DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Relative to claim 9, which recites “A material carrying device, comprising …a material transportation vehicle of claim 1”, is in improper dependent form since the claim does not further limit the subject matter of claim 1. Claim 1 is “a material transportation vehicle”. It appears that Applicant intends the claim to be an independent claim.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. To be in proper independent form, the claim should list out the elements of the claim that is intended to be included.
Claims 13, 16, 20, 21, and 22 must also be rewritten into proper dependent or dependent form similar to claim 9 above.
Claims 10-12 are rejected because of their dependency from claim 9.
Claims 14-15 are rejected because of their dependency from claim 13.
Claims 17-19 are rejected because of their dependency from claim 16.
Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Relative to claims 9, 13, 16, 20-22, it is not clear as to whether the limitations of the previous claim(s) that have been incorporated into the present claim are included. For instance, in claim 9, it is not clear as to whether the limitation of claim 1 are included.
Claims 10-12 are rejected because of their dependency from claim 9.
Claims 14-15 are rejected because of their dependency from claim 13.
Claims 17-19 are rejected because of their dependency from claim 16.
Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-12 (as understood by the Examiner) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(10 as being anticipated by Shibata (US PG. Pub. 2018/0079607). Relative to claims 9-12, the disclosure of Shibata discloses:
claim 9) A material carrying device (Fig. 1), comprising:
a material pallet (B)(Fig. 10);
a material transportation vehicle (5)(Fig. 9),
a conveying track (61)(Fig. 9); and
the material transportation vehicle (5) drives the material pallet (B) to move into or out of the carrying base (52) of the material transportation vehicle (5)(Para. 0060, Ref. 5 is moved to load pallet onto surface 52)(Fig. 11, 23), and
delivers the material pallet along the conveying track (61)(Fig. 14)(Para. 0059);
claim 10) an upper surface of the carrying base (see top of Ref. 52) is provided with at least one first guide member extending in the first direction (see Ref. 53)(Fig. 13), and
a bottom portion of the material pallet (B) is provided with at least one second guide member (93) corresponding to the at least one first guide member (53)(Para. 0057, members 93 interact with members 53)(Fig. 2); and
the first direction is perpendicular to an extension direction of the conveying track (61)(Para. 0057, Ref. 93 extends in the vertical direction);
claim 11) a driving device (driving motor) configured to drive the material transportation vehicle (5) to move along the conveying track (Para. 0059); and
claim 12) the bottom portion of the material pallet (B) is provided with an engagement block (93)(Fig. 2), and the engagement block (93) cooperates with the push-pull assembly (see Ref. 53e) to achieve a detachable connection between the material pallet (B) and the material transportation vehicle (5)(Para. 0057).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, and 8 (as understood by the Examiner) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Kroell (EP 0 831 002 A1) in view of Shibata (US PG. 2018/0079607). Relative to claims 1-3, and 8 Kroell discloses:
claim 1) a material transportation vehicle (Fig. 2), comprising:
a carrying base (see top of Ref. 5 that supports the container 7), and a push-pull assembly arranged on the carrying base (the push-pull assembly is inherently included to move the arms 5 horizontally from the road vehicle 8 to the bridge 2),
the push-pull assembly is configured to drive a material container to move between a first position and a second position (see the movement of the container 7 from the vehicle on the right, which is the first position, to the vehicle 8 on the left)(Fig. 2, 5); and
the second position is a position above the carrying base (the second position is the position where the arms 5 are above Ref. 4, and are not extended to the left or right)(Fig. 2), and the first position is a position located in the same horizontal plane as the second position and separated from the second position by a preset distance in a first direction (the first position above Ref. 4 and the second position wherein the arms 5 are extended into the vehicle on the right are both arranged on the same horizontal plane, and the second position where the arms are not extended to the right or the left, is separated from a position is separated a preset distance from the first position where the vehicle 8 is located, see Fig. 2);
claim 2) the push-pull assembly comprises:
a first push-pull assembly (6.1) that drives the material container (7) to move between the first position and a first transition position (see Page 4, Para. 1 of the English translation of the specification); and
a second push-pull assembly (6.2) arranged spaced apart from the first push-pull assembly, the second push-pull assembly is configured to drive the material container to move between the second position and the first transition position (the second arm 6.2 is spaced from the first push-pull assembly to pick the container, Fig. 5),
the first transition position is located between the first position and the second position (the first transition position is a position between the position of the arms 5 fully extended to the right, for instance the position of the arms as the arms are being extended to the right); and
claim 3) the push-pull assembly (5) is further configured to drive the material container to move between the second position and a third position (the third position is above vehicle 8, the arms 5 move the container to the left to transfer the container onto the vehicle 8)(Fig. 2).
