DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 09/03/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 6-10 remain pending in the application, with claims 7-10 remaining withdrawn as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (WO2023054850A1 - corresponding U.S PG Pub 20240206062A1 used for citations), Takeuchi (JP2022180020A – see machine translation attached), and in view of Jeon (U.S PG Pub 20230020180A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yang, drawn also to the art of manufacturing a copper foil substrate (Abstract), discloses the steps of plating a release layer (300) onto a carrier foil [0038]; [0089-0093] and then plating a copper foil on the release layer (claim 12; [0077-0079]). Yang discloses that the release layer is a co-plating process which forms a copper-nitrogen composite layer [0089-0093]. Yang has also disclosed current being passed through during the co-plating process (see example 1 of Yang [0063-0083]). Further, it is noted that for the plating to actually take place, a current would necessarily have to pass through the plating bath, and thus this would by definition take place during the plating process. Regardless, it is also noted that rearrangement of methods steps, making steps simultaneous or sequential, is held to be obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results (MPEP 2144.04 IV (C)).
Yang has not explicitly disclosed the specific nitrogen containing compound as claimed and has also not disclosed the concentration of the nitrogen containing compound as claimed, however, these limitations are known from Takeuchi, as explained below.
Takeuchi, drawn also to the art of a copper plating method [0001], discloses the copper plating process containing a nitrogen containing compound which is 5-chlorobenzotriazole [0037] (see also generally [0005 & 0036]). Takeuchi also discloses the concentration of the nitrogen containing compound to be between 0.05 to 100 ppm (which overlaps and obviates the instant range (MPEP 2144.05(I))), and that such a concentration allows for suppression of the generation of voids and seams in the copper plating process [0039]. Takeuchi also discloses that the selection of the above nitrogen-containing compound leads to suppression of voids and seams in the copper plating process [0036].
It would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan to have modified the nitrogen containing compound of Yang, with the nitrogen containing compound being one as claimed in a concentration as claimed, in order to suppress occurrence of voids and seams in the copper plating process.
Regarding the step of pickling the carrier with sulfuric acid before proving the carrier, this step is disclosed by Jeon (see below).
Jeon, drawn also to the art of a carrier foil attached metal foil and a method of manufacturing the same (Title; Abstract), discloses a copper foil that is pickled with sulfuric acid before electroplating is performed on the copper foil [0059]. The step of pickling a copper foil is a known step in the prior art, as established by Jeon.
It would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to have modified the method of Yang with the pickling step, as disclosed by Jeon, to arrive at the instant invention, since a pickling step is a known step for processing a copper foil, and the combination of known prior art elements according to known methods is obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results (MPEP 2143 I(A)).
Regarding claim 3, Yang discloses the copper plating solution to contain sopper sulphate (copper and sulphuric acid when in a plating bath will form copper sulphate) [0091]. Further, Yang also discloses the copper sulphate being the plating bath solution for plating the copper foil layer [0078].
Regarding claim 2, Yang discloses the copper ion concentration to be 5-15g/L, which forms an overlapping and encompassing range with the instantly claimed range and thus obviates the instantly claimed range. The courts have held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (WO2023054850A1 - corresponding U.S PG Pub 20240206062A1 used for citations), Takeuchi (JP2022180020A – see machine translation attached), Jeon (U.S PG Pub 20230020180A1), and further in view of Kohiki (U.S PG Pub 20160212846A1).
Regarding claim 6, Yang discloses a co-plating time to be 30 seconds [0079 & 0092], thus satisfying one of the prongs of the and/or limitation of the instant claim. Yang also discloses the temperature to be 40oC [0092]. Thus, Yang discloses a temperature and time duration that overlaps with the instantly claimed range and obviates them as a result. The courts have held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (MPEP 2144.05(I)). The examiner notes that the present limitations are interpreted as being met when one of the prongs of the and/or prongs are satisfied, thus in the instant case, given that the prior art has disclosed the co-plating time, it is considered that the instant claim 6 limitations are thus disclosed. It is also noted that Yang further discloses a temperature for the plating bath as well.
Regardless, in order to facilitate compact prosecution, the current density is a known prior art element, as disclosed by Kohiki. Kohiki, drawn also to the art of manufacturing a copper foil on carrier (Abstract), discloses a plating solution which contains nitrogen and wherein the nitrogen containing compound is present in concentration of 1 to 30ppm [0153]. Kohiki, discloses that current density has an effect on the fineness/roughness of particles [0101], with high current density providing fine particles [0101].
Thus, Kohiki establishes current density as a result effective variable and it is within the purview of an ordinarily skilled artisan to appropriately modify the current density of the plating bath in order to influence the fineness/roughness of the particles, and the courts have held that the routine optimization of result effective variables is obvious (MPEP 2144.05 (II)). Further, Kohiki discloses a plating bath for a copper layer with a current density in the instantly claimed range [0167], thus obviating the range. The courts have held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (MPEP 2144.05(I)).
It would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan to have modified the method of Yang and Takeuchi, with the plating current density as disclosed by Kohiki, in order to appropriately modify the fineness/roughness of the particles, and further to form an extremely fine circuit and to suppress the disconnection of a circuit well [0008].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Amendment, filed 09/03/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under Yang and Takeuchi have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yang, Takeuchi, and Jeon.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABHISHEK A PATWARDHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1746
/MICHAEL N ORLANDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1746