DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-9, 13 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bohannon (US 8797764 B2).
As to Claim 1, Bohannon discloses:
An information handling system (electronics system 1; see Fig. 7) comprising:
a chassis (chassis 30); and
an information handling resource assembly (riser cage 5; also see Figs. 1-4) configured to carry one or more information handling resources (adapter cards 60,70; col. 2, Lines 51-56 “Extension portion 20 then becomes generally fixed relative to riser portion 10. There may be numerous particular locations where extension portion 20 may engage with riser portion 10--thereby allowing adjustable riser cage 5 to mechanically support, house, or otherwise retain varying length adapter cards”), wherein the information handling resource assembly comprises:
a main structure (riser portion 10); and
a slidable wall (extension portion 20) mechanically coupled to the main structure 10 (col. 2, Lines 47-48 “Extension portion 20 is slide ably supported by riser portion 10”), wherein the slidable wall 20 is configured to translate between a closed position and an open position (extension portion is in open position when inserting adapter card, closed position when 22 and 13 engaged; col. 6, Lines 56-61 “If a customer later decides to add an adapter card, adjustable riser cage 5 may be removed from electronic system 1, extension portion 20 may be adjusted, the adapter card may be inserted, retained, etc., and the adjustable riser cage 5 may be re-inserted into electronic system 1”; col. 3, Lines 6-9 “when retention member 22 and retention member 13 are engaged, extension portion 20 becomes generally fixed or otherwise attached relative to riser portion 10”).
As to Claim 7, Bohannon discloses:
wherein the main structure 10 comprises a substantially C-shaped bracket (at least a front portion of 10 is C-shaped).
As to Claim 8, Bohannon discloses:
wherein the information handling resource assembly 5 is configured to receive the one or more information handling resources (adapter cards 60,70) when the slidable wall 20 is in the open position (20 slides out to allow for installation of cards 60,70; see col. 6, Lines 56-61).
As to Claim 9, Bohannon discloses:
wherein the slidable wall 20 is mechanically coupled to the main structure 10 via one or more rails (extension base 16; col. 4, Lines 59-61 “extension base 16 is configured to fit within guidance features 14. In this manner, extension base 16 becomes slide ably supported against riser portion 10”), wherein the one or more rails 16 are configured to extend from the main structure 10 when the slidable wall 20 is in the open position (see Figs. 1-2, 16 extends from 10 when 20 is slid outward, e.g., Fig. 2).
As to Claim 13, Bohannon discloses:
A method of making an information handling resource assembly (riser cage 5; also see Figs. 1-4) comprising:
forming a main structure (riser portion 10); and
mechanically coupling the main structure 10 to a slidable wall (extension portion 20; col. 2, Lines 47-48 “Extension portion 20 is slide ably supported by riser portion 10”) configured to translate between a closed position and an open position (extension portion is in open position when inserting adapter card, closed position when 22 and 13 engaged; col. 6, Lines 56-61 “If a customer later decides to add an adapter card, adjustable riser cage 5 may be removed from electronic system 1, extension portion 20 may be adjusted, the adapter card may be inserted, retained, etc., and the adjustable riser cage 5 may be re-inserted into electronic system 1”; col. 3, Lines 6-9 “when retention member 22 and retention member 13 are engaged, extension portion 20 becomes generally fixed or otherwise attached relative to riser portion 10”);
such that:
the information handling resource assembly 5 is configured to carry one or more information handling resources (adapter cards 60,70; col. 2, Lines 51-56 “Extension portion 20 then becomes generally fixed relative to riser portion 10. There may be numerous particular locations where extension portion 20 may engage with riser portion 10--thereby allowing adjustable riser cage 5 to mechanically support, house, or otherwise retain varying length adapter cards”).
As to Claim 19, Bohannon discloses:
wherein the main structure 10 comprises a substantially C-shaped bracket (at least a front portion of 10 is C-shaped).
