DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2,7,11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki et al (US Pub No. 20130181203), in view of Kwak et al (US Pub No. 20090026932).
With respect to claim 1, Yamazaki et al discloses : a substrate (100,Fig.7); a light emitting diode (121,Fig.7) disposed above the substrate and including and anode and a cathode (Para 52); a first transistor (102a,Fig.7) disposed above the substrate and electrically connected to the light emitting diode (Fig.7) comprising: a first semiconductor (111,Fig.7); a first gate electrode (113,Fig.7) overlapped with the first semiconductor (Fig.7); and a first drain electrode (119,Fig.7) electrically connected to the first semiconductor (Fig.7); and a second transistor (101,Fig.7) disposed above the substrate and comprising: a second semiconductor (110,Fig.7) ; a second gate electrode (112) overlapped the second semiconductor (Fig.7); and a second drain electrode (the first v portion of the 117,Fig.7); wherein the second drain electrically connected to the second semiconductor (Fig.7), wherein the second drain electrode is electrically connected to the gate electrode of the first transistor (Para 44). However, Yamazaki does not explicitly disclose and a metal electrode disposed between the anode and the first drain electrode and electrically connected to the first drain electrode, wherein the metal electrode is partially overlapped with the first gate electrode in a normal direction of the substrate. On the Kwak et al discloses an electrode (top portion of 106a,Fig.2) disposed between the anode (108a) and the first drain electrode (lower portion of 106a) and electrically connected to the first drain electrode (Fig.2), wherein the electrode is partially overlapped with the first gate electrode (Fig.2) in a normal direction of the substrate (perpendicular to the substrate). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Yamazaki according to the teachings of the Kwak such that an electrode connecting drain to the anode overlaps the gate electrode in order to contact region for the anode electrode to the drain electrode while saving space on the wafer for additional transistors or devices. Furthermore, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). However, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose that the electrode is made from metal. On the other hand, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the arts above such that the electrode is made from metal such as copper, because it’s availability in the industry and being inexpensive.
However, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose that the first semiconductor is made from oxide semiconductor material. On the other hand, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the inventio to modify the arts cited above such that oxide semiconductor material is used for channel region because of it’s high electron mobility; therefore, improving the picture quality.
However, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose that the second semiconductor is made from silicon. On the other hand, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the inventio to modify the arts cited above such that the second semiconductor is made from silicon because it is the most available material in the industry and no training and no new equipment would be required.
With respect to claim 2, Yamazaki discloses wherein the second drain electrode is electrically connected to the first gate electrode of the first transistor via a conductor (the second v electrode and the rest of the wiring according to para 44).
With respect to claim 7, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose wherein the second gate electrode is a second light shielding element. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the arts cited above such that the second gate electrode is a light shielding element such as copper, since copper is widespread in the industry and relatively unexpensive.
With respect to claim 11, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose, wherein the second gate electrode comprises a metal. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the arts cited above such that the second gate electrode comprises a metal, like copper because of it’s abundance and great conductivity.
Claims 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki et al (US Pub No. 20130181203), in view of Kwak et al (US Pub No. 20090026932), in view of Yamazaki et al (US Patent No. 6864508, hereinafter Yamazaki2).
With respect to claim 3, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose wherein the first transistor further comprises a third gate electrode overlapped with the first semiconductor. On the other hand, Yamazaki2 discloses wherein the first transistor (302,Fig.10) further comprises a third gate electrode (321) overlapped with the first semiconductor (322). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the arts cited above according to the teachings of the Yamazki2 such that a third gate electrode is formed under the first semiconductor layer in order to have a better control on the channel region; therefore, increasing performance of the device.
With respect to claim 4, Yamazaki2 discloses wherein the first semiconductor (322) is disposed between the third gate electrode (321) and the first gate electrode (320).
With respect to claim 5, Yamazaki2 discloses wherein the third gate electrode is disposed between the first semiconductor and the substrate (101, Fig.10).
With respect to claim 6, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose wherein the third gate electrode is a first light shielding element. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the arts cited above such that the third gate electrode is a light shielding element such as copper, since copper is widespread in the industry and relatively unexpensive.
Claim 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki et al (US Pub No. 20130181203), in view of Kwak et al (US Pub No. 20090026932), in view of Shim et al (US Pub No. 20150084946).
With respect to claim 8, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose wherein the display device comprises a capacitor electrically connected to the first transistor and the light emitting diode. On the other hand, Shim et al discloses wherein the display device (Fig.4) comprises a capacitor (cst) electrically connected to the first transistor (fig.4) and the light emitting diode (OLED). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the arts cited above according to the teachings of the Shim et al such that a capacitor electrically connected to the first transistor and the light emitting diode, in order to ensure each component works in an optimum voltage.
Claim 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki et al (US Pub No. 20130181203), in view of Kwak et al (US Pub No. 20090026932), in view of Shim et al (US Pub No. 20150084946), in view of Chou (US Pub No. 20150214248)
With respect to claim 9, Shim et al discloses wherein the capacitor has two capacitor electrodes (Fig.4). However, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose and one of the capacitor electrodes is made of the same material of the oxide semiconductor. On the other hand, Chou discloses one of the capacitor electrodes is made of the same material of the oxide semiconductor (Fig.2, para 41). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the arts cited above according to the teachings of the Chou such that capacitor electrodes is made of the same material of the oxide semiconductor, in order to optimize the voltage windows.
With respect to claim 10, Chou discloses wherein the other of the capacitor electrodes comprises a metal (Fig.3, Molybdenum, para 21).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim (Us Pub No. 20089265785).
/ALI NARAGHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817