Kroell does not expressly disclose:
the material being conveyed is a pallet;
a first push-pull assembly is configured to be detachably connected to the material pallet and drive the material pallet to move between the first position and a first transition position; and
a second push-pull assembly arranged spaced apart from the first push-pull assembly, the second push-pull assembly being configured to be detachably connected to the material pallet and drive the material pallet to move between the second position and the first transition position; or
claim 8) a positioning member fixedly connected to the carrying base, and configured to abut against the material pallet or a material contained on the material pallet in response to the material pallet being in the second position.
Shibata teaches:
the material being conveyed is a pallet see (pallet B of articles, A), and
a positioning member (53e) fixedly connected to the carrying base (52)(Fig. 9), and configured to abut against the material pallet (B) or a material contained on the material pallet in response to the material pallet (B) being in the second position (Para. 0061), for the purpose of providing distribution facility for the reception and shipment of articles using a transportation vehicle that is more efficient (Para. 0002-0003).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kroell with the material being conveyed is a pallet, and positioning member on the carrying base as taught in Shibata, for the purpose of providing distribution facility for the reception and shipment of articles using a transportation vehicle that is more efficient.
Relative to claim 3, the disclosure of Kroell in view of Shibata does not expressly disclose: the first and second push-pull assemblies are configured to be detachably connected to the material pallet.
Kroell in view of Shibata teaches the first and second push-pull assemblies are detachably connected to the material pallet as an obvious matter of design choice, since this merely constitutes making the push-assemblies separable from the structure. For instance, making push-pull assemblies detachable may be desirable to repair or replace the assemblies for maintenance. See MPEP §2144.04
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kroell in view of Shibata so that the first and second push-pull assemblies are detachably connected to the material pallet as an obvious matter of design choice, since this merely constitutes making the push-assemblies separable from the structure and provides no unpredictable result.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7 (as understood by the Examiner) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kroell in view of Shibata et al (US Patent No. 2018/0079607) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Ducharme et al (US PG. Pub. 2022/0388163).
Relative to claims 4-7, Kroell in view of Shibata discloses all claim limitations as mentioned above, including: the first position and the third position are mirror symmetrical with respect to the second position (Kroell, Fig. 2, 5, see first position on far right near container 7, and third position on far left above Ref. 8 are mirror symmetrical with respect to the position immediately above arms 5, in the non-extended position above Ref. 4 of Fig. 2), and the first transition position and the second transition position are mirror symmetrical with respect to the second position (in Kroell, the first transition position which is between the location of the container 7 on the right and the middle near Ref. 4, as arms 5 extend or retract to or from the right vehicle; and second transition position is between the position of the arms in the center near Ref. 4 and the left vehicle in which arms 5 extend or retract to or from the left vehicle 8)(Fig. 2).
