DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Below is the Final Action on the Merits for claims 1 – 20.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 9, 11, 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Congdon (U. S. Patent No. 3,079,623) in view of Yamashita (U. S. Patent No. 5,440,782 A).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Congdon teaches a vacuum accessory (Fig. 1) comprising: a nozzle body (adaptor, 24) defining a cavity and a vacuum inlet port selectively connectable to a vacuum conduit (Col. 2, lines 1 – 18); and a squeegee attachment assembly (head, 7) removably connected to the nozzle body (24), the squeegee attachment assembly (7) comprising: a housing (chamber, 22) selectively connectable to the nozzle body (24), wherein the housing (22) defines a suction inlet (Col. 2, lines 5 – 8); and a squeegee assembly (squeegee, 30) comprising connected to the housing (22) such that the squeegee assembly (30) is rotatable relative to the suction inlet (Figs. 2 – 4), wherein the squeegee assembly (30) is at least partially disposed within the suction inlet (Fig. 2), wherein the squeegee assembly (30) is rotatable between a forward position (Fig. 3), in which the squeegee assembly (30) occludes a forward side of the suction inlet (Fig. 3), and a rearward position (Fig. 4), in which the squeegee assembly (30) occludes a rearward side of the suction inlet (Fig. 4).
Congdon does not explicitly teach a holder assembly and a squeegee blade coupled to the holder assembly, wherein the holder assembly is rotatably connected to the housing; wherein the holder assembly and the squeegee blade are rotatable between a forward position and a rearward position.
Yamashita, however, teaches a holder assembly (Annotated Fig. 5) and a blade (13) coupled to the holder assembly (Annotated Fig. 5), wherein the holder assembly is rotatably connected to the housing (12, via pin 17); wherein the holder assembly and the blade are rotatable between a forward position (Fig. 5) and a rearward position (Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the accessory of Congdon to further include a holder assembly and a blade coupled to the holder assembly, wherein the holder assembly is rotatably connected to the housing; wherein the holder assembly and the blade are rotatable between a forward position and a rearward position, as taught by Yamashita, to provide an accessary that is capable of directing suction pressure towards the intake port, thus providing an improved vacuuming experience.
Regarding Claim 3, Congdon, as modified, teaches the vacuum accessory (Fig. 1) wherein the squeegee assembly (30) is rotatable from a neutral position (Fig. 2) to the forward position (Fig. 3) and from the neutral position (Fig. 2) to the rearward position (Fig. 4), wherein the forward position(Fig. 3) and the rearward position (Fig. 4) are approximately equal degrees of rotation from the neutral position (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claims 9 and 19, Congdon, as modified, teaches the vacuum accessory of claim 1 and squeegee attachment assembly according to claim 11 wherein the housing (22) includes a clip (38) positioned over the suction inlet and defining a clip pocket (38; Figs. 2 and 6), wherein at least a portion of the squeegee assembly (30) is disposed within the clip pocket (38), and wherein the squeegee assembly (30) is rotatable within the clip pocket (38) between the forward (Fig. 3) and rearward (Fig. 4) positions.
Regarding Independent Claim 11, Congdon teaches a squeegee attachment assembly (7) for use with a vacuum accessory (Fig. 2), the squeegee attachment assembly (7) comprising: a housing (chamber, 22) defining a suction inlet (Fig. 2), the housing (22) including at least one connector (23) to selectively connect the squeegee attachment assembly to a nozzle body a housing selectively connectable to the nozzle body (24), wherein the housing (22) defines a suction inlet (Col. 2, lines 5 – 8); and a squeegee assembly (squeegee, 30) rotatably connected to the housing (22) such that the squeegee assembly (30) is rotatable relative to the suction inlet (Figs. 2 – 4), wherein the squeegee assembly (30) is at least partially disposed within the suction inlet (Fig. 2), wherein the squeegee assembly (30) is rotatable between a forward position (Fig. 3), in which the squeegee assembly (30) occludes a forward side of the suction inlet (Fig. 3), and a rearward position (Fig. 4), in which the squeegee assembly (30) occludes a rearward side of the suction inlet (Fig. 4).
