DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. For example, a more descriptive title could be, “Display Panel and Display Device With Auxiliary Electrode and Isolation Structure, and Preparation Method Thereof”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-11, 13, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2016/0149156 A1; hereinafter, “Kim”).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-11, 13, 19 and 20:
re claim 1, Kim discloses (in Figs. 1 and 11) a display panel, comprising:
a substrate 101 [0075];
a first electrode 141 [0075], an auxiliary electrode 142 [0076], and a pixel defining layer 162 [0097], wherein the first electrode 141 is disposed on a side of the substrate 101, the auxiliary electrode 142 is at least in contact with an edge of the first electrode 141 (i.e., “142” is at least in contact with a corner edge of “141”), and the auxiliary electrode 142 is configured to provide an electrical signal to the first electrode 141; the pixel defining layer 162 is provided with a plurality of first openings D/A1, D/A2 [0083] exposing at least one of the auxiliary electrode 142 and the first electrode 141; and
an isolation structure 1170 (also see “isolation structure” in Exhibit A above) disposed on a side of the pixel defining layer 162 facing away from the substrate 101, wherein the isolation structure is provided with a second opening (Exhibit A, “second opening”, i.e., the second opening comprises all open space not including “1170” shown in Figs. 1 and 11), and a vertical projection of the first electrode on the substrate is disposed within [boundaries of] a vertical projection of the second opening on the substrate (i.e., the first electrode 141 is within the region D/A1 shown in Fig. 11; accordingly, as shown in Exhibit A, a vertical projection of the first electrode 141, within D/A1, is within boundaries of a vertical projection of the second opening on the substrate);
re claim 2, the display panel of claim 1, further comprising a light-emitting functional layer 143 (Fig.11 and [0075]) and a second electrode 144 [0075]; wherein the light-emitting functional layer 143 is disposed on a side of the first electrode 141 facing away from the substrate 101, the second electrode 143 is disposed on a side of the light-emitting functional layer 143 facing away from the substrate 101, and the second electrode 143 is disposed in the first opening and the second opening (Fig. 11); the second electrode 144 is in contact with at least part of the isolation structure 1170 (Fig. 11);
re claim 4, the display panel of claim 1, wherein the second opening (i.e., the second opening comprises all open space not including “1170” shown in Figs. 1 and 11) is connected to the first opening D/A1, D/A2, and the second opening exposes at least part of the pixel defining layer 162;
re claim 5, the display panel of claim 1, wherein the auxiliary electrode 142 is disposed on a side of the first electrode 141 facing away from the substrate 101 (Fig. 11);
re claim 7, the display panel of claim 1, wherein a vertical projection of the auxiliary electrode 142 (Fig. 11) on the substrate 101 covers the vertical projection of the first electrode 141 on the substrate, and the first opening D/A1 (Fig. 11) exposes the auxiliary electrode 142;
re claim 8, the display panel of claim 7, wherein the display panel further comprises a plurality of pixel circuits (e.g., TFT 2 in Fig. 11), a pixel circuit of the plurality of pixel circuits is disposed on a side of the first electrode 141 facing the substrate 101, and the auxiliary electrode 142 is connected to the pixel circuit TFT2 (Fig. 11);
re claim 9, the display panel of claim 7, wherein a vertical projection of the pixel defining layer 62 (Fig. 11) on the substrate 101 partially overlaps the vertical projection of the first electrode 141 on the substrate 101;
re claim 10, the display panel of claim 8, wherein the vertical projection of the auxiliary electrode 142 (Fig. 11) on the substrate 101 partially overlaps a vertical projection of the isolation structure 1170 on the substrate 101; and the auxiliary electrode 142 comprises an overlapping portion overlapping the isolation structure 1170 (Fig. 11), and the overlapping portion of the auxiliary electrode 142 is connected to the pixel circuit through a via C/A (Fig. 11 and [0095]);
re claim 11, the display panel of claim 1, wherein in a thickness direction of the display panel, a thickness of the auxiliary electrode (see “a thickness of the auxiliary electrode” in Exhibit B above) is less than a thickness of the first electrode (Exhibit B, “a thickness of the first electrode”, Note: “a thickness” does not require a maximum or total thickness);
