abstract idea of the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8, 9, 11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (CN 113155014 A).
Regarding Claim 8, Liu teaches a device comprising:
at least one processing device configured to:
receive multiple compression load measurements over a time period from at least one sensor coupled to a rotor stack (Liu [0029] the dynamic strain collecting instrument outputs the strain signal to the data collecting and processing system 29 for data calculation, analysis and storage. Compression and strain are related through Hooke’s Law), the rotor stack tied to a tie-shaft and configured to rotate about an axis with the tie-shaft, the rotor stack comprising multiple rotors, the multiple compression load measurements related to a compression load on the rotor stack, wherein a nut is coupled to the tie-shaft and configured to apply a tension load to the tie-shaft, resulting in the compression load on the rotor stack (Examiner notes that the sensor and rotor stack are not positively recited elements of the claimed device and therefore do not carry patentable weight. Nonetheless see Liu [0027] the pull rod dynamic strain collecting system comprises a test rotor turbine shaft section 7, strain gauge 46, high speed slip ring and dynamic strain collecting instrument 47; The high speed slip ring is composed of slip ring rotor 43 and slip ring stator 42; the strain sheet 46 is installed on the turbine wheel disc pull rod 38. Also see Liu [0006] The purpose of the invention is aiming at the whole rotor containing compressor wheel disc group and turbine wheel group cannot real-time monitor the strain condition of the pull rod in the rotating process, providing a circumferential pull rod rotor pull rod strain dynamic measuring system; so as to solve the problem that the change of tension stress strain state caused by long-term operation may affect the stability and reliability of the whole pull rod rotor, so as to realize the problem of dynamic strain measurement of the pull rod rotor. The system is designed to measure strain during rotation of the turbine which can be readily converted to compression using Hooke’s Law); and
determine a change in the compression load over the time period based on the received compression load measurements (Liu [0034] the working process of the whole circumferential pull rod rotor pull rod dynamic strain measuring system is as follows: […] the electric signal is output to the dynamic strain collector 47 through the high speed slip ring signal output line 41; the dynamic strain collector 47 outputs the conditioned signal to the data collecting and processing system 29; the data collecting and processing system 29 corresponding to the power transformation signal for real time calculation, analysis and storage. The system is “dynamic” meaning it collects and analyzes data over time.).
Regarding Claim 9, Liu further teaches in response to determining the change in the compression load, to output at least one of an information message, a warning message, or an alarm message (Liu [0026] the signal collecting card 28 outputs the electric signal to the data collecting and processing system 29 containing the data collecting software and real-time display, calculating the sensor signal by the computer system, analyzing, displaying and storing. After the data is analyzed, it is displayed).
Regarding Claim 11, Liu further teaches wherein the at least one sensor comprises a strain gauge mounted to an exterior surface of the rotor stack (As stated above the sensor and turbine elements are not positively recited elements of the processing system and therefore does not carry patentable weight. Nonetheless, see Liu [0027] FIG. 2, FIG. 3 respectively a pull rod dynamic strain measuring system structure diagram and a turbine wheel three-dimensional structure schematic diagram. the pull rod dynamic strain collecting system comprises a test rotor turbine shaft section 7, strain gauge 46,).
Regarding Claim 13, Liu further teaches wherein the tie-shaft, the rotor stack, and the nut comprise part of a turbine engine (As stated above the sensor and turbine elements are not positively recited elements of the processing system and therefore does not carry patentable weight. Liu [0006] The purpose of the invention is aiming at the whole rotor containing compressor wheel disc group and turbine wheel group cannot real-time monitor the strain condition of the pull rod in the rotating process, providing a circumferential pull rod rotor pull rod strain dynamic measuring system; so as to solve the problem that the change of tension stress strain state caused by long-term operation may affect the stability and reliability of the whole pull rod rotor, so as to realize the problem of dynamic strain measurement of the pull rod rotor. Liu discloses monitoring the rotating portion of a turbine engine).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Liu (as stated above) to teach wherein the at least one sensor comprises multiple strain gauges positioned at different locations around a circumference of the rotor stack, to provide redundancies when measuring a single rotor or to measure multiple rotors if desired (see MPEP 2143 I. (E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Badcock (US 20130052011 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Liu (as stated above) is not relied upon to explicitly teach in response to determining that the compression load has increased above a threshold value, to output an alarm message to a monitoring system.
