DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/03/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis - Step 1
Claims 1-7 is/are recite a method/process, therefore claims 1-7 is/are within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis - Step 2A, Prong 1
Regarding Prong 1 of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recites mental processes and/or mathematical concepts (emphasized below) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection. Claim 1 recites:
A method comprising:
detecting an asymmetric thrust condition involving first and second engines of an aircraft, the asymmetric thrust condition associated with one of the engines providing more thrust than another of the engines; and
in response to detecting the asymmetric thrust condition:
determining a modifier for one of the engines; and
applying the modifier to an acceleration schedule for that engine, the modifier altering the acceleration schedule for that engine to reduce asymmetric thrust between the engines.
These limitations, as drafted, is a system that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation as a mental process and/or mathematical concept. That is, nothing in the claim elements preclude the steps from practically being performed as mathematical concepts. For example, " detecting an asymmetric thrust condition …" and " determining a modifier for one of the engines...", and “applying the modifier to an acceleration schedule …” encompass subject matter that a human can reasonably perform in the human mind with or without paper and pencil. “determining a modifier for one of the engines …” and “applying the modifier to an acceleration schedule...” involves a mathematical equation and is a mathematical concept, although this step could also be considered a mental process as well. Thus, the claim recites at least a mathematical concept and a mental process.
101 Analysis - Step 2A, Prong 2
Regarding Prong 2 of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a "practical application."
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the "additional limitations" while the bolded portions continue to represent the "abstract idea"):
A method comprising:
detecting an asymmetric thrust condition involving first and second engines of an aircraft, the asymmetric thrust condition associated with one of the engines providing more thrust than another of the engines; and
in response to detecting the asymmetric thrust condition:
determining a modifier for one of the engines; and
applying the modifier to an acceleration schedule for that engine, the modifier altering the acceleration schedule for that engine to reduce asymmetric thrust between the engines.
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations, there is no other limitations. The generic components are recited at a high level of generality (i.e. a generic processor and memory) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. The examiner submits that these limitations are merely applying the above-noted abstract idea by merely using a general controller to perform the process (MPEP §2106.05).
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular process for safety performance evaluation, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis - Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B in the 2019 PEG, representative independent claim 12 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of "at least one processor…" and “at least one memory…” amounts to nothing more than applying the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions cannot provide an inventive concept. Hence, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claims 1 recites analogous limitations, and are therefore rejected by the same premise.
Dependent claims 2-5 specify limitations that elaborate on the abstract idea of claims 1, and thus are directed to an abstract idea nor do the claims recite additional limitations that integrate the claims into a practical application or amount to “significantly more” for similar reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Stockwell (US20170058786A1).
Claim.1 Stockwell discloses a method (see at least abstract, a propulsion system, a gas turbine engine and an acceleration schedule which determines the rate of acceleration of the gas turbine engine from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle) comprising: detecting an asymmetric thrust condition involving first and second engines of an aircraft (see at least fig.1,4, p5, increasing quantities of electrical power, the need for mitigating asymmetric acceleration, p10, two such engines accelerate from idle at substantially the same rate, p20, an acceleration schedule used to schedule the acceleration of the additional engine may be used for both engines (i.e. it is the acceleration schedule) or an additional acceleration schedule may be provided for use with the additional engine, p55, the gas turbine engine 10 forms part of a propulsion system installed on an aircraft, the propulsion system comprises two such aero engines 10 and an acceleration schedule stored in the memory of each engine 10 for use by its EEC, the acceleration schedule (the same for both engines 10) determines the rate of acceleration of the respective engine 10 from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle), the asymmetric thrust condition associated