DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13, 15-17, 19-25, 27, 28, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lamb et al (2013, of record), Spencer et al (US 20120258532 A1, of record) and Krebs et al (2013, of record).
Lamb et al teaches administration of gamma-delta T-cells with a receptor for stress-induced antigen NKG2D that also expressed survival factor MGMT as treatment for glioblastoma, a brain cancer (abstract). The cells may be administered more than one time along with a chemotherapeutic agent (TMZ) which increases expression of NKG2D ligands (abstract). The glioblastoma can be sensitive or resistant to TMZ (abstract, page 2 first column, 4th ¶). TMZ can induce the tumor antigens MIC-A and MIC-B (MICA/B, page 1, second column) and the methods can be used for treatment of neuroblastoma (p. 2, first column, first ¶) The NKG2D receptor is considered to be present on the gamma-delta T cells as they specifically bound NKG2D ligand.
Spencer et al teach much the same as Lamb et al, but include multiple administrations of T cells (Fig. 8, 9 ) and the chemotherapeutic agent over the time periods that render instant claims 4 and 5 obvious (Figs. 15-17). Administration of chemotherapy and immunotherapy may be concurrent (¶[0098]). MGMT-modified, TMZ resistant NK cells or T cells for immunotherapy are taught in ¶’s [0088], [0094]- [0097]. Such T cells inherently comprise a majority alpha-beta T cells (Krebs et al, instant specification). The examiner concludes that a skilled artisan could combine these therapeutic cells in a ratio as recited by instant claim 17 based upon a design choice. Likewise, the skilled artisan could arrive at the time periods of claims 4 and 5. Additionally, MPEP 2144.05 (IFA) indicates that differences in concentration generally are not patentable:
"Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability
of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such
concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are
disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges
by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA
1955)."
Therefore, the recited ranges of claims 4, 5 and 17 are obvious. The self-inactivating SIV vectors (Example 2) are considered a “suicide gene” as they inactivate themselves. The T cells are obtained from a subject (Figs 1 and 10, ¶[0128]).
The Lamb and Spencer et al references do not teach that the gamma-delta T cells express a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) directed against a tumor antigen.
Krebs et al teaches T-cells expressing a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) directed against a tumor antigen on glioblastoma cells (GBMs, pg. 3 col 1 para 2), which may have a single stimulatory endodomain, such as CD3zeta (Fig. 1, p. 2, second col.). The CAR can be directed to EGFRvIII or IL-13Ralpha (pg. 1, second col). Krebs et al teach “genetic safety switches”, which are considered suicide genes for T cell immunotherapy (pgs. 4-5). The specification does not provide a limiting definition of a "signaling domain", but rather describes common features of such in CAR molecules, i.e. they may comprise a CD3zeta domain with ITAM motifs. It is apparent from the cited art (Krebs, Bridgeman, Park et al) that secondary or tertiary CAR endodomains (i.e. those added in addition to the classical, first-generation CD3zeta signaling domain, such as CD28) are considered to be "co-stimulatory domains" and thus can be considered distinct from the signaling domain (e.g. CD3zeta). Thus, the instant claims are interpreted to encompass said "second-generation" and "first-generation" CAR molecules because such molecules comprise one signaling domain (CD3zeta) and one costimulatory domain (CD28) or only one signaling domain (CD3zeta).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to transfect the gamma-delta T-cells with specificity for stress-induced antigen NKG2D and also expressed survival factor MGMT taught by Lamb and Spencer et al with a nucleic acid construct for expression of a chimeric antigen receptor specific for GBMs as taught by Krebs et al, using methods well-known in the art, to enable gamma-delta T cells expressing at least a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) directed to a tumor antigen, and a survival factor that allows the immune system cell to survive in a treatment environment created by an additional therapeutic treatment and further expressing a receptor for a stress-induced antigen. It would have been obvious for the skilled artisan to do this because of the known benefit of generating CAR-modified T cells for administration in the treatment of cancer or glioblastoma as taught by Krebs, Spencer and Lamb et al. Given the teachings of the cited references and the level of skill of the ordinary skilled artisan at the time of applicants' invention, it must be considered, absent evidence to the contrary, that the ordinary skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in practicing the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-17, 19-25, 27, 28, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lamb et al (2013), Spencer et al (US 20120258532 ) and Krebs et al (2013) as applied to claims 1-13, 15-17, 19-25, 27, 28, 30 above, and further in view of Brenner et al (US 20140004132 A1, 1/2/2014).
The teachings of Lamb, Spencer and Krebs et al are as above and applied as before. The references do not teach wherein the tumor antigen is GD2.
Brenner et al teach T cells expressing a GD2-specific CAR to target neuroblastomas expressing the GD2 tumor antigen. See the abstract, ¶’s [0004]-[0005], claims 1 and 6 in particular.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to transfect the gamma-delta T-cells with specificity for stress-induced antigen NKG2D and also expressed survival factor MGMT taught by Lamb and Spencer et al with a nucleic acid construct for expression of a chimeric antigen receptor specific for GBMs as taught by Krebs et al, using methods well-known in the art, to enable gamma-delta T cells expressing at least a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) directed to a tumor antigen, and a survival factor that allows the immune system cell to survive in a treatment environment created by an additional therapeutic treatment and further expressing a receptor for a stress-induced antigen. It would have been obvious for the skilled artisan to do this because of the known benefit of generating CAR-modified T cells for administration in the treatment of cancer or glioblastoma as taught by Krebs, Spencer and Lamb et al. Given the teachings of the cited references and the level of skill of the ordinary skilled artisan at the time of applicants' invention, it must be considered, absent evidence to the contrary, that the ordinary skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in practicing the claimed invention.
The claimed methods are essentially disclosed by Lamb, Spencer and Krebs et al with the exception of the GD2 tumor antigen limitation. The ordinary skilled artisan, seeking a method to treat neuroblastoma, would have been motivated to use the CAR-GD2 T cells of Brenner et al with the methods of Lamb, Spencer and Krebs et al because Brenner et al teaches CAR-GD2 T cells to be a well-known type of immunotherapy having utility for specifically treating neuroblastoma. It would have been obvious for the skilled artisan to do this because of the known benefit of CAR T cells for administration in the treatment of such tumors as taught by Lamb, Spencer and Krebs et al. Given the teachings of the cited references and the level of skill of the ordinary skilled artisan at the time of applicants' invention, it must be considered, absent evidence to the contrary, that the ordinary skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in practicing the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-9, 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6-9, 11-14 recite the limitation "the cancer" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17, 19-25, 27, 28, 30 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of U.S. Patent No. 12,005,078. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘078 claims anticipate the instant genus claims.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/MICHAEL D BURKHART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638