CTNF 18/655,634 CTNF 89919 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-4 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 3,836,941 (“Izraeli”) . Regarding claim 1, Izraeli discloses: A coupler for electrically connecting (abstract) a first conductor (lug 32) to a second conductor ( e.g. , conductor 92, as seen in FIG 7), the coupler comprising: a clip 1 (FIGS 2, 7-11) defining a first clip segment (52) and a second clip segment (28) spaced apart from the first clip segment (as seen in FIG 2), the first clip segment and the second clip segment configured to respectively abut with the first conductor and the second conductor to accommodate overlapped portions of the first conductor and the second conductor therebetween (as shown in FIGS 7 and 8); and a fastening system (42) engageable with the first clip segment (first segment 52 is provided at a lower end of screw/bolt 42) and the second clip segment (second segment 28 is engaged with screw/bolt 42 through sidewall/legs 26 which are in turn connected to threaded boss 40) such that an actuation of the fastening system reduces a gap between the first clip segment and the second clip segment to increase a compression and contact between the first conductor and the second conductor (see, e.g. , FIG 11), wherein, compared to surface areas of the fastening system, the first clip segment and the second clip segment define relatively larger corresponding surface areas for respectively contacting the first conductor and the second conductor and providing commensurate compression therebetween (a bottom surface area of the screw, which attaches to first clip segment 52, is smaller than a corresponding surface area of the first and second clip segments). Regarding claim 2, Izraeli discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 1 and further discloses the first conductor defining an engagement feature (34, 38) and the clip defines a mating member (slots 36) which complimentarily engages with the engagement feature to restrict the clip within a range of motion with respect to the first conductor (as shown by FIGS 1-3). Regarding claim 3, Izraeli discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 2 and further discloses the engagement feature including a protrusion extending from a body of the first conductor (as seen in the alternative embodiment of lug 32, depicted in FIG 6, where ends 76 and downward turns 78 correspond to ends 36 and turns 38 of lug 32), and the mating member includes a window (slot 36) to, at least partly, receiving the protrusion to enable the mating member to complimentarily engage with the engagement feature (as shown by FIGS 1-3). Regarding claim 4, Izraeli discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 3 and further discloses the clip including a connector segment (26) extending between the first clip segment and the second clip segment (as shown in FIGS 2 and 7-11), and the window is formed in the connector segment (as seen in FIG 2), and the first clip segment, the second clip segment, and the connector segment are all integrally 2 (as all of these elements are essential elements of the clip disclosed by Izraeli, Examiner finds that they integrally form the clip, i.e. , the elements are “integrally form[ed]”) and contiguously 3 (as shown by FIGS 2 and 7-11, each of the recited elements as identified in Izraeli are in contact with each other along a boundary or at a point and, thus, may be reasonably interpreted as being “contiguously formed”) formed. Regarding claims 11-14, Applicant merely recites an electrical system comprising the coupler of claim 1, wherein the first and second conductors of the coupler are connected to a respective first and second electrical device. Izraeli discloses the coupler of claim 1, as shown above, and further discloses a first electrical device (a bus bar) connected to the first conductor (lug 32) and a second electrical device (inherent, see below) connected to the second conductor. While Izraeli may not inherently disclose “a second electrical device” that is connected to the second conductor ( e.g. , conductor 92 of FIG 7), those of ordinary skill in the art would immediately understand and appreciate that the conductor must be connected to some other electrical device for the purposes of conveying electricity to/from said other electrical device. Moreover, those of ordinary skill would not reasonably interpret Izraeli as having conductor 92 be joined to a busbar at a first end as shown by FIG 7, while simultaneously being unconnected to any other electrical device at its second end; doing such would present an extreme electrocution hazard as a person or object which comes into connected with the unconnected second end would form a ground connection and be harmed. As such, Examiner finds that the Izraeli inherently discloses a second electrical device connected to the second conductor because the coupling device therein would serve no purpose if a second electrical device were not provided. Thus, the rejection of claims 1-4 applies, mutatis mutandis , to the subject matters of claims 11-14 . 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 9, 11, 15-17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipted by U.S. Patent No. 12,627,083 (“Eberle”) . Regarding claim 1, Eberle discloses: A coupler for electrically connecting (title, “connection assembly”) a first conductor (contact 11) to a second conductor (contact 21), the coupler comprising: a clip 4 (FIG 1:40) defining a first clip segment (upper instance of 40) and a second clip segment (lower instance of 40) spaced apart from the first clip segment (as seen in FIG 1), the first clip segment and the second clip segment configured to respectively abut with the first conductor and the second conductor to accommodate overlapped portions of the first conductor and the second conductor therebetween (as shown); and a fastening system (nut 33, bolt 31, and washer 32) engageable with the first clip segment and the second clip segment (as shown in FIG 1) such that an actuation of the fastening system reduces a gap between the first clip segment and the second clip segment to increase a compression and contact between the first conductor and the second conductor (tightening of nut 33 and bolt 31 would inherently result in a reduction of distance between first and second clip segments as well as an increase in compression force and contact between the first and second conductor), wherein, compared to surface areas of the fastening system, the first clip segment and the second clip segment define relatively larger corresponding surface areas for respectively contacting the first conductor and the second conductor and providing commensurate compression therebetween (a surface area the first clip segment, the upper instance of 40, is larger than a corresponding surface area of the bottom of the head of bolt 30, as seen in FIG 1; similarly, a surface area of the second clip segment, the lower instance of 40, is larger than a corresponding surface area of the nut