DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. (WO2017146553A1) in view of Hayashishita (Pub. No. US 2017/0236616).
As to claim 1, Ahn discloses a connection cable 100 for electrical and thermal connectivity in ultra-high vacuum, comprising:
an outer spring 120 including a lumen extending therethrough, the outer spring including vacuum conductance paths to enable evacuation of the lumen in a vacuum environment (fig. 2, see spaces in the spring);
a braid 130 located at least partially within the lumen of the outer spring and configured to conduct high voltage and thermal energy.
However, Ahn does not disclose that an inner structural element disposed at least partially within the braid to maintain the shape of the connection cable.
Hayashishita discloses a multi-core cable having a tension member 30 for maintaining the shape of the cable (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the connection cable of Ahn have an inner structural element as similarly taught by Hayashishita in order to provide strength and shape to the cable.
As to claim 6, Ahn discloses one or more electrical conductors 130 disposed within the outer spring and configured to carry electrical signals.
As to claim 7, Ahn discloses that the plurality of electrical conductors comprises four electrical conductors (fig. 2).
As to claim 8, Ahn does not disclose that a length of the connection cable is in a range from 300 millimeters to 500 millimeters.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the length of the connection cable be in a range from 300mm to 500mm since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the length of the connection cable be in a range from 300mm to 500mm since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
As to claim 9, Ahn does not disclose that the connection cable is configured to operate at pressures below 10-8 mbar.
Ahn discloses using the cable in a vacuum chamber. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the connection cable be configured to operate at pressure below 10-8 mbar since it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ F.2d ]647 (1987).
As to claim 10, Ahn discloses that the connection cable is configured to maintain a standoff distance to environmental components during motion of a connected stage inside a charged particle system (figs. 1-2 show the cable connected on both ends, limiting the distance the cable can move).
As to claim 11, Ahn discloses a method of manufacturing a connection cable (fig. 2) that provides electrical and thermal connectivity in a high vacuum environment, the method comprising:
expanding an end of an outer spring 120, the outer spring including a lumen extending therethrough;
a braid 130;
inserting the braid into the lumen of the outer spring (fig. 2).
However, Ahn does not disclose an inner structural element.
Hayashishita discloses a multi-core cable having a tension member 30 for maintaining the shape of the cable (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the connection cable of Ahn have an inner structural element as similarly taught by Hayashishita in order to provide strength and shape to the cable.
As to claim 12, Ahn discloses inserting one or more electrical conductors 130 into the braid; and inserting the electrical conductors into the lumen of the outer spring during insertion of the braid and inner structural element.
As to claim 13, Ahn discloses bending the connection cable to create vacuum conductance paths through a lateral surface of the outer spring (fig. 2 shows spaces in the outer spring).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding dependent claim 2, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations within the claim and limitation recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that discloses a first section configured to enable motion of a connected stage in three translational dimensions and a first rotational dimension, the first section including the outer spring, the braid, and the inner structural element, and a second section configured to enable motion of the connected stage in a second rotational dimension, the second section including the braid. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding dependent claim 5, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations within the claim and limitation recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that discloses an external interface connector to connect a first end of the connection cable to a thermal reservoir, a high voltage supply, and an electrical interface; and a sample interface connector to connect a second end of the connection cable to a stage of a charged particle system. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding dependent claim 14, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations within the claim and limitation recited in claim 11, a combination of limitations that discloses wherein expanding the end of the outer spring includes driving the end of the outer spring between a wedge-shaped insert and a collar having a complementary shape. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding dependent claim 15, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations within the claim and limitation recited in claim 11, a combination of limitations that wherein the outer spring defines a first section of the connection cable, the method further comprising passing the braid through a second section of the connection cable. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Claims 16-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding independent claim 16, the prior art or record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations within the claim, a combination of limitations disclosing a first section configured to enable motion of a connected stage in three translational dimensions and a first rotational dimension, the first section including: an outer spring including a first lumen extending therethrough, a braid disposed at least partially within the first lumen of the outer spring and configured to conduct high voltage and thermal energy, and an inner structural element disposed at least partially within the braid to maintain the shape of the first section; a second section configured to enable motion of the connected stage in a second rotational dimension, the second section including the braid; and an intermediate fixation that connects the first section and the second section. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Conclusion
/AMOL H PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847