DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Amendment filed 2/2/2026 wherein claims 9-16 are canceled, claims 7-8 are withdrawn, and claims 1-6 are presented for examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I (Figures 1-5) in the reply filed on 2/2/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that no search burden exists between the identified species. This is not found persuasive because, as discussed in the previous office action, although the species are related as water outlet devices, they disclose different structure that would require a different field of search, including employing different search queries. See MPEP 808.02 C.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 7-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 2/2/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “40” (Figures 1 and 3), “12” (Figures 2-3 and 7), “22” (Figures 3, 5, and 7), and “200” (Figure 4).
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “first body comprises a first joint allowed for being rotationally and cooperatively connected to a wall” (Claim 2) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“is allowed to” (Claim 1, line 4; Claim 1, line 5; ) is believed to be in error for - - is configured to - -;
“is allowed for” (Claim 1, lines 6-7 and Claim 4, line 2) is believed to be in error for - - is configured for - -;
“are allowed to” (Claim 1, line 8) is believed to be in error for - - are configured to - -; and
“first joint allowed for” (Claim 2, line 2) is believed to be in error for - - first joint configured for - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “first rotationally connecting damping mechanism” in line 4 of claim 2 and “second rotationally connecting damping mechanism” in lines 5-6 of claim 2.
Regarding Claim 2, the limitations “first rotationally connecting damping mechanism” and “second rotationally connecting damping mechanism” has been interpreted as a bolt and nut (see Paragraph 0008 and 0035 of Applicant’s specification).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "under a rotationally coupled of the support arm" in line 7. It is unclear what is meant by “a rotationally coupled of” and the meets and bounds of the claim cannot be determined. For examination purposes, the examiner will interpret the claim as reading - - the second body is rotationally coupled to the support arm - -
Claims 2-6 are rejected for the same reasons above based on their dependency to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cui et al. (US 2023/0072136).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Cui teaches (Figures 1-10) a water outlet device (100), comprising:
a first body(10), wherein the first body (10) comprises a first panel (110) for water outlet (Paragraph 0019);
a second body (212), wherein the second body (212) comprises a second panel (22) for water outlet (Paragraph 0021);
a support arm (211), wherein a first end (at 211a) of the support arm (211) is allowed to be rotationally and cooperatively connected with (see Figures 6-10 and Paragraph 0022) the first body (10), and a second end (at 211b) of the support arm (211) is allowed to be rotationally and cooperatively connected with (see Figures 6-10 and Paragraph 0022) the second body (212);
the second body (212) is allowed for being moved relative to the first body (10) under a rotationally coupled of (at 11) the support arm (211), wherein the first panel (110) and the second panel (22) are allowed to converge (see Figure 9) or separate (see Figure 10).
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhadanov (US 2020/0129995).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Zhadanov teaches (Figures 1-19) a water outlet device (10), comprising:
a first body (70, 76), wherein the first body (70, 76) comprises a first panel (76) for water outlet (see Figures 5-7);
a second body (72, 74), wherein the second body (72, 74) comprises a second panel (72) for water outlet (see Figures 5-7);
a support arm (50, 52), wherein a first end (54) of the support arm (50, 52) is allowed to be rotationally and cooperatively connected with (at 20, see Paragraph 0044) the first body (70 ,76), and a second end (56) of the support arm (50, 52) is allowed to be rotationally and cooperatively connected with (via 64, see Paragraph 0047 and Figure 19) the second body (72);
the second body (72) is allowed for being moved relative to the first body (76) under a rotationally coupled of (via 64 and 20) the support arm (50, 52), wherein the first panel (76) and the second panel (72) are allowed to converge or separate (see Figures 6 and 7).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhadanov teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Zhadanov further teaches (Figures 1-19) wherein the first end (54) of the support arm (50, 52) is rotationally connected to (see Paragraph 0044) the first body (70, 76), and the second end (56) of the support arm (50, 52) is allowed for being flipped forward or backward (see Figures 6-7) with respect to the first body (70, 76); after the support arm (50, 52) has been flipped (from the Figure 7 position to the Figure 6 position), the first panel (76) is allowed for being added to the second panel (72) to form an outlet panel (76, 72) with an increased water outlet area (see Figure 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhadanov (US 2020/0129995) in view of Colpitts et al. (CA 2538810).
Regarding Claim 2, Zhadanov teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Zhadanov further teaches (Figures 1-19) wherein the first body (70, 76) comprises a first joint (at 20; see Paragraph 0044) allowed for being rotationally and cooperatively connected to a wall (at the upstream end of 70; see Figures 6-7), and the second body (72) comprises a second joint (at 64) rotationally and cooperatively connected to (at 68, 69) the second end (at 56) of the support arm (50, 52). Zhadanov does not teach a first rotationally connecting damping mechanism is provided between the first end of the support arm and the first body, and a second rotationally connecting damping mechanism is further provided between the second end of the support arm and the second joint.
