DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-6, filed 01 July 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and similar claims in substance under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Gutierrez et al. (US 2023/0185607 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 8, 12-14, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudson (US 2018/0261037 A1) in view of Gutierrez et al. (US 2023/0185607 A1) and further in view of Zimmerman (US 9,087,394 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Hudson discloses one or more processors (Paragraph 0167, GPU), comprising circuitry to: receive a call to an application programming interface (API) (Paragraph 0186, API call with parameters for casting rays into a scene); and return, via the API, one or more identifiers of one or more objects intersected by the one or more rays (Paragraphs 0186-0187, API for casting a ray into the scene with an identified object and reporting intersections by the rays). Hudson does not clearly disclose receive, from within one or more kernels performed by one or more graphics processing units (GPUs), a call to an application programming interface (API). Gutierrez discloses a kernel that executes on a GPU that can make an API call (Paragraph 0054). Gutierrez’s technique of executing a kernel on a GPU that can make API calls would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art to be applicable to the API calls for casting a ray into a scene for intersection reporting with objects of Hudson and the results would have been predictable in the execution of a kernel on a GPU that can make API calls for casting a ray into a scene for intersection reporting. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Hudson in view of Gutierrez does not clearly disclose the call comprising one or more identifiers of one or more rays. Zimmerman discloses attributes of a ray casting API that includes a ray identifier (Column 69, lines 19-56). Zimmerman’s attributes of a ray casting API that includes a ray identifier would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art to be applicable to the API for casting rays into a scene using an API call with parameters from a kernel executing on a GPU of Hudson in view of Gutierrez and the results would have been predictable in an API for casting rays into a scene using calls from a kernel executing on a GPU that can include parameters for identifiers of the rays. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 5, Hudson discloses wherein the one or more objects include one or more triangles (Paragraph 0141, the object can be triangle based).
Regarding claim 6, Hudson discloses wherein the API is to cause the one or more objects to be indicated based, at least in part, on a set of input parameters that includes a ray of the one or more rays (Paragraph 0186, rays casted into the scene for intersection with the object) and a data structure that includes the one or more objects (Paragraph 0141, format for the object).
Regarding claims 8 and 14, similar reasoning as discussed in claim 1 is applied.
Regarding claim 12, similar reasoning as discussed in claim 5 is applied.
Regarding claim 13, similar reasoning as discussed in claim 6 is applied.
Regarding claim 18, Hudson discloses wherein the API is to cause an identifier of an intersected object of the one or more objects to be included in an output data structure indicated by a user (Paragraphs 0186-0187, JSON having indicators for the object that are intersected by rays).
Regarding claim 20, Hudson discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon a set of instructions, which if performed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to at least perform the method of claim 14 (See rejection of claim 14 and Hudson, paragraph 0218, medium storing a program executable by a processor).
Claim(s) 2, 3, 7, 9, 10, 11, 15, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudson (US 2018/0261037 A1) in view of Gutierrez et al. (US 2023/0185607 A1) in view of Zimmerman (US 9,087,394 B1) and further in view of Kensler et al. (US 2025/0209723 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Hudson in view of Gutierrez and further in view of Zimmerman discloses all limitations as discussed in claim 1. Hudson in view of Gutierrez and further in view of Zimmerman does not clearly disclose wherein the API is to cause the one or more objects to be indicated based, at least in part, on a tree data structure. Kensler discloses organizing objects in a scene for ray intersection into a hierarchical tree of bounding volumes (Paragraph 0070). Kensler’s technique of organizing objects in a scene for ray intersection into a hierarchical tree of bounding volumes would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art to be applicable to the API that casts rays into a scene for reporting intersections with an object of Hudson in view of Gutierrez and further in view of Zimmerman and the results would have been predictable in a API that casts rays into a scene with objects that are organized into a hierarchical tree of bounding volumes for determining and reporting ray intersections. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 3, Hudson in view of Gutierrez and further in view of Zimmerman discloses all limitations as discussed in claim 1. Hudson in view of Gutierrez and further in view of Zimmerman does not clearly disclose wherein the API is to cause the one or more objects to be indicated using a ray tracing core. Kensler discloses performing ray intersections using ray tracing cores (Paragraph 0021). Kensler’s technique of performing ray intersections using ray tracing cores would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art to be applicable to the rays cast into a scene for intersecting objects of Hudson in view of Gutierrez and further in view of Zimmerman and the results would have been predictable in performing the casting of rays into a scene for intersecting objects using ray tracing cores. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 7, Hudson in in view of Gutierrez and further view of Zimmerman discloses all limitations as discussed in claim 1. Hudson further discloses casting rays into the scene (Paragraphs 0186-0187). Hudson in view of Gutierrez and further in view of Zimmerman does not clearly disclose wherein the API is to cause the one or more objects to be indicated using one or more ray tracing cores of the one or more GPUs based, at least in part, on a tree data structure that includes the one or more objects. Kensler discloses performing ray intersections using ray tracing cores (Paragraph 0021) on organizing objects in a scene for the ray intersection into a hierarchical tree of bounding volumes (Paragraph 0070).