with one of the engines providing more thrust than another of the engines (see at least fig.1,4, abstract, determines the rate of acceleration of the gas turbine engine from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle, p6, a propulsion system comprising a gas turbine engine and an acceleration schedule which determines the rate of acceleration of the gas turbine engine from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle, where the acceleration schedule determines the rate of acceleration in dependence upon the value of an engine parameter of the engine the value of which is substantially unaltered by variation in the magnitude of an electrical load drawn from the engine while it is operating in the idle condition, p29, a rate of acceleration of the engine from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle in dependence upon the value of an engine parameter of the engine the value of which is substantially unaltered by variation in the magnitude of an electrical load drawn from the engine while it is operating in the idle condition, p57, each engine 10 has a significantly different electrical load giving rise to significant difference in their respective N2 values); and in response to detecting the asymmetric thrust condition: determining a modifier for one or the engines; and applying the modifier to an acceleration schedule for that engine, the modifier alerting the acceleration schedule for that engine to reduce asymmetric thrust between the engines (see at least fig.1-4, p55, the propulsion system comprises two such aero engines 10 and an acceleration schedule stored in the memory of each engine 10 for use by its EEC, the acceleration schedule, the acceleration schedule (the same for both engines 10) determines the rate of acceleration of the respective engine 10 from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle, p56, using NMix in scheduling acceleration of each gas turbine engine 10, even where the engines 10 have very different electrical loads placed on them, the rate of acceleration of those engines 10 when a demand for off-idle acceleration is received and implemented by the EEC, p52, the schedule shows the way in which a demanded NMix changes with aircraft altitude where the engine is in an idle configuration).
Claim.2 Stockwell discloses further comprising: enabling an asymmetric thrust mitigation function of the aircraft in response to determining that one or more conditions associated with the aircraft are satisfied, the asymmetric thrust condition detected while the asymmetric thrust mitigation function is enabled (see at least fig.1,4, abstract, determines the rate of acceleration of the gas turbine engine from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle, p6, a propulsion system comprising a gas turbine engine and an acceleration schedule which determines the rate of acceleration of the gas turbine engine from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle, where the acceleration schedule determines the rate of acceleration in dependence upon the value of an engine parameter of the engine the value of which is substantially unaltered by variation in the magnitude of an electrical load drawn from the engine while it is operating in the idle condition, p29, a rate of acceleration of the engine from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle in dependence upon the value of an engine parameter of the engine the value of which is substantially unaltered by variation in the magnitude of an electrical load drawn from the engine while it is operating in the idle condition, p57, each engine 10 has a significantly different electrical load giving rise to significant difference in their respective N2 values); and disabling the asymmetric thrust mitigation function of the aircraft in response to determining that at least one of the one or more conditions associated with the aircraft is no longer satisfied, the asymmetric thrust condition not detected while the asymmetric thrust mitigation function is disabled (see at least fig.2-4, p58, any pre-existing thrust difference in engines 10 at ground-idle is not exacerbated and significant thrust asymmetries are avoided, engine’s steady state condition at idle and its acceleration from idle are tied together by an NMix limiter and an acceleration schedule dependent on NMix , this reduces asymmetric acceleration caused by different electrical loads on the engines 10).
Claim.3 Stockwell discloses wherein the one or more conditions associated with the aircraft indicate that the engines of the aircraft are spooling up for takeoff from an idle condition or from a low ground speed condition (see at least fig.1-4, p15-16, the engine parameter is dependent on the speed of the two spools, the engine parameter at a substantially consistent value while the engine is operating in the idle condition regardless of variation in magnitude of the electrical load drawn from the first spool, p9, idle limiter controls include minimum low pressure spool speed limiters (may be advantageous for anti-icing functionality), minimum high pressure compressor gas delivery temperature limiters, minimum engine speed limiters for ensuring that an electrical generator is online, minimum pressure limiters for combustor stability and bleed functionality and minimum high pressure spool speed limiters for ground, flight descent and approach).
