DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Penny (WO 2021018675 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Penny discloses a water cooling plate assembly (see Figs. 54-87), comprising: a harmonica reed plate (See Fig.54 and 56, see ribs such on plate such as 7302, 7303, etc.., note analogous structure is in Figs. 54-58 [0209]-[0215] ) , wherein a plurality of cooling channels (7313, 7314, etc.., note analogous structure is in Fig. 58 [0215]) extending along a length direction of the harmonica reed plate are formed inside the harmonica reed plate, and the plurality of cooling channels ([0215]) are arranged in parallel along a width direction of the harmonica reed plate so as to be available for being flowed through by a cooling liquid ([0215]) ; a first current collector (5402, see Fig. 54, 59 and 60 [0209]), disposed at a first end (see Fig. 54) of the harmonica reed plate in the length direction, wherein a first current collecting space communicating with a port (inlet to 5404 [0209]) at one end of the plurality of cooling channels is formed in the first current collector ([0209]-[0215]), and a first liquid inlet and a first liquid outlet (see Fig. 51, which shows S-type path of fluid through the first end housing 5100 [0196][0197][0209]) through which the cooling liquid flows into and out of the first collecting space respectively are formed on the first current collector on two sides in a thickness direction of the harmonica reed plate respectively (see Fig. 51); and a second current collector (5403 see Fig. 54, 59 and 60 [0209]), disposed at a second end of the harmonica reed plate in the length direction, wherein the second end is opposite to the first end, a second current collecting space communicating with a port (5405) at another end of the plurality of cooling channels is formed in the second current collector, and a second liquid inlet and a second liquid outlet (see Fig. 51, which shows S-type path of fluid through the second end housing 5102 [0196][0197][0209]) through which the cooling liquid flows into and out of the second collecting space respectively are formed on the second current collector on two sides in the thickness direction of the harmonica reed plate respectively.
Regarding claim 2, Penny discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Penny discloses the plurality of cooling channels form a plurality of cooling channel groups(See groups depicted below which is described in Fig. 51 and further described in analogous structure shown in Figs. 61 and 62 with regards to inlets and outlets formed in spacers [0222]) arranged along the width direction of the harmonica reed plate, and each of the plurality of cooling channel groups comprises at least one cooling channel; and the first current collector comprises a first spacer disposed in the first current collecting space, the second current collector comprises a second spacer disposed in the second current collecting space, and the first spacer and the second spacer are configured to enable series connection of the plurality of cooling
channel groups.
Regarding claim 3, Penny discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Penny discloses wherein: the plurality of cooling channel groups comprise a first cooling channel group, a second cooling channel group, and a third cooling channel group arranged sequentially along the width direction of the harmonica reed plate (See Fig. 59 above); and the first spacer is configured to partition off a port of the first cooling channel group from ports of other cooling channels among the plurality of cooling channels except the first cooling channel group (See Fig. 59 above); and the second spacer is configured to partition off a port of the third cooling channel group from ports of other cooling channels among the plurality of cooling channels except the third cooling channel group, so as to enable series connection of the first cooling channel group, the second cooling channel group, and the third cooling channel group (See Fig. 59 above).
Regarding claim 4, Penny discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Penny discloses the first current collector further comprises (see depiction of Figs. 59 and 60 below which is described in Fig. 51 and further described in analogous structure shown in Figs. 61 and 62 with regards to inlets and outlets formed [0222]) a first current collecting sheet and a second current collecting sheet arranged in parallel in a thickness direction of the harmonica reed plate, and the first current collecting sheet and the second current collecting sheet are raised in two opposite directions respectively; the second current collector further comprises: a third current collecting sheet and a fourth current collecting sheet arranged in parallel in the thickness direction of the harmonica reed plate, and the third current collecting sheet and the fourth current collecting sheet are raised in two opposite directions respectively; and at least a part of edges of the first current collecting sheet and the second current collecting sheet are bonded together so that raised parts of the first current collecting sheet and the second current collecting sheet define the first current collecting space, and at least a part of edges of the third current collecting sheet and the fourth collecting sheet are bonded together so that raised parts of the third current collecting sheet and the fourth collecting sheet define the second current collecting space.
Regarding claim 5, Penny discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Penny discloses wherein: the first liquid inlet and the first liquid outlet are disposed on the first current collecting sheet and the second current collecting sheet respectively; and the second liquid inlet and the second liquid outlet are disposed on the third current collecting sheet and the fourth current collecting sheet respectively (see Fig. 59 above).
Regarding claim 6, Penny discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Penny discloses that the projections of the first liquid inlet and the first liquid outlet on a reference plane coincide with each other, wherein the reference plane is a plane parallel to two lateral faces of the harmonica reed plate in the thickness direction; and projections of the second liquid inlet and the second liquid outlet on the reference plane coincide with each other (see Fig. 60 above).
Regarding claim 10, Penny discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Penny discloses a positioning portion (any one of projection portions shown is a position portion see Fig. 60) is disposed on one or more of the first current collecting sheet, the second current collecting sheet, the third current collecting sheet, or the fourth current collecting sheet, and is configured to align the water cooling plate assembly with other water cooling plate assemblies during mounting of the water cooling plate assembly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Penny (WO 2021018675 A1) as applied to claims 1-6 and 10 above and in further view of Sawamura (US 20200075267 A1).
Regarding claims 13-17, Penny discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition Penny discloses a battery cell and the water cooling plate directly abuts the battery cell (see Fig. 13 [0101]).
However, Penny does not disclose a battery box or a plurality of water cooling assemblies with connecting pipes which couple inlets of outlets of adjacent water assemblies.
Sawamura (see Fig. 5 and Fig. 10) discloses a battery box (10) wherein a plurality of water cooling assemblies (40) are interleaved between battery cells (21) and inlets and outlets of the water cooling assemblies are interconnected through connection piping (60a and 60b) which extends outside of each water assemblies.
Multiple interleaved stacks of batteries and cooling plates will increase the energy output provided by the batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the water cooling plate of Penny by having multiple water cooling plates interconnected by connection piping interleaved between battery cells as disclosed by Sawamura because doing so will provide increased energy output.
Furthermore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add a box to the battery of modified Penny as disclosed by Sawamura because it will protect the batteries within the box.
In addition, Penny discloses an electrical device comprising the battery wherein the battery provides electricity ([0099]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 and 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
DEVINA PILLAY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/DEVINA PILLAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726