DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 7, figures 6A-6B and 11G in the reply filed on October 31, 2025 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the second fold line between the first flap and the first side edge of the frame panel, and the third fold line between the second flap and the second side edge of the frame panel as recited in claim 24 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20070267862 to Barr.
Regarding claim 16, Barr teaches a blank is provided for a card holding assembly formed from a single sheet of material. The blank is for retaining an insert sheet bearing a personalized or customized message (gift cards and debit cards, now shown), comprising: a front panel (first panel 14); and a back panel comprising a frame panel (third panel 24) secured to a solid panel (second panel 20), wherein the frame panel (24) defines a window (30), and wherein the frame panel (24) and the solid panel(20) define a top-loading pocket for retaining the insert sheet (gift cards and debit cards) between the frame panel (24) and the solid panel (20) so that the message is viewable through the window (30), wherein the frame panel (24) and the solid panel (20) are secured together along their respective bottom edges (third score line 19 and fourth score line 26) and their respective first and second side edges; wherein the first and second side edges of the frame panel (24) include first and second flaps (34 and 36), respectively, that are secured to the first and second side edges of the solid panel (¶0028-0029), respectively; wherein the bottom edge of the frame panel is integrally connected to the bottom edge of the solid panel via a fold line (third score line 19 and fourth score line 26); and wherein the frame panel (24) and the solid panel (20) are not secured together along their respective top edges so as to form the top-loading pocket that enables loading of the insert sheet through a top of the pocket (¶0033).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20070267862 to Barr in view of US 4089418 to Yale.
Regarding claim 21, Barr does not teach a portion of the first side edge of the frame panel positioned between the first flap and the fold line is not secured to the first side edge of the solid panel.
Yale teaches an envelope for retaining an insert sheet bearing a personalized or customized message (enclosure 27), comprising: a first panel (18); and a back panel comprising a frame panel (2) secured to a solid panel (6), wherein the frame panel (2) defines a window (4), wherein the frame panel (2) and the solid panel (6) are secured together along their respective bottom edges (8); wherein the first and second side edges of the frame panel (2) include first and second flaps (12), respectively; wherein the bottom edge of the frame panel (2) is integrally connected to the bottom edge of the solid panel (6) via a fold line (8); and wherein the frame panel (2) and the solid panel (6) are not secured together along their respective top edges.
Yale also teaches a portion of the first side edge of the frame panel (2) positioned between the first flap (12) and the fold line (8) is not secured to the first side edge of the solid panel (6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct envelope taught by Barr with the first side edge of the frame panel positioned between the first flap and the fold line not secured to the first side edge of the solid panel as taught by Yale with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a gap adapted to receive a letter opener.
Regarding claim 23, Yale teaches the second side edge (14) of the frame panel (2) is held back from the second side edge of the solid panel (6). Yale does not teach the second side edge of the frame panel is held back by at least 2 millimeters. However, since the applicant does not disclose that holding back the second side edge of the frame panel from the second side edge of the solid panel by at least 2 millimeters solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, it appears that holding back the second side edge of the frame panel from the second side edge of the solid panel by any suitable dimension would perform equally well to provide a gap between the frame panel and the solid panel.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct envelope taught by Barr with the second side edge (14) of the frame panel (2) is held back from the second side edge of the solid panel as taught by Yale with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a gap adapted to receive a letter opener.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20070267862 to Barr in view of US 20050274048 to Gerrie.
Barr does not teach the fold line is a crease score.
Gerrie teaches a picture frame comprising a “fold lines 12, 14, 16 and 18 are shown parallel one to the other and are located so that the panels can be folded one over another to assume an overlapping coplanar configuration. The term fold line refers to lines or creases that allow adjacent panels to fold or bend about an axis lying on the fold line” (¶0035).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct fold lines of the blank taught by Barr comprising a crease as taught by Gerrie with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a means that allow adjacent panels to fold or bend about an axis lying on the fold line.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20070267862 to Barr in view of US 5096058 to Juravin and US 20050274048 to Gerrie.
Barr teaches double fold lines 18 and 22 between the panels 14 and 20 and double fold line 19 and 20 between panels 20 and 24 to define a thickness. Barr does not teach double fold line between the first flap and the first side edge of the frame panel, and between the second flap and the second side edge of the frame panel or each of the second fold line and the third fold line is a crease score.
Juravin teaches a greeting card and candy holder comprising: a front panel (52); and a back panel comprising a second panel (62) secured to a solid panel (54), wherein the second panel (62) and the solid panel (54) define a top-loading pocket for retaining the insert sheet between the second panel and the solid panel (column 3, lines 26-31), wherein the second panel (62) and the solid panel (54) are secured together along their respective bottom edges (fold lines 66 and 18 defining panel 64) and their respective first and second side edges (with flaps 70, 74 and 80 and 82); wherein the first and second side edges of the second panel (62) include first and second flaps (flaps 70, 74 and 80 and 82), respectively, that are secured to the first and second side edges of the solid panel (4), respectively; wherein the bottom edge of the first panel (62) is integrally connected to the bottom edge of the solid panel (54) via a fold lines (66 and 68).
Juravin teaches is a first and second fold lines (80 and 84) between the first flap (82) and the first side edge of the second panel (62), and a third and fourth fold lines (72 and 76) between the second flap (74) and the second side edge of the second panel (62).
Gerrie teaches a picture frame comprising a “fold lines 12, 14, 16 and 18 are shown parallel one to the other and are located so that the panels can be folded one over another to assume an overlapping coplanar configuration. The term fold line refers to lines or creases that allow adjacent panels to fold or bend about an axis lying on the fold line” (¶0035).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct fold lines between the frame panel and the flaps taught by Barr with double fold line as taught by Juravin with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a means to insert or houses three dimensional object or objects have a thickness.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct fold lines of the blank taught by Barr comprising a crease as taught by Gerrie with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a means that allow adjacent panels to fold or bend about an axis lying on the fold line.
Conclusion
/CASSANDRA DAVIS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631