Claim.4 Stockwell discloses wherein the one or more conditions associated with the aircraft comprise: a weight of the aircraft at least partially resting on wheels of the aircraft (see at least fig.1-2, p16-17, the engine parameter is dependent on the speed of the two spools, HPSpeed is the speed of the high pressure spool, IPSpeed is the speed of the intermediate pressure spool and k is an inertia weighted constant ); a calibrated airspeed of the aircraft being below a first threshold; a thrust lever angle of at least one engine throttle lever being at or above an idle position ; an N1 speed of at least one engine being below a second threshold; and a difference between N1 reference speeds of the first and second engines being below a third threshold (see at least fig.1-4, p54, intermediate pressure spool speed (N2) decreasing with increasing engine 10 electrical load, a decrease in N2 is compensated for by an increase in the high pressure spool speed (N3), relatively subtle variation in NMix may occur under particularly high engine 10 electrical load conditions, a minimum N2 limiter may be provided to ensure that N2 is not run down so far by electrical load that the generator is not operated correctly).
Claim.5 Stockwell discloses wherein at least one of: the asymmetric thrust condition is detected based on a difference between N1 speeds of the first and second engines; and the modifier is determined as a function of the difference between the N1 speeds of the first and second engines (see at least fig.1-4, abstract, determines the rate of acceleration of the gas turbine engine from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle, p6, a propulsion system comprising a gas turbine engine and an acceleration schedule which determines the rate of acceleration of the gas turbine engine from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle, where the acceleration schedule determines the rate of acceleration in dependence upon the value of an engine parameter of the engine the value of which is substantially unaltered by variation in the magnitude of an electrical load drawn from the engine while it is operating in the idle condition, p29, a rate of acceleration of the engine from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle in dependence upon the value of an engine parameter of the engine the value of which is substantially unaltered by variation in the magnitude of an electrical load drawn from the engine while it is operating in the idle condition, p57, each engine 10 has a significantly different electrical load giving rise to significant difference in their respective N2 values,p54, intermediate pressure spool speed (N2) decreasing with increasing engine 10 electrical load, a decrease in N2 is compensated for by an increase in the high pressure spool speed (N3), relatively subtle variation in NMix may occur under particularly high engine 10 electrical load conditions, a minimum N2 limiter may be provided to ensure that N2 is not run down so far by electrical load that the generator is not operated correctly).
Claim.6 Stockwell discloses wherein at least one of: the modifier decreases the acceleration schedule for a specified one of the engines when an N1 speed of the specified engine leads an N1 speed of another of the engines; and the modifier does not adjust the acceleration schedule or increases the acceleration schedule for the specified engine when the N1speed of the specified engine lags the N1speed of the other of the engines (see at least fig.1-4, p55, the propulsion system comprises two such aero engines 10 and an acceleration schedule stored in the memory of each engine 10 for use by its EEC, the acceleration schedule, the acceleration schedule (the same for both engines 10) determines the rate of acceleration of the respective engine 10 from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle, p56, using NMix in scheduling acceleration of each gas turbine engine 10, even where the engines 10 have very different electrical loads placed on them, the rate of acceleration of those engines 10 when a demand for off-idle acceleration is received and implemented by the EEC, p52, the schedule shows the way in which a demanded NMix changes with aircraft altitude where the engine is in an idle configuration, p57, each engine 10 has a significantly different electrical load giving rise to significant difference in their respective N2 values,p54, intermediate pressure spool speed (N2) decreasing with increasing engine 10 electrical load, a decrease in N2 is compensated for by an increase in the high pressure spool speed (N3), relatively subtle variation in NMix may occur under particularly high engine 10 electrical load conditions, a minimum N2 limiter may be provided to ensure that N2 is not run down so far by electrical load that the generator is not operated correctly).