Kensler’s technique of performing ray intersections using ray tracing cores on organizing objects in a scene for the ray intersection into a hierarchical tree of bounding volumes would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art to be applicable to the casting of rays for intersection with objects in a scene of Hudson in view of Zimmerman and the results would have been predictable in the casting of rays into a scene for intersection with object using ray tracing cores where the objects in the scene are organized into a hierarchical tree of bounding volumes. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 9 and 17, similar reasoning as discussed in claim 3 is applied.
Regarding claims 10 and 15, similar reasoning as discussed in claim 2 is applied.
Regarding claim 11, Hudson in view of Gutierrez and further in view of Zimmerman discloses all limitations as discussed in claim 8. Hudson further discloses wherein the API is to cause the one or more objects to be indicated based, at least in part, on one or more function calls of software (Paragraphs 0186-0186, API calls for ray intersection with objects) performed by the one or more GPUs (Paragraph 0167, GPU resources). Hudson in view of Gutierrez and further in view of Zimmerman does not clearly disclose wherein the API is to cause the one or more objects to be indicated using one or more ray tracing cores included in a the one or more GPUs. Kensler discloses performing ray intersections using ray tracing cores with a GPU (Paragraphs 0021 and 0036). Kensler’s technique of performing ray intersections using ray tracing cores with a GPU would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art to be applicable to the rays cast into a scene for intersecting objects using a GPU resources of Hudson in view of Gutierrez and further in view of Zimmerman and the results would have been predictable in performing the casting of rays into a scene for intersecting objects using ray tracing cores with a GPU. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 19, similar reasoning as discussed in claim 7 is applied.
Claim(s) 4 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudson (US 2018/0261037 A1) in view of Gutierrez et al. (US 2023/0185607 A1) and further in view of Zimmerman (US 9,087,394 B1) and further in view of Majewski et al. (US 2025/0308135 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Hudson in view of Gutierrez and further in view of Zimmerman discloses all limitations as discussed in claim 1. Hudson in view of Gutierrez and further in view of Zimmerman does not clearly disclose wherein the API is to cause the one or more objects to be identified based, at least in part, on traversing a data structure comprising information corresponding to the one or more objects. Majewski discloses a ray tracing API function for ray traversal into a scene (Paragraph 0250) having objects in a bounding volume hierarchy (BVH) that are identified when intersected by a ray during traversal (Paragraph 0522). Majewski’s technique of using a ray tracing API function for ray traversal into a BVH of a scene with objects to identify which objects that are intersected would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art to be applicable to the API for casting rays into a scene with an object and reporting intersections by the rays of Hudson in view of Gutierrez and further in view of Zimmerman and the results would have been predictable in using an API for casting rays and ray traversal into a BVH of a scene with objects and reporting intersections. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 16, similar reasoning as discussed in claim 4 is applied.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Volus et al. (US 2023/0073426 A1) discloses converting API calls to a set of GPU commands for configuring the device and controlling kernel launches.
/PHI HOANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619