DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. Claims 1-19 as filed on 05/03/2024 are pending and herewith considered as indicated below.
Specification
3. The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: Claim terminology, see below for detailed explanation.
a. The term “non porous sheet” as claimed in claims 1, 4, 6-7, 13 and 15 is used inconsistently throughout the specifications, the term “sheet” is used when describing the non porous sheet, as best understood by the examiner.
Claim Objections
4. Claims 1, 12 and 15 objected to because of the following informalities: Inconsistent claim terminology, see below for explanation. Appropriate correction is required.
In regards to Claim 1, Claim 1 line 10 recites “window pane” which appears to be inconsistent with the pervious recitations and appears to recite “windowpane”.
In regards to Claim 12, Claim 12 line 2 recites “window pane” which appears to be inconsistent with the pervious recitations and appears to recite “windowpane”.
In regards to Claim 15, Claim 15 line 11 recites “window pane” which appears to be inconsistent with the pervious recitations and appears to recite “windowpane”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 1-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to Claim 1, “The Sheet” in line 7 lacks proper antecedent basis, it appears
the sheet is intended to recite “substantially non porous sheet”.
The term “substantially similar” in Claim 1, line 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially similar” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The language is being interpreted as the same.
In regards to Claim 3, “the installed supplemental window” lacks antecedent basis, it appears the installed supplemental window is intended to recite “supplemental window apparatus”.
In regards to Claim 6, “Both the corner area and the edge area” used in line 3 appears to limit the claim to the substantially non porous sheet as best understood by the examiner.
The term “near” in Claim 9, line 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “near” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The language is being interpreted as close as possible within a specific measurement of space (i.e. +/- 1 inch).
The term “properly positioned” in Claim 10, line 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “properly positioned” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The language is being interpreted as placed as intended.
The term “properly positioned” in Claim 11, lines 2-3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “properly positioned” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The language is being interpreted as placed as intended.
In regards to Claim 15, “The Sheet” in line 9 lacks proper antecedent basis, it appears
the sheet is intended to recite “substantially non porous sheet”.
The term “substantially similar” in Claim 15, lines 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially similar” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The language is being interpreted as the same.
The term “properly positioned” in Claim 18, lines 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “properly positioned” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The language is being interpreted as placed as intended.
The term “properly positioned” in Claim 19, lines 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “properly positioned” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The language is being interpreted as placed as intended.
In regards to Claims 2-5, 7-8, 12-14 and 16-17, Claims 2-5, 7-8, 12-14 and 16-17 are herein rejected due to dependency on independent claims 1 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-12 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minnich (US 6052957 A) in view of Kant (US 20090193756 A1) and Pandorf (US 20090090062 A1).
In regards to Claim 1, Minnich in Figure 1 discloses a method of installing a supplemental window apparatus (50) having a substantially non porous sheet (12) [Col 6, Lines 20-26] having a sheet area substantially similar to a window area [Fig 1] defined by interior surfaces (62a-d) [Fig 1] of a window element (72,74) of an existing window (60) [Fig 1] , the window element (72,74) holding a windowpane [Unnumbered, Fig 1] (see examiners comments) the method comprising: attaching one or more mating fasteners (30) coupled to the substantially non porous sheet (12) [Col 6, Lines 20-26] such that there is an air gap dimension [Fig 3] between the sheet (12) and the windowpane [Unnumbered, Fig 1] (see examiners comments). However, Minnich fails to disclose attaching one or more pane fasteners to the windowpane [Unnumbered, Fig 1] (see examiners comments); attaching one or more mating fasteners (30) coupled to the substantially non porous sheet (12) [Col 6, Lines 20-26] to the one or more pane fasteners, such that there is an air gap dimension [Fig 3] between the sheet (12) and the windowpane [Unnumbered, Fig 1] (see examiners comments); and applying an attachment material to one or more areas of the supplemental window apparatus (50) [Fig 1] to further attach the supplemental window apparatus (50) [Fig 1]to the window pane [Unnumbered, Fig 1] (see examiners comments).