Claim.7 Stockwell discloses wherein: the first engine is associated with a first thrust controller; the second engine is associated with a second thrust controller; the first thrust controller is configured to modify an acceleration schedule of the first engine in response to detecting the asymmetric thrust condition; and the second thrust controller is configured to modify an acceleration schedule of the second engine in response to detecting the asymmetric thrust condition (see at least fig.1-4, abstract, determines the rate of acceleration of the gas turbine engine from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle, p6, a propulsion system comprising a gas turbine engine and an acceleration schedule which determines the rate of acceleration of the gas turbine engine from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle, where the acceleration schedule determines the rate of acceleration in dependence upon the value of an engine parameter of the engine the value of which is substantially unaltered by variation in the magnitude of an electrical load drawn from the engine while it is operating in the idle condition, p29, a rate of acceleration of the engine from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle in dependence upon the value of an engine parameter of the engine the value of which is substantially unaltered by variation in the magnitude of an electrical load drawn from the engine while it is operating in the idle condition, p55, the propulsion system comprises two such aero engines 10 and an acceleration schedule stored in the memory of each engine 10 for use by its EEC, the acceleration schedule, the acceleration schedule (the same for both engines 10) determines the rate of acceleration of the respective engine 10 from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle, p56, using NMix in scheduling acceleration of each gas turbine engine 10, even where the engines 10 have very different electrical loads placed on them, the rate of acceleration of those engines 10 when a demand for off-idle acceleration is received and implemented by the EEC, p52, the schedule shows the way in which a demanded NMix changes with aircraft altitude where the engine is in an idle configuration).
Claim.8 Stockwell discloses an apparatus (see at least abstract, a propulsion system, a gas turbine engine and an acceleration schedule which determines the rate of acceleration of the gas turbine engine from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle) comprising: at least one thrust controller configured to control at least one of first and second engines of an aircraft (see at least fig.1,4, p5, increasing quantities of electrical power, the need for mitigating asymmetric acceleration, p10, two such engines accelerate from idle at substantially the same rate, p20, an acceleration schedule used to schedule the acceleration of the additional engine may be used for both engines (i.e. it is the acceleration schedule) or an additional acceleration schedule may be provided for use with the additional engine, p55, the gas turbine engine 10 forms part of a propulsion system installed on an aircraft, the propulsion system comprises two such aero engines 10 and an acceleration schedule stored in the memory of each engine 10 for use by its EEC, the acceleration schedule (the same for both engines 10) determines the rate of acceleration of the respective engine 10 from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle); wherein each thrust controller is configured to: detect an asymmetric thrust condition involving the first and second engines, the asymmetric thrust condition associated with one of the engines providing more thrust than another of the engines (see at least fig.1,4, abstract, determines the rate of acceleration of the gas turbine engine from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle, p6, a propulsion system comprising a gas turbine engine and an acceleration schedule which determines the rate of acceleration of the gas turbine engine from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle, where the acceleration schedule determines the rate of acceleration in dependence upon the value of an engine parameter of the engine the value of which is substantially unaltered by variation in the magnitude of an electrical load drawn from the engine while it is operating in the idle condition, p29, a rate of acceleration of the engine from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle in dependence upon the value of an engine parameter of the engine the value of which is substantially unaltered by variation in the magnitude of an electrical load drawn from the engine while it is operating in the idle condition, p57, each engine 10 has a significantly different electrical load giving rise to significant difference in their respective N2 values); and in response to detecting the asymmetric thrust condition: determine a modifier for one of the engines; and apply the modifier to an acceleration schedule for that engine, the modifier altering the acceleration schedule for that engine to reduce asymmetric thrust between the engines (see at least fig.1-4, p55, the propulsion system comprises two such aero engines 10 and an acceleration schedule stored in the memory of each engine 10 for use by its EEC, the acceleration schedule, the acceleration schedule (the same for both engines 10) determines the rate of acceleration of the respective engine 10 from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle, p56, using NMix in scheduling acceleration of each gas turbine engine 10, even where the engines 10 have very different electrical loads placed on them, the rate of acceleration of those engines 10 when a demand for off-idle acceleration is received and implemented by the EEC, p52, the schedule shows the way in which a demanded NMix changes with aircraft altitude where the engine is in an idle configuration).
