DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 was amended to recite “the slit comprises a downward slit configured to expose the pulsed light toward a center of a ground area where the sterilization device is disposed.” Claim 8 recites, “wherein the slit is formed between the housing and the door based on a protrusion. While the original disclosure describes these elements separately, see e.g., instant Figs. 19 and 20 respectively, it fails to describe them together. As such, the slit of claim 8 that “comprises a downward slit configured to expose the pulsed light toward a center of a ground area” and “is formed between the housing and the door” is new matter. Accordingly, the claim is rejected for failing the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0071417 A1 [Taboada] in view of US 9,517,284 B1 [Stibich].
Regarding Claim 1:
Taboada teaches a container sterilization device using light configured to sterilize a container using, the device comprising:
a housing formed of a light-blocking material and providing an accommodation space therein (Fig. 1 (120) bottom);
a door formed of the light-blocking material and openably connected to the housing (Fig. 1 (120) top);
a lamp disposed within the accommodation space and configured to generate the pulsed light (para 16 – xenon lamp);
at least one support unit configured to space the sterilization device from the ground (Fig. 1 – legs (145));
and
a slit configured to expose the pulsed light below a predetermined threshold value among the pulsed light emitted from the pulsed light generating lamp to the outside of the housing (Fig. 1 (115)),
wherein the slit comprises a downward slit configured to expose the pulsed light toward a center of a ground area where the sterilization device is disposed (Fig. 1 (115) is on the bottom of the housing facing the ground, light reflecting off the diffusively reflective interior surfaces of (120) will naturally include some light that is reflected through (115) towards a center of a ground area under the device.).
However, Taboada fails to teach that the lamp is a pulsed light generating lamp and the light is a pulsed light comprising a visible light band.
Stibich teaches a sterilizing device that uses a pulsed light generating lamp to produce light and the light is a pulsed light comprising a visible light band. Abstract, 7:2-22.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to replace the xenon lamp of Taboada with the Xenon flashtube of Stibich. One would have been motivated to do so since this would provide a germicidal light with a strong peak or germicidal radiation and further provides heat for additional microorganism deactivation. Stibich 7:2-22.
Regarding Claim 2:
The above modified invention teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the sterilization device is configured to visualize a progress of a sterilization operation to a user of the sterilization device by exposing the pulsed light below the threshold value through the slit. Light emitted from the chamber is an indicator that progress towards sterilization is being made. Whatever light is emitted is below an arbitrary threshold.
Regarding Claim 3:
The above modified invention teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the threshold value is an intensity corresponding to a predetermined impact on eyesight of a user of the sterilization device. Any intensity has an impact on eyesight of a user. As such, any intensity corresponds to such a predetermined intensity.
Regarding Claim 4:
The above modified invention teaches the device of claim 1, wherein downward slit exposes the pulsed light toward a bottom surface of the sterilization device. As shown in Taboada Fig. 1 (115).
Regarding Claim 6:
The above modified invention teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the slit is configured to be closed under user control. Stibich teaches lids on apertures in the sterilization housing. See e.g., Fig. 3 (76), 17:14-42. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to add the automated lid of Stibich to the aperture of Taboada. One would have been motivated to do so since this would allow one to isolate the sterilization chamber from ambient atmosphere.
Regarding Claim 7:
The above modified invention teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the slit is configured to control an amount of the pulsed light exposed to the outside of the housing under user control. Stibich teaches lids on apertures of the sterilization housing which allow for control of the amount of pulsed light exposed to the outside. See e.g., Fig. 3 (76), 17:14-42. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to add the automated lid of Stibich to the aperture of Taboada. One would have been motivated to do so since this would allow one to isolate the sterilization chamber from ambient atmosphere.
Response to Arguments
The 35 USC 112(f) interpretations of record are withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments.
The indefiniteness rejections of record are withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881