Furthermore, Kant discloses applying an attachment material (932) [Fig. 9B] to one or more areas of the supplemental window apparatus (50, Minnich) [Fig 1, Minnich] to further attach the supplemental window apparatus (50, Minnich) [Fig 1, Minnich] to the window pane [Unnumbered, Fig 1, Minnich] (see examiners comments).
Based on the prior art relied upon above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the supplemental window apparatus as disclosed by Minnich to further include an attachment material as disclosed by Kant. When modified, the supplement window apparatus would include the attachment material to one or more areas of the supplement window apparatus as desired by a person having ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, using the attachment material someone with ordinary skill in the art would apply the attachment material to one or more areas of the supplemental window apparatus to further attach the supplemental window apparatus to the window pane. Using the attachment material further limits air inflow/outflow from the edges as desired by the method and apparatus.
Furthermore, Pandorf discloses the method [Fig 1, Minnich] comprising: attaching one or more pane fasteners (24) [0034] [Fig 7A] to the windowpane [Unnumbered, Fig 1, Minnich] (see examiners comments); attaching one or more mating fasteners (30, Minnich) coupled to the substantially non porous sheet (12, Minnich) [Col 6, Lines 20-26] to the one or more pane fasteners (24) [0034] [Fig 7A], such that there is an air gap dimension [Fig 3, Minnich] between the sheet (12, Minnich) and the windowpane [Unnumbered, Fig 1, Minnich] (see examiners comments, Minnich);
Based on the prior art relied upon above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the supplemental window apparatus as disclosed by Minnich to include the pane fasteners as disclosed by Pandorf. When modified, the supplemental window apparatus would further attach one or more mating fasteners coupled to the substantially non porous sheet to the one or more pane fasteners, such that there is an air gap dimension between the sheet and the windowpane. Lastly, including a pane fastener as disclosed by Pandorf further facilitates a securing mechanism to the overall frame.
In regards to Claim 2, Minnich in Fig 1 discloses the method [Fig 1] of claim 1, Kant discloses wherein the attachment material (932) is one or more of an adhesive [0048], a sealant, or a caulk.
In regards to Claim 3, Minnich in Fig 1 discloses the method [Fig 1] of claim 1 and the supplemental window apparatus (50) [Fig 1]. However, fails to disclose wherein the attachment material provides a load bearing for the installed supplemental window apparatus (50) [Fig 1].
Furthermore, Kant discloses the attachment material (932)
Furthermore, the attachment material is not explicitly mentioned as a load bearing mechanism. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify attachment material of Kant to be made of a load bearing in order further seal the supplement window apparatus to the windowpane, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
In regards to Claim 4, Minnich in Fig 1 discloses the method [Fig 1] of claim 1, the substantially non porous sheet (12) [Col 6, Lines 20-26] and the windowpane [Unnumbered, Fig 1] (see examiners comments). However, fails to disclose wherein the attachment material provides sealing for the supplemental window apparatus (50) [Fig 1] to inhibit air movement into or out of the air gap formed between the substantially non porous sheet (12) [Col 6, Lines 20-26] and the windowpane [Unnumbered, Fig 1] (see examiners comments).
Furthermore, Kant discloses wherein the attachment material (932) [Fig. 9B] provides sealing for the supplemental window apparatus (50, Minnich) [Fig 1, Minnich] to inhibit air movement into or out of the air gap formed between the substantially non porous sheet (12, Minnich) [Col 6, Lines 20-26] and the windowpane [Minnich, Unnumbered, Fig 1] (see examiners comments).
In regards to Claim 5, Minnich discloses in Fig 1 the method [Fig 1] of claim 4, the substantially non porous sheet (12) [Col 6, Lines 20-26] and the windowpane [Unnumbered, Fig 1] (see examiners comments). However, fails to disclose wherein the attachment material is applied outward from a seal between the substantially non porous sheet (12) [Col 6, Lines 20-26] and the windowpane [Unnumbered, Fig 1] (see examiners comments).