Claim.9 Stockwell discloses wherein each thrust controller is further configured to: enable an asymmetric thrust mitigation function of the thrust controller in response to determining that one or more conditions associated with the aircraft are satisfied, wherein the asymmetric thrust condition is detectable while the asymmetric thrust mitigation function is enabled (see at least fig.1,4, abstract, determines the rate of acceleration of the gas turbine engine from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle, p6, a propulsion system comprising a gas turbine engine and an acceleration schedule which determines the rate of acceleration of the gas turbine engine from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle, where the acceleration schedule determines the rate of acceleration in dependence upon the value of an engine parameter of the engine the value of which is substantially unaltered by variation in the magnitude of an electrical load drawn from the engine while it is operating in the idle condition, p29, a rate of acceleration of the engine from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle in dependence upon the value of an engine parameter of the engine the value of which is substantially unaltered by variation in the magnitude of an electrical load drawn from the engine while it is operating in the idle condition, p57, each engine 10 has a significantly different electrical load giving rise to significant difference in their respective N2 values); and disable the asymmetric thrust mitigation function of the thrust controller in response to determining that at least one of the one or more conditions associated with the aircraft is no longer satisfied, wherein the asymmetric thrust condition is not detectable while the asymmetric thrust mitigation function is disabled (see at least fig.2-4, p58, any pre-existing thrust difference in engines 10 at ground-idle is not exacerbated and significant thrust asymmetries are avoided, engine’s steady state condition at idle and its acceleration from idle are tied together by an NMix limiter and an acceleration schedule dependent on NMix , this reduces asymmetric acceleration caused by different electrical loads on the engines 10).
Claim.10 Stockwell discloses wherein the one or more conditions associated with the aircraft indicate that the engines of the aircraft are spooling up for takeoff from an idle condition or from a low ground speed condition (see at least fig.1-4, p15-16, the engine parameter is dependent on the speed of the two spools, the engine parameter at a substantially consistent value while the engine is operating in the idle condition regardless of variation in magnitude of the electrical load drawn from the first spool, p9, idle limiter controls include minimum low pressure spool speed limiters (may be advantageous for anti-icing functionality), minimum high pressure compressor gas delivery temperature limiters, minimum engine speed limiters for ensuring that an electrical generator is online, minimum pressure limiters for combustor stability and bleed functionality and minimum high pressure spool speed limiters for ground, flight descent and approach).
Claim.11 Stockwell discloses wherein the one or more conditions associated with the aircraft comprise: a weight of the aircraft at least partially resting on wheels of the aircraft (see at least fig.1-2, p16-17, the engine parameter is dependent on the speed of the two spools, HPSpeed is the speed of the high pressure spool, IPSpeed is the speed of the intermediate pressure spool and k is an inertia weighted constant ); a calibrated airspeed of the aircraft being below a first threshold; a thrust lever angle of at least one engine throttle lever being at or above an idle position; an N1 speed of at least one engine being below a second threshold; and a difference between N1 reference speeds of the first and second engines being below a third threshold (see at least fig.1-4, p54, intermediate pressure spool speed (N2) decreasing with increasing engine 10 electrical load, a decrease in N2 is compensated for by an increase in the high pressure spool speed (N3), relatively subtle variation in NMix may occur under particularly high engine 10 electrical load conditions, a minimum N2 limiter may be provided to ensure that N2 is not run down so far by electrical load that the generator is not operated correctly).