As to Claim 20, Bohannon discloses:
wherein the information handling resource assembly 5 is configured to receive the one or more information handling resources (adapter cards 60,70) when the slidable wall 20 is in the open position (20 slides out to allow for installation of cards 60,70; see col. 6, Lines 56-61).
As to Claim 21, Bohannon discloses:
wherein mechanically coupling the main structure 10 to the slidable wall 20 comprises mechanically coupling the main structure 10 to one or more rails (extension base 16) mechanically coupled to and extending substantially perpendicular from the slidable wall 20 (16 extends perpendicular to at least a portion of 20; col. 4, Lines 59-61 “extension base 16 is configured to fit within guidance features 14. In this manner, extension base 16 becomes slide ably supported against riser portion 10”), wherein the one or more rails 16 are configured to extend from the main structure 10 when the slidable wall 20 is in the open position (see Figs. 1-2, 16 extends from 10 when 20 is slid outward, e.g., Fig. 2).
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang (US 6643131 B1).
As to Claim 10, Huang discloses:
An inlet structure (wind guide device 30) configured to mechanically couple to an information handling resource assembly (housing 10) configured to carry one or more information handling resources (CPU 20; col. 2, Lines 27-28 “The device 30 and a CPU 20 are provided in a housing 10 of computer”), wherein the inlet structure 30 is configured to direct airflow within the information handling resource assembly 10 (col. 2, Lines 50-52 “an air current generated by the fan 50 at one side of the first shroud 31 can be guided through the first channels 36 for increasing a flow rate”).
As to Claim 11, Huang discloses:
wherein the inlet structure 30 comprises:
a substantially rectangular hollow bisected by an aerodynamic member 35 (30 is substantially rectangular and bisected by ribs 35; see Fig. 1); and
a tab (mating coupling elements 42) configured to mechanically couple the inlet structure 30 to the information handling resource assembly 10 (42 couples 30 together and 30 coupled to 10, a portion of 30 at least indirectly coupled to 10 via 42).
As to Claim 12, Huang discloses:
wherein the inlet structure 30 is further configured to direct airflow towards one or more heatsinks 21 associated with the one or more information handling resources 20 (col. 3, Lines 35-38 “the air current can flow through the upper and lower air passages in which the air current flowed through the upper air passage can cool the fins 21 of the CPU 20”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 5 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohannon (US 8797764 B2) as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Cho (US 9547343 B2).
As to Claim 2, Bohannon does not disclose:
wherein the information handling resource assembly is further configured to mechanically couple to an inlet structure configured to guide airflow within the information handling resource assembly.
However, Cho discloses:
wherein the information handling resource assembly (electronic device 10) is further configured to mechanically couple to an inlet structure (flow guiding mechanism 24; 24 coupled to 10 via buckle 48; col. 5, Lines 28-30 “the buckling component 48 is buckled with a sunken slot 52 of the frame 20 (which is shown in FIG. 1)”) configured to guide airflow within the information handling resource assembly 10 (24 guides airflow toward cards 12; col. 5, Lines 13-17 “The flow generating unit 22 preferably can be a fan unit, and flow (such as airflow) generated by the fan unit passes through the frame 20 and the flow guiding mechanism 24 to cool the interface card 12, so as to dissipate heat generated from the interface card 12”);
in order to optimize the heat dissipating function of the flow generating unit (col. 3, Lines 60-62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bohannon as further suggested by Cho e.g., providing:
wherein the information handling resource assembly is further configured to mechanically couple to an inlet structure configured to guide airflow within the information handling resource assembly;
in order to optimize the heat dissipating function of the airflow.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to Claim 3, Bohannon does not disclose:
further comprising an inlet structure configured to mechanically couple to the information handling resource assembly and guide airflow within the information handling resource assembly.