Furthermore, Kant discloses wherein the attachment material (932) [Fig. 9B] is applied outward from a seal [Fig 1] between the substantially non porous sheet (12) [Col 6, Lines 20-26] and the windowpane [Unnumbered, Fig 1] (see examiners comments).
In regards to Claim 6, Minnich in Fig 1 discloses the method [Fig 1] of claim 1, the supplemental window apparatus (50) [Fig 1] and the substantially non porous sheet (12) [Col 6, Lines 20-26]. However, fails to disclose wherein the attachment material is applied to one or more of a corner area of the supplemental window apparatus (50) [Fig 1], an edge area of the substantially non porous sheet (12) [Col 6, Lines 20-26], or both the corner area and the edge area of the substantially non porous sheet (12) [Col 6, Lines 20-26].
Furthermore, Kant discloses the attachment material (932) [Fig. 9B].
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the attachment material of Kant to be applied to one or more of a corner area of the supplemental window apparatus, an edge area of the substantially non porous sheet, or both the corner area and the edge area of the substantially non porous sheet in order to facilitate attachment of the non porous sheet , as it has been held that applying a known technique (attachment mechanism) to a known device (non porous sheet, supplemental window apparatus) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (attachment) is within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2143 (D).
In regards to Claim 7, Minnich discloses in Fig 1 the method [Fig 1] of claim 1, wherein the substantially non porous sheet (12) [Col 6, Lines 20-26] has a flap or stiffener (22) located along one or more edges [Fig 5] thereof and the windowpane [Unnumbered, Fig 1] (see examiners comments). However, fails to disclose wherein the substantially non porous sheet (12) [Col 6, Lines 20-26] has a flap or stiffener (22) located along one or more edges [Fig 5] thereof, the method further comprising applying the attachment material to attach the flap or stiffener (22) to the windowpane [Unnumbered, Fig 1] (see examiners comments).
Furthermore, Kant discloses the method further comprising applying the attachment material (932) [Fig. 9B] to attach the flap or stiffener (22, Minnich) to the windowpane [Unnumbered, Fig 1, Minnich] (see examiners comments).
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify substantially non porous sheet of Minnich to apply an attachment material to attach the stiffener to the windowpane in order to sufficiently / better prevent air flow. It has been held that rearrangement of parts is considered within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019.
In regards to Claim 8, Minnich in Fig 1 discloses the method [Fig 1] of claim 7 and the windowpane [Unnumbered, Fig 1] (see examiners comments). However, fails to disclose wherein the attachment material (932) [Fig. 9B] has dimensions perpendicular and parallel to the windowpane [Unnumbered, Fig 1] (see examiners comments) of about 1.5 mm to about 3 mm.
Furthermore, Kant discloses the attachment material (932) [Fig. 9B].
However, it would have been obvious as a matter of choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the attachment material of Kant to have dimensions perpendicular and parallel to the windowpane of about 1.5 mm to about 3 mm in shape in order to sufficiently / better prevent air flow. In general, it has been held that a mere change in shape of a component is within the level of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration of the claimed shape is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149.
In regards to Claim 9, Minnich in Fig 1 discloses the method [Fig 1] of claim 1, however, fails to disclose wherein the attachment material is applied near to or in contact with the one or more pane fasteners.
Furthermore, Pandorf discloses the one or more pane fasteners (24) [0034] [Fig 7A].
Furthermore, Kant discloses the attachment material (932) [Fig. 9B]
Based on the prior art relied upon above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the supplemental window apparatus as disclosed by Minnich to include the attachment material as disclosed by Kant, further applying the attachment material near to or in contact with the one or more pane fasteners (Pandorf). When modified, the attachment material is applied near to or in contact with the one or more pane fasteners. Doing so helps sufficiently / better prevent air flow as initially intended.