Benjamin teaches in response to determining that the compression load has increased above a threshold value, to output an alarm message to a monitoring system (Badcock [0012] The safe running limit 22 is set at a level which allows sufficient time (response time 25) for the reactive control system to adjust the operational settings of the turbine so as to prevent the power exceeding a maximum normal working limit 26 if an extreme event occurs. The maximum working limit is determined by the rate of rotation of the rotor 4, stress experienced by the turbine 2, the temperature, current or voltage of the generator of the turbine 2, etc. Also see [0020] The one or more near-field sensors may include one or more of: a strain gauge.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Liu in view of Badcock, to teach in response to determining that the compression load has increased above a threshold value, to output an alarm message to a monitoring system, to use the measured parameter limits of Badcock, as part of the analysis to be performed and displayed by Liu (see MPEP 2143 I.(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (as stated above)
Regarding Claim 12, Liu (as stated above) does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one sensor comprises multiple strain gauges positioned at different locations around a circumference of the rotor stack.
However, Liu teaches a plurality of sensors collecting a variety of data (Liu [0027] the pull rod dynamic strain collecting system comprises a test rotor turbine shaft section 7, strain gauge 46, high speed slip ring and dynamic strain collecting instrument 47. Also see [0014]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Liu to teach wherein the at least one sensor comprises multiple strain gauges mounted at different locations around a circumference of the rotor stack, to provide redundancies when measuring a single rotor or to measure multiple rotors if desired (see MPEP 2143 I. (E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (as stated above) in view of McConkey et al. (Turbine Sensors, Turbomachinery International November/December 2021, Articles, January 25, 2022).
Regarding Claim 14, as stated above the sensor and turbine elements are not positively recited elements of the processing system and therefore does not carry patentable weight, nonetheless Liu (as stated above) does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one sensor is thermally isolated from high-temperature areas of the turbine engine.
McConkey teaches the use of strain gauges is temperature limited (McConkey p. 7, para. 2, They are limited to temperatures of less than 150°C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Liu (as stated above) in view of McConkey, to explicitly teach wherein the at least one sensor is thermally isolated from high-temperature areas of the turbine engine, to ensure that the sensor readings are minimally effected by outside variables, and the sensor itself is not damaged by the high temperatures present in a turbine engine.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 15, 16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (as stated above) in view of Benjamin et al. (US 20140017087 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Liu teaches a system comprising:
at least one sensor coupled to the rotor stack and configured to measure the compression load on the rotor stack (Liu [0029] the dynamic strain collecting instrument outputs the strain signal to the data collecting and processing system 29 for data calculation, analysis and storage. Also see [0027] FIG. 2, FIG. 3 respectively a pull rod dynamic strain measuring system structure diagram and a turbine wheel three-dimensional structure schematic diagram. the pull rod dynamic strain collecting system comprises a test rotor turbine shaft section 7, strain gauge 46. Compression and strain are related through Hooke’s Law); and
at least one processing device configured to:
receive multiple compression load measurements from the at least one sensor over a time period (Liu [0029] the dynamic strain collecting instrument outputs the strain signal to the data collecting and processing system 29 for data calculation, analysis and storage. Compression and strain are related through Hooke’s Law); and
determine a change in the compression load over the time period based on the received compression load measurements (Liu [0034] the working process of the whole circumferential pull rod rotor pull rod dynamic strain measuring system is as follows: […] the electric signal is output to the dynamic strain collector 47 through the high speed slip ring signal output line 41; the dynamic strain collector 47 outputs the conditioned signal to the data collecting and processing system 29; the data collecting and processing system 29 corresponding to the power transformation signal for real time calculation, analysis and storage. The system is “dynamic” meaning it collects and analyzes data over time.).
Liu is not relied upon to explicitly teach a tie-shaft configured to rotate about an axis;
a rotor stack tied to the tie-shaft and configured to rotate with the tie-shaft, the rotor stack comprising multiple rotors; and
a nut coupled to the tie-shaft and configured to apply a tension load to the tie-shaft, resulting in an opposite compression load on the rotor stack.
