DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification, as originally filed, does not provide support for the limitations of “the one or more TPUs are electronically coupled to the GPU.”
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The recitation of the claim is confusing because it does not provide any connection with other elements.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-4, 7, 10-14, 27, 28 and 30 of U.S. Patent No. 12,381,763. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 2-4, 7, 10-14, 27, 28 and 30 of U.S. Patent No. 12,381,763 cover and encompass the limitations of claims 1-20 of the instant application. Moreover, because omission element(s) in the claims would make the claims in the instant application broader, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the claim(s) in the U.S. Patent No. 12,381,763 to as now recited in the instant application since it is just merely an obvious variation of the claims. Furthermore, it is well settled that omission of an element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re Karlson, 163 USPQ 184 (CCPA 1963). Also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 184 (CCPA 1969).
Regarding claims 1-3 of the instant application, claim 2 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,381,763 covers and encompasses all subject matter claimed.
Regarding claim 4 of the instant application, claim 3 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,381,763 covers and encompasses all subject matter claimed.
Regarding claims 5-7 of the instant application, claim 4 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,381,763 covers and encompasses all subject matter claimed.
Regarding claims 8 and 9 of the instant application, claims 10 and 11 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,381,763 covers and encompasses, respectively, all subject matter claimed.
Regarding claim 10 of the instant application, claim 13 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,381,763 covers and encompasses, respectively, all subject matter claimed.
Regarding claim 11 of the instant application, claim 7 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,381,763 covers and encompasses all subject matter claimed.
Regarding claim 12 of the instant application, claim 12 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,381,763 covers and encompasses all subject matter claimed.
Regarding claim 14 of the instant application, claim 14 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,381,763 covers and encompasses all subject matter claimed.
Regarding claims 15 and 16 of the instant application, claims 27 and 28 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,381,763 covers and encompasses, respectively, all subject matter claimed.
Regarding claim 17 of the instant application, claim 30 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,381,763 covers and encompasses all subject matter claimed.
Regarding claim 18 of the instant application, claim 13 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,381,763 covers and encompasses all subject matter claimed.
Regarding claims 13, 19 and 20 of the instant application, although the claims of the U.S. Patent No. 12,381,763 does not cover and encompass the limitations of “virtual radio access network” (claim 13), “wherein the likely value is based, at least in part, on a log-likelihood ratio value corresponding to probabilities that the bit was transmitted as a 0 or a 1” (claim 19) and “wherein the likely value comprises a log-sum approximation for the bit” (claim 20), however, such limitations are notoriously well-known in the art of digital communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,381,763 by including the well-known limitations as recited in claims 13, 19 and 20 in order to arrive at the claimed invention.
In light of the foregoing discussion, the broader claims 1-20 of the instant application are rejected as obvious double patenting over the narrower claims 2-4, 7, 10-14, 27, 28 and 30 of U.S. Patent No. 12,381,763.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vankayala et al (US 2022/0278769).
Regarding independent claim 1, Vankayala teaches a processor comprising: one or more texture processing units (TPUs) to generate probability information indicating information received in one or more wireless communication signals ([0002], [0005], [0060], [0065], [0068], [0071] and [0117]).
Regarding independent claims 8 and 15, the claims recite similar subject matter as in claim 1. Therefore, similar rationale is applied as for claim 1.
Regarding dependent claim 2, Vankayala further teaches wherein the probability information comprises one or more log-likelihood ratio values. See [0002], [0003] and [0005].
Regarding dependent claim 3, Vankayala further teaches wherein the information corresponds to a bit of a modulation symbol. See [0002], [0005], [0060], [0065], [0068], [0071] and [0117].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7, 9, 10 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vankayala et al (US 2022/0278769) in view of Du et al (US 2021/0183005) or Fielding (US 2020/0193650).