Congdon does not explicitly teach a holder assembly and a squeegee blade coupled to the holder assembly, wherein the holder assembly is rotatably connected to the housing; wherein the holder assembly and the squeegee blade are rotatable between a forward position and a rearward position.
Yamashita, however, teaches a holder assembly (Annotated Fig. 5) and a blade (13) coupled to the holder assembly (Annotated Fig. 5), wherein the holder assembly is rotatably connected to the housing (12, via pin 17); wherein the holder assembly and the blade are rotatable between a forward position (Fig. 5) and a rearward position (Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the accessory of Congdon to further include a holder assembly and a blade coupled to the holder assembly, wherein the holder assembly is rotatably connected to the housing; wherein the holder assembly and the blade are rotatable between a forward position and a rearward position, as taught by Yamashita, to provide an accessary that is capable of directing suction pressure towards the intake port, thus providing an improved vacuuming experience.
Regarding Claim 13, Congdon, as modified, teaches the squeegee attachment assembly (Fig. 1) wherein the squeegee assembly (30) is rotatable from a neutral position (Fig. 2) to the forward position (Fig. 3) and from the neutral position (Fig. 2) to the rearward position (Fig. 4), wherein the forward position(Fig. 3) and the rearward position (Fig. 4) are approximately equal degrees of rotation from the neutral position (Fig. 2).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sassano (U. S. Patent No. 3,210,792) in view of Yamashita (U. S. Patent No. 5,440,782 A).
Regarding Independent Claim 20, Sassano teaches a method of assembling a vacuum accessory (Fig. 1) including a nozzle body (10) and a squeegee attachment assembly (Annotated Fig. 1), the squeegee attachment assembly (Annotated Fig. 1) including a squeegee assembly (12; Annotated Fig. 1) and a housing (36) defining a suction inlet (Fig. 1), the method comprising: positioning a base portion (33) of a squeegee blade (30) in a holder pocket (17) defined by one of a first holder bracket (Annotated Fig. 1) and a second holder bracket (Annotated Fig. 1) of a holder assembly (combined first and second brackets; Annotated Fig. 1); connecting the first holder bracket to the second holder bracket to retain the base portion (33) within the holder assembly (via 17); rotatably connecting the holder assembly to a clip (36) of the housing such that the squeegee assembly is at least partially disposed within the suction inlet and rotatable relative to the suction inlet between a forward position (Col. 3, lines 40 – 52), in which the squeegee assembly (12) occludes a front side of the suction inlet, and a rearward position (Col. 3, lines 40 – 52), in which the squeegee assembly (12) occludes a rear side of the suction inlet (Fig. 7); and connecting the squeegee assembly to the nozzle body (Fig. 2).
Sassano does not explicitly teach a holder assembly and a squeegee blade coupled to the holder assembly, wherein the holder assembly is rotatably connected to the housing; wherein the holder assembly and the squeegee blade are rotatable between a forward position and a rearward position.
Yamashita, however, teaches a holder assembly (Annotated Fig. 5) and a blade (13) coupled to the holder assembly (Annotated Fig. 5), wherein the holder assembly is rotatably connected to the housing (12, via pin 17); wherein the holder assembly and the blade are rotatable between a forward position (Fig. 5) and a rearward position (Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the accessory of Congdon to further include a holder assembly and a blade coupled to the holder assembly, wherein the holder assembly is rotatably connected to the housing; wherein the holder assembly and the blade are rotatable between a forward position and a rearward position, as taught by Yamashita, to provide an accessary that is capable of directing suction pressure towards the intake port, thus providing an improved vacuuming experience.
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Congdon (U. S. Patent No. 3,079,623) in view of Yamashita (U. S. Patent No. 5,440,782 A) and Mache (U.S. Patent No. 5,184,372).
