Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of the information disclosure statements filed on 05/06/2024 and 03/10/2025. U.S. patents and Foreign Patents have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites "the fourth SOC threshold." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The fourth SOC threshold is introduced in claim 6, but claim 7 depends from claim 5. For examination, the limitation is read as "a fourth SOC threshold."
Claim 16 recites "the fourth SOC threshold." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The fourth SOC threshold is introduced in claim 15, but claim 16 depends from claim 14. For examination, the limitation is read as "a fourth SOC threshold."
Claim 17 recites "The device according to claim 1," but claim 1 is a method claim, and "the charge-and-discharge controller" has no antecedent basis in claim 1. For examination, claim 17 is treated as depending from claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 9 – 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US20210300188A1 (Kato).
In regards to claim 1 (Kato) shows:
A method for charging and discharging a battery system, wherein the battery system comprises a low-voltage battery and a high-voltage battery, wherein the high-voltage battery and the low-voltage battery are both configured to be connected with a load, and the method comprises; Kato [0029], [0031], and [0053] teach a power supply system with a higher-voltage first battery B1 and a lower-voltage second battery B2, where power from both batteries is supplied to a load circuit that includes the drive motor M, and a method of controlling charging and discharging of the two batteries.
obtaining a first power of the load when the load is in operation; Kato [0065] and [0066] teach the management ECU calculating the requested auxiliary device power from the operational states of the electrical loads and calculating the requested inverter passing power for the drive motor from the driver's pedal operation.
obtaining a first SOC value of the low-voltage battery and a second SOC value of the high-voltage battery; and Kato [0055] and [0056] teach the second battery ECU calculating the SOC of the lower-voltage second battery B2 and the first battery ECU calculating the SOC of the higher-voltage first battery B1.
controlling charge-and-discharge processes of the high-voltage battery and the low-voltage battery according to the first power, the first SOC value and the second SOC value; Kato [0072-0074] and [0077-0084] teach setting a target converter passing power to charge and discharge the first battery B1 and the second battery B2 based on the requested power, the SOC of the first battery compared with a lamp-on threshold, and the SOC of the second battery compared with a target second SOC.
In regards to claim 2 (Kato) shows the method according to claim 1:
controlling the high-voltage battery to discharge for the load, or alternatively, controlling the high-voltage battery and the low-voltage battery to discharge simultaneously for the load, if a maximum power output by the low-voltage battery is smaller than the first power; Kato [0053], [0087], and [0092] teach the higher-voltage first battery B1 supplying the drive motor, and, when the output of one battery is not enough for the requested power, the lower-voltage second battery B2 discharging together with the first battery B1 so that both supply the load.
In regards to claim 9 (Kato) shows the method according to claim 1:
wherein the battery system further comprises a bidirectional DC/DC module, the bidirectional DC/DC module is respectively connected with the high-voltage battery and the low-voltage battery, and the method further comprises; Kato [0045-0047] teach a voltage converter 5, which is a full bridge DC-DC converter, coupled between the first power lines of the first battery B1 and the second power lines of the second battery B2.
controlling the bidirectional DC/DC module to enable the high-voltage battery to charge the low-voltage battery, or enable the low-voltage battery to charge the high-voltage battery, or enable the high-voltage battery to discharge for the load; Kato [0053], [0054], [0063], and [0073] teach the converter ECU operating the voltage converter in a voltage-boosting function so the second battery B2 supplies power with the first battery B1 to drive the motor, and in a voltage-lowering function so power from the first power circuit, including the first battery B1, charges the second battery B2.
In regards to claim 10 (Kato) shows:
A device for charging and discharging a battery system, wherein the battery system comprises a low-voltage battery and a high-voltage battery, wherein the high-voltage battery and the low-voltage battery are both configured to be connected with a load, and the device comprises; Kato [0029], [0031], and [0053] teach a power supply system with a higher-voltage first battery B1 and a lower-voltage second battery B2, where power from both batteries is supplied to a load circuit that includes the drive motor M, and an electronic control unit group that controls charging and discharging of the two batteries.
a power acquisition unit, configured to obtain a first power of the load when the load is in operation; Kato [0057], [0065], and [0066] teach the management ECU, which manages power flow in the system, calculating the requested auxiliary device power from the operational states of the electrical loads and the requested inverter passing power for the drive motor.
an SOC value acquisition unit, configured to obtain a first SOC value of the low-voltage battery and a second SOC value of the high-voltage battery; and Kato [0055] and [0056] teach the first and second battery sensor units and battery ECUs, which serve as remaining-amount parameter acquisition devices, acquiring the SOC of the lower-voltage second battery B2 and the SOC of the higher-voltage first battery B1.
a charge-and-discharge controller, configured to control charge-and-discharge processes of the high-voltage battery and the low-voltage battery according to the first power, the first SOC value and the second SOC value; Kato [0057], [0063], [0072-0074], and [0077-0084] teach the management ECU and converter ECU controlling charging and discharging of the first battery B1 and the second battery B2 based on the requested power, the SOC of the first battery compared with a lamp-on threshold, and the SOC of the second battery compared with a target second SOC.