Colpitts teaches (Figures 1-20) a first rotationally connecting damping mechanism (30 or 55) that is provided between a first end (11) of a support arm (2) and a first body (12), and a second rotationally connecting damping mechanism (30 or 55) that is provided between a second end (10) of the support arm (2) and a second joint (at 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhadanov to have a first rotationally connecting damping mechanism be provided between the first end of the support arm and the first body, and a second rotationally connecting damping mechanism be provided between the second end of the support arm and the second joint, as taught by Colpitts, in order to require an application of an external rotational force that is sufficient in magnitude to exceed the frictional contact between the hub, friction ring, and tubular body so that undesired rotational movement of the hub and tubular body is prevented while still permitting a controlled rotational movement upon the application of a sufficient exterior force to either the hub and/or the tubular body (see Page 27, lines 9-18 of Colpitts).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhadanov (US 2020/0129995) in view of Colpitts et al. (CA 2538810) and Wu et al. (US 2023/0374762).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhadanov in view of Colpitts teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Zhadanov in view of Colpitts does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein each of the first and second rotationally connecting damping mechanisms comprises a bolt and a nut matched with each other, the bolt and nut rotationally connects the support arm to the first body and the second joint, an outer circumference of the bolt is equipped with a friction ring, and a first end face of the friction ring is matingly connected to the support arm, and a second end face of the friction ring is cooperatively connected to the first body or the second joint.
Colpitts teaches (Figures 1-20) wherein each of the first and second rotationally connecting damping mechanisms (30 or 55) comprises a bolt assembly (25), the bolt assembly (25) rotationally connects the support arm (2) to the first body (12) and the second joint (at 3), an outer circumference of the bolt (25) is equipped with a friction ring (the locking members 30 can be replaced with a friction ring 55; see Page 27, lines 9-18 and Figure 4), and a first end face of the friction ring (55) is matingly connected to (see Figure 4 and Page 27, lines 9-18) the support arm (2), and a second end face of the friction ring (55) is cooperatively connected to (see Figure 4 and Page 27, lines 9-18) the first body (12) or the second joint (at 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhadanov in view of Colpitts to have each of the first and second rotationally connecting damping mechanisms comprises a bolt assembly, the bolt assembly rotationally connects the support arm to the first body and the second joint, an outer circumference of the bolt is equipped with a friction ring, and a first end face of the friction ring is matingly connected to the support arm, and a second end face of the friction ring is cooperatively connected to the first body or the second joint, as taught by Colpitts, for the same reasons discussed above in claim 2. Zhadanov in view of Colpitts does not teach, as discussed so far, that each bolt assembly has a nut matched with each bolt.
Wu teaches (Figures 1-12) a bolt assembly (56) having a bolt and a nut matched with each other (see Figure 3 and Paragraph 0036).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhadanov in view of Colpitts to have the bolt assemblies have a bolt and nut matched with each other, as taught by Wu, in order to allow for a pivotal connection between a sprayhead and a connecting base (Paragraph 0036 of Wu). It is further noted that a simple substitution of one known element (in this case, the bolt assembly of Colpitts) for another (in this case, the bolt assembly of Wu) to obtain predictable results (in this case, connecting two pieces together) was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. at 415-421, 82 USPQ2d at 1396, MPEP 2141 III B.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhadanov (US 2020/0129995) in view of Colpitts et al. (CA 2538810), Wu et al. (US 2023/0374762), and Yan et al. (US 2023/0175240).
Regarding Claim 4, Zhadanov in view of Colpitts and Wu teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Zhadanov further teaches (Figures 1-19) the second panel (72) is allowed for changing the water outlet angle (see Figures 5-7 and Paragraph 0046) by rotation in conjunction with the second joint (at 64). Zhadanov in view of Colpitts and Wu does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the first panel is allowed for changing a water outlet angle by rotation in conjunction with the first joint.
Yan teaches (Figures 1-5) a first panel (08) that is allowed for changing a water outlet angle (see Paragraph 0025 and Figures 1 and 4) by rotation in conjunction with a first joint (at 41)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhadanov in view of Colpitts and Wu to have the first panel be allowed for changing a water outlet angle by rotation in conjunction with a first joint, as taught by Yan, in order to conveniently adjust the angle and height of the overhead shower head (Paragraph 0025 of Yan).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhadanov (US 2020/0129995) in view of Lin et al. (US 2018/0104707).
Regarding Claim 6, Zhadanov teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Zhadanov does not teach wherein the first panel is provided with a vacant portion, the second panel is allowed to be placed within the vacant portion, and a contour of the second panel is allowed to be adapted to a contour of the vacant portion.
Lin teaches (Figures 1-13) a first panel (1) that is provided with a vacant portion (8), a second panel (2a) that is allowed to be placed within the vacant portion (8; see Figures 1-3), and a contour (see Figure 1) of the second panel (2a) is allowed to be adapted to a contour (see Figure 1) of the vacant portion (8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhadanov to have the first panel be provided with a vacant portion, the second panel be allowed to be placed within the vacant portion, and a contour of the second panel be allowed to be adapted to a contour of the vacant portion, as taught by Lin, in order to improve the convenience and stability of using a combined shower, while reducing the space occupation of the combined shower (Paragraph 0007 of Lin).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for additional references teaching first and second panels of water outlet devices being added together to increase the water area and/or support arms having first and second rotationally coupled ends.
Contact Information
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/THOMAS P BURKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741