Response to Amendment
Applicant’s 1-2-2026 Amendment was received. Claim 1 was amended. Claims 1-4 are pending and examined in this action.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a belt transmission mechanism of Claim 1; a brake mechanism of Claim 1; a detection mechanism of Claim 3, a tightening mechanism of Claim 3.
In re Claim 1, a belt transmission mechanism was interpret as a belt. A break mechanism was interpreted as a belt surrounding a rotating assembly. In re Claim 3 a detection mechanism was interpreted as a pivoting arm type structure. In re Claim 4, a tightening mechanism was interpreted as a pivoting structure with a belt.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0260241 to Steingruber in view of US 3,469,313 to Martin.
In re Claim 1, Steingruber teaches a power cutting machine comprising:
a main body (see Fig. 1, body of cutoff grinder #10) including a motor (see Fig. 1, #17);
an arm (see Fig. 1, #18, arm) having a base end connected to the main body (see end connected to main body #16, etc.) and a head end (see Fig. 1, arm #18 at #15) including a belt transmission mechanism (see Fig. 1, belt #19) configured to transmit drive power of the motor; and
a working device connected to the head end of the arm (see Fig. 1, #12 #21/#38/41) and including a cutting blade (see Fig. 1, #12) configured to be rotated by power transmitted via the belt transmission mechanism (see Para. 0018 and Para. 0022),
wherein the belt transmission mechanism includes a drive pulley connected to an output shaft of the motor (see Fig. 1-2, #38) with or without a clutch interposed therebetween (see Fig. 2, clutch #33), a driven pulley (see Figs. 1-2, #41) provided in the head end of the arm and connected to a rotating shaft (see Figs. 1-2, #21) of the cutting blade (see Para. 0018-0019), and an endless belt wound around the drive pulley and the driven pulley (see Figs. 1-2, #39), and
wherein the working device includes a brake mechanism (see Fig. 1, #11) configured to be actuated when the cutting blade is subject to overload due to the cutting blade being caught in a cut (see Para. 0007), and to apply a brake to stop rotation of or reduce a speed of the cutting brake.
Steingruber teaches the brake on the drive pully and not on the driven pulley and therefore, does not teach applying a brake to the driven pully to stop rotation of or reduce a speed of the cutting blade.
However, Martin teaches that it is known in the art of circular saws to provide a brake in a driven gear (see Fig. 1,#57,60-64, etc., and Fig. 4 and 4a and Col. 4, ll. 27-65).
In the same field of invention, circular saws, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to provide the brake of Steingruber on the driven gear of Steingruber, as taught by Martin. Doing so is the substation of one known brake location for another known brake location to achieve the result of breaking the saw (see MPEP 2143, I, B). The Examiner notes that a pulley brake must be located at a pully, and in a system of two pulleys there are only two positions. Steingruber teaches placing the brake at one pulley, and Martin teaches placing the brake at the other pulley. Either are within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
In re Claim 2, modified Steingruber, in re Claim 1, teaches wherein the main body includes a handle to be held for performing work (see Fig. 1, #24).
In re Claim 3, modified Steingruber, in re Claim 1, teaches wherein the brake mechanism includes:
a detection mechanism (see Steingruber, Fig. 2,, #54/53/45) configured to detect the working device bouncing up (in Steingruber, structure #54/53/45, teaches a pivoting arm which is the same structure disclosed by applicant as a detection mechanism); and
a tightening mechanism configured to be actuated upon detection of the detection mechanism to tighten a tightening belt wound around a driven pulley of the belt transmission mechanism (see Steingruber, Fig. 2, #44/49/51/52, which is a spring mechanism that tightens a tightening belt #44 wound around a driven pulley #38/43) of the belt transmission mechanism.
Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0260241 to Steingruber US 3,469,313 to Martin, and further in view of US 2,952,146 to Bruck.
In re Claim 4, modified Steingruber, in re Claim 1, does not teach wherein the brake mechanism includes a torque limiter provided between a rotating shaft of the cutting blade and a transmission shaft of the driven pulley.
However, Bruck teaches that it is known in the circular saw blade art to provide a torque limiter (see Fig. 1, #29) providing between a rotating shaft of the cutting blade and the transmission structure of the saw (see Bruck, Col. 2, ll. 56 – Col. 3, ll. 47).
In the same field of invention, saws with circular blades, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date, to add a clutch to the device of modified Steingruber, as taught by Bruck. Doing so provides a slip clutch that can stop and start successively, a large number of times without seizing and causing the motor to burn up and without excessively slipping and causing undue loss of power from the motor to the sawing blade (see Bruck, Col. 1, ll. 56 – Col. 2, ll. 10).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN G RILEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724