Benjamin teaches a tie-shaft configured to rotate about an axis (Benjamin [0014] FIG. 2 schematically illustrates a gas turbine engine 10 incorporating a combustion section 311, shown schematically, a compressor section 313 having a plurality of compressor rotors 338, and a turbine section 324 having a plurality of turbine rotors 325. As shown, an upstream hub 334 may be threadably secured to the tie shaft 322 at the upstream side of the compressor section 313.);
a rotor stack tied to the tie-shaft and configured to rotate with the tie-shaft, the rotor stack comprising multiple rotors (Benjamin [0014] FIG. 2 schematically illustrates a gas turbine engine 10 incorporating a combustion section 311, shown schematically, a compressor section 313 having a plurality of compressor rotors 338,); and
a nut coupled to the tie-shaft and configured to apply a tension load to the tie-shaft, resulting in an opposite compression load on the rotor stack (Benjamin [0014] As shown in FIG. 3, the nut 327 may be threadably received on threads 458 on the tie shaft 322. FIG. 3 illustrates the nuts 401 and 327 threadably engaged to tie shaft 322. Initially, the upstream hub 334 (FIG. 2) may be threadably assembled to the tie shaft 322 while the compressor rotors 338 and 315 and downstream hub/middle support member 341 may be stacked together using lock nut 332 to secure all of them by applying a axial preload force holding the rotors against the kickstand 343 of the upstream hub 334. An internal compression load may be created in the rotors stack to react the tension load in the tie shaft 322.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Liu in view of Benjamin to explicitly teach a tie-shaft configured to rotate about an axis;
a rotor stack tied to the tie-shaft and configured to rotate with the tie-shaft, the rotor stack comprising multiple rotors; and
a nut coupled to the tie-shaft and configured to apply a tension load to the tie-shaft, resulting in an opposite compression load on the rotor stack, by recognizing that the system of Liu can be applied to the described turbine and rotor stack of Benjamin to monitor and evaluate the strain/compression load is known to exist (see MPEP 2143 I.(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;).
Regarding Claim 2, Liu in view of Benjamin (as stated above) further teaches in response to determining the change in the compression load, to output at least one of an information message, a warning message, or an alarm message (Liu [0026] the signal collecting card 28 outputs the electric signal to the data collecting and processing system 29 containing the data collecting software and real-time display, calculating the sensor signal by the computer system, analyzing, displaying and storing. After the data is analyzed, it is displayed).
Regarding Claim 4, Liu in view of Benjamin (as stated above) further teaches wherein the at least one sensor comprises a strain gauge mounted to an exterior surface of the rotor stack (As stated above the sensor and turbine elements are not positively recited elements of the processing system and therefore does not carry patentable weight. Nonetheless, see Liu [0027] FIG. 2, FIG. 3 respectively a pull rod dynamic strain measuring system structure diagram and a turbine wheel three-dimensional structure schematic diagram. the pull rod dynamic strain collecting system comprises a test rotor turbine shaft section 7, strain gauge 46).
Regarding Claim 5, Liu in view of Benjamin (as stated above) does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one sensor comprises multiple strain gauges positioned at different locations around a circumference of the rotor stack.
However, Liu teaches a plurality of sensors collecting a variety of data (Liu [0027] the pull rod dynamic strain collecting system comprises a test rotor turbine shaft section 7, strain gauge 46, high speed slip ring and dynamic strain collecting instrument 47. Also see [0014]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Liu in view of Benjamin (as stated above) to teach wherein the at least one sensor comprises multiple strain gauges positioned at different locations around a circumference of the rotor stack, to provide redundancies when measuring a single rotor or to measure the multiple rotors of Benjamin, if desired (see MPEP 2143 I. (E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success).
Regarding Claim 6, Liu in view of Benjamin (as stated above) further teaches wherein the tie-shaft, the rotor stack, and the nut comprise part of a turbine engine (Benjamin [0014] FIG. 2 schematically illustrates a gas turbine engine 10 incorporating a combustion section 311, shown schematically, a compressor section 313 having a plurality of compressor rotors 338, and a turbine section 324 having a plurality of turbine rotors 325. As shown, an upstream hub 334 may be threadably secured to the tie shaft 322 at the upstream side of the compressor section 313. […] As shown in FIG. 3, the nut 327 may be threadably received on threads 458 on the tie shaft 322. FIG. 3 illustrates the nuts 401 and 327 threadably engaged to tie shaft 322.).
Regarding Claim 15, Liu teaches a method comprising:
receiving multiple compression load measurements over a time period from at least one sensor coupled to a rotor (Liu [0029] the dynamic strain collecting instrument outputs the strain signal to the data collecting and processing system 29 for data calculation, analysis and storage. Compression and strain are related through Hooke’s Law. Also see [0027] the pull rod dynamic strain collecting system comprises a test rotor turbine shaft section 7, strain gauge 46, high speed slip ring and dynamic strain collecting instrument 47; The high speed slip ring is composed of slip ring rotor 43 and slip ring stator 42; the strain sheet 46 is installed on the turbine wheel disc pull rod 38. Also see Liu [0006] The purpose of the invention is aiming at the whole rotor containing compressor wheel disc group and turbine wheel group cannot real-time monitor the strain condition of the pull rod in the rotating process, providing a circumferential pull rod rotor pull rod strain dynamic measuring system; so as to solve the problem that the change of tension stress strain state caused by long-term operation may affect the stability and reliability of the whole pull rod rotor, so as to realize the problem of dynamic strain measurement of the pull rod rotor. The system is designed to measure strain during rotation of the turbine which can be readily converted to compression using Hooke’s Law); and
determining a change in the compression load over the time period based on the received compression load measurements (Liu [0034] the working process of the whole circumferential pull rod rotor pull rod dynamic strain measuring system is as follows: […] the electric signal is output to the dynamic strain collector 47 through the high speed slip ring signal output line 41; the dynamic strain collector 47 outputs the conditioned signal to the data collecting and processing system 29; the data collecting and processing system 29 corresponding to the power transformation signal for real time calculation, analysis and storage. The system is “dynamic” meaning it collects and analyzes data over time.).