In regards to Claim 10, Minnich in Fig 1 discloses the method [Fig 1] of claim 1, the supplemental window apparatus (50) [Fig 1], the existing window (60) [Fig 1], the one or more mating (30) fasteners. However, fails to disclose determining whether the supplemental window apparatus (50) [Fig 1] is properly positioned on the existing window (60) [Fig 1] prior to applying the attachment material ; disengaging the one or more mating (30) fasteners from the one or more pane fasteners when the supplemental window apparatus (50) [Fig 1] is not properly positioned; and reattaching the one or more mating fasteners (30) to the one or more pane fasteners.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Minnich with determining whether the supplemental window apparatus is properly positioned on the existing window prior to applying the attachment material ; disengaging the one or more mating fasteners from the one or more pane fasteners when the supplemental window apparatus is not properly positioned; and reattaching the one or more mating fasteners to the one or more pane fasteners in order to facilitate installation of the supplemental window apparatus as intended. In general, selection of the order of performing process steps has been held as within the level of ordinary skill in the art absent new or unexpected results. In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975.
Furthermore, Kant discloses the attachment material (932) [Fig. 9B].
Furthermore, Pandorf discloses the one or more pane fasteners (24) [0034] [Fig 7A].
In regards to Claim 11, Minnich in Fig 1 discloses the method [Fig 1] of claim 10, however fails to disclose wherein the method further comprises repeating the determining, disengaging, and reattaching until the supplemental window apparatus (50) [Fig 1] is properly positioned prior to the applying of the attachment material.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Minnich with repeating the determining, disengaging, and reattaching until the supplemental window apparatus is properly positioned prior to the applying of the attachment material in order to facilitate installation of the supplemental window apparatus as intended. In general, selection of the order of performing process steps has been held as within the level of ordinary skill in the art absent new or unexpected results. In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975.
Furthermore, Kant discloses the attachment material (932) [Fig. 9B].
In regards to Claim 12, Minnich discloses in Fig 1 the method [Fig 1] of claim 1, window pane [Unnumbered, Fig 1] (see examiners comments), the one or more mating fasteners (30), the supplemental window apparatus (50) [Fig 1]. However, fails to disclose wherein the one or more pane fasteners comprise mushroom head fasteners attached to the window pane [Unnumbered, Fig 1] (see examiners comments) using a pressure sensitive adhesive , wherein the applying the attachment material reduces a bond time required for the pressure sensitive adhesive between the mushroom head fasteners and the pressure sensitive adhesive prior to attaching the one or more mating fasteners (30) to the one or more pane fasteners during installation of the supplemental window apparatus (50) [Fig 1].
Furthermore, Kant discloses using a pressure sensitive adhesive (932) [Fig. 9B] , wherein the applying the attachment material (932) [Fig. 9B] reduces a bond time required for the pressure sensitive adhesive (932) [Fig. 9B].
Furthermore, Pandorf discloses wherein the one or more pane fasteners (24) [0034] [Fig 7A] attached to the window pane [Unnumbered, Fig 1, Minnich] (see examiners comments) using a pressure sensitive adhesive (932, Kant) [Fig. 9B] and attaching the one or more mating fasteners (30, Minnich) to the one or more pane fasteners (24) [0034] [Fig 7A] during installation of the supplemental window apparatus (50, Minnich) [Fig 1].
However, it would have been obvious as a matter of choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Pane Fasteners of Pandorf to have Mushroom head in shape in order to facilitate attachment of the windowpane. In general, it has been held that a mere change in shape of a component is within the level of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration of the claimed shape is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149.
In regards to Claim 14, Minnich in Fig 1 discloses the method [Fig 1] of claim 1, wherein the one or more mating fasteners (30) have an engagement thickness of about 5 mm to about 7 mm [Fig 3]. However, fails to disclose one or more pane fasteners have an engagement thickness of about 5 mm to about 7 mm, wherein the attachment material has a volume of about 0.3 cm3 to about 1.5 cm3 at each of the one or more areas.