In regards to claim 11 (Kato) shows the device according to claim 10:
controlling the high-voltage battery to discharge for the load, or alternatively, controlling the high-voltage battery and the low-voltage battery to discharge simultaneously for the load, if a maximum power output by the low-voltage battery is smaller than the first power; Kato [0053], [0087], and [0092] teach the higher-voltage first battery B1 supplying the drive motor, and, when the output of one battery is not enough for the requested power, the lower-voltage second battery B2 discharging together with the first battery B1 so that both supply the load.
In regards to claim 18 (Kato) shows the device according to claim 10:
wherein the battery system further comprises a bidirectional DC/DC module, the bidirectional DC/DC module is respectively connected with the high-voltage battery and the low-voltage battery, and the charge-and-discharge controller further configured to; Kato [0045-0047] and [0063] teach a voltage converter 5, which is a full bridge DC-DC converter coupled between the first battery B1 and the second battery B2, operated by the converter ECU.
control the bidirectional DC/DC module to enable the high-voltage battery to charge the low-voltage battery, or enable the low-voltage battery to charge the high-voltage battery, or enable the high-voltage battery to discharge for the load; Kato [0053], [0054], [0063], and [0073] teach the converter ECU operating the voltage converter in a voltage-boosting function so the second battery B2 supplies power with the first battery B1 to drive the motor, and in a voltage-lowering function so power from the first power circuit, including the first battery B1, charges the second battery B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 12, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20210300188A1 (Kato) in view of US20190375298A1 (Symanow).
In regards to claim 3 (Kato) does not show: wherein when the high-voltage battery and the low-voltage battery are controlled to discharge simultaneously for the load, and if the first SOC value is smaller than or equal to a first SOC threshold, the low-voltage battery is controlled to stop discharging for the load;
Symanow teaches wherein when the high-voltage battery and the low-voltage battery are controlled to discharge simultaneously for the load, and if the first SOC value is smaller than or equal to a first SOC threshold, the low-voltage battery is controlled to stop discharging for the load; Symanow [0033], [0037], and [0060] teach the low-voltage battery supplying the loads together with the DC/DC converter, which is fed by the high-voltage battery, when the loads demand more power than the converter can supply, and, when the state of charge of the low-voltage battery falls below a threshold, reducing the energy supplied to the loads by the low-voltage battery, including to zero.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Kato and Symanow to stop the low-voltage battery from discharging for the load once its state of charge falls to a threshold, with a reasonable expectation of success as both references address supplying a vehicle load from a high-voltage battery and a low-voltage battery.
In regards to claim 12 (Kato) does not show: wherein when the high-voltage battery and the low-voltage battery are controlled to discharge simultaneously for the load, and if the first SOC value is smaller than or equal to a first SOC threshold, the low-voltage battery is controlled to stop discharging for the load;
Symanow teaches wherein when the high-voltage battery and the low-voltage battery are controlled to discharge simultaneously for the load, and if the first SOC value is smaller than or equal to a first SOC threshold, the low-voltage battery is controlled to stop discharging for the load; Symanow [0033], [0037], and [0060] teach the low-voltage battery supplying the loads together with the DC/DC converter, which is fed by the high-voltage battery, when the loads demand more power than the converter can supply, and, when the state of charge of the low-voltage battery falls below a threshold, reducing the energy supplied to the loads by the low-voltage battery, including to zero.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Kato and Symanow to stop the low-voltage battery from discharging for the load once its state of charge falls to a threshold, with a reasonable expectation of success as both references address supplying a vehicle load from a high-voltage battery and a low-voltage battery.