Regarding dependent claims 4, 5 and 10, Vankayala teaches all subject matter claimed except to further teach wherein the probability information is based, at least in part, on one more interpolated values (claim 4), predetermined probability values (claim 5) or the probability information comprises a log-likelihood ratio value (claim 10) that correspond to or returned from one or more texture channels. However, determining the probability information base on interpolated values, predetermined probability values or log-likelihood ratio value that correspond to one or more texture channels is notoriously well-known in the art of digital communications. For example, Du or Fielding, from the same field of endeavor, teaches determining probability value based on texture coordinates or channels. See Du: [0045], [0050] or Fielding: [0077], [0083], [0088], [0091], [0139] and [0151]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Vankayala by employing the teachings as taught by Du or Fielding in order to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding dependent claims 6, 7, 17, Vankayala as modified by Du or Fielding further teaches generating probability information using a texture lookup operation. See Du: [0045], [0050] or Fielding: [0077], [0083], [0088], [0091], [0139] and [0151].
Regarding dependent claims 9, 18 Vankayala as modified by Du or Fielding further teaches the probability information is based on an interpolation value from one or more texture channels of one or more TPUs. See Du: [0045], [0050] or Fielding: [0077], [0083], [0088], [0091], [0139] and [0151].
Regarding dependent claim 19, Vankayala as modified by Du or Fielding further teaches wherein the probability information is based, at least in part, on a log-likelihood ratio value corresponding to probabilities that the bit was transmitted as a 0 or a 1. See Fielding: [0139].
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vankayala et al (US 2022/0278769) in view of Leach et al (US 2008/0212694) or Stoye (US 2010/0034323).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Vankayala teaches all subject matter claimed except to further teach wherein the information is associated with real and imaginary components of a modulation symbol. However, the information associated with real and imaginary components of the modulation symbol is notoriously well-known in the art of digital communications. For example, Leach or Stoye, from the same field of endeavor, teaches the information is based, at least in part, on real and imaginary components. See Leach: [0102] or Stoye: [0095]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Vankayala by employing the teachings as taught by Leach or Stoye in order to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vankayala et al (US 2022/0278769).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Vankayala teaches all subject matter claimed except to further teach a virtual radio access network. However, virtual radio access network is notoriously well-known in the art of digital communications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Vankayala by employing a virtual radio access network in order to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vankayala et al (US 2022/0278769) in view of Maiyuran et al (US 2021/0312697).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Vankayala teaches all subject matter claimed and further teach 5G signals ([0070] and [0072]). Vankayala fails to further teaches the system comprises a graphics processing unit (GPU), wherein the one or more TPUs are electronically coupled to the GPU. However, the system comprises a graphics processing unit (GPU), wherein the one or more TPUs are electronically coupled to the GPU is notoriously well-known in the art of digital communications. For example, Maiyuran, from the same field of endeavor, teaches such GPU and TPU. See [0216] and claim 22. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Vankayala by employing the teachings as taught by Maiyuran in order to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vankayala et al (US 2022/0278769) in view of Tachi (US 2014/0347528).
Regarding dependent claim 16, Vankayala teaches all subject matter claimed except to further teach interpolating the probability information based, at least in part on, a color channel of a texture of the one or more TPUs. However, the signal value associated with one or more color channels of a texture is notoriously well-known in the art of digital communications. For example, Tachi, from the same field of endeavor, teaches the signal value associated with one or more color channels of a texture. See Tachi: [0018] and [0340]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Vankayala by employing the teachings as taught by Tachi in order to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vankayala et al (US 2022/0278769) in view of Hershey et al (US 2013/0197904), Tseng (US 2012/0076247) or Chappaz (US 2011/0019726).
Regarding dependent claim 20, Vankayala teaches all subject matter claimed except to further teach wherein the probability information comprises a log-sum approximation for the information comprising a bit of a modulation symbol. However, log-sum approximation for the bit is notoriously well-known in the art of digital communications. For example, Hershey, Tseng or Chappaz, from the same field of endeavor, teaches using log-sum approximation for the bit. See Hershey: [0006], Tseng: [0035] or Chappaz: [0083]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Vankayala by employing the teachings as taught by Hershey, Tseng or Chappaz in order to arrive at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Examiner's note: Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References Massey (US 7,073,114), Famous et al (US 8,594,217) and Kim et al (US 2022/0278778) are cited because they are pertinent to the method and apparatus for determining likely value using texture processing unit. However, none of the cited references teaches or suggests the further arrangements as recited in the dependent claims 12.
/DON N VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634