Kroell in view of Shibata does not expressly disclose:
claim 4) the first push-pull assembly comprises:
a first push-pull rod, comprising a first rod body and a first engagement portion fixedly connected to the first rod body;
a first linear driving unit, which is in transmission connection with the first rod body to drive the first push-pull rod to move between the first position and the first transition position; and
a first rotary driving unit, which is in transmission connection with the first rod body,
the first rotary driving unit driving the first engagement portion to rotate, such that the first engagement portion engages with or disengages from the material pallet; and
the second push-pull assembly comprises:
a second push-pull rod, comprising a second rod body and at least one second engagement portion fixedly connected to the second rod body;
a second linear driving unit, which is in transmission connection with the second rod body to drive the second push-pull rod to move between the second position and the first transition position; and
a second rotary driving unit, which is in transmission connection with the second rod body, the second rotary driving unit driving the at least one second engagement portion to rotate, such that the at least one second engagement portion engages with or disengages from the material pallet;
claim 5) the push-pull assembly further comprises:
a third push-pull assembly arranged on the carrying base and spaced apart from the first push-pull assembly and the second push-pull assembly;
the second push-pull assembly is further configured to drive the material pallet to move between the second position and a second transition position; and
the third push-pull assembly is further configured to drive the material pallet to move between the second transition position and the third position; and
the second transition position is between the second position and the third position;
claim 6) the third push-pull assembly comprises:
a third push-pull rod, comprising a third rod body and a third engagement portion fixedly connected to the third rod body;
a third linear driving unit, which is in transmission connection with the third rod body, the third linear driving unit being configured to drive the third push-pull rod to move between the third position and the second transition position; and
a third rotary driving unit, which is in transmission connection with the third rod body, the third rotary driving unit being configured to drive the third engagement portion to rotate,
such that the third engagement portion engages with or disengages from the material pallet.
Ducharme teaches:
claim 4) push-pull assemblies (94) comprising a linear drive unit 1370 (Para. 0076), for the purpose of providing a palletizing method that has a robust and versatile tool that is more reliable, reduces downtime, and reduces errors (Para. 0002-0004; 0006-0007).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the system of Ducharme so that the push-pull assemblies comprise a linear drive unit as taught in Ducharme for the purpose of providing a palletizing method that has a robust and versatile tool that is more reliable, reduces downtime, and reduces errors.
Relative to claims 4-7, the disclosure of Kroell in view of Shibata and Ducharme discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose:
the first push pull assembly comprises:
a first push-pull rod, comprising a first rod body and a first engagement portion fixedly connected to the first rod body;
a first linear driving unit, which is in transmission connection with the first rod body to drive the first push-pull rod to move between the first position and the first transition position; and
a first rotary driving unit, which is in transmission connection with the first rod body,
the first rotary driving unit driving the first engagement portion to rotate, such that the first engagement portion engages with or disengages from the material pallet;
the second push-pull assembly comprises:
a second push-pull rod, comprising a second rod body and at least one second engagement portion fixedly connected to the second rod body;
a second linear driving unit, which is in transmission connection with the second rod body to drive the second push-pull rod to move between the second position and the first transition position; and
a second rotary driving unit, which is in transmission connection with the second rod body, the second rotary driving unit driving the at least one second engagement portion to rotate, such that the at least one second engagement portion engages with or disengages from the material pallet;
a third push-pull assembly arranged on the carrying base and spaced apart from the first push-pull assembly and the second push-pull assembly;
the second push-pull assembly is further configured to drive the material pallet to move between the second position and a second transition position; and
the third push-pull assembly is further configured to drive the material pallet to move between the second transition position and the third position; and
the second transition position is between the second position and the third position;
the third push-pull assembly comprises:
a third push-pull rod, comprising a third rod body and a third engagement portion fixedly connected to the third rod body;
a third linear driving unit, which is in transmission connection with the third rod body, the third linear driving unit being configured to drive the third push-pull rod to move between the third position and the second transition position; and
a third rotary driving unit, which is in transmission connection with the third rod body, the third rotary driving unit being configured to drive the third engagement portion to rotate, such that the third engagement portion engages with or disengages from the material pallet.