In regards to claim 19 (Kato) shows:
An electric vehicle, comprising; Kato [0028] and [0029] teach an electric vehicle V with the power supply system.
a load; Kato [0029] and [0042] teach a load circuit with the drive motor M and vehicle auxiliary devices.
a battery system, the battery system comprising; Kato [0031] teaches the power supply system 1.
a low-voltage battery; Kato [0034] and [0053] teach the second battery B2, whose static voltage is lower than that of the first battery B1.
a high-voltage battery; Kato [0032] and [0037] teach the first battery B1 coupled to the high voltage side of the voltage converter.
a bidirectional DC/DC module; Kato [0046], [0053], and [0054] teach the voltage converter 5, a DC-DC converter with a voltage-boosting function and a voltage-lowering function.
a master controller; Kato [0031] teaches the electronic control unit group 7 made up of computers that control the power circuits and the voltage converter.
wherein the master controller is respectively connected with the low-voltage battery, the high-voltage battery and the bidirectional DC/DC module; Kato [0055], [0056], and [0063] teach the battery ECUs connected to the battery sensor units and contactors of the first battery B1 and the second battery B2, and the converter ECU connected to the voltage converter.
wherein the battery system is configured to supply power to the load; Kato [0029] and [0053] teach the power supply system supplying power from the first battery B1 and the second battery B2 to the drive motor M.
Kato differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose the master controller comprising a memory; and a processor, coupled to the memory, wherein the processor is configured to perform the method according to claim 1 based on an instruction stored in the memory.
Symanow teaches the master controller comprising a memory; and a processor, coupled to the memory, wherein the processor is configured to perform the method according to claim 1 based on an instruction stored in the memory; Symanow [0014], [0025], and [0044] teach a computer with a processor and a memory storing instructions executable by the processor to carry out the battery control process.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Kato and Symanow to carry out the battery control of Kato on a processor executing instructions stored in a memory, with a reasonable expectation of success as both references address supplying a vehicle load from a high-voltage battery and a low-voltage battery.
In regards to claim 20 (Kato) shows the electric vehicle according to claim 19:
wherein the master controller comprises a vehicle controller, a low-voltage battery controller, a logic controller of a bidirectional DC/DC module, and a high-voltage battery controller; Kato [0031] teaches the electronic control unit group 7 including a management ECU 71 (vehicle controller), a second battery ECU 75 for the lower-voltage battery B2 (low-voltage battery controller), a converter ECU 73 for the voltage converter (logic controller of the DC/DC module), and a first battery ECU 74 for the higher-voltage battery B1 (high-voltage battery controller).
the vehicle controller is configured to control the low-voltage battery controller, the logic controller of the bidirectional DC/DC module and the high-voltage battery controller, the low-voltage battery controller is configured to control a charge-and-discharge process of the low-voltage battery, the logic controller of the bidirectional DC/DC module is configured to control the bidirectional DC/DC module, and a high-voltage battery controller is configured to control the charge-and-discharge process of the high-voltage battery; Kato [0055-0057] and [0063] teach the management ECU managing power flow in the whole system and sending commands to the converter ECU, the second battery ECU monitoring the second battery B2 and opening and closing its contactors, the converter ECU operating the voltage converter, and the first battery ECU monitoring the first battery B1 and opening and closing its contactors.
Claims 4, 5, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20210300188A1 (Kato) in view of US20190273388A1 (Sarokhan).
In regards to claim 4 (Kato) shows the method according to claim 1:
controlling the charge-and-discharge processes of the high-voltage battery and the low-voltage battery according to the first SOC value and the second SOC value; Kato [0073] and [0077-0084] teach controlling charging and discharging of the second battery B2 based on the SOC of the first battery B1 relative to a lamp-on threshold and the SOC of the second battery B2 relative to a target second SOC.
Kato differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose controlling the low-voltage battery to discharge for the load if a maximum power output by the low-voltage battery is greater than or equal to the first power.
Sarokhan teaches controlling the low-voltage battery to discharge for the load if a maximum power output by the low-voltage battery is greater than or equal to the first power; Sarokhan [0034] and [0041] teach a rechargeable low-voltage battery sized to supply the power needed by the largest instantaneous loads, with the low-voltage loads powered only by the battery while the DC-DC converter is off.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Kato and Sarokhan to power the load from the low-voltage battery alone when that battery can meet the load demand, with a reasonable expectation of success as both references address supplying a load from a high-voltage source and a low-voltage battery through a DC-DC converter.
In regards to claim 5 (Kato) does not show: controlling the low-voltage battery to discharge for the load if the first SOC value is greater than a second SOC threshold and the first SOC value is smaller than or equal to a third SOC threshold;
Sarokhan teaches controlling the low-voltage battery to discharge for the load if the first SOC value is greater than a second SOC threshold and the first SOC value is smaller than or equal to a third SOC threshold; Sarokhan [0039] and [0041] teach the low-voltage loads being powered only by the low-voltage battery while its state of charge stays above a lower threshold of about 50% and up to an upper threshold of about 90%.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Kato and Sarokhan to discharge the low-voltage battery for the load within a set state of charge window, with a reasonable expectation of success as both references address supplying a load from a high-voltage source and a low-voltage battery through a DC-DC converter.