re claim 13, the display panel of claim 2, wherein the isolation structure 1170 (Fig. 11) comprises a conductive material (i.e., structure 1170 is a very thermally conductive);
a vertical projection of a surface of the isolation structure 1170 facing a side (bottom of “1171”) of the substrate on the substrate 101 is disposed within a vertical projection of a surface of the isolation structure (upper surface of “1173” in Fig. 11) facing away from the side of the substrate on the substrate 101;
the isolation structure 1170 comprises a support portion 1171 and a crown portion 1173, the crown portion 1173 is disposed on a side of the support portion 1171 facing away from the substrate 101, and a vertical projection of the support portion 1171 on the substrate 101 is disposed within a vertical projection of the crown portion 1173 on the substrate 101;
re claim 19, A method for preparing a display panel (Figs. 1 and 11), comprising:
providing a substrate 101 [0075];
forming a first electrode 141 [0075], an auxiliary electrode 142 [0076], and a pixel defining layer 162 [0097], wherein the first electrode 141 is disposed on a side of the substrate 101, the auxiliary electrode 142 is at least in contact with an edge of the first electrode 141 (i.e., “142” is at least in contact with a corner edge of “141”), and the auxiliary electrode 142 is configured to provide an electrical signal to the first electrode 141; the pixel defining layer 162 is provided with a plurality of first openings D/A1, D/A2 [0083] exposing at least one of the auxiliary electrode 142 and the first electrode 141; and
forming an isolation structure 1170 (also see “isolation structure” in Exhibit A above) disposed on a side of the pixel defining layer 162 facing away from the substrate 101, wherein the isolation structure is provided with a second opening (Exhibit A, “second opening”, i.e., the second opening comprises all open space not including “1170” shown in Figs. 1 and 11), and a vertical projection of the first electrode on the substrate is disposed within [boundaries of] a vertical projection of the second opening on the substrate (i.e., the first electrode 141 is within the region D/A1 shown in Fig. 11; accordingly, as shown in Exhibit A, a vertical projection of the first electrode 141, within D/A1, is within boundaries of a vertical projection of the second opening on the substrate); and
re claim 20, A display device (e.g., abstract), comprising the display panel of claim 1.
Therefore, claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-11, 13, 19 and 20 are anticipated by Kim.
Claim(s) 1-3, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2014/0183479 A1; hereinafter, “Park”).
re claim 1, Park discloses (in Figs. 4) a display panel, comprising:
a substrate 310 [0051];
a first electrode 355 [0069], an auxiliary electrode 354 [0067], and a pixel defining layer 315 [0077], wherein the first electrode 355 is disposed on a side of the substrate 310, the auxiliary electrode 354 is at least in contact with an edge of the first electrode 355, and the auxiliary electrode 354 is configured to provide an electrical signal to the first electrode 355; the pixel defining layer 315 is provided with a plurality of first openings (e.g., for “EA”) exposing at least one of the auxiliary electrode 354 and the first electrode 355; and
an isolation structure 360/480 disposed on a side of the pixel defining layer 315 facing away from the substrate 310, wherein the isolation structure is provided with a second opening (e.g., in a plan view shown in Fig. 13A, isolation structures 360/480 would be at the same location as elements 1360 in Fig. 13A; accordingly, there is an opening between the isolation structures 360), and a vertical projection of the first electrode 355 on the substrate is disposed within a vertical projection of the second opening on the substrate (i.e., pixels are within the vertical projections of “1360” in Fig. 13A; accordingly, the first electrode 355, which is within a pixel will be disposed within a vertical projections of the second opening);
re claim 2, the display panel of claim 1, further comprising a light-emitting functional layer 352 (Fig. 4 and [0050]) and a second electrode 353/483 [0050/0089]; wherein the light-emitting functional layer 352 is disposed on a side of the first electrode 355 facing away from the substrate 310, the second electrode 353/483 is disposed on a side of the light-emitting functional layer 352 facing away from the substrate 310, and the second electrode 353/483 is disposed in the first opening and the second opening (Figs. 4 and 13A); the second electrode 353/483 is in contact with at least part of the isolation structure 360/480 (Fig. 4);