adjacent to the second clip segment). Regarding claim 5, Eberle discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 1 and further discloses the fastening system comprising a bolt and a nut (31 and 33, respectively), the bolt passing through a first aperture in the first clip segment (as shown) to be engaged with the first clip segment (as shown) and through a second aperture in the second clip segment (as shown) to be engaged with the second clip segment (as shown), and the nut is fixedly fastened to the second clip segment (once tightened, the nut may be reasonably interpreted as being “fixed” to the remainder of the elements, including the second clip segment) and threadably coupled to a section of the bolt (col. 4, l. 66 through col. 5, l. 1) extending outward of the second clip segment (as shown) to retain the bolt within the clip (as shown). Regarding claim 6, Eberle discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 5 and further discloses the bolt configured to be routed through the overlapped portions of the first and second conductors (as shown in FIG 1). Regarding claim 7, Eberle discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 5 and further discloses the bolt having a head portion (upper portion indicated by numeral 31) and a shank portion ( i.e. , the portion extending through the conductors), the coupler further including a washer (32) positionable between the head portion and the clip (as shown), wherein the washer is configured to exert a force between the bolt and the clip to present a dislodgement of the bolt with respect to the clip (inherent; the washer prevents a dislodgement simply by being larger than the aperture of the clip). Regarding claim 9, Eberle discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 1 and further discloses the clip including an insulation material to be non-conductive relative to one or more of the first conductor and the second conductor (col. 5, ll. 13-59). Regarding claims 11, 15-17, and 19, Applicant merely recites an electrical system comprising the coupler of claim 1, wherein the first and second conductors of the coupler are connected to a respective first and second electrical device. As shown above, Eberle discloses the limitations of claim 1; Eberle further discloses the first and second electric devices (col. 3, ll. 48-53). Examiner therefore finds that the rejection of claims 1, 5-7, and 9 as anticipated by Eberle applies, mutatis mutandis , to the subject matter of claims 11, 15-17, and 19 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Izraeli as applied to claim s 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art (“AAPA”) . Regarding claim 10, Izraeli discloses the limitations as set forth in claim 1 and further discloses the first conductor (32) corresponding to a busbar (see Field of the Invention section; see also col. 4, ll. 6-12, discussing how conductor 32 is connectable, and thus “corresponds to,” a busbar), but does not disclose the busbar being made of copper. Applicant discloses, in the Background section of the instant disclosure, that busbars of the prior art are known to be made of copper material (see, e.g. , paras. [0002-03]). Thus, Applicant and the prior art recognize that copper material is suitable for use in electrical bus bars. Examiner therefore finds that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (prior to the effective filing date) to modify Izraeli’s generic disclosure of a bus bar such that the bus bar therein is comprised of copper material because Applicant’s acknowledges that it is known in the prior art to utilize copper material for busbars and, furthermore, the prior art recognizes its suitability for such. Regarding claim 20, Applicant recites subject matter identical to that recited in claim 10. As shown above, Izraeli in view of AAPA discloses the subject matter of claim 10 and, thus, the rejection of claim 10 applies, mutatis mutandis , to the subject matter of claim 20 . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 8 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record, taken alone or in reasonable combination with others, fails to disclose the recited limitations of instant claims 8 and 18 . Eberle is considered to be the closest art of record. As shown above, Eberle discloses the limitations of claims 5 and 15 when considered under the doctrine of broadest reasonable interpretation. Eberle further discloses the corrosive interactions contemplated by the instant application, and furthermore discloses selection of material to minimize this corrosion. Thus, while not disclosing the bolt as being made of or otherwise having a galvanic surface, there is a clear basis for modifying Eberle to include a galvanically compatible outer surface on the bolt. There is not, however, an equivalent basis for modifying the clip of Eberle to have such a surface. Eberle’s clip is formed of an insulative material; none of the suggested materials appear to be galvanically compatible materials. Thus, Eberle does not disclose all of the limitations of instant claim 8. Examiner is unable to find any motivation to modify Eberle’s clip to utilize galvanic materials as recited. As such, claim 8 (and thus 18, which recites identical limitations) patentably distinguishes over the prior art of record. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to THOMAS K QUIGLEY whose telephone number is (571)272-4050. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday, 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, TULSIDAS PATEL can be reached at 571-272-2098. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /THOMAS K QUIGLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2834 /TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/655,634 Page 2 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/655,634 Page 3 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/655,634 Page 4 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/655,634 Page 5 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/655,634 Page 6 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/655,634 Page 7 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/655,634 Page 8 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/655,634 Page 9 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/655,634 Page 10 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/655,634 Page 11 Art Unit: 2834 1 As defined by Merriam Webster, “a clip” may be broadly interpreted to mean “any of various devices that grip, clasp, or hook.” 2 As defined by Merriam Webster, “integral” or “integrally” may be broadly interpreted to mean “essential to completeness” or “formed as a unit with another part.” 3 As defined by Merriam Webster, “contiguous” of “contiguously” may be broadly interpreted to mean “being in actual contact : touching along a boundary or at a point” or “touching or connected throughout in an unbroken sequence.” 4 As defined by Merriam Webster, “a clip” may be broadly interpreted to mean “any of various devices that grip, clasp, or hook.”