Relative to claims 4 and 6, Kroell in view of Shibata and Ducharme teaches the first, second, and third push-pull assemblies each comprise:
first, second, and third push-pull rods each having a rod body, an engagement portion connected to the rod body, linear driving unit in transmission connection with the rod body to move between first, second, or third positions and first or second transition positions; first, second, and third rotary drive units each connected to the respective rod body, and driving the engagement portions to rotate so that the engagement portions engage or disengage from the material pallet as described above, as an obvious matter of design choice. These components are well-known components in the field of linear actuators, such as the linear slide in Ducharme, and are commonly used for producing linear motion to push a rod or member between an extended and retracted position to deliver movement. See MPEP §2144.04
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kroell in view of Shibata and Ducharme with the first, second, and third push-pull rods, linear driving units, and rotary driving units, mentioned above, since these features are well-known in the field of linear actuators and are commonly used for producing linear motion to push a rod or member between an extended and retracted position to deliver movement.
Relative to claim 5, Kroell in view of Shibata and Ducharme does not disclose:
a third push-pull assembly arranged on the carrying base and spaced apart from the first push-pull assembly and the second push-pull assembly.
Kroell in view of Shibata and Ducharme can be modified to provide a third push-pull assembly arranged on the carrying base and spaced apart from the first push-pull assembly and the second push-pull assembly as an obvious matter of design choice.
Providing a third push-pull assembly arranged on the carrying base and spaced apart from the first push-pull assembly constitutes a mere duplication and rearrangement of parts and one of ordinary skill might provide a third push-pull assembly to increase stability of the movement of the push-pull assemblies supporting the material pallet. See MPEP §2144.04
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kroell in view of Shibata and Ducharme with the third push-pull assembly as an obvious matter of design choice and constitutes a mere duplication and rearrangement of parts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13 and 15 (as understood by the Examiner) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cai Zelin (CN 115 143 751 A). Relative to claims 13 and 15, Cai discloses:
a material drying system (100)(Fig. 1), comprising:
a material carrying device (see Ref. 200, 12)(Fig. 4); and
a drying device (2) located on a side of the conveying track (12, 14)(Fig. 4) in the material carrying device (200)(Fig. 2, 5);
the material carrying device (200) is configured to move the material pallet (300) into or out of a drying station (drying station is included in Ref. 2) in the drying device (2)(Page 10, Para. 1 of the English translation of the specification); and
a loading device (16) located at one end of the conveying track (12, 14)(Fig. 3-4), the loading device (16) being configured to place a material (battery) in a stacked manner on the material pallet (300) in a loading position (Page 10, Para. 1 of the English translation of the specification, robot 16 grabs battery from fixture 200 and transfers the battery to the tray 300, Ref. 16 is located on the right side of the left end or edge of Ref, 12)(Fig. 4); and
an unloading device (16) located at the other end of the conveying track (12, 14), the unloading device being configured to take the material away from the material pallet (300) in an unloading position (Page 16, Para. 1 of the English translation of the specification, robot 16 grips battery on the tray to transfer to fixture 200, Ref. 16 is located on the left side of the right edge of Ref. 12)(Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai. Relative to claim 14, Cai discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, including: the drying device (2) is configured as at least one vacuum drying furnace arranged on one side or two sides of the conveying track (4)(See English translation of the specification, Page 2, Para. 4; Page 9, Para. 3, dryer is on one side of Ref. 4)(Fig. 2).
Cai does not expressly disclose: the drying device is configured as a plurality of vacuum drying furnaces.
