DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-6, in the reply filed on 7/21/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsujimoto et al. (US 2016/0211425).
Regarding claim 1, Tsujimoto discloses a display device (Abstract and paragraph 0477) comprising:
a first substrate having a first surface (top surface of a substrate for which LED 1, fig. 1 is attached, not shown in picture but understood); and
a plurality of inorganic light emitting diode elements mounted on the first surface of the first substrate (1, fig. 1 and paragraph 0075),
wherein each of the plurality of inorganic light emitting diode elements includes:
a main body portion (11, 12, fig. 1 and paragraph 0075) having a second surface (bottom surface, fig. 1) facing the first surface of the first substrate and a third surface (top of 11, fig. 1) on a side opposite to the second surface;
a first electrode and a second electrode provided on the second surface of the main body portion (15, 16, fig. 1 and paragraph 0075); and
a first organic film bonded to the third surface of the main body portion (14, fig. 1 and paragraph 0075),
wherein the first organic film has a fourth surface (bottom of 14, fig. 1) bonded
to the third surface (top of 11, fig. 1) and a fifth surface (top of 14, fig. 1) on a side opposite to the fourth surface, and
wherein the fifth surface of the first organic film has a plurality of depressions (top of 14, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Tsujimoto further discloses wherein each of the plurality of depressions has a conical shape (top fig. 1, 6 and Abstract).
Regarding claim 3, Tsujimoto further discloses wherein the first organic film is made of a polyimide resin (paragraph 0131).
Regarding claim 4, Tsujimoto further discloses wherein an area of the fourth surface (bottom of 14, fig. 1) of the first organic film is equal to or larger than an area of the third surface (top of 11, fig. 1),
and wherein the entire third surface of the main body portion is bonded to the fourth surface of the first organic film (fig. 1, 6).
Regarding claim 5, Tsujimoto further discloses wherein an area of the fourth surface (bottom of 14, fig. 1) of the first organic film is equal to an area of the third surface (top of 11, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Tsujimoto further discloses wherein a flatness of the fifth surface (top of 14, fig. 1) is lower than a flatness of the third surface (top of 11, fig. 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application Publications 2022/0336712 and 2022/0376138 both disclose relevant LED structures with light extraction features.
/DOUGLAS M MENZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897 10/3/26