However, Cho discloses:
further comprising an inlet structure (flow guiding mechanism 24) configured to mechanically couple to the information handling resource assembly (electronic device 10; 24 coupled to 10 via buckle 48; col. 5, Lines 28-30 “the buckling component 48 is buckled with a sunken slot 52 of the frame 20 (which is shown in FIG. 1)”) and guide airflow within the information handling resource assembly 10 (24 guides airflow toward cards 12; col. 5, Lines 13-17 “The flow generating unit 22 preferably can be a fan unit, and flow (such as airflow) generated by the fan unit passes through the frame 20 and the flow guiding mechanism 24 to cool the interface card 12, so as to dissipate heat generated from the interface card 12”);
in order to optimize the heat dissipating function of the flow generating unit (col. 3, Lines 60-62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bohannon as further suggested by Cho e.g., providing:
further comprising an inlet structure configured to mechanically couple to the information handling resource assembly and guide airflow within the information handling resource assembly;
in order to optimize the heat dissipating function of the airflow.
As to Claim 5, the obvious modification of Bohannon in view of Cho discloses:
wherein the inlet structure (24 of Cho) comprises:
a substantially rectangular hollow bisected by an aerodynamic member (24 is substantially rectangular and bisected by track structures 36); and
a tab 48 configured to mechanically couple the inlet structure 24 to the information handling resource assembly 10 (col. 5, Lines 28-30 “the buckling component 48 is buckled with a sunken slot 52 of the frame 20 (which is shown in FIG. 1)”; Cho).
As to Claim 14, Bohannon does not disclose:
wherein the information handling resource assembly is further configured to mechanically couple to an inlet structure, wherein the inlet structure is configured to guide airflow within the information handling resource assembly.
However, Cho discloses:
wherein the information handling resource assembly (electronic device 10) is further configured to mechanically couple to an inlet structure (flow guiding mechanism 24; 24 coupled to 10 via buckle 48; col. 5, Lines 28-30 “the buckling component 48 is buckled with a sunken slot 52 of the frame 20 (which is shown in FIG. 1)”), wherein the inlet structure 24 is configured to guide airflow within the information handling resource assembly 10 (24 guides airflow toward cards 12; col. 5, Lines 13-17 “The flow generating unit 22 preferably can be a fan unit, and flow (such as airflow) generated by the fan unit passes through the frame 20 and the flow guiding mechanism 24 to cool the interface card 12, so as to dissipate heat generated from the interface card 12”);
in order to optimize the heat dissipating function of the flow generating unit (col. 3, Lines 60-62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Bohannon as further suggested by Cho e.g., providing:
wherein the information handling resource assembly is further configured to mechanically couple to an inlet structure, wherein the inlet structure is configured to guide airflow within the information handling resource assembly;
in order to optimize the heat dissipating function of the airflow.
As to Claim 15, Bohannon does not disclose:
further comprising mechanically coupling an inlet structure to the information handling resource assembly, wherein the inlet structure is configured to guide airflow within the information handling resource assembly.
However, Cho discloses:
further comprising mechanically coupling an inlet structure (flow guiding mechanism 24) to the information handling resource assembly (electronic device 10; 24 coupled to 10 via buckle 48; col. 5, Lines 28-30 “the buckling component 48 is buckled with a sunken slot 52 of the frame 20 (which is shown in FIG. 1)”), wherein the inlet structure 24 is configured to guide airflow within the information handling resource assembly 10 (24 guides airflow toward cards 12; col. 5, Lines 13-17 “The flow generating unit 22 preferably can be a fan unit, and flow (such as airflow) generated by the fan unit passes through the frame 20 and the flow guiding mechanism 24 to cool the interface card 12, so as to dissipate heat generated from the interface card 12”);
in order to optimize the heat dissipating function of the flow generating unit (col. 3, Lines 60-62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Bohannon as further suggested by Cho e.g., providing:
further comprising mechanically coupling an inlet structure to the information handling resource assembly, wherein the inlet structure is configured to guide airflow within the information handling resource assembly;
in order to optimize the heat dissipating function of the airflow.
