DETAILED ACTION
This is the Final Office Action for application number 18/657,126 AN APPARATUS FOR CONNECTION TO AN ANCHOR TRACK OR AN ANCHOR POINT IN AN AIRCRAFT filed on 5/7/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending. This Final Office Action is in response to applicant’s reply dated 12/8/2025. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-12, 16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent Publication No. 2018/0111687 to Thomas et al.
With regards to claim 1, the publication to Thomas et al. teaches an apparatus for connection to an anchor track or an anchor point in an aircraft, having a main body (12), a quick fastening device (46, 48) that is attached to the main body and configured for being removably fastened to the anchor track or the anchor point (70); and at least a first connecting element (86) and a second connecting element (90) which are attached to the main body and configured for being connected to external load (100) connecting devices (98); and wherein the main body has a support base (20) and a rotatable body (92) that is rotatably connected to the support base, wherein the quick fastening device is attached to the support base, and wherein the first connecting element (86) and the second connecting element (90) are attached to the rotatable body.
With regards to claim 2, Thomas et al. teaches wherein the main body has an accommodation (42, 44), and wherein the quick fastening device is arranged in the accommodation.
With regards to claim 3, Thomas et al. teaches wherein the quick fastening device has manually activatable clamping means (46, 48) which are configured for being securely clamped at the anchor track or the anchor point.
With regards to claim 4, Thomas et al. teaches wherein the main body is ring-shaped (30, 32, 34) and has at least a first mounting interface (80) and a second mounting interface (82) for attachment of the first connecting element and the second connecting element.
With regards to claim 5, Thomas et al. teaches wherein the first connecting element (86) and the second connecting element (90) are attached to the main body in an inclined position with a predetermined inclination angle relative to the anchor track or the anchor point such that external load connecting devices are attachable to the first connecting element and the second connecting element at a predetermined height above the anchor track or the anchor point. (See Figure 5)
With regards to claim 6, Thomas et al. teaches wherein each one of the first connecting element (86) and the second connecting element (90) has a lug or an eyelet. (See Figure 5)
With regards to claim 7, Thomas et al. teaches wherein each one of the first connecting element and the second connecting element is rotatable on the main body. (See 0032, “relative pivoting of the hooks 86 and 90 also allows for balancing of the load”)
With regards to claim 8, Thomas et al. teaches wherein the rotatable body is secured to the support base by means of a cover (30, 34) that is securely attached to the support base via associated cover fixation means.
With regards to claim 10, Thomas et al. teaches a connecting rail configured for being connected to external load connecting devices. (See Figure 4 at 72)
With regards to claim 11, Thomas et al. teaches wherein the connecting rail is mounted to the main body via vertically extending mounting pillars. (See Figure 4 at 72)
With regards to claim 12, Thomas et al. teaches, wherein the vertically extending mounting pillars are adapted for being connected to external load connecting devices. (See Figure 4 at 72)
With regards to claim 16, Thomas et al. teaches a device having a main body (12); a fastening device (46, 48) attached to the main body and configured for being removably fastened to the anchor track or the anchor point (70); and a first connecting element (86) and a second connecting element (90) attached to the main body and configured for being connected to external load (100) connecting devices (98); and wherein the main body has a support base (20) and a rotatable body (92) rotatably connected to the support base, the fastening device attached to the support base, and the first connecting element and the second connecting element are attached to the rotatable body.
With regards to claim 18, Thomas et al. teaches wherein the rotatable body is secured to the support base by a connection interface (30, 32, 34) formed between the rotatable body and the support base.
With regards to claim 20, Thomas et al. teaches, wherein the rotatable body is rotatable about a central axis relative to the support base when the apparatus is mounted to the anchor track or anchor point. (See Figure 5)
Response to Arguments
The applicant has argued that the Thomas et al device “does not disclose installing an apparatus for connection to an anchor inside the aircraft”. (See Remarks, 12/8/2025, page 3) of the new grounds of rejection above. In response to applicant's argument, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies “inside” are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The applicant has also argued that the Thomas et al. device is not an “apparatus for connection to an anchor track or point” (See Remarks, page 4). This is not persuasive. The term “anchor point” meaning “something that serves to hold an object firmly” (Merriam Webster, online “anchor”) at a “particular place” (Merriam Webster, online “point”). This limitation is met by in that the Thomas et al. device is attached to an “firmly at a particular place” (See Figure 4 near 70).
The applicant has also argued that the device is not removably fastened, however the device is fastened with bolts that may be removed to unfasten the device.
The applicant has argued that the main both does not have both a support base and a rotatable body and first and second connecting elements attached to the rotatable body. All elements are shown in the rejection above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 13, 14, 17 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 15 is allowed.
With regards to claims 9, 15 and 17, the prior art does not teach, wherein the rotatable body is secured to the support base by means of a conical connection interface formed between the rotatable body and the support base.
With regards to claims 13 and 19, the prior art does not teach wherein the connecting rail is mounted to the main body via laterally extending mounting rods.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication should be directed to Amy J. Sterling at telephone number 571-272-6823 or to Supervisor Jonathan Liu at 571-272-8227, if the examiner cannot be reached. The fax machine number for the Technology center is 571-273-8300 (formal amendments) or 571-273-6823 (informal communications only). Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application should be directed to the Technology Center receptionist at 571-272-3600.
/AMY J. STERLING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631 1/26/26