In regards to claim 13 (Kato) shows the device according to claim 10:
controlling the charge-and-discharge processes of the high-voltage battery and the low-voltage battery according to the first SOC value and the second SOC value; Kato [0073] and [0077-0084] teach controlling charging and discharging of the second battery B2 based on the SOC of the first battery B1 relative to a lamp-on threshold and the SOC of the second battery B2 relative to a target second SOC.
Kato differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose controlling the low-voltage battery to discharge for the load if a maximum power output by the low-voltage battery is greater than or equal to the first power.
Sarokhan teaches controlling the low-voltage battery to discharge for the load if a maximum power output by the low-voltage battery is greater than or equal to the first power; Sarokhan [0034] and [0041] teach a rechargeable low-voltage battery sized to supply the power needed by the largest instantaneous loads, with the low-voltage loads powered only by the battery while the DC-DC converter is off.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Kato and Sarokhan to power the load from the low-voltage battery alone when that battery can meet the load demand, with a reasonable expectation of success as both references address supplying a load from a high-voltage source and a low-voltage battery through a DC-DC converter.
In regards to claim 14 (Kato) does not show: controlling the low-voltage battery to discharge for the load if the first SOC value is greater than a second SOC threshold and the first SOC value is smaller than or equal to a third SOC threshold;
Sarokhan teaches controlling the low-voltage battery to discharge for the load if the first SOC value is greater than a second SOC threshold and the first SOC value is smaller than or equal to a third SOC threshold; Sarokhan [0039] and [0041] teach the low-voltage loads being powered only by the low-voltage battery while its state of charge stays above a lower threshold of about 50% and up to an upper threshold of about 90%.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Kato and Sarokhan to discharge the low-voltage battery for the load within a set state of charge window, with a reasonable expectation of success as both references address supplying a load from a high-voltage source and a low-voltage battery through a DC-DC converter.
Claims 6, 7, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20210300188A1 (Kato) in view of US20190273388A1 (Sarokhan) and US20160303992A1 (Lovett).
In regards to claim 6 (Kato) does not show: controlling the high-voltage battery to discharge for the load if the first SOC value is smaller than or equal to the second SOC threshold, and the second SOC value is greater than a fourth SOC threshold; and controlling the high-voltage battery to charge the low-voltage battery until a SOC value of the low-voltage battery reaches the third SOC threshold;
Sarokhan teaches controlling the high-voltage battery to charge the low-voltage battery until a SOC value of the low-voltage battery reaches the third SOC threshold; Sarokhan [0039] and [0047] teach the DC-DC converter drawing power from the high-voltage bus, which can include a high-voltage battery, and recharging the low-voltage battery until its state of charge exceeds an upper threshold of about 90%.
Sarokhan differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose controlling the high-voltage battery to discharge for the load if the first SOC value is smaller than or equal to the second SOC threshold, and the second SOC value is greater than a fourth SOC threshold.
Lovett teaches controlling the high-voltage battery to discharge for the load if the first SOC value is smaller than or equal to the second SOC threshold, and the second SOC value is greater than a fourth SOC threshold; Lovett [0027], [0028], and [0030] teach the traction battery supplying the low-voltage loads and the auxiliary battery through the DC/DC converter when the auxiliary battery state of charge is below a low limit, with the transfer permitted only when the traction battery state of charge is not below a predetermined state of charge.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Kato and Sarokhan to recharge the low-voltage battery from the high-voltage side until its state of charge reaches an upper threshold, with a reasonable expectation of success as both references address supplying a load from a high-voltage source and a low-voltage battery through a DC-DC converter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine Kato and Sarokhan with Lovett to supply the load from the high-voltage battery when the low-voltage battery is low and the high-voltage battery has enough charge, with a reasonable expectation of success as the references address managing the state of charge of high-voltage and low-voltage batteries.
In regards to claim 7 (Kato modified by Sarokhan) does not show: outputting a prompt for charging the high-voltage battery and the low-voltage battery if the first SOC value is smaller than or equal to the second SOC threshold and the second SOC value is smaller than or equal to the fourth SOC threshold;
Lovett teaches outputting a prompt for charging the high-voltage battery and the low-voltage battery if the first SOC value is smaller than or equal to the second SOC threshold and the second SOC value is smaller than or equal to the fourth SOC threshold; Lovett [0030], [0034], [0038], and [0041] teach outputting an alert when the auxiliary battery is low and the traction battery state of charge is below a predetermined state of charge, after which the traction battery and the auxiliary battery are recharged, including by plugging in the charger.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine Kato and Sarokhan with Lovett to prompt the user to charge when both batteries are low, with a reasonable expectation of success as the references address managing the state of charge of high-voltage and low-voltage batteries.