Claim.12 Stockwell discloses wherein each thrust controller is configured to at least one of: detect the asymmetric thrust condition based on a difference between N1 speeds of the first and second engines; and determine the modifier as a function of the difference between the N1 speeds of the first and second engines (see at least fig.1-4, abstract, determines the rate of acceleration of the gas turbine engine from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle, p6, a propulsion system comprising a gas turbine engine and an acceleration schedule which determines the rate of acceleration of the gas turbine engine from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle, where the acceleration schedule determines the rate of acceleration in dependence upon the value of an engine parameter of the engine the value of which is substantially unaltered by variation in the magnitude of an electrical load drawn from the engine while it is operating in the idle condition, p29, a rate of acceleration of the engine from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle in dependence upon the value of an engine parameter of the engine the value of which is substantially unaltered by variation in the magnitude of an electrical load drawn from the engine while it is operating in the idle condition, p57, each engine 10 has a significantly different electrical load giving rise to significant difference in their respective N2 values,p54, intermediate pressure spool speed (N2) decreasing with increasing engine 10 electrical load, a decrease in N2 is compensated for by an increase in the high pressure spool speed (N3), relatively subtle variation in NMix may occur under particularly high engine 10 electrical load conditions, a minimum N2 limiter may be provided to ensure that N2 is not run down so far by electrical load that the generator is not operated correctly).
Claim.13 Stockwell discloses wherein at least one of: the modifier decreases the acceleration schedule for a specified one of the engines when an N1 speed of the specified engine leads an N1 speed of another of the engines; and the modifier does not adjust the acceleration schedule or increases the acceleration schedule for the specified engine when the N1 speed of the specified engine lags the N1 speed of the other of the engines (see at least fig.1-4, p55, the propulsion system comprises two such aero engines 10 and an acceleration schedule stored in the memory of each engine 10 for use by its EEC, the acceleration schedule, the acceleration schedule (the same for both engines 10) determines the rate of acceleration of the respective engine 10 from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle, p56, using NMix in scheduling acceleration of each gas turbine engine 10, even where the engines 10 have very different electrical loads placed on them, the rate of acceleration of those engines 10 when a demand for off-idle acceleration is received and implemented by the EEC, p52, the schedule shows the way in which a demanded NMix changes with aircraft altitude where the engine is in an idle configuration, p57, each engine 10 has a significantly different electrical load giving rise to significant difference in their respective N2 values,p54, intermediate pressure spool speed (N2) decreasing with increasing engine 10 electrical load, a decrease in N2 is compensated for by an increase in the high pressure spool speed (N3), relatively subtle variation in NMix may occur under particularly high engine 10 electrical load conditions, a minimum N2 limiter may be provided to ensure that N2 is not run down so far by electrical load that the generator is not operated correctly).
Claim.14 Stockwell discloses wherein: the at least one thrust controller comprises a first thrust controller associated with the first engine and a second thrust controller associated with the second engine; the first thrust controller is configured to modify an acceleration schedule of the first engine in response to detecting the asymmetric thrust condition; and the second thrust controller is configured to modify an acceleration schedule of the second engine in response to detecting the asynnetric thrust condition.
Claim.15 Stockwell discloses a non-transitory machine readable medium containing instructions (see at least p36, non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising computer readable instructions, p31, at least one processor) that when executed cause a thrust controller (see at least abstract, a propulsion system, a gas turbine engine and an acceleration schedule which determines the rate of acceleration of the gas turbine engine from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle) to: detect an asymmetric thrust condition involving first and second engines of an aircraft (see at least fig.1,4, p5, increasing quantities of electrical power, the need for mitigating asymmetric acceleration, p10, two such engines accelerate from idle at substantially the same rate, p20, an acceleration schedule used to schedule the acceleration of the additional engine may be used for both engines (i.e. it is the acceleration schedule) or an additional acceleration schedule may be provided for use with the additional engine, p55, the gas turbine engine 10 forms part of a propulsion system installed on an aircraft, the propulsion system comprises two such aero engines 10 and an acceleration schedule stored in the memory of each engine 10 for use by its EEC, the acceleration schedule (the same for both engines 10) determines the rate of acceleration of the respective engine 10 