Detailed Action.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in response/amendment is acknowledged. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The applicant is kindly asked to submitted any prior art documents in the information Disclosure Statement(s), if any, to be considered and made of record.
Claim Objection
Claim 6 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 5. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 15 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 7. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 19 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 14. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 20 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 15. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Further, Applicant is kindly advised, in response please present claims without any numerical labels in the claims for clarity and OCR reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant(s) regard as their invention.
Claims 5 and 6 is indefinite for respectively reciting ‘where the contact angle between water and the one or more ribbons that are disposed with the coating on the outermost surface is equal to or more than 100 degrees’ as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01.
Claims 14 and 19 are indefinite for respectively reciting ‘one or more layers between the one or more optical fibers and the sheath, as such limitation is incomplete and vague and being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being by .
Claim(s) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “ Khudyakov”; et al., US 6316105 B1, and further in view of “De Cock” et. al.. CA 3150659 A1.
Regarding claims 1, Khudyakov teaches an optical fiber cable 10 comprising one or more optical fibers (shown in at least fig. 1) a coating 18/16 that is disposed on an outermost surface of the one or more optical fibers (core12, clad14), where the coating is made up of a fluoropolymer based hydrophobic resin material; and a sheath that surrounds the one or more optical fibers (see at least col. 3, line 58-col. 4, line 12).
However, Khudyakov does not teach a sheath that surrounds the one or more optical fibers. In the same field of invention, Such extremely conventional limitation is taught by De Cock. De Cock teaches De Cock teaches a protective sheath 35t over the outer coating of the optical fiber (see at least figs. 1d and at least parag. 0049 and 0058). Thus it would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan skilled in the art when the invention was made to modify Khudyakov’s optical fiber cable to produce a coated optical fiber cable that include a sheath that protects the coating from environmental degradation.
The statements advanced in rejection of claim 1, above, as to the applicability and disclosure of the combined references and the motivation are incorporated herein in rejection of the following claims as follows:
With regard to claims 3-4, De Cock teaches further teaches, where the one or more optical fibers are in the form of at least one of, one or more individual optical fibers, one or more flat ribbons and one or more ribbons (shown in fig. 7). where the ribbon of the one or more ribbons and the one or more ribbon bundles is an IBR (shown in fig. 7; see analogous motivation in claim 1).
2. (Original) The optical fiber cable of claim 1, where the hydrophobic material is selected from at least one of, perfluoroalkoxy (PFA), flurorinated ethylene propylene (FEP), ethylene tetrafluoroethylene (ETFE), and terapolymer (EFEP) (see at least abstract).
5. (Original) The optical fiber cable of claim 1, where the contact angle between water and the one or more ribbons that are disposed with the coating on the outermost surface (108) is equal to or more than 100 degrees (for such functional limitation one of ordinary skill in the art could just easily tilt the optical fiber cable with respect water so the contact angle between water and the one or more ribbons that are disposed with the coating on the outermost surface is equal to or more than 100 degrees)
6. (Original) The optical fiber cable of claim 1, where the contact angle between water and the one or more ribbons that are disposed with the coating on the outermost surface (108) is equal to or more than 100 degrees (for such functional limitation one of ordinary skill in the art could just easily tilt the optical fiber cable with respect water so the contact angle between water and the one or more ribbons that are disposed with the coating on the outermost surface is equal to or more than 100 degrees)
With regard to claim 7, Khudyakov teaches where the coating has a predefined thickness that can be a 10 micrometres (µm). however does teach that it is less than 10 µm. De Cock teaches that where the coating has a predefined thickness that can be a 10 micrometres (µm) (see parag. 0030) see above analogous motivation).
8. (Original) The optical fiber cable of claim 1, where the coating is disposed on the outermost surface of the one or optical fibers by way of at least one of, an extrusion process, a vapor spray deposition process, and passing through a liquid resin .
9. (Original) The optical fiber cable of claim 1, where the outermost surface (108) is selected from one of, a primary coating, a secondary coating, a color layer, a ribbon bond matrix, or a combination thereof “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted) (Claim was directed to a novolac color developer. The process of making the developer was allowed. The difference between the inventive process and the prior art was the addition of metal oxide and carboxylic acid as separate ingredients instead of adding the more expensive pre-reacted metal carboxylate. The product-by-process claim was rejected because the end product, in both the prior art and the allowed process, ends up containing metal carboxylate. The fact that the metal carboxylate is not directly added, but is instead produced in-situ does not change the end product).
. 10. (Original) The optical fiber cable of claim 1, where the coating is a “colored” coating. Noting that the claimed inventio ingredients are the same would have then the same characteristics/”color”.
14. The optical fiber cable of claim 1 further comprising one or more layers between the one or more optical fibers and the sheath (see fig. 7).
With regard to claim 15, Khudyakov teaches where the coating has a predefined thickness that can be a 10 micrometres (µm). however does teach that it is less than 10 µm. De Cock teaches that where the coating has a predefined thickness that can be a 10 micrometres (µm) (see parag. 0030) see above analogous motivation).
19. The optical fiber cable of claim 1 further comprising one or more layers between the one or more optical fibers and the sheath (see fig. 7).
With regard to claim 20, Khudyakov teaches where the coating has a predefined thickness that can be a 10 micrometres (µm). however does teach that it is less than 10 µm. De Cock teaches that where the coating has a predefined thickness that can be a 10 micrometres (µm) (see parag. 0030) see above analogous motivation).
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. In accordance with MPEP 707.05 the following references are pertinent in rejection of this application since they provide substantially the same information disclosure as this patent does. These references are:
US 20250196145 A1
CA 3150659 A1
JP 4803853 B2
WO 2005063366 A2
US 6316105 B1
JP 2001513832 A
JP 2001502653 A
Contact Information
/KAVEH C KIANNI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874