In regards to claim 15 (Kato) does not show: controlling the high-voltage battery to discharge for the load if the first SOC value is smaller than or equal to the second SOC threshold, and the second SOC value is greater than a fourth SOC threshold; and controlling the high-voltage battery to charge the low-voltage battery until a SOC value of the low-voltage battery reaches the third SOC threshold;
Sarokhan teaches controlling the high-voltage battery to charge the low-voltage battery until a SOC value of the low-voltage battery reaches the third SOC threshold; Sarokhan [0039] and [0047] teach the DC-DC converter drawing power from the high-voltage bus, which can include a high-voltage battery, and recharging the low-voltage battery until its state of charge exceeds an upper threshold of about 90%.
Sarokhan differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose controlling the high-voltage battery to discharge for the load if the first SOC value is smaller than or equal to the second SOC threshold, and the second SOC value is greater than a fourth SOC threshold.
Lovett teaches controlling the high-voltage battery to discharge for the load if the first SOC value is smaller than or equal to the second SOC threshold, and the second SOC value is greater than a fourth SOC threshold; Lovett [0027], [0028], and [0030] teach the traction battery supplying the low-voltage loads and the auxiliary battery through the DC/DC converter when the auxiliary battery state of charge is below a low limit, with the transfer permitted only when the traction battery state of charge is not below a predetermined state of charge.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Kato and Sarokhan to recharge the low-voltage battery from the high-voltage side until its state of charge reaches an upper threshold, with a reasonable expectation of success as both references address supplying a load from a high-voltage source and a low-voltage battery through a DC-DC converter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine Kato and Sarokhan with Lovett to supply the load from the high-voltage battery when the low-voltage battery is low and the high-voltage battery has enough charge, with a reasonable expectation of success as the references address managing the state of charge of high-voltage and low-voltage batteries.
In regards to claim 16 (Kato modified by Sarokhan) does not show: outputting a prompt for charging the high-voltage battery and the low-voltage battery if the first SOC value is smaller than or equal to the second SOC threshold and the second SOC value is smaller than or equal to the fourth SOC threshold;
Lovett teaches outputting a prompt for charging the high-voltage battery and the low-voltage battery if the first SOC value is smaller than or equal to the second SOC threshold and the second SOC value is smaller than or equal to the fourth SOC threshold; Lovett [0030], [0034], [0038], and [0041] teach outputting an alert when the auxiliary battery is low and the traction battery state of charge is below a predetermined state of charge, after which the traction battery and the auxiliary battery are recharged, including by plugging in the charger.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further combine Kato and Sarokhan with Lovett to prompt the user to charge when both batteries are low, with a reasonable expectation of success as the references address managing the state of charge of high-voltage and low-voltage batteries.
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20210300188A1 (Kato) in view of US20070139975A1 (Yamauchi).
In regards to claim 8 (Kato) does not show: controlling the low-voltage battery to discharge for the load upon receiving a high-voltage power-down signal;
Yamauchi teaches controlling the low-voltage battery to discharge for the load upon receiving a high-voltage power-down signal; Yamauchi [0075], [0077], and [0118] teach the converter control receiving a voltage signal or battery state signal for the high-voltage battery and, when the high-voltage battery voltage is at or below a prescribed voltage, switching the bidirectional converter to step up power from the low-voltage battery as an emergency supply.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Kato and Yamauchi to supply the load from the low-voltage battery when the high-voltage battery goes down, with a reasonable expectation of success as both references address bidirectional power transfer between a high-voltage battery and a low-voltage battery in a vehicle.
In regards to claim 17 (Kato) does not show: control the low-voltage battery to discharge for the load upon receiving a high-voltage power-down signal;
Yamauchi teaches control the low-voltage battery to discharge for the load upon receiving a high-voltage power-down signal; Yamauchi [0075], [0077], and [0118] teach the converter control receiving a voltage signal or battery state signal for the high-voltage battery and, when the high-voltage battery voltage is at or below a prescribed voltage, switching the bidirectional converter to step up power from the low-voltage battery as an emergency supply.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Kato and Yamauchi to supply the load from the low-voltage battery when the high-voltage battery goes down, with a reasonable expectation of success as both references address bidirectional power transfer between a high-voltage battery and a low-voltage battery in a vehicle.
Conclusion
/ANWER AHMED ALAWDI/
Examiner, Art Unit 2851 /JACK CHIANG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2851