Liu is not relied upon to explicitly teach a rotor stack, the rotor stack tied to a tie-shaft and configured to rotate about an axis with the tie-shaft, the rotor stack comprising multiple rotors, the multiple compression load measurements related to a compression load on the rotor stack, wherein a nut is coupled to the tie-shaft and configured to apply a tension load to the tie-shaft, resulting in the compression load on the rotor stack.
Benjamin teaches a rotor stack, the rotor stack tied to a tie-shaft and configured to rotate about an axis with the tie-shaft, the rotor stack comprising multiple rotors, the multiple compression load measurements related to a compression load on the rotor stack, wherein a nut is coupled to the tie-shaft and configured to apply a tension load to the tie-shaft, resulting in the compression load on the rotor stack (Benjamin [0014] FIG. 2 schematically illustrates a gas turbine engine 10 incorporating a combustion section 311, shown schematically, a compressor section 313 having a plurality of compressor rotors 338, and a turbine section 324 having a plurality of turbine rotors 325. As shown, an upstream hub 334 may be threadably secured to the tie shaft 322 at the upstream side of the compressor section 313. […]).
a tie-shaft configured to rotate about an axis (Benjamin [0014] FIG. 2 schematically illustrates a gas turbine engine 10 incorporating a combustion section 311, shown schematically, a compressor section 313 having a plurality of compressor rotors 338, and a turbine section 324 having a plurality of turbine rotors 325. As shown, an upstream hub 334 may be threadably secured to the tie shaft 322 at the upstream side of the compressor section 313. As shown in FIG. 3, the nut 327 may be threadably received on threads 458 on the tie shaft 322. FIG. 3 illustrates the nuts 401 and 327 threadably engaged to tie shaft 322. Initially, the upstream hub 334 (FIG. 2) may be threadably assembled to the tie shaft 322 while the compressor rotors 338 and 315 and downstream hub/middle support member 341 may be stacked together using lock nut 332 to secure all of them by applying a axial preload force holding the rotors against the kickstand 343 of the upstream hub 334. An internal compression load may be created in the rotors stack to react the tension load in the tie shaft 322.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Liu in view of Benjamin to explicitly teach a rotor stack, the rotor stack tied to a tie-shaft and configured to rotate about an axis with the tie-shaft, the rotor stack comprising multiple rotors, the multiple compression load measurements related to a compression load on the rotor stack, wherein a nut is coupled to the tie-shaft and configured to apply a tension load to the tie-shaft, resulting in the compression load on the rotor stack, by recognizing that the system of Liu can be applied to the described turbine and rotor stack of Benjamin to monitor and evaluate the strain/compression load is known to exist (see MPEP 2143 I.(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;).
Regarding Claim 16, Liu in view of Benjamin (as stated above) further teaches in response to determining the change in the compression load, outputting at least one of an information message, a warning message, or an alarm message (Liu [0026] the signal collecting card 28 outputs the electric signal to the data collecting and processing system 29 containing the data collecting software and real-time display, calculating the sensor signal by the computer system, analyzing, displaying and storing. After the data is analyzed, it is displayed).
Regarding Claim 18, Liu in view of Benjamin (as stated above) further teaches wherein the at least one sensor comprises a strain gauge mounted to an exterior surface of the rotor stack (As stated above the sensor and turbine elements are not positively recited elements of the processing system and therefore does not carry patentable weight. Nonetheless, see Liu [0027] FIG. 2, FIG. 3 respectively a pull rod dynamic strain measuring system structure diagram and a turbine wheel three-dimensional structure schematic diagram. the pull rod dynamic strain collecting system comprises a test rotor turbine shaft section 7, strain gauge 46,).
Regarding Claim 19, Liu in view of Benjamin (as stated above) does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one sensor comprises multiple strain gauges mounted at different locations around a circumference of the rotor stack.