Furthermore, Pandorf discloses one or more pane fasteners (24) [0034]
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify pane fasteners of Pandorf to have a have an engagement thickness of about 5 mm to about 7 mm in order to facilitate attachment. In general, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Furthermore, Kant discloses the attachment material (932) [Fig. 9B]
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify attachment material of Kant to have a volume of about 0.3 cm3 to about 1.5 cm3 at each of the one or more areas in order to facilitate or aid in attachment by providing sufficient size. In general, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
In regards to Claim 15, Minnich discloses A kit [Fig 1; Col 10, Lines 43-44] comprising: a supplemental window apparatus (50) [Fig 1] having a substantially non porous sheet (12) [Col 6, Lines 20-26] having a sheet area [Fig 1] substantially similar to a window area [Fig 1] defined by interior surfaces of a window element (62a-d) [Fig 1]of an existing window (60) [Fig 1], the window element holding a windowpane [Unnumbered, Fig 1] (see examiners comments); and instructions [Figs 1-4; any disclosed movement during install constituting ‘instructions’] for installing the supplemental window apparatus (50) [Fig 1] that comprise: attaching one or more pane fasteners to the windowpane [Unnumbered, Fig 1] (see examiners comments); attaching one or more mating fasteners (30) [Fig 3] coupled to the substantially non porous sheet(12) [Col 6, Lines 20-26] such that there is an air gap dimension [Fig 3] between the sheet (12) and the windowpane [Unnumbered, Fig 1] (see examiners comments). However, Minnich fails to disclose attaching one or more mating fasteners (30) [Fig 3] coupled to the substantially non porous sheet(12) [Col 6, Lines 20-26] to the one or more pane fasteners, such that there is an air gap dimension [Fig 3] between the sheet (12) and the windowpane [Unnumbered, Fig 1] (see examiners comments); and applying an attachment material to one or more areas of the supplemental window apparatus (50) [Fig 1] to further attach the supplemental window apparatus (50) [Fig 1]to the window pane [Unnumbered, Fig 1] (see examiners comments).
Furthermore, Kant discloses applying an attachment material (932) [Fig. 9B] to one or more areas of the supplemental window apparatus (50, Minnich) [Fig 1] to further attach the supplemental window apparatus (50, Minnich) [Fig 1]to the window pane [Unnumbered, Fig 1, Minnich] (see examiners comments).
Based on the prior art relied upon above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the kit as disclosed by Minnich to further include an attachment material as disclosed by Kant. When modified, the supplement window apparatus would include the attachment material to one or more areas of the supplement window apparatus as desired by a person having ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, using the attachment material someone with ordinary skill in the art would apply the attachment material to one or more areas of the supplemental window apparatus to further attach the supplemental window apparatus to the window pane. Using the attachment material further limits air inflow/outflow from the edges as desired by the method and apparatus.
Furthermore, Pandorf discloses attaching one or more mating fasteners (30, Minnich) [Fig 3] coupled to the substantially non porous sheet (12, Minnich) [Col 6, Lines 20-26] to the one or more pane fasteners (24) [0034] [Fig 7A], such that there is an air gap dimension [Fig 3, Minnich] between the sheet (12, Minnich) and the windowpane [Unnumbered, Fig 1, Minnich] (see examiners comments);
Based on the prior art relied upon above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the kit as disclosed by Minnich to include the pane fasteners as disclosed by Pandorf. When modified, the supplemental window apparatus would further attach one or more mating fasteners coupled to the substantially non porous sheet to the one or more pane fasteners, such that there is an air gap dimension between the sheet and the windowpane. Lastly, including a pane fastener as disclosed by Pandorf further facilitates a securing mechanism to the overall frame.
In regards to Claim 16, Minnich discloses the kit [Fig 1] of claim 15, however, fails to disclose further comprising: the attachment material.
Furthermore, Kant discloses the attachment material (932) [Fig. 9B].
In regards to Claim 17, Minnich discloses the kit [Fig 1] of claim 16, however fails to disclose wherein the attachment material is one or more of an adhesive , a sealant, or a caulk.
Furthermore, Kant discloses wherein the attachment material (932) [Fig. 9B] is one or more of an adhesive [0048], a sealant, or a caulk.