Regarding Claims 2 and 12, Congdon, as modified, teaches the vacuum accessory of claim 1 and squeegee attachment assembly according to claim 11 as discussed above.
Congdon does not teach the housing includes a lower surface defining a plurality of channels oriented perpendicular to the suction inlet.
Mache, however, teaches the housing (chamber, 7) includes a lower surface (bottom surface, 17) defining a plurality of channels (ribs, 22) oriented perpendicular to the suction inlet (inlet of 6, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the accessory of Congdon to further include the housing includes a lower surface defining a plurality of channels oriented perpendicular to the suction inlet, as taught by Mache, to provide an accessory that is capable of directing suction pressure towards the intake port, thus providing an improved vacuuming experience.
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Congdon (U. S. Patent No. 3,079,623) and Yamashita (U. S. Patent No. 5,440,782 A).
Regarding Claims 4 and 14, Congdon, as modified, teaches the vacuum accessory of claim 3 and squeegee attachment assembly according to claim 13 as discussed above.
Congdon does not explicitly teach the forward position and the rearward position are at least 10 degrees of rotation from the neutral position, however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the accessory of Congdon to further include the forward position and the rearward position are at least 10 degrees of rotation from the neutral position, as claimed, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size/angle of a component. A change in size/angle is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Claims 5 – 8, 10 and 15 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Congdon (U. S. Patent No. 3,079,623) in view of Yamashita (U. S. Patent No. 5,440,782 A) and Sassano (U. S. Patent No. 3,210,792).
Regarding Claims 5 and 15, Congdon, as modified, teaches the vacuum accessory of claim 1 and squeegee attachment assembly according to claim 11 as discussed above.
Congdon does not explicitly teach the squeegee assembly comprises: a holder assembly including a first holder bracket and a second holder bracket rotatably connected to the first holder bracket, wherein the first and second holder brackets are rotatable between an open position and a closed position in which the holder assembly defines a holder pocket; and a squeegee blade including a blade portion and a base portion, wherein the base portion is sized and shaped to be received within the holder pocket and the blade portion extends outside of the holder pocket.
Sassano, however, teaches the squeegee assembly (12) comprises: a holder assembly (Annotated Fig. 1) including a first holder bracket (Annotated Fig. 1) and a second holder bracket (Annotated Fig. 1) rotatably connected to the first holder bracket (Annotated Fig. 1; via 25), wherein the first (Annotated Fig. 1) and second holder brackets (Annotated Fig. 1) are rotatable between an open position and a closed position in which the holder assembly defines a holder pocket (17; Annotated Fig. 1); and a squeegee blade (30) including a blade portion (132) and a base portion (33), wherein the base portion (33) is sized and shaped to be received within the holder pocket (17) and the blade portion (32) extends outside of the holder pocket (17).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the accessory of Congdon to further include a holder assembly including a first holder bracket and a second holder bracket rotatably connected to the first holder bracket, wherein the first and second holder brackets are rotatable between an open position and a closed position in which the holder assembly defines a holder pocket; and a squeegee blade including a blade portion and a base portion, wherein the base portion is sized and shaped to be received within the holder pocket and the blade portion extends outside of the holder pocket, as taught by Sassano, to provide an accessary that is capable of keeping the blade in full contact with the surface to be cleaned thus preventing gaps that can cause streaking and smearing.
Regarding Claims 6 and 16, Congdon, as modified, teaches the vacuum accessory of claim 5 and squeegee attachment assembly according to claim 15 as discussed above.
Congdon does not explicitly teach one of the first holder bracket and the second holder bracket includes a keyed opening and the other of the first holder bracket and the second holder bracket includes a keyed clip sized and shaped to be received within the keyed opening, wherein the keyed clip is disposed within the keyed opening to selectively connect the first holder bracket to the second holder bracket.