As to Claim 16, the obvious modification of Bohannon in view of Cho discloses:
wherein the inlet structure (24 of Cho) comprises:
a substantially rectangular hollow bisected by an aerodynamic member (24 is substantially rectangular and bisected by track structures 36); and
a tab 48 configured to mechanically couple the inlet structure 24 to the information handling resource assembly 10 (col. 5, Lines 28-30 “the buckling component 48 is buckled with a sunken slot 52 of the frame 20 (which is shown in FIG. 1)”; Cho).
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohannon (US 8797764 B2) in view of Cho (US 9547343 B2) as applied to claims 3 and 15 above, and further in view of Tan (US 20110299252 A1).
As to Claim 6, the obvious modification of Bohannon in view of Cho discloses:
wherein the inlet structure (24 of Cho) is further configured to direct airflow towards the one or more information handling resources 12 (24 guides airflow toward cards 12; col. 5, Lines 13-17 “The flow generating unit 22 preferably can be a fan unit, and flow (such as airflow) generated by the fan unit passes through the frame 20 and the flow guiding mechanism 24 to cool the interface card 12, so as to dissipate heat generated from the interface card 12”).
Bohannon and Cho do not disclose:
wherein the inlet structure is further configured to direct airflow towards one or more heatsinks associated with the one or more information handling resources.
However, Tan discloses:
one or more heatsinks 20 associated with the one or more information handling resources (card 10; Par. 0011 “a heat sink 20 mounted on the expansion card 10 for dissipating heat of the expansion card 10”);
in order to dissipate heat from the expansion card 10 (Par. 0011).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bohannon in view of Cho as further suggested by Tan e.g., providing:
one or more heatsinks associated with the one or more information handling resources;
in order to dissipate heat from the expansion card.
As to Claim 17, the obvious modification of Bohannon in view of Cho discloses:
wherein the inlet structure (24 of Cho) is configured to direct airflow towards the one or more information handling resources 12 (24 guides airflow toward cards 12; col. 5, Lines 13-17 “The flow generating unit 22 preferably can be a fan unit, and flow (such as airflow) generated by the fan unit passes through the frame 20 and the flow guiding mechanism 24 to cool the interface card 12, so as to dissipate heat generated from the interface card 12”).
Bohannon and Cho do not disclose:
wherein the inlet structure is configured to direct airflow towards one or more heatsinks associated with the one or more information handling resources.
However, Tan discloses:
one or more heatsinks 20 associated with the one or more information handling resources (card 10; Par. 0011 “a heat sink 20 mounted on the expansion card 10 for dissipating heat of the expansion card 10”);
in order to dissipate heat from the expansion card 10 (Par. 0011).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Bohannon in view of Cho as further suggested by Tan e.g., providing:
one or more heatsinks associated with the one or more information handling resources;
in order to dissipate heat from the expansion card.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claims 4 and 18, the allowability resides in the overall structure and functionality of the device/entirety of the method as recited in the dependent claims 4 and 18, including all of the limitations of their base claims and intervening claims, and at least in part, because claims 4 and 18 recite the following limitations:
“wherein the foam coupled to the slidable wall and the foam coupled to the inlet structure are configured to prevent air from leaking at edges where the slidable wall, inlet structure, and main structure interface.” – claim 4;
“wherein the foam coupled to the slidable wall and the foam coupled to the inlet structure are configured to prevent air from leaking at edges where the slidable wall, inlet structure, and main structure interface.” – claim 18.
Tsorng (US 20210410335 A1) discloses an adjustable riser module, however does not disclose an inlet structure or foam.
Zhang (US 20260122824 A1) discloses a riser module, however does not disclose an inlet structure or foam.
Fu (US 10905024 B1) discloses a flow guiding mechanism for an expansion card holder, however does not disclose foam.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of claims 4 and 18, are believed to render said claims 4 and 18 and all claims dependent therefrom allowable over the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination.
Further, Examiner has not identified any double patenting issues.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW SINCLAIR MUIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841