However, Liu teaches a plurality of sensors collecting a variety of data (Liu [0027] the pull rod dynamic strain collecting system comprises a test rotor turbine shaft section 7, strain gauge 46, high speed slip ring and dynamic strain collecting instrument 47. Also see [0014]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Liu in view of Benjamin (as stated above) to teach wherein the at least one sensor comprises multiple strain gauges mounted at different locations around a circumference of the rotor stack, to provide redundancies when measuring a single rotor or to measure multiple rotors if desired (see MPEP 2143 I. (E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success).
Regarding Claim 20, Liu in view of Benjamin (as stated above) further teaches wherein the tie-shaft, the rotor stack, and the nut comprise part of a turbine engine (Benjamin [0014] FIG. 2 schematically illustrates a gas turbine engine 10 incorporating a combustion section 311, shown schematically, a compressor section 313 having a plurality of compressor rotors 338, and a turbine section 324 having a plurality of turbine rotors 325. As shown, an upstream hub 334 may be threadably secured to the tie shaft 322 at the upstream side of the compressor section 313. […] As shown in FIG. 3, the nut 327 may be threadably received on threads 458 on the tie shaft 322. FIG. 3 illustrates the nuts 401 and 327 threadably engaged to tie shaft 322.).
Claim(s) 3 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Benjamin (as stated above), further in view of Badcock (US 20130052011 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Liu in view of Benjamin (as stated above) is not relied upon to explicitly teach in response to determining that the compression load has increased above a threshold value, to output an alarm message to a monitoring system.
Badcock teaches in response to determining that the compression load has increased above a threshold value, to output an alarm message to a monitoring system (Badcock [0012] The safe running limit 22 is set at a level which allows sufficient time (response time 25) for the reactive control system to adjust the operational settings of the turbine so as to prevent the power exceeding a maximum normal working limit 26 if an extreme event occurs. The maximum working limit is determined by the rate of rotation of the rotor 4, stress experienced by the turbine 2, the temperature, current or voltage of the generator of the turbine 2, etc. Also see [0020] The one or more near-field sensors may include one or more of: a strain gauge.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Liu in view of Benjamin (as stated above), further in view of Badcock, to teach in response to determining that the compression load has increased above a threshold value, to output an alarm message to a monitoring system, to use the measured parameter limits of Badcock, as part of the analysis to be performed and displayed by Liu (see MPEP 2143 I.(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;).
Regarding Claim 17, Liu in view of Benjamin (as stated above) is not relied upon to explicitly teach in response to determining that the compression load has increased above a threshold value, outputting an alarm message to a monitoring system.
Badcock teaches in response to determining that the compression load has increased above a threshold value, outputting an alarm message to a monitoring system (Badcock [0012] The safe running limit 22 is set at a level which allows sufficient time (response time 25) for the reactive control system to adjust the operational settings of the turbine so as to prevent the power exceeding a maximum normal working limit 26 if an extreme event occurs. The maximum working limit is determined by the rate of rotation of the rotor 4, stress experienced by the turbine 2, the temperature, current or voltage of the generator of the turbine 2, etc. Also see [0020] The one or more near-field sensors may include one or more of: a strain gauge.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Liu in view of Benjamin (as stated above), further in view of Badcock, to teach in response to determining that the compression load has increased above a threshold value, outputting an alarm message to a monitoring system, to use the measured parameter limits of Badcock, as part of the analysis to be performed and displayed by Liu (see MPEP 2143 I.(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Benjamin (as stated above), further in view of McConkey et al. (Turbine Sensors, Turbomachinery International November/December 2021, Articles, January 25, 2022).
Regarding Claim 7, Liu in view of Benjamin (as stated above) does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one sensor is thermally isolated from high-temperature areas of the turbine engine.
McConkey teaches the use of strain gauges is temperature limited (McConkey p. 7, para. 2, They are limited to temperatures of less than 150°C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify Liu in view of Benjamin (as stated above), further in view of McConkey, to explicitly teach wherein the at least one sensor is thermally isolated from high-temperature areas of the turbine engine, to ensure that the sensor readings are minimally effected by outside variables, and the sensor itself is not damaged by the high temperatures present in a turbine engine.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Batzinger et al. (US 20130111982 A1) discloses Systems And Methods For Use In Monitoring Operation Of A Rotating Component.
Spampinato et al. (US 20140290377 A1) discloses a Compression Testing Device For Testing Materials Automatically.
/CHRISTIAN T BRYANT/Examiner, Art Unit 2857