re claim 3, the display panel of claim 2, wherein second electrodes 353/483 corresponding to light-emitting functional layers 352 of different colors are spaced apart and insulated from each other (in Fig. 4, the second electrodes of each pixel are separated from each other, and in [0080] the display is disclosed as having RGB sub pixels; accordingly, adjacent subpixels shown in fig. 4 would have different colors);
re claim 13, the display panel of claim 2, wherein the isolation structure 360/480 (Fig. 11) comprises a conductive material 360 [0050];
a vertical projection of a surface of the isolation structure 360/480 facing a side (bottom of “360”) of the substrate on the substrate 310 is disposed within a vertical projection of a surface of the isolation structure (upper surface of “480” in Fig. 4) facing away from the side of the substrate on the substrate 310;
the isolation structure comprises a support portion 360 and a crown portion 480, the crown portion 480 is disposed on a side of the support portion 360 facing away from the substrate 310, and a vertical projection of the support portion 360 on the substrate 310 is disposed within a vertical projection of the crown portion 480 on the substrate 310; and
re claim 14, the display panel of claim 13, wherein the vertical projection of the support portion 360 (Fig. 4) on the substrate 310 does not overlap the vertical projection of the first electrode 355 on the substrate 310; the vertical projection of the crown portion 480 on the substrate 310 does not overlap the vertical projection of the first electrode 355 on the substrate 310; and the second electrode 353/483 is electrically connected to the isolation structure 360/480 ([0074-0076] wherein “360” is electrically connected to ground, which is also typically connected to the cathode, or second electrode, of an OLED display).
Therefore, Park anticipates claims 1-3, 13 and 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Lee et al. (US 2014/0353633 A1; hereinafter, “Lee”).
Regarding claim 6:
Kim anticipates claim 1 and discloses the pixel defining layer comprises an organic material [0099].
However, Kim does not disclose the pixel defining layer comprises an inorganic material.
Lee teaches, in device similar to that of Kim, it was well known in the art that a pixel defining layer 130 (Fig. 2 and [0054]) can be formed of organic or inorganic material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim by incorporating an inorganic material (instead of an organic material) for the pixel defining layer because Lee teaches either or both types of materials are well-known to be suited for a pixel-defining layer. In other words, it would have been an obvious matter of selecting known materials on the basis of their known suitability. Note it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (MPEP 2144.07). In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim.
Regarding claim 12:
Kim anticipates claim 11 and discloses the second electrode 144 can have a thickness of 1000 Å (0.1 µm, [0112]) and a width of 10 µm [0116]. However, Kim does not specify a thickness for the auxiliary electrode and a width for a portion of the pixel defining layer.
Although Kim does not specify ranges in thickness and width as currently recited, the current claim is deemed obvious because Kim discloses the general conditions of the claimed invention, and Kim further discloses elements in a pixel of the display have thickness and width in a range similar to that recited; accordingly, given Kim, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to find optimum or workable ranges in thickness and width for the auxiliary electrode and the pixel defining layer, respectively, wherein the currently claimed ranges are considered to be optimum or workable ranges that one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to determine given specific design requirements, e.g., depending on a size of a display, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to adjust thicknesses and width accordingly. Note it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05). In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 15-18 are allowed primarily because the prior art of record cannot anticipate or render obvious the limitations in claim 15 (when combined with claims 1 and 2), and claims 16-18 depend from claim 15.
Conclusion
/LEX H MALSAWMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892