Cai teaches: the drying device is configured as a plurality of vacuum drying furnaces as an obvious matter of design choice since providing an additional drying device comprises a mere duplication of parts and is not patentably significant. Adding an additional drying furnace allows the system to process more batteries. See MPEP §2144.04
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the system of Cai so that the drying device includes a plurality of vacuum drying furnaces, since providing an additional vacuum drying device comprises a mere duplication of parts and has no patentable significance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-19 (as understood by the Examiner) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cai. Relative to claims 16-19, the disclosure of Cai includes:
claim 16) a method for controlling a material drying system (100), the control method comprising:
moving the material transportation vehicle (200)(Fig. 4) such that the first position or the third position coincides with the loading position (see the position where battery is loaded onto Ref. 200)(Page 10, Para. 1);
moving the material pallet (200) from the loading position to the second position (Ref. 200 is moved up and down along with platform 12; Page 10, Para. 1 of the English translation of the specification);
claim 17) moving the material transportation vehicle (200) to the front of the drying device (2) such that the first position or the third position coincides with the drying station (Page 10, Para. 1, of the English translation of the Specification)(Fig. 4); and
moving the material pallet (300) from the drying station (included in Ref. 2) to the second position (Page 10, Para. 1 of the English translation of the specification);
moving the material transportation vehicle (200) such that the first position or the third position coincides with the unloading position (Page 10, Para. 1, Page 16, Para. 1 of the English translation of the Specification, Fig. 4); and
moving the material pallet (300) from the second position to the unloading position (Page 16, Para. 1);
claim 18) maintaining the engagement connection between the push-pull assembly (see Ref. 13) and the material pallet (300) in response to the material pallet being in the second position (Page 10, Para. 1); and
claim 19) driving the positioning member (151) on the carrying base (see Ref. 15)(Fig. 8) to abut against the material pallet (300) or the material contained on the material pallet in response to the material pallet (300) being in the second position (Page. 10, Para. 1 of the English translation of the Specification, Fig. 4, 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20-22 (as understood by the Examiner) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai in view of Shenzhen (CN 107 826 657 A).
Relative to claim 20 the disclosure of Cai includes all claim limitations mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose: an electronic apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor; and
a memory communicatively connected to the at least one processor, the memory stores instructions executable by the at least one processor, and the instructions,
when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform a control method as mentioned above.
Shenzhen teaches: an electronic apparatus (Page 4, Para. 4, of the English translation of the specification), comprising:
at least one processor (included with PLC controller, Page 7, Para. 3); and
a memory communicatively connected to the at least one processor (included with PLC), the memory stores instructions executable by the at least one processor, and the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform a control method (see Page 4, Para. 4 of the English translation of the Specification) as mentioned above, for the purpose of providing a lithium battery automatic drying line that requires less floor space, is efficient, and requires less equipment and resources (Page 2, Para. 6 of the English translation of the specification).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cai with the processor and memory for performing a control method as mentioned above, as taught in Shenzhen for the purpose of providing a lithium battery automatic drying line that requires less floor space, is efficient, and requires less equipment and resources.
Relative to claim 21 the disclosure of Cai includes all claim limitations mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose: a computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, when the computer program is executed by a processor, a control method above is implemented.
Shenzhen teaches: a computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, when the computer program is executed by a processor, a control method above is implemented (see Page 2, Para. 6; Page 4, Para. 4 of the English translation of the Specification), for the purpose of for the purpose of providing a lithium battery automatic drying line that requires less floor space, is efficient, and requires less equipment and resources (Page 2, Para. 6 of the English translation of the specification).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cai with the computer-readable storage medium, and storing a computer program as taught in Shenzhen for the purpose of providing a lithium battery automatic drying line that requires less floor space, is efficient, and requires less equipment and resources.
Relative to claim 22 the disclosure of Cai includes all claim limitations mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose: a computer program product, comprising a computer program, wherein when the computer program is executed by a processor, a control method above is implemented.
Shenzhen teaches: a computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, when the computer program is executed by a processor, a control method above is implemented (Page 4, Para. 4 of the English translation of the Specification), for the purpose of providing a lithium battery automatic drying line that requires less floor space, is efficient, and requires less equipment and resources (Page 2, Para. 6 of the English translation of the specification).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cai with the computer program product, as taught in Shenzhen for the purpose of providing a lithium battery automatic drying line that requires less floor space, is efficient, and requires less equipment and resources.
Conclusion
/YOLANDA R CUMBESS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651