In regards to Claim 18, Minnich discloses the kit [Fig 1] of claim 15, wherein the instructions for installing the supplemental window apparatus (50) [Fig 1]further comprise: determining whether the supplemental window apparatus (50) [Fig 1] is properly positioned on the existing window, disengaging the one or more mating fasteners (30) when the supplemental window apparatus (50) [Fig 1] is not properly positioned; and reattaching the one or more mating fasteners (30). However fails to disclose wherein the instructions for installing the supplemental window apparatus (50) [Fig 1]further comprise: determining whether the supplemental window apparatus (50) [Fig 1] is properly positioned on the existing window prior to applying the attachment material; disengaging the one or more mating fasteners (30) from the one or more pane fasteners when the supplemental window apparatus (50) [Fig 1] is not properly positioned; and reattaching the one or more mating fasteners (30) to the one or more pane fasteners.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the kit of Minnich with determining whether the supplemental window apparatus is properly positioned on the existing window prior to applying the attachment material ; disengaging the one or more mating fasteners from the one or more pane fasteners when the supplemental window apparatus is not properly positioned; and reattaching the one or more mating fasteners to the one or more pane fasteners in order to facilitate installation of the supplemental window apparatus as intended. In general, selection of the order of performing process steps has been held as within the level of ordinary skill in the art absent new or unexpected results. In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975.
Furthermore, Kant discloses the attachment material (932) [Fig. 9B].
Furthermore, Pandorf discloses the one or more pane fasteners (24) [0034] [Fig 7A].
In regards to Claim 19, Minnich discloses the kit [Fig 1] of claim 18, wherein the instructions for installing the supplemental window apparatus (50) [Fig 1] further comprise repeating the determining, disengaging, and reattaching until the supplemental window apparatus (50) [Fig 1] is properly positioned. However, fails to disclose reattaching until the supplemental window apparatus (50) [Fig 1] is properly positioned prior to the applying of the attachment material.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the kit of Minnich with repeating the determining, disengaging, and reattaching until the supplemental window apparatus is properly positioned prior to the applying of the attachment material in order to facilitate installation of the supplemental window apparatus as intended. In general, selection of the order of performing process steps has been held as within the level of ordinary skill in the art absent new or unexpected results. In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975.
Furthermore, Kant discloses the attachment material (932) [Fig. 9B].
7. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minnich (US 6052957 A) in view of Kant (US 20090193756 A1) and Pandorf (US 20090090062 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kontos (US 20090133341 A1).
In regards to Claim 13, Minnich in Fig 1 discloses the method [Fig 1] of claim 1, wherein the supplemental window apparatus (50) [Fig 1], substantially non porous sheet (12) [Col 6, Lines 20-26]. However, fails to disclose wherein the supplemental window apparatus (50) [Fig 1] further comprises one or more spacers extending from the substantially non porous sheet (12) [Col 6, Lines 20-26] and a foot extending from each of the one or more spacers, the foot having the mating fastener (30) located thereon, wherein the attachment material is applied to a portion of the foot that does not include the mating fastener (30) .
Furthermore, Kontos discloses wherein the supplemental window apparatus (50, Minnich) [Fig 1] further comprises one or more spacers (64) [0044] [Fig 11] extending from the substantially non porous sheet (12, Minnich) [Col 6, Lines 20-26] and a foot extending from each of the one or more spacers (64) [0044] [Fig 11]
Based on the prior art relied upon above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the supplemental window apparatus as disclosed by Minnich to include the spacer as disclosed by Kontos. When modified, one or more spacers (64) [0044] [Fig 11] extending from the substantially non porous sheet. The spacer is used as an insulating mechanism.
Furthermore, Kant discloses wherein the attachment material (932) [Fig. 9B] is applied to a portion of the foot (64, Kontos) [0044] [Fig 11] that does not include the mating fastener (30, Minnich) .
Examiners Comments
Minnich, Figure 1
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See PTO 892.
/Z.K.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3635
/KYLE J. WALRAED-SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635