DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed July 9, 2026, have been fully considered.
Applicant has argued that the amendments to the specification and drawings overcome the objections set forth in the previous Office Action. Examiner agrees, and has withdrawn all of the previous objections.
Regarding the prior art rejection based on the Kang reference, applicant has invoked the exception under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(c). Thus, examiner has withdrawn the rejection based on Kang.
Regarding the prior art rejection based on the Futamura reference, applicant has argued that “in Futamura, the door rail 17 is not ‘integrally formed’ with the rail member 3 but is instead a separate component that is assembled onto the rail member 3. This is structurally different from the structure of amended claim 1, which requires that the integrally formed door rail be defined by the shape of the rail member itself. Thus, even if the door rail 17 and rail member 3 in Futamura, once assembled together, are considered to form an integrated unit, Futamura does not teach or suggest that the door rail 17 is defined by the shape of the rail member 3, as required by amended claim 1” (Remarks, middle of Page 11). Examiner respectfully disagrees. As a preliminary matter, amended claim 1 now stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), because the new language is confusing (see 112 rejection below). Given the confusion under 35 U.S.C. 112, the claim can be interpreted in two ways. Under both interpretations, Futamura reads on claim 1. If the “door rail” is interpreted as being the groove-like open space in the rail member, then Futamura discloses an analogous open space in the rail member (i.e. “slide opening 14m”). The opening 14m is cut directly into the wall of side sill 3 (analogous to the claimed rail member), meaning that the door rail is a shape cut within the rail member, and the rail member “defines” the door rail. On the other hand, if the “door rail” is interpreted as being the solid surface upon which the wheels of the door ride, then Futamura also discloses such a door rail (i.e. element 17). The door rail 17 is an integral part of the side sill 3, and is thus “integrally formed” with it. Because the door rail 17 is part of the rail member 3, then the shape of the rail member 3 defines the shape of the door rail. Contrary to applicant’s assertions in the Remarks, there is no structural requirement in the claim that requires the rail member and the door rail to be a single, monolithic piece that is manufactured from one block of material. Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Drawings
The drawings were received on July 9, 2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 now recites “the door rail being defined by a shape of the rail member.” This phrase is confusing and renders claim 1 indefinite. The phrase is not actually found in the original disclosure. The original disclosure states that “the rail member may include a rail forming part configured to define the door rail” (Paragraph 0009, emphasis supplied). The specification refers to a “rail forming part” rather than the “rail member” as what defines the door rail. Thus claim 1 potentially contradicts the specification.
Additionally, it is unclear exactly what elements in Fig. 5 actually constitute the “door rail.” The lead line for element 3 points to a vertical flange which serves as one of the sides of the channel in which the door slides. However, the rail presumably includes other members, such as the horizontal surfaces upon which the door wheels may roll. Also, the door rail may include the empty space that is defined between the two vertical flanges indicated by numeral 3. Or, the door rail may consist of only that empty space. Given that it is unclear exactly which elements constitute the door rail, it is difficult to discern whether the Futamura reference teaches a door rail in the context of claim 1.
With regard to claim 2, this claim appears to contradict claim 1 by stating that the “rail forming part” defines the door rail, where claim 1 has already stated that the door rail is formed by “a shape of the rail member.”
Claims 3-14 stand rejected based on their dependence upon rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Futamura (JP 2007216916 A).
With regard to claim 1, Futamura discloses a vehicle body structure with a sliding door (8, Fig. 2), the vehicle body structure comprising:
a rail member (3, 14, 15, 16, and 17) integrally formed with a door rail (17), the door rail being defined by a shape of the rail member (given that rail 17 is an integral part of the rail member, then the shape of the door rail is also a shape of the rail member) (NOTE: it is also possible to reject claim 1 by interpreting opening 14m as the claimed “door rail,” given that the opening 14m is cut directly into the outer surface of the side sill 3, and thus a shape of the sill 3 defines the door rail 14m);
a plurality of pillars (9, 11, see annotated Figs. below) coupled to an upper side of the rail member (see Figs. below); and
a plurality of body cross members (4, see Figs. below) connected to a lateral side of the rail member (“left and right side sills 3…are connected to each other by a plurality of cross members 4”).
With regard to claim 2, Futamura discloses that the rail member comprises:
a rail forming part configured to define the door rail (see Fig. below); and
a strength reinforcement part integrally provided below the rail forming part and configured to define a transverse cross-section of a vehicle body that is a closed cross-section (see Fig. below).
With regard to claim 10, Futamura discloses that the plurality of pillars coupled to the rail member includes a B-pillar (9) and a C-pillar (11).
With regard to claim 12, Futamura discloses that the rail member further includes a side flange (31, Fig. 7) extending toward an inside of a vehicle and coupled to a floor longitudinal member (the “longitudinal member” is element 33, which is considered “longitudinal” because it has at least some longitudinal dimensional component).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futamura.
With regard to claim 8, Futamura is silent as to the rail member being coupled to a side sill and elongated in a forward/rearward direction of the vehicle body, and wherein a side sill coupling portion is provided at a front side of the rail member and coupled to the side sill while defining a closed cross-section. Instead, Futamura appears to show that the rail member is simply integrated into a continuous side sill that has a closed cross-section (see Figs. 1, 3, and 4, for example).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified Futamura such that the rail member was coupled into a side sill at the front of the rail member, rather than being part of a one-piece, continuous side sill, in order to improve the repairability of the side sill. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification, because making an integral element separable has been held to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04, section V.). Note, in making such a modification, the rail member of Futamura would have been coupled to the side sill in a closed cross-sectional manner, as the side sill 3 of Futamura has a closed cross-section along the majority of its length.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futamura in view of Chai (KR 20130033004 A).
With regard to claim 11, Futamura fails to teach that the B-pillar is excluded.
Chai teaches a vehicle having a sliding door, in which the B-pillar is excluded (“in the case of a B-pillarless vehicle as shown in Fig. 1…”).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified Futamura such that the B-pillar was excluded, as taught by Chai, with a reasonable expectation of success, given that Chai shows that such a configuration is known in the art, and because the elimination of the B-pillar provides for easier ingress and egress from the vehicle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is allowed.
Claims 3-7, 9, 13, and 14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT E FULLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676