from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle), the asymmetric thrust condition associated with one of the engines providing more thrust than another of the engines (see at least fig.1,4, abstract, determines the rate of acceleration of the gas turbine engine from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle, p6, a propulsion system comprising a gas turbine engine and an acceleration schedule which determines the rate of acceleration of the gas turbine engine from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle, where the acceleration schedule determines the rate of acceleration in dependence upon the value of an engine parameter of the engine the value of which is substantially unaltered by variation in the magnitude of an electrical load drawn from the engine while it is operating in the idle condition, p29, a rate of acceleration of the engine from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle in dependence upon the value of an engine parameter of the engine the value of which is substantially unaltered by variation in the magnitude of an electrical load drawn from the engine while it is operating in the idle condition, p57, each engine 10 has a significantly different electrical load giving rise to significant difference in their respective N2 values); and in response to detecting the asymmetric thrust condition: determine a modifier for one of the engines; and apply the modifier to an acceleration schedule for that engine, the modifier altering the acceleration schedule for that engine to reduce asymmetric thrust between the engines (see at least fig.1-4, p55, the propulsion system comprises two such aero engines 10 and an acceleration schedule stored in the memory of each engine 10 for use by its EEC, the acceleration schedule, the acceleration schedule (the same for both engines 10) determines the rate of acceleration of the respective engine 10 from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle, p56, using NMix in scheduling acceleration of each gas turbine engine 10, even where the engines 10 have very different electrical loads placed on them, the rate of acceleration of those engines 10 when a demand for off-idle acceleration is received and implemented by the EEC, p52, the schedule shows the way in which a demanded NMix changes with aircraft altitude where the engine is in an idle configuration).
Claim.16 Stockwell discloses further containing instructions that when executed cause the thrust controller to: enable an asymmetric thrust mitigation function of the thrust controller in response to determining that one or more conditions associated with the aircraft are satisfied, wherein the asymmetric thrust condition is detectable while the asymmetric thrust mitigation function is enabled (see at least fig.1,4, abstract, determines the rate of acceleration of the gas turbine engine from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle, p6, a propulsion system comprising a gas turbine engine and an acceleration schedule which determines the rate of acceleration of the gas turbine engine from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle, where the acceleration schedule determines the rate of acceleration in dependence upon the value of an engine parameter of the engine the value of which is substantially unaltered by variation in the magnitude of an electrical load drawn from the engine while it is operating in the idle condition, p29, a rate of acceleration of the engine from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle in dependence upon the value of an engine parameter of the engine the value of which is substantially unaltered by variation in the magnitude of an electrical load drawn from the engine while it is operating in the idle condition, p57, each engine 10 has a significantly different electrical load giving rise to significant difference in their respective N2 values); and disable the asymmetric thrust mitigation function of the thrust controller in response to determining that at least one of the one or more conditions associated with the aircraft is no longer satisfied, wherein the asymmetric thrust condition is not detectable while the asymmetric thrust mitigation function is disabled (see at least fig.2-4, p58, any pre-existing thrust difference in engines 10 at ground-idle is not exacerbated and significant thrust asymmetries are avoided, engine’s steady state condition at idle and its acceleration from idle are tied together by an NMix limiter and an acceleration schedule dependent on NMix , this reduces asymmetric acceleration caused by different electrical loads on the engines 10).
Claim.17 Stockwell discloses wherein the one or more conditions associated with the aircraft indicate that the engines of the aircraft are spooling up for takeoff from an idle condition or from a low ground speed condition (see at least fig.1-4, p15-16, the engine parameter is dependent on the speed of the two spools, the engine parameter at a substantially consistent value while the engine is operating in the idle condition regardless of variation in magnitude of the electrical load drawn from the first spool, p9, idle limiter controls include minimum low pressure spool speed limiters (may be advantageous for anti-icing functionality), minimum high pressure compressor gas delivery temperature limiters, minimum engine speed limiters for ensuring that an electrical generator is online, minimum pressure limiters for combustor stability and bleed functionality and minimum high pressure spool speed limiters for ground, flight descent and approach).