Sassano, however, teaches one of the first holder bracket (Annotated Fig. 1) and the second holder bracket (Annotated Fig. 1) includes a keyed opening (23) and the other of the first holder bracket (Annotated Fig. 1) and the second holder bracket (Annotated Fig. 1) includes a keyed clip (20) sized and shaped to be received within the keyed opening (23), wherein the keyed clip (20) is disposed within the keyed opening (23) to selectively connect the first holder bracket to the second holder bracket (Annotated Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the accessory of Congdon to further include one of the first holder bracket and the second holder bracket includes a keyed opening and the other of the first holder bracket and the second holder bracket includes a keyed clip sized and shaped to be received within the keyed opening, wherein the keyed clip is disposed within the keyed opening to selectively connect the first holder bracket to the second holder bracket, as taught by Sassano, to provide an accessary that is capable of keeping the blade in full contact with the surface to be cleaned thus preventing gaps that can cause streaking and smearing.
Regarding Claims 7 and 17, Congdon, as modified, teaches the vacuum accessory of claim 5 and squeegee attachment assembly according to claim 15 as discussed above.
Congdon does not explicitly teach the first holder bracket defines a first alignment feature and the second holder bracket defines a second alignment feature, wherein the first and second alignment features are in contact with one another when the first holder bracket and the second holder bracket are in the closed position.
Sassano, however, teaches the first holder bracket (Annotated Fig. 1) defines a first alignment feature (20) and the second holder bracket (23) defines a second alignment feature (Annotated Fig. 1), wherein the first and second alignment features are in contact with one another when the first holder bracket and the second holder bracket are in the closed position (Annotated Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the accessory of Congdon to further include the first holder bracket defines a first alignment feature and the second holder bracket defines a second alignment feature, wherein the first and second alignment features are in contact with one another when the first holder bracket and the second holder bracket are in the closed position, as taught by Sassano, to provide an accessary that is capable of keeping the blade in full contact with the surface to be cleaned thus preventing gaps that can cause streaking and smearing.
Regarding Claims 8 and 18, Congdon, as modified, teaches the vacuum accessory of claim 5 and squeegee attachment assembly according to claim 15 as discussed above.
Congdon does not explicitly teach the holder assembly contacts a front side of the suction inlet when the holder assembly is rotated in the forward position, thereby restricting further forward rotation, and wherein the holder assembly contacts a rear side of the suction inlet when the holder assembly is rotated in the rearward position, thereby restricting further rearward rotation.
Sassano, however, teaches the holder assembly (Annotated Fig. 1) contacts a front side of the suction inlet when the holder assembly is rotated in the forward position (Col. 3, lines 40 – 52), thereby restricting further forward rotation, and wherein the holder assembly (Annotated Fig. 1)contacts a rear side of the suction inlet when the holder assembly is rotated in the rearward position (Fig. 7), thereby restricting further rearward rotation (Col. 3, lines 40 – 52).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the accessory of Congdon to further include the holder assembly contacts a front side of the suction inlet when the holder assembly is rotated in the forward position, thereby restricting further forward rotation, and wherein the holder assembly contacts a rear side of the suction inlet when the holder assembly is rotated in the rearward position, thereby restricting further rearward rotation, as taught by Sassano, to provide an accessary that is capable of keeping the blade in full contact with the surface to be cleaned thus preventing gaps that can cause streaking and smearing.
Regarding Claim 10, Congdon, as modified, teaches the vacuum accessory of claim 9 as discussed above.
Congdon does not explicitly teach the housing includes a plurality of clips disposed at different locations along a length of the suction inlet.
Sassano, however, teaches the housing (Annotated Fig. 1) includes a plurality of clips (13) disposed at different locations along a length of the suction inlet (bolts, 13 are disposed in the suction inlet.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the accessory of Congdon to further include the housing includes a plurality of clips disposed at different locations along a length of the suction inlet, as taught by Sassano, to provide an accessary that is capable of keeping the blade in full contact with the surface to be cleaned thus preventing gaps that can cause streaking and smearing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Arguments/Remarks dated August 29, 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1 – 20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Yamashitai.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723