Claim Interpretation
Heater module in claim 1 (and its dependent claims 2, 3, 6, 7, 9, 12) and claims 17 (and its dependent claims 18-20) does not invoke 112(f) interpretation since the generic placeholder “module” is modified by a sufficient structure (“heater” is an art recognized structure for heating) and furthermore the claim does not explicitly recite the function of “heating”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doo (KR 102243719) in view of Hwapyeong (KR 20220047417). These references are listed on IDS 1449. English translations are included with Form PTO-892.
Regarding claims 1, 12-16 : Doo discloses a deposition source 1 (Figs. 1, 2) comprising a crucible 100 provided with an evaporation material and a plurality of nozzles 110 (Fig. 2) disposed on the crucible and spaced apparat from each other; a heating unit 300 disposed outside the crucible and configured to heat the evaporation material in the crucible in the corresponding position. The heating unit 300 includes an upper heart 310 (upper heater module) and a lower heater 350 (lower heater module) (Fig. 3). A power supply device (not shown) electrically connected to the heating unit 300 via power terminals (electrodes) 710a and 710b (Fig. 4 and its description and abstract).
Doo does not explicitly disclose a housing accommodating the crucible and the nozzles.
Hwapyeong discloses a deposition source DS (Fig. 2) including a housing HS accommodating the deposition module DM including a plurality of nozzles NZ. The housing also accommodates heater HT, heater frame HF, radiation protection unit RH.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Doo to include the housing as taught by Hwapyeong in order to integrate the crucible, heater and protection members in a single unit.
Further regarding claim 1 with respect to first and second electrodes connected to upper and lower heaters: Hwapyeong further discloses heater HT comprising individual section HT1, HT2, HT3 and HT4 each connected to an electrode EL (Fig. 7a). Heating element HE connected to electrode EL to an external electrode EE via a connection part ELC (Fig. 7a). The connection part ELC of an exemplary embodiment may have a structure that is flexible to deformation, and may prevent damage to the heating element HE to extend the lifespan of the heater HT. The connection part ELC of one embodiment includes a plurality of metal sheets MP1 as shown in FIG. 7A or a plurality of thin wires MP2 as shown in FIG. 7B.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Doo to include the connecting mechanism from power source to electrode or connecting heater parts (sub-heaters) together instead of curved portion of Doo as taught by Hwapyeong as an obvious alternative mechanism for coupling the heaters to a power source and connecting heater parts (sub-heaters) together.
Regarding claims 2-11: Doo discloses the heating unit 300 includes an upper heater 310 (upper heater module) and a lower heater 350 (lower heater module) (Fig. 3). As shown in Fig. 6a, the heater 300a is formed of a series of parallel elements or wires (corresponding to first heater module and second heater module) connected to each other via curved portion A (corresponding to connection part, connecting electrode). Further, it would have been obvious to use the connection mechanism as taught by Hwapyeong for connecting sub-heaters by a plurality of metal sheets MP1 as shown in FIG. 7A or a plurality of thin wires MP2 as shown in FIG. 7B.
Alternatively, Hwapyeong further discloses heater HT comprising individual section HT1, HT2, HT3 and HT4 each connected to an EL (Fig. 7a). Heating element HE connected to electrode EL to an external electrode EE via a connection part ELC (Fig. 7a). The connection part ELC of an exemplary embodiment may have a structure that is flexible to deformation, and may prevent damage to the heating element HE to extend the lifespan of the heater HT. The connection part ELC of one embodiment includes a plurality of metal sheets MP1 as shown in FIG. 7A or a plurality of thin wires MP2 as shown in FIG. 7B.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Doo to use the heaters of Hwapyeong and connecting the heaters by the connecting mechanism as taught by Hwapyeong as an alternative arrangement of heating structure in the apparatus of Doo.
An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982).
Further regarding claim 6-11: splitting the electrode to multiple sub electrode in order to connect to different ends of the heater unit is considered obvious arrangement for further distribution of power to the heater units.
Regarding claim 17-20: Hwapyeong further discloses Each of the plurality of heaters HT1 to HT4 may be independently controlled. For example, the temperature may be ifferently controlled for each heater, and a temperature deviation in the heat generating member HM may be reduced and heated uniformly. The number and positions of the heaters are not limited to the example illustrated in FIG. 6 and may vary depending on the structure of the heating member HM and the size of the crucibles. Hwapyeong (in claim 8) discloses the plurality of heaters are disposed along the inner surface of the heater frame, and the plurality of heaters are each independently controllable (implying by a controller). Hwapyeong further discloses “Meanwhile, although not shown, the heating member HM may further include a temperature sensing unit. The temperature sensing unit may measure the temperature of the first crucible CR1 or the second crucible CR2 for each region. With reference to the temperature measured by the temperature sensor, the temperature of the heater HT may be controlled to make the entire temperature of the crucible uniform.”
It has been held that claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. Also, a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. This rejection is based on the fact the apparatus structure taught above has the inherent capability of being used in the manner intended by the Applicant.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hori (US 20160122903) discloses a crucible including a surrounding heater comprising repeated portions 1x, connecting portion 2x, and 3x (Fig.2, [0048]).
/PARVIZ HASSANZADEH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1716