Claim.18 Stockwell discloses wherein the one or more conditions associated with the aircraft comprise: a weight of the aircraft at least partially resting on wheels of the aircraft (see at least fig.1-2, p16-17, the engine parameter is dependent on the speed of the two spools, HPSpeed is the speed of the high pressure spool, IPSpeed is the speed of the intermediate pressure spool and k is an inertia weighted constant ); a calibrated airspeed of the aircraft being below a first threshold; a thrust lever angle of at least one engine throttle lever being at or above an idle position; an N1 speed of at least one engine being below a second threshold; and a difference between N1 reference speeds of the first and second engines being below a third threshold (see at least fig.1-4, p54, intermediate pressure spool speed (N2) decreasing with increasing engine 10 electrical load, a decrease in N2 is compensated for by an increase in the high pressure spool speed (N3), relatively subtle variation in NMix may occur under particularly high engine 10 electrical load conditions, a minimum N2 limiter may be provided to ensure that N2 is not run down so far by electrical load that the generator is not operated correctly).
Claim.19 Stockwell discloses wherein the instructions that when executed cause the thrust controller to detect the asymmetric thrust condition comprise at least one of: instructions that when executed cause the thrust controller to detect the asymmetric thrust condition based on a difference between N1 speeds of the first and second engines; and instructions that when executed cause the thrust controller to determine the modifier as a function of the difference between the N1 speeds of the first and second engines (see at least fig.1-4, abstract, determines the rate of acceleration of the gas turbine engine from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle, p6, a propulsion system comprising a gas turbine engine and an acceleration schedule which determines the rate of acceleration of the gas turbine engine from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle, where the acceleration schedule determines the rate of acceleration in dependence upon the value of an engine parameter of the engine the value of which is substantially unaltered by variation in the magnitude of an electrical load drawn from the engine while it is operating in the idle condition, p29, a rate of acceleration of the engine from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle in dependence upon the value of an engine parameter of the engine the value of which is substantially unaltered by variation in the magnitude of an electrical load drawn from the engine while it is operating in the idle condition, p57, each engine 10 has a significantly different electrical load giving rise to significant difference in their respective N2 values,p54, intermediate pressure spool speed (N2) decreasing with increasing engine 10 electrical load, a decrease in N2 is compensated for by an increase in the high pressure spool speed (N3), relatively subtle variation in NMix may occur under particularly high engine 10 electrical load conditions, a minimum N2 limiter may be provided to ensure that N2 is not run down so far by electrical load that the generator is not operated correctly).
Claim.20 Stockwell discloses wherein at least one of : the modifier decreases the acceleration schedule for a specified one of the engines when an NI speed of the specified engine leads an NI speed of another of the engines; and the modifier does not adjust the acceleration schedule or increases the acceleration schedule for the specified engine when the N1 speed of the specified engine lags the N1 speed of the other of the engines (see at least fig.1-4, p55, the propulsion system comprises two such aero engines 10 and an acceleration schedule stored in the memory of each engine 10 for use by its EEC, the acceleration schedule, the acceleration schedule (the same for both engines 10) determines the rate of acceleration of the respective engine 10 from an idle condition in response to a demand for increased thrust off-idle, p56, using NMix in scheduling acceleration of each gas turbine engine 10, even where the engines 10 have very different electrical loads placed on them, the rate of acceleration of those engines 10 when a demand for off-idle acceleration is received and implemented by the EEC, p52, the schedule shows the way in which a demanded NMix changes with aircraft altitude where the engine is in an idle configuration, p57, each engine 10 has a significantly different electrical load giving rise to significant difference in their respective N2 values,p54, intermediate pressure spool speed (N2) decreasing with increasing engine 10 electrical load, a decrease in N2 is compensated for by an increase in the high pressure spool speed (N3), relatively subtle variation in NMix may occur under particularly high engine 10 electrical load conditions, a minimum N2 limiter may be provided to ensure that N2 is not run down so far by electrical load that the generator is not operated correctly).
Conclusion
/SHARDUL D PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664